Boyd Gaming

www.boydcareers.com

Boyd Gaming Reviews

Updated November 25, 2014
Updated November 25, 2014
89 Reviews
3.2
89 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Boyd Gaming CEO and President Keith E. Smith
Keith E. Smith
43 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • They also do have a a really good work life balance unlike other gaming companies that have a work work balance (in 4 reviews)

  • The company also heavily promotes from within (in 3 reviews)


Cons
  • Too often a person in an upper management position will have either no casino experience or they are "old school" casino people (in 3 reviews)

  • Negative work environment, no recognition, top-heavy, no one seems to really care what the lower level employees feel (in 3 reviews)

More Highlights

21 Employee Reviews Back to all reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    The casino business is fun again!

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming

    Pros

    The rapport between the co-workers.

    Cons

    The same as any casino: noise, smoke, hours,

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep it fun for us and we'll keep it fun for the customers.

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Dec 1, 2014Company Administrator

    Thanks for the positive feedback! We’re glad to have you on our team, and we’re thrilled to hear that you’ve had a good experience working with us.

    We want to encourage you to participate in the
    ... More

  2.  

    Great

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Valet Attendant
    Former Employee - Valet Attendant

    I worked at Boyd Gaming

    Pros

    All..everyone is helpful and nice and friendly

    Cons

    Pay could be better..but the environment could be better

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Nov 20, 2014Company Administrator

    Thank you for the positive feedback! We’re glad that you had a good experience working with us. We'll pass along your comments to senior management.

    Thanks again for your review.

  3. 1 person found this helpful  

    Great company

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming

    Pros

    Very reasonable company. Easy to talk to upper management. Everyone is friendly.

    Cons

    It took awhile to go through the hiring process.

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Nov 8, 2014Company Administrator

    Thanks for the positive feedback! We’re glad to have you on our team, and we’re thrilled to hear that you’ve had a good experience working with us. With the upcoming team member opinion survey we ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 1 person found this helpful  

    BOYD Gaming is a great company to work for !

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Executive Steward in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Executive Steward in Las Vegas, NV

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    I must say Boyd gaming values relationships with Team member plus as a very good promotional program!

    Cons

    Boyd Gaming has a mutitude of challegance you will face on a daily base but with that said it comes with the hosipitality field!

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    The only thing that i could advise or ask upper managemnet to do is be more proactive Lead by simple!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Nov 1, 2014Company Administrator

    Thanks for the positive feedback! We’re glad to have you on our team, and we’re thrilled to hear that you’ve had a good experience working with us. With the upcoming team member opinion survey we ... More

  6.  

    Cage cashier was decent money for easy job.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Boyd Gaming

    Pros

    The money is decent, employees are fun.

    Cons

    This company follows a point system policy.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    It would be nice if the insurance was better and cheaper.

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Sep 29, 2014Company Administrator

    Thank you for your review. Boyd Gaming is committed to operating with the highest ethics, and when we fall short, we want to know about it.

    We will pass along both your compliments and your
    ... More

  7.  

    Amazing, love my job, wish it paid better

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming

    Pros

    The people. The ones I work with and the guests. My job is very enjoyable. Management is great and the opportunity to advice is there

    Cons

    Pay sucks. At least offer overtime if you can't pay better or cross train something

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Sep 18, 2014Company Administrator

    Thank you for your honest feedback.

    We strive to be an employer of choice. When we fall short of that, we want to know about it. That is why we commit to items such as our team member opinion
    ... More

  8.  

    Smart, friendly family owned company that is losing market share due to increasing competition

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Peoria, IL
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Peoria, IL

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    Positive work environment. Friendly employees & customers. Customer oriented focus. Some top management actually cared and listened to the employees. They promote from within. Decent benefits. Free food. Great work schedule.

    Cons

    The pay was not the best. Small bonuses. The chain of command was a bit disorganized, and there was a lack of communication between departments. I don't think they reached out to understand their customers very well. The gaming Industry lacks avenues for growth, and the market is becoming saturated.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Listen to the customers. Don't just ignore what they have to say, because it conflicts with revenue. Bridges were being burnt with customers all the time, sooner or later, if things don't change or more new customers are not created, there will be no solid ground for the company to stand on.

    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Aug 11, 2014Company Administrator

    Thank you for your honest feedback.

    We strive to be an employer of choice. When we fall short of that, we want to know about it. That is why we commit to items such as our team member opinion
    ... More

  9. 1 person found this helpful  

    Boyd is a "people oriented" organization, with lots of potential for employees

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer, IT in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer, IT in Las Vegas, NV

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    This company seems to pride itself on employee loyalty, flexibility, and a stress-free worker culture. The balance between personal life and strong work ethic is a priority for upper management. This ethos supports a culture of loyalty at the company.
    The company also heavily promotes from within. Boyd provides opportunities to employees that have the ability to constantly progress without being stymied by politics or nepotism.

    Cons

    Salary and pay rates lag behind other competitors in the local industry. Employee performance review process does not seem to carry weight with regards to compensation and promotions.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Jul 10, 2014Company Administrator

    Thank you for the positive feedback! We’re glad to have you on our team, and we’re thrilled to hear that you’ve had a good experience working with us.

    You did mention a few issues of concern
    ... More

  10.  

    Fun!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Arena Usher
    Current Employee - Arena Usher

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming part-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    Great people to work alongside with. Pretty good events at the arena.

    Cons

    Little, if any room for advancement or full time work. Very few hours overall.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Jul 14, 2014Company Administrator

    Thank you for the positive feedback! We’re glad to have you as part of the team!

    You did mention a few issues of concern . We’d invite you to address these concerns by taking advantage of our Open
    ... More

  11. 1 person found this helpful  

    Mostly positive experience

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in East Peoria, IL
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in East Peoria, IL

    I worked at Boyd Gaming part-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    good pay & benefits, decent training, opportunities to advance if motivated, management seemed responsive to employee input

    Cons

    It's a casino...the hours can be tough, but I knew that when accepting the position. Most of the cons are very apparent prior to working there....some uniforms are a bit revealing, late hours, working around customers who may be very upset about losing money. I feel there really weren't any surprising cons to this company.

    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Jun 27, 2014Company Administrator

    Thank you for the positive feedback! We’re glad you had a good experience working with us and we wish you all the best in your future endeavors.

    Thanks again for your review!

Work at Boyd Gaming? Share Your Experiences

Boyd Gaming

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.