Boyd Gaming Reviews

Updated April 17, 2015
20 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
5.0
20 Reviews
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Boyd Gaming CEO and President Keith E. Smith
Keith E. Smith
15 Ratings

20 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Featured Review

    Simply the best work environment I ever been around

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Plate Runner in Biloxi, MS
    Current Employee - Plate Runner in Biloxi, MS

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    I'm a people person the guest my coworkers are amazing and help me feel like I'm apart of the Boyd family

    Cons

    There are none this company is the best

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work and I feel like yall really care about the employees. ...thanks for hiring me this feels like the right place for me to be...

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Apr 5, 2015Company Administrator

    Thanks for the positive feedback!

    We’re glad to have you on our team, and we’re thrilled to hear that you’ve had a good experience working with us.

    Thanks again for your review!

  2. Director

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in South San Francisco, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in South San Francisco, CA

    I worked at Boyd Gaming

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great co-workers, great environment, caring managers

    Cons

    Life Work Balance, A little political

    Advice to Management

    Realize that your employees are your most important Asset

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Apr 20, 2015Company Administrator

    We appreciate your feedback.

    As you know, we strive to be an employer of choice in our industry. When we fall short of that standard, we want to know about it, so we can work to improve. We'll
    ... More

  3. Company like none other..!!!!!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Audio Visual Technician in North Shreveport, LA
    Current Employee - Audio Visual Technician in North Shreveport, LA

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time (less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great staff.... the perk of wearing dress clothes... having the chance to make people enjoy their selfs

    Cons

    Can't find one at the moment.. not to be cheesy but I have the greatest job inside the Boyd gaming corporation

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Mar 16, 2015Company Administrator

    Thanks for the positive feedback!

    We’re glad to have you on our team, and we’re thrilled to hear that you’ve had a good experience working with us.

    Thanks again for your review!

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. In the short time that I've been here, it appears that Boyd Gaming really cares about it's employees.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Ground Agent (Vacations Hawaii) in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Ground Agent (Vacations Hawaii) in Las Vegas, NV

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming part-time (less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    It's like an Ohana, open door policy and the intense safety training are really impressive. Just the fact that we are asked to rate this company and with an "advice to management" section is pretty cool I think. If this is the norm, expect me to stay here till I die!!!

    Cons

    While I agree with the clothing policy, as an part time worker I think the company should provide more. For example, I have a very expensive jacket that is very warm but I can't use it because the color is blue (we are required to wear black). Buying another jacket of the same quality would put a strain on my budget. This is more of a thought than a complaint. I can survive with the current policy.

    Advice to Management

    At this time I have no advice to give but for you to continue as you are doing and ensure that what we've learned at the orientation was not just a dog and pony show.

    I left a few blank below only because I'm not qualified to have an honest opinion just yet.

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Mar 16, 2015Company Administrator

    Thanks for the positive feedback!

    We’re glad to have you on our team, and we’re thrilled to hear that you’ve had a good experience working with us. Please know that you have the Open Door Policy
    ... More

  6. A great place to work at.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Cocktail Waitress in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Cocktail Waitress in Las Vegas, NV

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    There is a very strong family feeling between other staff and customers. Everyone is very friendly.

    Cons

    Sometimes certain shifts can be harder than others. Also, I wish I was a full time employee versus on call.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for the opportunity to be a part of the team/family.

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Jan 13, 2015Company Administrator

    We appreciate your feedback and we're glad to have you on our team!!!

    As you know, we strive to be an employer of choice in our industry. When we fall short of that standard, we want to know about
    ... More

  7. Excellent Company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Overall a friendly and interesting place to work

    Cons

    Working hard to expand the company

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Jan 13, 2015Company Administrator

    Thanks for the positive feedback!

    We’re glad to have you on our team, and we’re thrilled to hear that you’ve had a good experience working with us.

    Thanks again for your review!

  8. Really love what I am doing in slot marketing!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Slot Marketing in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Slot Marketing in Las Vegas, NV

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming part-time (less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Benefits(once I start receiving them) and the team members dinning room.

    Cons

    Some of the challenges have been getting comfortable with the people that I work with. Some of them not very nice, tattle tales, and don't even show up for work.

    Advice to Management

    A better eye on what is going on in our department.

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Dec 22, 2014Company Administrator

    We appreciate your feedback and we're glad to have you on our team!!!

    As you know, we strive to be an employer of choice in our industry. When we fall short of that standard, we want to know about
    ... More

  9. Dealing: My Dream Job

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Table Games Dealer in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Table Games Dealer in Las Vegas, NV

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming part-time (less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    I LOVE the teamwork. Working with Human Resources has been a real pleasure. The supervision staff, especially Lori Sommerness, has been so professional and caring that it has been smooth and easy to learn my new job. The leadership has been superb. I absolutely love my schedule.

    Cons

    At this point I am part-time and do not share in the benefits of full-time workers. I am looking forward to growing in this company so I may be considered for more hours later. I wish it was a smoke-free environment.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. I liked everything about getting the job, and appreciate it very much.

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Dec 27, 2014Company Administrator

    Thanks for the positive feedback! We’re glad to have you on our team, and we’re thrilled to hear that you’ve had a good experience working with us.

    Thanks again for your review!

  10. First casino job, glad to say BOYD is a great company.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Security Officer in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Security Officer in Las Vegas, NV

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time (less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    At first I thought "oh a lower scale casino corporation, compared to MGM" man was I wrong. BOYD cares very much about their employees & customers.

    I was very well pleased with how much training I received I actually felt great about going into my job title with all the training provided.

    Pay is mediocre but what can I expect for entry level, it's competitive.
    Benefits are great too.

    They also are in the process of renovating the Gold Coast, which was needed.

    I also just received my check a few days early because of Thanksgiving & heard something about a Christmas bonus! Just those few things make me want to stay with BOYD Gaming for the future.

    BOYD takes care of everyone.

    Cons

    Typical casino cons: late hours, smoke, some customers that just want handouts & some supervisors & or managers are just rude.

    Advice to Management

    Only thing I would recommend is listen to your employees, they might have ideas no one has thought of.

    The team member questionaire is a great way to get your employees thoughts.

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Dec 8, 2014Company Administrator

    Thanks for the positive feedback! We’re glad to have you on our team, and we’re thrilled to hear that you’ve had a good experience working with us.

    We're glad that you pointed out the TMOS program
    ... More

  11. Boyd is FAMILY.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Table Games Dealer in Tunica, MS
    Former Employee - Table Games Dealer in Tunica, MS

    I worked at Boyd Gaming full-time (more than 5 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Less stressful than other gaming companies. Great co-workers, great management. People respect and speak to each other, even between departments. No one looks down on another. We take care of each other. Always big on training people who want to move up and around in the company. I was always very proud to say I worked for Boyd.

    Cons

    Typical casino cons: Smoke. Noise. There will always be a couple of people you don't necessarily get along with, but this really was rarely a problem compared to other casinos. Boyd employees really do enjoy a family atmosphere.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up. The recession hit hard and layoffs were hurtful, tough times. But, you've really scaled back well and focused on your target customer. Business has picked considerably up as a result, and I cannot wait for the day I get to come back home. Here's to further growth in the Tunica community and for all Boyd family!

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Nov 12, 2014Company Administrator

    Thanks for the positive feedback!

    We’re glad that you were a part of our Sam's Town Tunica team and we’re thrilled to hear that you had a good experience working with us.

    Thanks again for
    ... More

Work at Boyd Gaming? Share Your Experiences

Boyd Gaming

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.