Achievers

  www.achievers.com
Work in HR? Unlock Free Profile

Achievers Reviews

Updated May 31, 2014
All Employees Current Employees Only

4.1 78 reviews

82% Approve of the CEO

(no image)

Patrick D. Quirk

(33 ratings)

80% of employees recommend this company to a friend

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Great People - I'm very impressed that as a start-up everyone has a role and does their job amazingly (in 11 reviews)

  • I truly enjoy coming to work everyday (in 6 reviews)


Cons
  • As with any growing company, the only constant is change (in 6 reviews)

  • Extremely high expectations from senior management without any form of reciprocity (in 4 reviews)

More Highlights
8 Employee Reviews Back to all reviews
Relevance Date Rating
in
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Disapproves of CEO

    4 people found this helpful  

    Overall a pretty disappointing experience

    Anonymous Employee (Current Employee)

    ProsGreat location, lots of potential for interesting work, free lunch daily.

    The corporate messaging around employee engagement that gets you in the door is also reflected in their marketing, which makes you feel good about coming onboard.

    ConsRemember that great messaging around employee engagement? It's all show, at least in some key departments. Like the one churning out all that messaging which has to be one of the least engaged and least empowered teams I've ever worked with.

    Senior leaders with poor people management skills somehow still advance up the corporate ladder, and are allowed to micromanage their often more experienced/competent staff. Isn't the point of hiring more experienced professionals that they can take ownership and drive results?

    Although San Francisco is the headquarters, and where they've added on a large number of leadership hires in a few short months (CEO, CMO, CRO, a departed CHRO), most of the employees are in Toronto. Expect frequent travel to/from Toronto if you want to stay in the loop.

    I came here thinking I'd have the opportunity to do some of the best work of my career. Instead, it has been incredibly disappointing.

    Advice to Senior ManagementEither get training for your inexperienced managers who've been promoted beyond their abilities, or find them an independent contributor role before they drive out more capable employees.

    You've hired some amazing A-players -- don't squander their talents!

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend – I'm not optimistic about the outlook for this company

    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Disapproves of CEO

    6 people found this helpful  

    Wish I'd trusted the bad feeling I had during the interview process.

    Anonymous Employee (Current Employee)

    ProsFree lunch, all-you-can-eat snacks and drinks, opportunities to choose your own rewards with points, a few great people, flexible schedule, amazing location.

    ConsFor a company that specializes in engagement, I've rarely seen such a disengaged staff. Senior management hasn't the faintest clue what's going on, communication is dreadful, and the extreme emphasis on recognition leaves the unrecognized feeling awful. Few staff members are qualified for their jobs, although there are a few truly amazing standouts. You have to really drink the Kool-Aid to fit in here. When the in-crowd decides they don't like you, it's like Lord of the Flies.

    Advice to Senior ManagementGet rid of Razor and find an actual CEO.

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend

    Achievers Response

    Oct 9, 2013Employee Success Representative

    Incredible feedback, we appreciate you taking the time to write your review. You will be happy to hear that employee retention has increased. Employee engagement survey results indicate an ... More

    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Disapproves of CEO

    6 people found this helpful  

    Don't be fooled

    Anonymous Employee (Former Employee)

    ProsFree food, Some great people, cool workspace.

    ConsEGO city! You literally need to penetrate into one of the various cliques to have a chance at this company. The CEO thinks he running a fraternity and will literally say "YES" to anything potential customers ask. IPO will never happen here, best case they get bought, but senior management who claims to be well versed in IPO actually is not. Also, caution on any positive reviews as new hires are asked to fill out a glowing review in their first 30 days.

    Advice to Senior ManagementStop lying to employees, they are adults. Stop lying to customers and sell what you can deliver.

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend – I'm not optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Achievers Response

    Oct 9, 2013Employee Success Representative

    We appreciate your time in sharing your feedback. To address your concerns in regards to the leadership team, you will be happy to hear that we have appointed Patrick D. Quirk as our President and ... More

  1. We want your feedback – Are these company reviews helpful to you?  Yes | No
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities

    13 people found this helpful  

    Feel like I pledged the wrong frat and the pledge master is now hitting on my girlfriend

    Anonymous Employee (Current Employee)

    ProsIt is a feel-good product. Who doesn't like being recognized? Clients (initially) like us and the idea of what we do for them.
    Free Food - lots of it.
    If you are "in" that week, management may be generous with points (our currency) so you can buy yourself something nice (if overpriced) from our limited catalogue.
    There are some very talented people here (caveat: they are not being utilized or recognized)
    Events and PR are outstanding. I bought into the hype, and some of our clients/prospects do too. Seriously, we should be overpaying these teams b/c they do the best things at the company.

    ConsSeriously wanted to love working here, but it just is NOT going to happen. This company touts itself as a serious software company, but it is just a social cult. If you don't like waking up on Monday wondering if management or the "cool" kids like you, then run.
    Everyone talks about going public all the time (speaks to the lack of real business experience and maturity). Really? an IPO? There are very few people here that understand what that means.
    We are not HQ'd in San Francisco. There is a presence in SF, but the leadership and direction come out of Toronto and those ideas are back in 1998 as far as how to compete and win in this space.

    Advice to Senior ManagementStart over. Don't play favorites. Get a strategy to execute on what we commit to clients.
    Take the time to appreciate the talents of your employees and quit listening to the advice/gossip of the inside few - too many good people who are incredibly talented have left or been asked to leave without anyone really investing them - the revolving door is incredibly expensive.

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend

    Achievers Response

    Oct 9, 2013Employee Success Representative

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. To help address your concern regarding our presence in San Francisco, we are headquartered there, however, we work hard to ensure a strong ... More

    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • No Opinion of CEO

    4 people found this helpful  

    very limited growth opportunities

    Anonymous Employee (Current Employee)

    ProsLots of vacation days
    Free breakfast and lunch in office
    Good place for a junior level employee

    Cons-Very low pay and nobody cares to discuss it as the managers will just tell you how great their benefits are (the benefits are just average in fact)
    -Nepotism: tends to hire Board of Directors' relatives
    -Boring work and very limited growth opportunities, doing the same repetitive things for 2+ years even if they kept telling me how much they encourage employee growth
    -Lots of long and meaningless meetings which nobody seems to care
    -Recognition is mostly on peer basis and it is rarely given to those who don't work very interactively with others
    -Very long hours and no overtime pay
    -Celebration events are boring and are mostly shows for clients
    -Corporate culture feels more like a cult. They force people to engage in things they are not interested in
    -Also, they very intentionally encourage their employees to write positive reviews here

    Advice to Senior ManagementAppreciate your employee's talents or they will just leave. It is just a moderate company and nobody has to stay here.

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend – I'm not optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Achievers Response

    Jun 4, 2014Employee Success Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We’re happy to hear your thoughts on vacation and our breakfast and lunch perks. It’s important that we help provide the fuel for our employees to ... More

    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Disapproves of CEO

    3 people found this helpful  

    Engagement without Feedback

    Developer (Former Employee)

    ProsTons of perks. They sell culture, so they have so much culture it hurts. Lots of great ideas, and they use their own product. Lots of recognition, and a lot of smart people here.

    ConsFor all their recognition, there isn't much feedback. They don't believe in Reviews, but seem too busy working hard and partying harder to give feedback on job performance. Then come the mass layoffs.
    The party atmosphere got old pretty fast, since they try to have it pretty much constant.

    Advice to Senior ManagementProvide feedback to employees. Annual reviews may be uncool if formalized, but feedback and communication of expectations is so important.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend

    Achievers Response

    Jun 4, 2014Employee Success Representative

    We’re stoked to hear that you are enjoying our culture of recognition! Recognition is indeed a wonderful way for our employees to receive praise and points for all the great work they do. The ... More

    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Disapproves of CEO

    5 people found this helpful  

    Slight Chaos

    Program Implementation Manager (Current Employee) Toronto, ON (Canada)

    ProsRelaxed atmosphere, smart intelligent people, highly successful in their industry and innovative company looking at how the world works and functions and what the next generation of employees want and need to be successful

    ConsThey continue to loose their great employees because there is no career path or goals for them to benchmark themselves against; therefore they need to address this immediately or they will continue to loose more top notch employees. In order to be more successful more process needs to be put in place in order to ensure our clients understand what is going on and how we are changing as a business. Clear vision needs to be put in place and clearly articulated out to employees so they see the future path for this growing company.

    Advice to Senior ManagementListen to your employees and understand what they are requesting to make them more successful in their position. In the end, with being more open to suggestions and helping carve out a career path for specific individuals, Management will be successful also. Plus you need to start charging for your implementation services, you are loosing money on this transaction and you are no longer a 1 year old company it has been 10 years and you are an industry leader; therefore get a move on changing the costing model.

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend

    Achievers Response

    Oct 8, 2013Employee Success Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to share your valued feedback. It is this feedback that we use to improve the employee experience at Achievers. You will be happy to hear that we have implemented a ... More

    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities

    10 people found this helpful  

    An honest review from a past employee (no biterness) who saw a lot of change

    Anonymous Employee (Former Employee) Toronto, ON (Canada)

    Pros- They hire a diverse set of people (experience-wise)
    - Employees work really hard which I respect
    - Free breakfast, interesting events
    - Flexible work hours

    Cons- Before working there, if you've ever had any kind of social circle, you will find it bizarre how farternity-like it is
    - They say they want real feedback from employees, but they actually heavily encourage puppetry
    - Management has no idea what they're doing in terms of practicing what they preach
    - Unashamed of the fact that there are 'favourite' employees - and those employees are the ones who are willing to suck up
    - Inhibits the unique and soulful attributes out of employees

    Advice to Senior ManagementManagement needs to stop patting themselves on the back and realize that this company is not all that matters in the world. There is very high turnover for a reason.

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend

    Achievers Response

    Oct 9, 2013Employee Success Representative

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate you sharing your concerns, which will allow us to improve the employee experience at Achievers. Employee engagement is the heart of our business, and we place ... More

Worked for Achievers? Contribute to the Community!

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.