Acquia Reviews

Updated August 7, 2014
Updated August 7, 2014
33 Reviews
3.8
33 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Acquia CEO Thomas Erickson
Thomas Erickson
26 Ratings

14 Employee Reviews Back to all reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. 3 people found this helpful  

    Incredible People, High Profile Customers, Lots of Learning

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Customer Support  in  Burlington, MA
    Current Employee - Customer Support in Burlington, MA

    I have been working at Acquia full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people who work here are brilliant and fun to work with, and the culture here is amazing and very laid back. People are allowed to express their minds without reprisal, and we are encouraged to think outside the box and take chances when we have ideas we want to explore. Flexible vacation and sick days. CEO and most of the Exec Team are very approachable and usually fairly open to ideas and constructive criticism (within reason), and progress is always being made to improve office life and working conditions.

    Cons

    There is limited room for advancement in most departments, which is somewhat understandable since you can't promote everyone, but it would be nice if they were more candid about that. If you do find your way into a new position, it can be a struggle to get more money unless you're a rockstar and/or irreplaceable. Expect an uphill battle on either front.

    Additionally, several departments are consistently understaffed as Acquia searches for more talent to keep up with our growth, vacations, and the occasional departure, so that can lead to a consistent middle-to-high level of stress, especially for departments with fewer people.

    For most of us, though, the Pros that come with working here vastly outweigh the Cons. It's just good to know them up front.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Things have constantly been improving here over the past 2 years, and there are so many exciting changes and improvements on the horizon. Please continue to support these initiatives and push for them to be completed as quickly as possible without sacrificing their quality.

    Please also consult more frequently with lower-level employees to candidly discuss their concerns and recommendations. There are a lot of great ideas floating around to improve efficiency and morale, but they rarely seem to make it through the "filters" in middle- and upper-management, and when they do, no time is allocated to work on them because of limited staffing and higher priorities.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  2.  

    Ready, Set, GO!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales  in  Burlington, MA
    Current Employee - Sales in Burlington, MA

    I have been working at Acquia full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can feel the momentum in Drupal adoption in the enterprise. This is going to be big..

    Leadership in every department is phenomenal. Culture comes first here and it shows in many ways - community service opportunities, company Red Sox games, open door policies with leadership, food trucks, etc.

    Be ready to ride this roller coaster with a community of people that want to WIN!

    Cons

    Training for new hires can be better. It is something they are actively working on and investing in. Be prepared to leverage those around you to learn more.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Continue to invest heavily in our new hires to prepare them to succeed here.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Acquia Response

    Jul 9, 2014CEO

    Thanks for your comments! I think it's going to be big also! Sales is a constantly changing world at Acquia as we evolve our model to optimize for verticals, new products and the mid-market ... More

  3.  

    Best Career Move You'll Ever Make

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Marketing  in  Burlington, MA
    Current Employee - Marketing in Burlington, MA

    I have been working at Acquia full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The passion and intelligence at this company is unbelievable. My time here has been like getting an MBA (I have my M.S. and I have learned more in my 2 years at Acquia than in my 5 years in college)

    When I came to Acquia I thought I was hard working. The people at Acquia have redefined my definition of hard work, and it has brought out the best in me and has taken me to a new level. You've never see so many dedicated and fun people in one company.

    Cons

    This company can be challenging for people that look at their work as a job and not a career. To be successful here you’ve got to be committed to the success of the company.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    I’ve had an incredibly positive experience with management and consider many of the employees my role models.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Acquia Response

    May 7, 2014CEO

    Thank you very much for your review, and your passion for what we do. Disrupting an entire market - actually a few different markets - is no small task, and with your efforts and those of your ... More

  4. We want your feedback – Are these company reviews helpful to you?  Yes | No
  5.  

    Drinking from the Fire Hose

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Technical Account Manager  in  Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Technical Account Manager in Washington, DC

    I have been working at Acquia full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    High profile clients, The absolute best technical knowledge in the industry, bar none, very FUN oriented corporate culture. Great pay and benefits. Client Advocacy is a primary focus.

    Tom Erickson is a very motivated and inspiring CEO. In fact, all of the upper Management has been nothing, if not interested in cultivating excellence in their employees.

    I LOVE this job.

    Cons

    Process is constantly evolving... it is hard to keep up with the changes. The company is rapidly growing... so it feels like it is always a little understaffed.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Stay the course. Remain responsive to your team, as well as your clients.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  6. 1 person found this helpful  

    How to be successful in sales - Acquia will teach you how!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales  in  Burlington, MA
    Current Employee - Sales in Burlington, MA

    I have been working at Acquia full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic sales training program for driving the sales cycle, understanding the vast suite of products and what it takes to be a top rep in the technology sales business. Best training I've ever been through and would highly recommend to my peers.

    Cons

    If your goal is to be successful and grow as a salesperson then this is the place for you.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Acquia Response

    Sep 29, 2013CEO

    Thanks for this note. Great to see your perspective on the investment we make in our people, given that it's also a high pressure environment focused on success for the individuals, their teams and ... More

  7.  

    4 years and going strong

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Acquia full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I've been with the company for 4 years now. As a Sr. manager within the organization, I tell people all the time - this is absolutely the best group of people I have ever worked with. People are honest, ethical, work their tails off and collaborate very well. I truly enjoy my co-workers, the space, and the culture at Acquia.

    Cons

    Sometimes tough to turn off, but it is part of being a part of a fast growing, exciting company. It "comes with the territory."

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Continue to focus on hiring based upon cultural fit - single biggest contributor to the great company we have built.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Acquia Response

    Sep 17, 2013CEO

    Thanks for the post. Building a market changing offering takes extreme amounts of effort and Acquia appreciates the work that you and the others have done. As one of the longest serving Acquians ... More

  8.  

    Great place to work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Technical Account Manager  in  Burlington, MA
    Current Employee - Technical Account Manager in Burlington, MA

    I have been working at Acquia full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Focus on communication, no person left out, diversity, awesome learning opportunities

    Cons

    Fast pace, always changing, senior management separation, lack of follow through

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Focus on accountability, use more personality training across the board, implement peer review based incentives that are not a popularity contest

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Acquia Response

    Aug 9, 2013CEO

    On behalf of Michael Krause ..

    Thanks for your review. I’m glad you feel Acquia is a great place to work. Part of what makes it a great place for learning is the pace, which as you point out
    ... More

  9. 1 person found this helpful  

    Fantastic company to work for

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Acquia full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The culture and people that encompasses Acquia are unparalleled. Every day is enjoyable and people truly do look forward to collaborating.

    Cons

    Feedback and performance reviews are not systematic or regular. You have to seek it out yourself and expectations are often unclear.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Acquia Response

    Aug 9, 2013CEO

    Thanks for your review. As the CEO, all comments are sought as we endeavor to create a great company with a long term future. We're very happy that you are having such a great experience.

    It's
    ... More

  10. 1 person found this helpful  

    Fantastic learning experience

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Customer Support Intern  in  Boston, MA
    Former Employee - Customer Support Intern in Boston, MA

    I worked at Acquia

    Pros

    Great work atmosphere; opporunities to learn new technologies; lots of fun events; dynamic leadership; great growth potential for the company; flexible work timings and unlimited snacks and drink!

    Cons

    Company sponsors H1B visas in very rare cases; Acquia has some of the best Drupalists as a result, you feel overshadowed sometimes as a fresher; doesnot care much about temporary employees; Sometimes appreciation for good work is non-existant!

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Acquia is an awesome place to work and learn all in all; and, as a result, I would still give the company a 5* rating!

    Recommends
  11. 2 people found this helpful  

    Best place I have ever worked, by FAR!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Inside Sales  in  Woburn, MA
    Current Employee - Inside Sales in Woburn, MA

    I have been working at Acquia

    Pros

    When I first came to Acquia from an inside sales job at another high tech startup, I didn't know much about Open Source, nor Drupal. I now feel like I'm on the fastest pace rocket ship that I've ever been on! Drupal is used on over 1,000,000 public facing websites, and Acquia is perfectly positioned to be one of *the* next generation Web companies in the World, to take advantage of this trend. Our sales team has over achieved its goals every quarter that I've been here, - by 2X some quarters. In fact, the Management team set a bar for the Company to achieve a "super stretch" goal - and offered a trip for the entire company - and we just hit that goal! The people are great - a consummate team atmosphere, the management team is extremely supportive & helpful, and the culture is very dynamic & open. I feel blessed to be here.

    Cons

    One of the only downsides is that it's so much fun to work here, it is hard to disconnect at night and on the weekends! But I guess if you love what you do, it's hardly a downside.... I guess the only other thing is the Woburn location. Would be nice to be a little closer to the City.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep doing exactly what you are doing. You have made Acquia a highly desired place to work.

    Recommends

Worked for Acquia? Contribute to the Community!

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.