Boyd Gaming Reviews

Updated August 9, 2014
Updated August 9, 2014
64 Reviews

2.9
64 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Boyd Gaming CEO and President Keith E. Smith
Keith E. Smith
33 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • They also do have a a really good work life balance unlike other gaming companies that have a work work balance (in 4 reviews)

  • The company also heavily promotes from within (in 3 reviews)


Cons
  • Too often a person in an upper management position will have either no casino experience or they are "old school" casino people (in 3 reviews)

  • Negative work environment, no recognition, top-heavy, no one seems to really care what the lower level employees feel (in 3 reviews)

More Highlights

15 Employee Reviews Back to all reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Smart, friendly family owned company that is losing market share due to increasing competition

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Supervisor  in  Peoria, IL
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Peoria, IL

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Positive work environment. Friendly employees & customers. Customer oriented focus. Some top management actually cared and listened to the employees. They promote from within. Decent benefits. Free food. Great work schedule.

    Cons

    The pay was not the best. Small bonuses. The chain of command was a bit disorganized, and there was a lack of communication between departments. I don't think they reached out to understand their customers very well. The gaming Industry lacks avenues for growth, and the market is becoming saturated.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Listen to the customers. Don't just ignore what they have to say, because it conflicts with revenue. Bridges were being burnt with customers all the time, sooner or later, if things don't change or more new customers are not created, there will be no solid ground for the company to stand on.

    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Aug 11, 2014Company Administrator

    Thank you for your honest feedback.

    We strive to be an employer of choice. When we fall short of that, we want to know about it. That is why we commit to items such as our team member opinion
    ... More

  2. 1 person found this helpful  

    Boyd is a "people oriented" organization, with lots of potential for employees

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer, IT  in  Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer, IT in Las Vegas, NV

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    This company seems to pride itself on employee loyalty, flexibility, and a stress-free worker culture. The balance between personal life and strong work ethic is a priority for upper management. This ethos supports a culture of loyalty at the company.
    The company also heavily promotes from within. Boyd provides opportunities to employees that have the ability to constantly progress without being stymied by politics or nepotism.

    Cons

    Salary and pay rates lag behind other competitors in the local industry. Employee performance review process does not seem to carry weight with regards to compensation and promotions.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Jul 10, 2014Company Administrator

    Thank you for the positive feedback! We’re glad to have you on our team, and we’re thrilled to hear that you’ve had a good experience working with us.

    You did mention a few issues of concern
    ... More

  3.  

    Fun!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Arena Usher
    Current Employee - Arena Usher

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work alongside with. Pretty good events at the arena.

    Cons

    Little, if any room for advancement or full time work. Very few hours overall.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Jul 14, 2014Company Administrator

    Thank you for the positive feedback! We’re glad to have you as part of the team!

    You did mention a few issues of concern . We’d invite you to address these concerns by taking advantage of our Open
    ... More

  4. We want your feedback – Are these company reviews helpful to you?  Yes | No
  5. 1 person found this helpful  

    Mostly positive experience

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee  in  East Peoria, IL
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in East Peoria, IL

    I worked at Boyd Gaming part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good pay & benefits, decent training, opportunities to advance if motivated, management seemed responsive to employee input

    Cons

    It's a casino...the hours can be tough, but I knew that when accepting the position. Most of the cons are very apparent prior to working there....some uniforms are a bit revealing, late hours, working around customers who may be very upset about losing money. I feel there really weren't any surprising cons to this company.

    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Jun 27, 2014Company Administrator

    Thank you for the positive feedback! We’re glad you had a good experience working with us and we wish you all the best in your future endeavors.

    Thanks again for your review!

  6. 1 person found this helpful  

    Large Corporation That Feels Like a Family Owned Business

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Manager  in  Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Manager in Las Vegas, NV

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The thing that sets Boyd Gaming apart from other gaming companies is its culture. From the time you apply to being hired and through your career, you hear about Boyd Style. The executives are approachable for the most part and like any company there is bureaucracy, but everyone treats you like family. They are one of the few gaming companies that still has service awards and a decent recognition program. Guess that's why so many people stay with the company. They also do have a a really good work life balance unlike other gaming companies that have a work work balance.

    Cons

    With the recession, the cost of benefits has gone up while raises have been little or non existent. But I can understand that you can't give huge raises if the company isn't making money.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Please think about bringing back some of the benefits such as tuition reimbursement and increasing the 401k match. Also, its time to get real about giving increases. 1% isn't even keeping up with inflation.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Jun 13, 2014Company Administrator

    Thanks for the positive feedback! We’re glad to have you on our team, and we’re thrilled to hear that you’ve had a good experience working with us.

    You did mention a few issues of concern. We’d
    ... More

  7.  

    Nice place to work but does expect to get paid much.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Technical Analyst  in  Las Vegas, NV
    Former Employee - Technical Analyst in Las Vegas, NV

    I worked at Boyd Gaming full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    At the time when I was employed, there were a lot of benefits.

    Cons

    There WERE a lot of benefits. Seems like they kind of slashed them since I left.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Times are tough keep up the benefits.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Jun 11, 2014Company Administrator

    Thank you for your feedback.

    As you know from your time with the Company, we strive to be an employer of choice. When we fall short of that, we want to know about it. That is why we commit to
    ... More

  8. 2 people found this helpful  

    Working for this Company is awesome!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Casino Dealer  in  Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Casino Dealer in Las Vegas, NV

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This company is like a second family. Upper- management treats every individual with a problem with empathy and total support. Promotes from within and hires dealers with minimum experience.

    Cons

    Hired as on-call can last years till promoted to part-time or full-time status.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Not all of the dual-rate or full-time supervisors are consistent with fairness, and consistency with all dealers. Some of the players have terrible tantrums and management caves, condoning mistreatment of dealers.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    May 22, 2014Company Administrator

    Thank you for your review and sharing your experience with us. We are very fortunate to have a team member such as you as part of Boyd Gaming.

    You did mention advice for management. We invite you
    ... More

  9. 1 person found this helpful  

    Overall rewarding

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Boyd Gaming full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, overall pleasant co workers, promotes within company

    Cons

    Corporate needs to revamp property upper management, long work hours are expected

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Corporate should take a serious look at property management and rethink who is running the houses. Work ethics are not up to standards, and it all starts at the top to the bottom. Do as I say, not as I do, is in effect!

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  10. 1 person found this helpful  

    A fun place to work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Security  in  Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Security in Las Vegas, NV

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    you get to know a lot of people and work with a great team. There is always something new going on that you can be involved with if you like .Free food & drink in EDR that is nice when working long shifts. can move up at a fast pace if you are very good at what you do.

    Cons

    long hours that can change without much time to prepare for the next day if you have small kids this can be hard with school and slow to get higher pay in some jobs . hard to keep up with some cards that you must maintain for feds.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    It is bad to post security in spots without movers because patterns develop that make the main cage a better target armed security moving around without a pattern that can be picked up on real fast is a better fit garage checks at odd times with a mix of by foot on bike and car makes crooks not just look for one thing and can cause them to look for a softer target and not think about robbing you in the first place unarmed security at doors looks week add a coat and they think that is something to contend with as a armed security and that can change the pattern of thought of a crook and help reduce runs at the main cage and guest in the lot. I spent a lot of time interviewing criminals and it seamed they only care about security that is armed or might be. All I spoke with stated that if they couldn't tell if the security was armed and see some that are than they must all be. and most criminals don't wish to deal with that.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  11.  

    Stable employment with options & benefits in this company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Hotel Housekeeping  in  East Peoria, IL
    Current Employee - Hotel Housekeeping in East Peoria, IL

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Guests & coworkers are friendly and promote a good experience and positive attitude, semi-flexible w/ scheduling. Luv my leads-awesome people!

    Cons

    Physically demanding, some "emergency weather procedures" confusing or not explained clearly that are currently being addressed, uniforms are uncomfortable.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Uniform options in comfortable materials would be greatly appreciated! Training methods are acceptable, but not exactly efficient or precise-some confusion/shortcuts in training can cause "issues" when being evaluated/inspected.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

Worked for Boyd Gaming? Contribute to the Community!

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.