Cisco Systems

  www.cisco.com
Work in HR? Unlock Free Profile

Cisco Systems Reviews

Updated Jul 25, 2014
All Employees Current Employees Only

3.5 4,615 reviews

74% Approve of the CEO

Cisco Systems Chairman & CEO John T. Chambers

John T. Chambers

(3,295 ratings)

75% of employees recommend this company to a friend

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Good work/life balance (for most) with plenty of tools to help get that done(in 534 reviews)

  • It is very flexible environment where most people can work from home if they desire(in 301 reviews)


Cons
  • No part-time options for professionals wanting work-life balance while raising a family(in 161 reviews)

  • The result is a dilution of culture and a race towards big company mediocrity(in 149 reviews)

194 Employee Reviews Back to all reviews
Relevance Date Rating
in
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • No Opinion of CEO

    3 people found this helpful  

    Bad News

    Anonymous Employee (Former Employee) San Jose, CA

    ProsIt was nice to telecommute so many days out of the week.

    ConsIt probably sounds like sour grapes, but anyone considering reviews should be aware of the issues too and decide for themselves what to do. There are some people in charge of other people in the Service organization that are abusive and unreasonable. I was cautioned by a recruiter about their reputations (in writing), but it was even worse than he admitted. They have no idea what they are doing. Seriously. There is no way working under them that you can be successful. It was an unfortunate experience and tops the list of bad news. In a large company bad apples can hide for a long time and cause a lot of damage, all around.

    Advice to Senior ManagementThere's healthy attrition, but when a particular team is especially high, you should find out why and fix it.

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend – I'm not optimistic about the outlook for this company

    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Disapproves of CEO

    2 people found this helpful  

    WARNing

    Manager (Current Employee) San Jose, CA

    ProsOn-site medical, fitness center, and child care
    Campus environment
    Historically good bonuses and benefits
    Camaraderie in workforce (at least in the past)

    ConsUnstable business model where reductions in force are a regular way to trim costs. If you look at Worker Adjustment and Retraining Act (WARN) notifications that Cisco has had to file in the last several years, here are the results in terms of number of employees laid off in San Jose by date: 10/18/13 - 899; 9/21/12 - 291; 8/19/11 - 1051; 7/18/11 - 55; 8/21/09 - 15; 7/31/09 - 6; 7/16/09 - 704; 6/16/09 - 22; 6/15/09 -25; 5/30/09 - 127; 4/24/09 - 233...and so on.

    Advice to Senior ManagementCreate stability in the business model where the workforce is not a trade-off variable to simply reduce costs.

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend – I'm not optimistic about the outlook for this company

    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities

    2 people found this helpful  

    not an exciting place to work

    Senior Software Engineer (Current Employee) San Jose, CA

    ProsGood balance with life and work
    provide internal transfer if you want to go to another division or department

    Conslack of opportunities to present your ideas and thoughts
    bad management team

    Advice to Senior Managementstop micromanagement, it is horrible for senior professionals

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend – I'm not optimistic about the outlook for this company

  1. We want your feedback – Are these company reviews helpful to you?  Yes | No

    1 person found this helpful  

    Make it hot for me---Test Engineer

    Anonymous Employee (Current Employee)

    Proscannot see pros so far

    Consspeak too fast and has a strong accent.
    I applied for the automation test position. ask a lot of Java, but the bad thing is he asks me while he searches questions on the Internet. Not professional and very indifference.

    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Disapproves of CEO

    3 people found this helpful  

    Cisco is mired in it's past and unfortunately this onetime leader had fallen behind and can't get up.

    Manager (Current Employee) San Jose, CA

    ProsIf you like sustaining work rebranded as development work and red tape then this this is the company for you.

    ConsA large percentage of all Cisco jobs will be non US jobs in a few years if the current trend continues.

    Advice to Senior ManagementPlease do away with grades 11 and 12 this job function has become completely useless and is holding Cisco in the past.

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend – I'm not optimistic about the outlook for this company

    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Disapproves of CEO

    5 people found this helpful  

    Work here - if you want to learn to become a back stabbing Politician and not do any Engineering.

    Software Engineer (Current Employee) San Jose, CA

    ProsPaycheck does not bounce.
    Great Work - Life Balance

    Cons- Pay is Low Compared to Other Companies
    - Zero Chance of Career Growth unless you Kiss a Lot of $$$es of Managers and Tech Leads
    - Benefits are Getting Reduced Day by Day
    - Technical Leaders (Engineering) - do not do any work - They act as Pseudo Managers and keep scrubbing bugs - Most Tech Leads don't write a single line of Code. All they do is sit in meetings and talk loud as if they are doing something.
    - Managers cannot be trusted - Software Engineers II to IV will get the Work Done - but they give credit to the Technical Lead and give them CAP awards
    - You will not a get a Job in Any Younger Startups if you stay here - You will not learn any real coding skills or real engineering - 50% of your time will be giving updates to Tech Leads and managers and editing bug scrub notes, rest 50% of your time you will spend in unnecessary meetings.
    - Your training will not be Approved.

    Advice to Senior Management- Get rid of the Tech Leads and Many redundant Managers
    - Improve your Employee Morale
    - Don't keep making false promises
    - Stop Lying to Employees that you value them - You only value your Managers and Tech Leads. Rest everyone is expendable.

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend

    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • No Opinion of CEO

    4 people found this helpful  

    Overall I learned a lot but was disenchanted by how little parts of the company care about their employees.

    Anonymous Employee (Current Employee) San Jose, CA

    ProsWork with some very bright and great people.

    ConsLittle work life balance and they don't stand behind their own 'zero tolerance' for harrassment policy. When you report something you get told to get over it and move on. I've heard this from at least 10 people at this point.

    Advice to Senior ManagementThey should care more about their employees. It doesn't appear that the cream is rising to the top. It appears that lots of good people are being restructured or leaving.

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend – I'm not optimistic about the outlook for this company

    1 person found this helpful  

    salary

    Software Engineer (Former Employee) San Jose, CA

    ProsI was interested of the quality of work

    ConsThe work environment wasn't very professional

    Advice to Senior ManagementBe fair and honest

    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Disapproves of CEO

    2 people found this helpful  

    The other reviewers are right. Cisco used to be a great company, but internal politics is bringing it down fast.

    Anonymous Employee (Current Employee)

    ProsGreat long-term strategy. First year compensation is relatively competitive. Having Cisco on your resume looks good.

    ConsWork-life balance is nonexistent. The worst part is all that time is spent in unproductive meetings. Employees (not the execs) take the hits when the company is down. Terrible execution of the strategy. Internal politics make doing real work nearly impossible. Outright lied during the hiring process, and I've witnessed many unethical actions from management.

    Advice to Senior ManagementConcentrate on execution. Treat your employees better.

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend – I'm not optimistic about the outlook for this company

    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Disapproves of CEO

    3 people found this helpful  

    Cisco stands for Crap

    Software Engineer (Former Employee) San Jose, CA

    ProsThere is nothing good about this place except the cafe...

    ConsIts a crap company. People laugh at in bay area if you say you work for cisco.
    Had very hectic schedules and stupid manager Makarand Shivadevuni...who don't even know how to manage...

    Advice to Senior ManagementGet ready for shut down...

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend – I'm not optimistic about the outlook for this company

Worked for Cisco Systems? Contribute to the Community!

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.