Boyd Gaming

www.boydcareers.com

Boyd Gaming Reviews

Updated January 8, 2015
Updated January 8, 2015
89 Reviews
3.2
89 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Boyd Gaming CEO and President Keith E. Smith
Keith E. Smith
43 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • They also do have a a really good work life balance unlike other gaming companies that have a work work balance (in 4 reviews)

  • The company also heavily promotes from within (in 3 reviews)


Cons
  • Too often a person in an upper management position will have either no casino experience or they are "old school" casino people (in 3 reviews)

  • Negative work environment, no recognition, top-heavy, no one seems to really care what the lower level employees feel (in 3 reviews)

More Highlights

16 Employee Reviews Back to all reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Excellent Company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming

    Pros

    Overall a friendly and interesting place to work

    Cons

    Working hard to expand the company

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Jan 13, 2015Company Administrator

    Thanks for the positive feedback!

    We’re glad to have you on our team, and we’re thrilled to hear that you’ve had a good experience working with us.

    Thanks again for your review!

  2.  

    A great place to work at.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Cocktail Waitress in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Cocktail Waitress in Las Vegas, NV

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming

    Pros

    There is a very strong family feeling between other staff and customers. Everyone is very friendly.

    Cons

    Sometimes certain shifts can be harder than others. Also, I wish I was a full time employee versus on call.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Thank you for the opportunity to be a part of the team/family.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Jan 13, 2015Company Administrator

    We appreciate your feedback and we're glad to have you on our team!!!

    As you know, we strive to be an employer of choice in our industry. When we fall short of that standard, we want to know about
    ... More

  3.  

    Dealing: My Dream Job

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Table Games Dealer in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Table Games Dealer in Las Vegas, NV

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming part-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    I LOVE the teamwork. Working with Human Resources has been a real pleasure. The supervision staff, especially Lori Sommerness, has been so professional and caring that it has been smooth and easy to learn my new job. The leadership has been superb. I absolutely love my schedule.

    Cons

    At this point I am part-time and do not share in the benefits of full-time workers. I am looking forward to growing in this company so I may be considered for more hours later. I wish it was a smoke-free environment.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep up the good work. I liked everything about getting the job, and appreciate it very much.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Dec 27, 2014Company Administrator

    Thanks for the positive feedback! We’re glad to have you on our team, and we’re thrilled to hear that you’ve had a good experience working with us.

    Thanks again for your review!

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    Really love what I am doing in slot marketing!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Slot Marketing in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Slot Marketing in Las Vegas, NV

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming part-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    Benefits(once I start receiving them) and the team members dinning room.

    Cons

    Some of the challenges have been getting comfortable with the people that I work with. Some of them not very nice, tattle tales, and don't even show up for work.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    A better eye on what is going on in our department.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Dec 22, 2014Company Administrator

    We appreciate your feedback and we're glad to have you on our team!!!

    As you know, we strive to be an employer of choice in our industry. When we fall short of that standard, we want to know about
    ... More

  6.  

    First casino job, glad to say BOYD is a great company.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Security Officer in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Security Officer in Las Vegas, NV

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    At first I thought "oh a lower scale casino corporation, compared to MGM" man was I wrong. BOYD cares very much about their employees & customers.

    I was very well pleased with how much training I received I actually felt great about going into my job title with all the training provided.

    Pay is mediocre but what can I expect for entry level, it's competitive.
    Benefits are great too.

    They also are in the process of renovating the Gold Coast, which was needed.

    I also just received my check a few days early because of Thanksgiving & heard something about a Christmas bonus! Just those few things make me want to stay with BOYD Gaming for the future.

    BOYD takes care of everyone.

    Cons

    Typical casino cons: late hours, smoke, some customers that just want handouts & some supervisors & or managers are just rude.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Only thing I would recommend is listen to your employees, they might have ideas no one has thought of.

    The team member questionaire is a great way to get your employees thoughts.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Dec 8, 2014Company Administrator

    Thanks for the positive feedback! We’re glad to have you on our team, and we’re thrilled to hear that you’ve had a good experience working with us.

    We're glad that you pointed out the TMOS program
    ... More

  7.  

    Boyd is FAMILY.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Table Games Dealer in Tunica, MS
    Former Employee - Table Games Dealer in Tunica, MS

    I worked at Boyd Gaming full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Less stressful than other gaming companies. Great co-workers, great management. People respect and speak to each other, even between departments. No one looks down on another. We take care of each other. Always big on training people who want to move up and around in the company. I was always very proud to say I worked for Boyd.

    Cons

    Typical casino cons: Smoke. Noise. There will always be a couple of people you don't necessarily get along with, but this really was rarely a problem compared to other casinos. Boyd employees really do enjoy a family atmosphere.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep it up. The recession hit hard and layoffs were hurtful, tough times. But, you've really scaled back well and focused on your target customer. Business has picked considerably up as a result, and I cannot wait for the day I get to come back home. Here's to further growth in the Tunica community and for all Boyd family!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Nov 12, 2014Company Administrator

    Thanks for the positive feedback!

    We’re glad that you were a part of our Sam's Town Tunica team and we’re thrilled to hear that you had a good experience working with us.

    Thanks again for
    ... More

  8. 1 person found this helpful  

    I love working here, everyone is helpful and nice.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Specialty Bus Person in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Specialty Bus Person in Las Vegas, NV

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming part-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    There are a lot of great people here staff is awesome! Enjoy coming everyday to work, I can see myself here for a long time.

    Cons

    I don't see no cons yet I am still new to the company, all I know is it's great.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Awesome job!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Sep 18, 2014Company Administrator

    Thanks for the positive feedback! We’re glad to have you on our team, and we’re thrilled to hear that you’ve had a good experience working with us.

    Thanks again for your review.

  9.  

    Paul M. The manager at Eldarodo, and Jokers Wild Is. GOOD AMERICAN!

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming

    Pros

    Great Nose to Nose Marketing! Great customer service! He the MAN.

    Cons

    ZIP< NONE Not with this TEAM 110%

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Name him CHIEF RUN SO FAST!

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Aug 11, 2014Company Administrator

    Thank you for the positive feedback! We’re glad to have you as part of the team!

    Paul M sounds like a true leader. We appreciate your information.

    Thanks again for your review!

  10. 1 person found this helpful  

    Very good experience. Great place to work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Casino Host in Opelousas, LA
    Former Employee - Casino Host in Opelousas, LA

    I worked at Boyd Gaming full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    Equal opportunity employer. Easy advantage to move up.

    Cons

    Pay seems to be on the low side.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Step up the pay!!! You will gain better employees.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Jun 18, 2014Company Administrator

    We appreciate your review and thank you for the feedback.

    As you know from your time with the Company, we strive to be an employer of choice. When we fall short of that, we want to know about it
    ... More

  11. 1 person found this helpful  

    Best work-life balance for a gaming company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Manager Engineering in Las Vegas, NV
    Former Employee - Manager Engineering in Las Vegas, NV

    I worked at Boyd Gaming full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    The company values that Boyd Gaming has is something that is not found in today's casino industry. The values and community involvement that Boyd Gaming exhibits come straight from the executive chairman and founder, Bill Boyd. While he has given up day to day operations he still has an enormous effect on how the company does business. Boyd while not an industry leader in compensation has the best work-life balance of any gaming company in Las Vegas. Boyd is also a great company when it comes to promoting from within.

    Cons

    Compensation has been an issue over the years with Boyd, but they are now understanding the importance that compensation plays in turnover. Over the past couple of years it is obvious that they now understand that having compensation well below competitors has lead to losing solid employees and just being a training ground for others to come in and pick off their good employees.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Boyd Gaming Response

    May 22, 2014Company Administrator

    Thanks for the positive feedback!

    We’re glad to have had you on our team, and we’re glad you had a good experience working with us.

    You did mention a few issues of concern. We’d invite you
    ... More

Work at Boyd Gaming? Share Your Experiences

Boyd Gaming

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.