Boyd Gaming

www.boydcareers.com

Boyd Gaming Reviews

Updated January 8, 2015
Updated January 8, 2015
87 Reviews
3.2
87 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Boyd Gaming CEO and President Keith E. Smith
Keith E. Smith
41 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • They also do have a a really good work life balance unlike other gaming companies that have a work work balance (in 4 reviews)

  • The company also heavily promotes from within (in 3 reviews)


Cons
  • Too often a person in an upper management position will have either no casino experience or they are "old school" casino people (in 3 reviews)

  • Negative work environment, no recognition, top-heavy, no one seems to really care what the lower level employees feel (in 3 reviews)

More Highlights

19 Employee Reviews Back to all reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. 2 people found this helpful  

    Don't apply

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming

    Pros

    Nothing. You will be promised many things, don't get your hopes up. You'll be lied to, not treated with respect, and they do not pay you what you're worth. Do not apply here.

    Cons

    Shady shady shady company. Do not apply here. Your boss will not look out for you or help you. Employees are on drugs but human resources turn their head. No body cares about anybody but themselves. One man for himself at this employer.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    They are all drug addicts.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Jan 14, 2015Company Administrator

    Needless to say, we are extremely concerned about the issues you raised in your review. The only way we can address them, however, is to get more information on exactly what happened.

    We ask that
    ... More

  2. 3 people found this helpful  

    Used to be one the best companies to work for

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Casino in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Casino in Las Vegas, NV

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    Paid one hour lunch and PTO are the industry standard, other than that there is nothing to be excited about anymore.

    Cons

    Lately the double standard is the way of life among the management. If for whatever reason you are not up to the certain supervisors "measurement", you are getting a second class employee treatment. There is almost nobody will listen to what you have to say or suggest even if that is something to better the company or to better serve our patrons. There is no growth opportunity. The department does not promote from within, they rather hire someone from the outside even if their person of choice is not a good fit. Also, the "No retaliation policy" is not worth the paper it was written on. Micromanagement every step of the way is the company killer.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Top management should pay much more attention to their faithful and loyal employees, apply higher standards in the process of choosing or hiring middle management and evaluate current bosses based on their management and people skills instead of based on who knows who. Talk to your employees, find out what they have to say about their superiors and maybe one day this company will become the company it used to be a great company to work for.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Nov 24, 2014Company Administrator

    We appreciate your honest and frank feedback.

    As you know, we strive to be an employer of choice in our industry. When we fall short of that standard, we want to know about it, so we can work to
    ... More

  3. 3 people found this helpful  

    Awful, very inexperienced management.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Casino in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Casino in Las Vegas, NV

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    Steady paycheck. Hourly employees are great.

    Cons

    I work in a downtown property and management basically blamed us for the awful shortcomings they have. Our VP has become so outdated in his running of our casino that it is failing. He is always golfing and doesn't actually know what goes on in his casino. Shameful. They took a week of vacation away from us per year, they took our pto sellback away, they have more than tripled our cost of medical insurance since it was changed from percs,

    But the most worrisome thing of all is that picture frame of managers they put up and all of them are Caucasian. Except the FB director. He's the only African American. They laid off the other African American manager. But you look the employee of the month wall there is the diversity they so claim.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    If your heart is really not in it you should move elsewhere. Good employees are being lost because of your inadequacies and severe lack of knowledge or skill.
    Diversity is lost on you. Get better HR representatives because frankly they are a joke. They now refer you to outside companies or materials to deal with your "problem." ALOHA.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Oct 8, 2014Company Administrator

    We appreciate your frank and honest feedback.

    It is always helpful to get the perspective of a long-time team member. You’ve been with us for a significant amount of time, and we hope your
    ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 2 people found this helpful  

    It manager

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time

    Pros

    Just some of the people I work with

    Cons

    Upper manager often ask employee to do tasks that could affect company and when it backs fires, they don't take responsibility and fired the wrong people

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Stop worrying about your bonus and look at how unhappy people are

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Jul 29, 2014Company Administrator

    We appreciate your honest and frank feedback.

    As you know, we strive to be an employer of choice in our industry. When we fall short of that standard, we want to know about it, so we can work to
    ... More

  6. 1 person found this helpful  

    Management hates employees

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Stage Technician in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Stage Technician in Las Vegas, NV

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Love the crew I work with... great people!

    Cons

    Years without a raise, when Tony and Barbara promised us competitive wages after we voted the Union out. Healthcare has doubled and we haven't even got a cost a living raise, much less a competitive wage! My Supervisor has no experience (has only had experience in college and the Orleans, has no idea how the REAL entertainment industry works!) I have 20 years experience both on tour and working for MGM, doing nationally televised events. I know how a show goes together and my Manager has no clue!

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Stick to your promises and give us a competitive wage! We are taking home less than I did three years ago! Hire the proper person for the position instead of creating a position for the person!

    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  7. 1 person found this helpful  

    Not happy, miserable place to work.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous
    Former Employee - Anonymous

    I worked at Boyd Gaming

    Pros

    One hour paid lunch... And most if the regular customers are nice.

    Cons

    Favoritism in this place is absurd!! Expect employees to do the work of 3 people but only give a measly .10 cent raise!! The "rules" change every day. You do not get proper training. This job will get you no where!!

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Treat everyone with the same regard. Rules are rules for everyone!!!

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Jul 14, 2014Company Administrator

    Thank you for your honest feedback.

    As you know from your time with the Company, we strive to be an employer of choice. When we fall short of that, we want to know about it. That is why we commit
    ... More

  8. 2 people found this helpful  

    No longer a career. Just a job

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Las Vegas, NV

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    Decent work environment. Great loyal co-workers

    Cons

    Every year the benefits get worse and the cost of having them goes up. After the most recent Presidential election we were told that the company would have to take away 1 week pto from everyone. A senior manager proceeded to say I hope you're glad Obama was re-elected.
    There is almost no upward movement available in this company and by the time you reach the next level they have reduced the pay for the position while expanding the job duties.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    If you treat you're employees as if they are not important they will certainly feel unimportant.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    May 22, 2014Company Administrator

    We appreciate your honest and frank feedback.

    As you know, we strive to be an employer of choice in our industry. When we fall short of that standard, we want to know about it, so we can work to
    ... More

  9. 3 people found this helpful  

    Employee morale has gone down the toilet(17 yr employee)

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Las Vegas, NV

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    Fellow employees and some regular customers make the job bearable. The money is pretty good most of the time but about half of what it was before this corporation took over. (Meaning tips. That is what I rely on)

    Cons

    There is blatant favoritism, which creates a hostile work environment. One of my 4 supervisors is professional and fair. The company boasts an "open door" policy which is a joke. Retaliation is rampant in my dept.. The "Boyd style" is an even bigger joke. They say they care about how people are treated, from the customer to employee, yet they do nothing in response to numerous complaints of misconduct by our department head.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Upper management need to address the "lowly" trench workers issues. We are expected to be treated poorly & disrespectfully, even yelled at or talked down to, then put on a big smile & be pleasant to our customers. If we treated the customers the way some of the bosses treat the emplyees, we would not be employed for long.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
  10. 3 people found this helpful  

    Managed by Half-Wits

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Las Vegas, NV

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming

    Pros

    Free "food", like in every other casino.

    Cons

    You will be treated like a parolee from day one. You will be chastised and threatened with termination for the slightest and most insignificant of variations from their procedures. The floor supervisors will tolerate the most abusive and obscene conduct from customers - yet management still finds ways to chase off high-rollers who actually tip. Oh, yes, they nickel and dime the customers and then when guests approval ratings drop, the employees are told to smile more, because it's obviously not hair-brained decisions on managements part that caused the decline in customer satisfaction.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Someone named Boyd should fire all the senior management. They are the worst management I've ever dealt with in this or any other industry I've worked. So, my advice to management would be: Pray nobody else takes over the company and analyzes why it's losing money.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  11. 2 people found this helpful  

    Worst Job Ever!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Human Resources Representative in Las Vegas, NV
    Former Employee - Human Resources Representative in Las Vegas, NV

    I worked at Boyd Gaming full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    Free food and bright casino lights to greet me like a star, I suppose.

    Cons

    For my salary they had me doing three different jobs: HR, call center and interpreter. I regretted putting that I was bilingual in my resume. Spanish speaking phone calls to the reservation department were forwarded to me and I had company deadlines in my department. The computers to apply for employment opportunities were located in the HR office which was incredibly distracting. Non-English speaking applicants barraged me, even though Taleo had a Spanish option. I politely explained to them that the computers were self service and that they could call Taleo should they had a problem. The refused to or simply could not get it. It's as if they needed baby sitting complete with repeating instructions many times over. In spite of this, I blame management because they prospective applicants and people off the street too much access to Human Resources.

    Upper level HR was quick to nitpick me though I had the stacks against me to begin with. Also, department level managers had easy access to the HR file room and they frequently misplaced and took documents from the employee's file and not return them. Guess where the blame went when files were reviewed? Yours truly. Keep in mind that we were managing 1600 employees.

    Aside from this, management engaged in voter intimidation when they issued newsletters admonishing us which party to vote for if they wanted to keep their jobs, which was Republican.

    Parts of employee manual violate the employee's privacy off work hours. They say that you cannot conduct yourself in a "questionable" manner as long as you represent the company. Whatever that means. Also, you have to maintain your hair in a "natural" color or else they will force to redye it or cover it up. Apparently, they dislike dreadlocks as they deem it "unprofessional." The corporate culture was so out of touch with the times. Management expects you think like them. So, if the manager loves Oprah, voted for Sheriff Gillespie and loves his work, well, you have to fake it or else you will outcasted. I kid you not.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Do not place your job application computers in the HR department. Make up your mind as what job you want your employees to actually fulfill. Do not allow so many "managers" in the HR room; that is a disaster waiting to happen. It is not necessary to micromanage every aspect of an employee's life (both on and off work) like a gestapo in order to remain successful.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

Work at Boyd Gaming? Share Your Experiences

Boyd Gaming

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.