California Casualty Reviews

Updated August 28, 2015
32 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Any Status
Employment Status

Reset
5.0
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Carl (Beau) Brown
26 Ratings

Pros
  • Work/life balance is a hot topic now amongst the workforce (in 5 reviews)

  • Family owned, employees are treated with respect and valued, great work environment (in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • There are no Cons - I love everyting about it (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

32 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Featured Review

    Great company to work for!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Colorado Springs, CO
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at California Casualty full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    This is a wonderful company that is dedicated to its customers, employees, and bottom line (in that order). The most important aspect of business at CalCas is to treat the customer (insured) with honesty and respect. Employees are treated like family at California Casualty. An employees' safety is paramount. California Casualty knows and lives the philosophy, "if you take care of others, they will in return, take care of you". It is one thing to hear a company "talk" about putting customers and employees first; it is another thing to experience the words put into action. Existing employees are excited to welcome new hires and offer help at every turn. The work environment feels inclusive and optimistic. I can't say enough great things about California Casualty!

    Cons

    Honestly, none that I can think of.......I've been working here about 5 months so far.

    Advice to Management

    You are doing a great job.

    California Casualty Response

    Apr 22, 2015 – CEO

    Thank you for highlighting California Casualty's focus on its customers and employees. Like you, I truly feel that our employees treat customers with honesty and respect. I am pleased to hear that ... More


  2. My employees make the difference!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Team Manager in Colorado Springs, CO
    Current Employee - Service Team Manager in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at California Casualty full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    The people are the number one reason why I stay at CalCas. My team is the best! They celebrate each other's birthdays, organize breakfast potlucks on payday, adopt families at Christmas, and are genuinely interested in each other's lives. They care passionately about their work, and support each other when they are falling behind or handling a difficult customer situation. They let their personalities shine in their internet-based interactions with our customers, and receive compliments daily on our Click to Chat surveys about their efficiency, knowledge and compassion. I am excited to come to work every day to partner with them to achieve their personal career goals, our team goals, and ultimately our corporate goals.

    Cons

    We are a small but mighty team. We handle e-commerce, snail mail, faxes, outbound calls, inbound calls, walk-in customers, and more. We need to continue to try and find the right balance for these often competing priorities.

    Advice to Management

    Limit the span of control for Service Team Managers. Ten employees allows me to better provide the coaching and support necessary for commitment and success in addition to handling my other responsibilities.


  3. This is a great company!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Colorado Springs, CO
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at California Casualty full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    I've read some of the reviews that have been posted on here and I'm really shocked. California Casualty is a great place to work. I've been here for over 15 years. Has the company been through some changes? Yes, of course it has. We need to adapt and change as the environment changes to ensure we can remain competitive in the marketplace and to do what we were all hired to do - which is to service our customers. It seems that the people that are unhappy are the ones that can't adapt to change and maybe they shouldn't be here, if they can't handle change. At the end of the day, the company cares about its employees and wants to do the right thing by its employees and its customers. I feel thankful to work for California Casualty and hope to be here another 15 years.

    Cons

    Our IT infrastructure is very outdated and it seems we try to create patches for issues. rather than fixing the problem. I think it would be worthwhile to move to something more current. We can't even have the most recent version of Internet Explorer. I know that involves money, but it the long run, it would benefit the company. Also, because we are a small organization, job promotions are not as abundant.

    Advice to Management

    As changes occur in the organization, be sure to communicate the entire picture to the employees. People want to know why something is changing rather than just being told.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (1)

    Great Company!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Colorado Springs, CO
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at California Casualty full-time

    Pros

    I enjoy working for a family-owned business. I can make a difference here, whereas at a large public organization, you are just a number.

    Cons

    There are some trade-off working for a smaller company. We may not have the biggest and best of everything, but that's OK. We have the essentials.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to be engaged with employees.

    California Casualty Response

    Jul 16, 2015 – CEO

    Thank you for your advice to management about continuing to be engaged with employees. That is great advice. You have my commitment to remain engaged with our awesome employees, and I know our entire ... More


  6. Sales

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Colorado Springs, CO
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Colorado Springs, CO

    Pros

    I have worked for California Casualty for many years. Seen many "ups" and a few "downs" as any company experiences over the course of several decades. This Enterprise has a palpable heartbeat and a great compassion and care for the customers it serves and for the fellow employees who work here. The front line sales employees overall demonstrate a refreshing commitment to the members/customers on a daily basis. They also help each other out even though their is friendly competition amongst each other. Management does their best to support and nurture them, and abide by the Code which was established back in 1965. I feel that each member of the management team has their employees best interest in their respective hearts. There is a lot of teamwork and care between all the employees in Sales- which helps our tenure and experience level in an environment (sales in general) that normally has higher turnover. The intimate private family owned company environment is refreshing as well. You are not a number here... you truly can and do make a difference to the overall results of the Enterprise.

    Cons

    Our IT support is stretched and challenged by systems that are in the process of being modernized and updated. For a relatively smaller company, this can be a huge challenge and the updates sometimes seem to come rather slowly.

    California Casualty Response

    Jul 25, 2015 – CEO

    Yes. Any company that is around long enough will have its "ups" and "downs", as you state. Your comment about California Casualty having a "palpable heartbeat" and "compassion and care" for our ... More


  7. Love CalCas!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Glendale, AZ
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Glendale, AZ
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at California Casualty full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    California Casualty offers us a great environment to work in, company is very professional yet casual and comfortable.. Management is family oriented, caring and welcome suggestions, listen and make changes that help the flow of business when possible. Pay is great, hours for FT great and lots of snacks a little spiffs make it fun. I've worked here over 3 years and can't say enough wonderful things about the management team and CalCas!

    Cons

    Been waiting to go part time for over 3 years and No part time positions in the Customer Service Department offered. Not too many choices with Medical Insurance Plans/high deductibles. .

    Advice to Management

    Would like to see more options with time off. Either part-time positions 30 hours with benefits and or/just offering employees full time schedules with option of buying extra weeks without pay would be good too!

    California Casualty Response

    Jun 24, 2015 – Assistant Vice President, Service Manager

    Thank you for the positive feedback regarding your employment with California Casualty. We are glad to hear you enjoy the professional work environment, support from your managers, and the pay. We ... More


  8. Intern Review!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - IT Intern in San Mateo, CA
    Former Intern - IT Intern in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at California Casualty as an intern (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I worked in the IT department Great people to be around and really close knit team. I was a college intern and enjoyed learning about the IT department and what it's actually like in the real world. It was really great

    Cons

    There wasn't too much structure in my role but that's only because I was one of the first interns. Overall it was a great experience.

    Advice to Management

    Keep inviting interns in, you learn so much more in a real work environment then in the classroom and us interns provide a lot of value to you as well!

    California Casualty Response

    May 22, 2015 – Assistant Vice President, Staffing Manager

    Thank you for your kind words and sharing your experience. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors and appreciate your contributions to the organization.


  9. Field Marketing Manager

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Marketing Manager
    Current Employee - Field Marketing Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at California Casualty full-time

    Pros

    California casualty is a great company to work for. Strong support from management. They respect and value employees and policy holders. It's a privilege to work with people who serve our communities.

    Cons

    I can not think of any cons.

    California Casualty Response

    May 5, 2015 – Assistant Vice President, Group Marketing Regional Manager

    We’re so glad to hear that you enjoy working at California Casualty! We strive to create a challenging and rewarding work environment by investing in our greatest asset (that’s you!). We greatly ... More


  10. Great place to work!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outbound Sales Representative in Colorado Springs, CO
    Current Employee - Outbound Sales Representative in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at California Casualty full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The leadership and training with this company are unlike any other I have worked for. The management team is absolutely fantastic and work with they work with your personal schedule and professional schedule. The CEO of the company not only comes to say hi but knows us all by first name, a true family owned business that employees have pride in.

    Cons

    Some late nights and weekends, but that's where the potential for money is!

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing, I have never been happier wiht a job.

    California Casualty Response

    Mar 30, 2015 – Executive Vice President Sales, Marketing & Service

    Thanks for sharing this great feedback! We couldn’t be happier to hear that you enjoy our work environment and culture. It is always our goal to ensure that our highly valued employees like ... More


  11. Helpful (2)

    Proven to not be your typical call center - time and time again!!!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Team Manager in Colorado Springs, CO
    Current Employee - Customer Service Team Manager in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at California Casualty full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Work/life balance is a hot topic now amongst the workforce. This is just one of the advantages of working for Cal Cas. The work week is 37.5 hours and we are closed most major Holidays. There are lots of tenured employees; the average tenure of a customer service representative is a little over 15 years. To some, this may be seen as a limit of growth opportunity. However, as long as you have a solid development plan in place and a good foundation; when an opportunity becomes available you can secure it as long as you don't let it pass you by. There is truly a family atmosphere amongst everyone; we all care for one another on a professional and personal level! Our customer base is also one built amongst professionals so that leads to a better customer experience for all! If you are looking for a positive, significant & rewarding change in your career life - then check out Cal Cas! This will be the best decision of your professional path and growth!

    Cons

    I do not have any!

    Advice to Management

    Let's open an office on the East Coast!!!

    California Casualty Response

    Oct 29, 2014 – Executive Vice President Sales, Marketing & Service

    Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a complimentary review of California Casualty! We appreciate you and value our employees as much as our customers, so it’s nice to hear that you ... More



Showing 32 of 64 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.