Avis Budget Group Operations Manager Interview Questions

Updated Mar 18, 2015
13 Interview Reviews

Interview Experience

Interview Experience

33%
25%
41%

Getting an Interview

Getting an Interview

91%
8%

Interview Difficulty

2.2
Average

Interview Difficulty

Hard

Average

Easy

13 Candidate Interview Reviews Back to all Interviews

Sort: Popular Date Difficulty

 

Operations Manager Interview

Anonymous Employee in Tampa, FL
No Offer
Neutral Experience
Average Interview

Application

I applied online. The process took 4 weeksinterviewed at Avis Budget Group (Tampa, FL) in March 2015.

Interview

It was about a 3 week wait to hear back after applying on their website. Then they do a quick phone interview with a national recruiter just to make sure you're okay with the hours and pay for the job. They then give you tips for the in person interview. A week later I did the in person interview and it went very well and they seem interested, but they didn't offer me the job in the end.

Interview Questions

Other Interview Reviews for Avis Budget Group

  1. Helpful (4)  

    Operations Manager Interview

    Anonymous Employee in Tampa, FL
    No Offer
    Negative Experience
    Average Interview

    Application

    I applied online. The process took 4 weeksinterviewed at Avis Budget Group (Tampa, FL) in January 2015.

    Interview

    I applied online and 2 days later a recruiter contacted me and told me what to say in the interview and scheduled the interview for the next week. I showed up to my interview on time and they made me wait 30 minutes before calling me upstairs to interview. No apologies for the wait. First the Airport Manager interviewed me, then the District Manager interviewed me, then the Sales Manager interviewed me. They all asked the exact same questions over and over, I think they take notes to make sure your answers stay the same. I was then given a tour of the entire airport where I would be working and at the conclusion the Airport Manager told me to schedule my final interview with the HR Manager over the phone since she wasn't there. The entire process took 3 hours and I left feeling pretty pumped because they were saying that after the HR Manager called I would receive an offer. On Sunday (had my interview on Friday) I got an email at 7:01 AM thanking me for my time and that they had gone with a more qualified candidate. I thought this was very weird so I sent a polite message to the Airport Manager asking if this was a mistake because I thought the interviews went quite well and that Monday I was supposed to have my HR interview. He responded back via email very quickly apologizing and letting me know that the email was a mistake and to be expecting the HR Manager to call me at 9AM on Monday morning. I took the morning off from work so I would have an uninterrupted phone interview. The HR Manager never called. I called the office and they were shocked that no one called me. I told them I had to go to work, but I could probably take a late lunch at 1pm and have the interview then and the office worker said she would set this up for me. 1pm came and went and no one called me so after work I called back in and asked them what had happened. The office person apologized and made another appointment for a couple of days later. The HR Manager finally called me back 2 days later, and I had to interview at work which wasn't ideal for me. She seemed very unorganized and didn't even apologize for wasting my time earlier that week. She asked the same exact questions that the other managers asked but I could hardly understand her because she had me on a speaker phone and I had to ask her to repeat her questions multiple times. She then told me they would let me know as soon as possible because they needed to fill the position soon. A week passed so I emailed the Airport Manager since he wasn't in his office when I called and he never responded to me. 3 weeks later no status updates so I emailed Human Resources and I got a prompt email back letting me know that they went with someone more qualified for the position. The whole process was a huge waste of time for me, and they don't value your time at all. That is the message I got about this company through their interviewing process.

    Interview Questions

    • What was a time you had a difficult customer and how did you defuse the situation?
      How do you feel about working overtime?
      How do you feel about working 3rd shift?
       
      Answer Question
  2. Helpful (1)  

    Operations Manager Interview

    Anonymous Employee in New Orleans, LA
    No Offer
    Easy Interview

    Application

    I applied online – interviewed at Avis Budget Group (New Orleans, LA) in January 2015.

    Interview

    First you do a phone interview and you are asked three questions, if you are okay with the hours, pay structure, and training you move on and you are asked serveral other questions. If the interviewer feels you are a right fit you will have to interview with a local manager.

    Interview Questions

    • What would you do if you had a customer with unrealistic demands?   Answer Question
  3. Helpful (1)  

    Operations Manager Interview

    Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    No Offer
    Negative Experience
    Easy Interview

    Application

    I applied online. The process took a weekinterviewed at Avis Budget Group (Salt Lake City, UT).

    Interview

    Contacted by HR in Dallas, When I went to interview the guy didn't know I was scheduled. Big red flag in my mind. Interview went fairly well but I was not offered the position and only found out through an email a week and a half later, also from Dallas.

    Interview Questions

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Interview Review


  5. Helpful (2)  

    Operations Manager Interview

    Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    No Offer
    Positive Experience
    Easy Interview

    Application

    I applied in-person. The process took 1 dayinterviewed at Avis Budget Group (Chicago, IL) in February 2014.

    Interview

    Very porfessional, phone interview then interview with district manager

    Interview Questions

    • If your supervisor gives you a project and half way through you are not able to finish it in the time frame, What would you do?   Answer Question
  6.  

    Operations Manager Interview

    Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    No Offer
    Negative Experience
    Difficult Interview

    Application

    I applied online. The process took 6 weeksinterviewed at Avis Budget Group (Minneapolis, MN).

    Interview

    The process - Is tedious. Gives you the "feeling" you are moving forward, when in actuality you are not. First you complete an online assessment - which is like a cross between a personality test and an skills/knowledge test. Then you receive an email that tells you to call in to speak to a recuriter for the next step in the process - this is really a call center with someone reading you scripted interview questions. After this process - they say "OK you passed and are ready to move on to the next phase with is a F2F interview, but we don't have any openings..........Why did i just go through all this then????? Anyway, they say they will call you - for me 5-6 weeks have passed and I haven't heard anything. Not sure what happened LOL

    Interview Questions

    • Well, it was typical interview questions. However, they did ask if I was willing to relocate to a different state if that is where I was needed......   Answer Question
  7. Helpful (1)  

    Operations Manager Interview

    Anonymous Employee in Charlotte, NC
    No Offer
    Positive Experience
    Average Interview

    Application

    interviewed at Avis Budget Group (Charlotte, NC) in July 2012.

    Interview

    1. Online Assessment
    2. Initial Interview Airport Manager
    3. Second Interview District Manager
    4. Third Interview Hiring Manager
    5. Regional Manager Phone Interview

    Interview Questions

    • Explain a situation were you had to discipline a subordinate in your chain of management.   Answer Question
  8.  

    Operations Manager Interview

    Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    No Offer
    Neutral Experience
    Easy Interview

    Application

    I applied online. The process took 2 weeksinterviewed at Avis Budget Group (Houston, TX) in May 2012.

    Interview

    I applied online and received an email with a phone number to call for a phone interview. The conversation went well and the interviewer was very nice but at the end of the interview, she said "The next step is to schedule a face-to-face interview. Unforturnately, we don't have any available schedule at this time. A recuiter will review your responses and contact you via telephone or email." I think the word "UNFORTUNATELY" is indicating "you are not selected for the next round.

    Interview Questions

  9.  

    Operations Manager Interview

    Anonymous Employee in Newport Beach, CA
    No Offer
    Negative Experience
    Easy Interview

    Application

    I applied online. The process took 1+ weekinterviewed at Avis Budget Group (Newport Beach, CA) in May 2012.

    Interview

    I receive an E-mail for an interview. Show up on time, but seems like the organization managed by bunch of bimbo and uneducated people. There are no clear picture who suppose doing what. I came in for the interview on time and expected to meet with people that appreciate my valuable time. Came in at 1:00 pm and greeted by somebody (The manager is whispering that "Let so and so do the interview", because he have something to do in his office). I also overheard some managers talking in the hall: Dumb conversation that got nothing to do with work. In the mean time, I waited for 40 minutes and I got tired sitting in a broken and saggy old chair, I approached a manager in her office and I said "Where is my inteviewer?"...She said: "You mean nobody show up all this time.....ooooh I am so sorry bla..blah..blah.."

    Finally, One manager came in and said he just came from John Wayne Airport and ready for the interview. Nice gentleman and the interview went well. I was not hired. I guess this is the culture at Avis Budget, but I certainly give this organization an F in treating valuable candidates like I am who have the passion, enthusiasm and an advance degree.

  10. Helpful (1)  

    Operations Manager Interview

    Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    No Offer
    Positive Experience
    Easy Interview

    Application

    I applied online. The process took 2 weeksinterviewed at Avis Budget Group (San Diego, CA) in February 2012.

    Interview

    Applied online, then was contacted by a recruiter with a Phone Interview. Asked basic questions about my work history. She said that she was going to build a profile for me and send it over to the hiring manager. Waited for a week and heard nothing. I knew the hiring manager would be at the airport location so I called asking for the District Manager. He was out of town so I left a message. Never got a call back so I followed up AGAIN and he stated that he never received my information. So I then called the recruiter back and she resubmitted my information to him. Got a call back from the recruiter the next day to set up another phone interview with the DM. DM said the interview went really well and that I would be hearing back from them in the next few days. 15 minutes later I got an email from the recruiter saying that they had decided to go with another candidate...

    Interview Questions

Work at Avis Budget Group? Share Your Experiences

Avis Budget Group

 
Click to Rate
or

The difficulty rating is the average interview difficulty rating across all interview candidates.

The interview experience is the percentage of all interview candidates that said their interview experience was positive, neutral, or negative.

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.