Atmel

www.atmel.com
Employer Engaged

Atmel Reviews

Updated February 17, 2015
Updated February 17, 2015
20 Reviews
4.0
20 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Atmel President and CEO Steve Laub
Steve Laub
20 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Good Work life balance you have all the time to achieve your personal commitments and goals (in 13 reviews)

  • Good people and an easy going working environment (in 7 reviews)


Cons
  • The upper management levels treat everyone beneath them as slightly unintelligent, unworthy peons (in 7 reviews)

  • Poor progression for employees except maybe at senior management level (in 6 reviews)

More Highlights

20 Employee Reviews Back to all Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Very good company to work for.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Manufactring
    Current Employee - Manufactring

    I have been working at Atmel

    Pros

    Good hours and pay is good.

    Cons

    Layoffs can be a pain.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Great management.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  2. 1 person found this helpful  

    good products

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior ASIC/Layout Design Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Current Employee - Senior ASIC/Layout Design Engineer in San Jose, CA

    I have been working at Atmel full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good products, Good Facilities, Good Intrastructure

    Cons

    weird managment
    bad communications
    lack of decisive direction

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Fair Employer

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Atmel Response

    Nov 25, 2014hr

    Thanks for your feedback. We encourage you to share your ideas with your leadership team to help us make continous improvement.

  3. 1 person found this helpful  

    A company with great potential

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Design Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Current Employee - Senior Design Engineer in San Jose, CA

    I have been working at Atmel full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    Many interesting growth segments in microcontrollers including IoT

    Cons

    Struggling to streamline and be more efficient

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Make sound strategic decisions instead of short term band-aids

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Atmel Response

    Nov 25, 2014hr

    Thank you for your comment. We continue to grow our diverse product portfolio, expand our customer base, strengthen our talented team, and enhance our operations. Many of these changes happen on a ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 1 person found this helpful  

    Great people, interesting products, business fits and starts.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA

    I have been working at Atmel full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Work-life balance, terrific colleagues, great products, nice facility in San Jose.

    Cons

    Business takes two steps forward and one step back; frustrating design losses and absence of follow through on business development; stock price has never recovered from its high in 2011.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Allow more flexibility for telecommuting, especially for employees with longer commutes. Professionals should be given more leeway in managing their schedules.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Atmel Response

    Nov 25, 2014hr

    Thank you for your positive feedback. We work passionately in creating a hard-driving, results oriented work environment, which is rewarding to our employees. We want to make sure that our employees ... More

  6.  

    Great company to work for! Great benefits, nice co-workers.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Applications Engineer in Deerfield Beach, FL
    Current Employee - Senior Applications Engineer in Deerfield Beach, FL

    I have been working at Atmel full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    Work load is great, able to work from home. Time management is second nature, so this works great for me.

    Cons

    Management is difficult to understand. We spend way too much time dealing with the bonus plan which is tied to performance review, which requires reviewing huge spreadsheets looking for completed sales tied to sales efforts. I'm not a salesman, I'm an engineer.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Fix the bonus plan so that we don't need to data mine huge spreadsheets every quarter by fixing the backend systems.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Atmel Response

    Nov 25, 2014hr

    Thanks for your input. Our compensation philosophy is based on pay-for-performance with an emphasis on variable incentive pay. We benchmark with industry practices annually to ensure competitiveness ... More

  7.  

    Business Analyst

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Atmel full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    Room to grow within firm

    Cons

    Office culture is slow pace

    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    Atmel Response

    Nov 25, 2014hr

    Thank you for your feedback. Atmel is a fast paced high-tech environment with ample opportunities for all employees to contribute. We encourage you to speak with your management team regarding areas ... More

  8.  

    T

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA

    I worked at Atmel full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    While still subject to the typical semi-conductor cycles, Atmel has fixed many of its structural problems (selling businesses, excess foundries, etc) to enable it to be quite profitable when in the up-cycles. It's through most of the "turn around" pain and now building for the future.

    Cons

    All semi-conductor companies seem to suffer severe business cycles and Atmel is no exception. High Tech is a demanding place to work (but always intellectually interesting).

    The touch marketplace is currently mostly associated with phone handsets and is therefore extremely volatile.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  9.  

    Great company with lots of growth protential

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in San Jose, CA
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in San Jose, CA

    I have been working at Atmel full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    * Big corporation with different sites all over the world
    * Good benefits ( health insurance)
    * Smart people with brilliant ideas of creativity

    Cons

    Salary for admin is not quite satisfied

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  10.  

    Atmel provided me great international exposure and invested in my career.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Product Marketing Manager in San Jose, CA
    Current Employee - Product Marketing Manager in San Jose, CA

    I have been working at Atmel full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    A human sized company where anyone contributing can be recognized and get visibility from top management.

    Cons

    No real career planning; you have to make your own path.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Should rotate responsibilities more often for individuals with same position

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Atmel Response

    Dec 2, 2013hr

    Thank you. That's a great suggestion. We have started a rotational program within a few functions and will continue to promote this great learning opportunity to other functions and business units.

  11. 1 person found this helpful  

    Test Engineer

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Test Engineer
    Former Employee - Test Engineer

    I worked at Atmel full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    Friendly place to work. Balance work/life environment, Small company environment where red tape are minimum and can get things done quickly and effectively. Cost of operation is low.

    Cons

    Fab lite and business cycles cause a lot of employees to look for jobs elsewhere. Top heavy management model may not be a right management model for the company

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    A royal talent employee may not be easy to come by

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

Work at Atmel? Share Your Experiences

Atmel

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.