California Casualty
4.0 of 5 34 reviews
www.calcas.com San Mateo, CA 500 to 999 Employees

California Casualty Reviews

Updated Jun 11, 2014
All Employees Current Employees Only

4.0 34 reviews

                             

88% Approve of the CEO

(no image)

Carl (Beau) Brown

(26 ratings)

78% of employees recommend this company to a friend
17 Employee Reviews Back to all reviews
Relevance Date Rating
in
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • Approves of CEO

     

    It has been an amazing ride!

    Anonymous Employee (Current Employee)
    Colorado Springs, CO

    ProsI've worked at California Casualty for 14 years and it has been a great experience. No company is perfect, but what I can say is that the company really cares about its customers AND employees. There is a lot of tenure in the organization with many employees working here 20+ years. The executives are great. Most know and interact with employees regularly. The Chairman and CEO, Beau Brown, literally knows everyone here by name. Seriously, where are you going to find that at another company? This truly is a family and I'm proud to be a part of it.

    ConsBecause we are a small company, promotional opportunities are slim. However, the company does try to find ways to grow you in your position with challenging assignments, projects, etc. Also, we tend to try and fix our IT systems internally, because they were created internally. I think we could do better, by improving our technology with something we didn't create ourselves.

    Advice to Senior ManagementContinue to communicate with the employees about the company vision and strategy. I love hearing how we all contribute to the bottom line.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    California Casualty CEO responded to this review Jun 23, 2014 EditDelete
    Thank you for sharing your thoughts about California Casualty being a company that is truly a family and really cares about our employees. We are fortunate to have employees like you who have been ... More
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • Approves of CEO

     

    Great Company to work for! Family owned feel.

    Team Manager (Current Employee)

    ProsCalifornia Casualty spends a lot of time focused on the employees. It's a fun work environment focused on the helping you meet your career goals. Customer service is very focused on the overall customer experience.

    ConsNothing to say about this right now. Very happy here.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Add Employer Response Flag Review
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • Approves of CEO

     

    I have essentially grown up with CalCas, spending the majority of my career here, learning and loving what I do.

    Team Manager (Current Employee)
    Colorado Springs, CO

    ProsEmployees care about each other and their customers. The salary and benefits are great and there is work-life balance. Family atmosphere. Code of ethics adhered to.

    ConsSmaller company = older computer systems

    Advice to Senior ManagementManagement is great from the CEO down. I promise you won't work at another company where the CEO knows each employee by name and visits with them each time he's in town.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    California Casualty Executive Vice President Sales, Marketing & Service responded to this review Jun 20, 2014 EditDelete
    We appreciate your feedback! California Casualty prides itself on being an open, flexible workplace. We encourage and welcome communication and interaction with individuals at all levels of the ... More
  • We want your feedback – Are these company reviews helpful to you?  Yes | No
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • Approves of CEO

     

    California Casualty is a great place to work - It is solidand rich in history; The best managers on the planet are here!

    N/A (Current Employee)
    Colorado Springs, CO

    ProsUpbeat, enthusiastic environment. People enjoy working here and it is evident as you meet the individual employees - smiling, happy, and still work hard daily to achieve goals. Great management that are friendly, caring and want you to succeed to be the best you can be. The customers are public servants and that makes every customer contact a much higher quality than those who work with the general public.

    ConsThere are no Cons - I love everyting about it.

    Advice to Senior ManagementKeep on being positive and remain to be the awesome managers you are. I have never seen a company that employes managers that are so caring and approachable and want to be there for you. They are one of the main reason California Casulity's employees remain to be extremlely tenured, from 10 to 20 to 30 and even 40 years, they have stayed with the company! And the management team has a lot to do with that!

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    California Casualty Vice President - Employee Relations responded to this review Jun 5, 2014 EditDelete
    Thank you for sharing your thoughts! We are happy to hear that you appreciate the culture and environment at California Casualty. Our goal is to provide a fun, yet focused workplace, so we can ... More
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           

     

    Great Company to work for!!

    Clerk (Former Employee)
    Leawood, KS

    ProsManagement is great! Always made to feel like your job is important. Good benefits.

    ConsThe hardest part is dealing with angry insured.

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    California Casualty Assistant Vice President, Staffing Manager responded to this review May 28, 2014 EditDelete
    Thank you for sharing this candid feedback; it is highly valued. At California Casualty, providing superior customer service is an integral part of our core values. As the California Casualty Code ... More
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • Approves of CEO

     

    California Casualty is one of northern California's best employers

    Anonymous Employee (Former Employee)
    San Mateo, CA

    ProsI enjoyed my time working for California Casualty. They were a fair employer, offering excellent benefits and working with each employee to ensure employee as well as company satisfaction.

    ConsI have no complaints. I could only have wished to have worked their longer and have moved farther up in rank.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    California Casualty Assistant Vice President, Staffing Manager responded to this review Jun 11, 2014 EditDelete
    Thank you for providing this feedback. We are always looking for ways to increase satisfaction with everything California Casualty has to offer to its customers and highly valued employees. We ... More
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • Approves of CEO

     

    Fabulous and rewarding place to work.

    Anonymous Employee (Current Employee)
    Colorado Springs, CO

    ProsFamily owned, employees are treated with respect and valued, great work environment. There is also great HR and Learning and Development support for work place issues or for those who want to advance. I am six months in and feel valued, challenged and appreciated. No place is perfect but I have talked with many people here who left other work environments to join California Casualty, and what more can you say about a company that boasts hundreds of employees with 25 years or more who still work here.

    ConsExpectations are high but attainable.

    Advice to Senior ManagementKeep realizing your employees are a great asset.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    California Casualty Assistant Vice President, Staffing Manager responded to this review May 28, 2014 EditDelete
    Welcome to California Casualty! We take great pride in being an employee-friendly workplace and place a high value on employee retention. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here ... More
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • Approves of CEO

     

    Proud to represent such an excellent company who cares about their community and customers!

    Field Marketing Manager (Current Employee)
    San Jose, CA

    ProsYou have the freedom and flexability to manage your groups and territory to meet assigned goals. The company creates marketing promotions that will in some way benefit the groups/ communities we serve such as our Athletic Grants, Nominate a Hero etc. We are encouraged to submit sugestions and ideas directly to Sr Management.

    ConsIt is still a job and we must meet performance expectations. Based on our monthly reports they are attainable with a majroity being able to surpass the minimum standards.

    Advice to Senior ManagementLimited number of positions to advance to within the Marketing Department but advancement to other departments is a possibility.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    California Casualty Assistant Vice President, Staffing Manager responded to this review Apr 30, 2014 EditDelete
    Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts! We can’t tell you enough how much we value your contributions to making California Casualty successful.

    As a company, we hire top-notch talent
    ... More
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • Approves of CEO

     

    Great Company to Work For

    Insurance Consultant (Former Employee)
    Leawood, KS

    ProsFamily owned.
    Great management team.
    Leads provided.
    Excellent work/life balance.

    ConsTough job at times (sales).

    Advice to Senior ManagementI really enjoyed my time as an employee at California Casualty. It is a very positive work environment. My manager did his very best to bring out the most of his team, regardless of our results. I have nothing but great respect for California Casualty and the management team.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    California Casualty Assistant Vice President, Staffing Manager responded to this review Apr 10, 2014 EditDelete
    Thank you for your comments. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at California Casualty. We work hard to ensure that our employees feel valued and rewarded.
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • Approves of CEO

     

    Great place to work and have a lifetime career

    Field Marketing Manager (Current Employee)

    ProsFantastic people to work with and wonderful clientele to visit every day. California Casualty treats its employees and insureds very fairly and very well. Great work/life balance and good benefits. Executives are personable, friendly and know everyone by name.

    ConsAdvancement in certain areas of the country is slower than others. Good advancement of careers in service center locations-AZ, Kansas City and Colorado Springs.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    California Casualty Assistant Vice President, Staffing Manager responded to this review Apr 18, 2014 EditDelete
    Thank you for review. We appreciate your loyalty and hard work to the company. It is great employees that make this company such a success!
RSS Feed Embed

Worked for California Casualty? Contribute to the Community!

California Casualty Videos

Loading...

California Casualty – Why Work for Us?

Our Company We Protect American Heroes California Casualty is in the business of providing high-quality insurance coverage and service at a competitive price. Since its founding in 1914, California Casualty has been… Full Overview

Provided by employer [?]

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.

Glassdoor is your free inside look at California Casualty reviews and ratings — including employee satisfaction and approval rating for California Casualty CEO Carl (Beau) Brown. All 17 reviews posted anonymously by California Casualty employees.