Combined Insurance Reviews

Updated June 18, 2015
65 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Any Status
Employment Status

Reset
1.0
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Combined Insurance President Brad Bennett
Brad Bennett
29 Ratings

Pros
  • My father has worked for the company for 15 years, and now I work for a company that values a positive mental attitude and a team oriented work place (in 8 reviews)

  • Classroom training to get agents to set goals, create 'positive mental attitude" (in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • Door to door business approach outdated (in 11 reviews)

  • Territory managers have poor coaching skills and therefore micromanage their agents (in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

65 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Helpful (3)

    bad news from the get go

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Agent
    Former Employee - Sales Agent

    I worked at Combined Insurance (Less than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Doesn't Recommend

    Pros

    Come with enthusiasm. They train with enthusiasm. And you will die with despair.

    Cons

    Every person except one I trained with is no longer with the company. They will say we get rid of this person, that person, things are different come on in the water us fine. With such high turnover what else could you say? It is a broken system and you are better off elsewhere.

    Advice to Management

    Really?

    Combined Insurance Response

    Jun 26, 2015HR Representative

    First, I would like to apologize for the delayed response. Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. I understand that sales can be a challenging position. We support new hires ... More


  2. Helpful (2)

    If you are willing to sell your soul...this might be the job for you!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Account Executive in New York, NY

    I worked at Combined Insurance

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Very high income earning POTENTIAL.

    Cons

    Cold calls, even though they tell you there are none.
    Training is good, but is not practical and once you're out of training they throw you to the wolves.

    Advice to Management

    Actually be manager and help the new guys.

    Combined Insurance Response

    Jun 26, 2015HR Representative

    First, I would like to apologize for the delayed response. Thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback.

    We understand that sales can be a challenging career. We support new
    ... More


  3. Helpful (15)

    Recruiter

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Internet Specialist (Recruiter/Recruiting Specialist) in Glenview, IL
    Former Employee - Internet Specialist (Recruiter/Recruiting Specialist) in Glenview, IL

    I worked at Combined Insurance full-time (More than 3 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    There are none. It is a community of lies, hate, negative mental attitude and low pay. While reading this keep in mind this is as pro as I can get on the subject of Combined Insurance.

    Cons

    Being told to right multiple fake reviews on glassdoor is unethical and really sad. We were told in the recruiting department to lie on glassdoor in order to make us look better on the internet. Oh, I'm sorry on the Web, we were told not to use the word "internet" because that has a negative connotation. Get real. We were told to lie about the compensation and make it sound like it was a full time job with a base even though it is a stipend that ends shortly after the agents start.

    Advice to Management

    Advice to the highest level of management in the company, take a good long look at your management team. Gather them in a room and fire them. You might still have time to turn this around. We all know that the parent company isn't happy...

    Combined Insurance Response

    Jun 24, 2015HR Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I would like to apologize for your experience while working with us. We have every intention of making Combined Insurance a fun and exciting place ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (4)

    Interview Promises are a joke! No Salary! No Residual!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Sales Representative in Hagerstown, MD
    Former Employee - Insurance Sales Representative in Hagerstown, MD

    I worked at Combined Insurance full-time (Less than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    Their products are priced well for families. Their target market is the individual or family. They are trying to get into the commercial side and compete head to head with Aflac. You get an Apple Ipad for your work that is loaded with the applications and slide shows for each appointment. Really cuts down on the paperwork. Very advanced system that is easy to use. Training is thorough.

    Cons

    Commission only after training. You get a territory to work. Problem is your upline will work it first for the "easy sales" leaving you to fend for yourself. No team work - you have to watch your back for someone to come into your territory and grab your business. Residuals are supposed to be lifetime, but I personally saw an agent go in and sell existing customers, and get a letter from them to cancel their previous service, thereby cutting off the residual of the previous agent. He didn't care, said the other agent probably wasn't there anymore.

    Advice to Management

    Do better hiding the contact information of current customers or make any sales made to them automatically belong to the signing agent (whether there or not) or to corporate. Agents are using this information (despite the do not call mandate) to resell, and upsell these customers. These are considered easy sales, and when bonus time comes around these customers are called for appointments and sales.


  6. Helpful (6)

    Disorganized

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Glenview, IL
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Glenview, IL

    I worked at Combined Insurance full-time (Less than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Met some great people and learned a good lesson about the insurance industry. Benefits are good as well as time off.

    Cons

    Recruiting is disorganized and management plays favorites. They don't want you to do well. If you aren't a chosen one you will be ignored. Pay is below standard and they give select information about bonuses.

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees better and they won't flee for their lives. Stop encouraging people to write fake reviews on glassdoor. Actually follow up with your candidates and quit talking behind peoples backs.


  7. Helpful (3)

    Don

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Internet Specialist in Glenview, IL
    Former Employee - Internet Specialist in Glenview, IL

    I worked at Combined Insurance

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    I met great people working here that I will be friends with for a long time. Great benefits and vacation- learned a lot about the business and became better at my field.

    Cons

    Management plays favorites to one particular person- they don't help the ones who need help succeed. Managers gossip and talk about other employees who work for them out loud. Senior recruiters refer to our prospective college interns in negative ways as well. The work environment is toxic. Getting candidates hired is an absolute joke as well. Hiring managers or market directors don't actually contact thee people you work hard to source and interview. It's a process of spinning your wheels and getting pennies in return. Bonuses are a joke as well. The company gives pennies as "raises" as well. Please take this advice and consider another recruiting opportunity before interviewing with Combined Insurance. Unless you are interested in going back to an environment that is by far worse than high school- by all means.

    Advice to Management

    Bring back Peter Leighton as the leader of recruiting- people might actually want to stay here- He is someone you can call a leader!

    Combined Insurance Response

    Jun 24, 2015HR Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am truly sorry that your experience with Combined Insurance did not match our intention of being a great place to work.

    The working
    ... More


  8. Helpful (3)

    Why would anyone need supplemental products with Obama care? This company preys on the poor and sickly.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Sales Agent in Glenview, IL
    Former Employee - Insurance Sales Agent in Glenview, IL

    I worked at Combined Insurance full-time (More than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Stay away! I don't have one good thing to say about this company.

    Cons

    No reimbursements for gas or food. Why would anyone need supplemental products with Obama care? This company preys on the poor and the sales agents can't seem to make minimum wage on a fully commission compensation package.Chargebacks run rampant. Australian government suing Combined for selling their insurance products for deceptive practices. This company is living off of vintage years and will hopefully go out of business soon. Company sells products online but asks agents to sell door to door without real leads and without technology.

    Advice to Management

    Combineds Management Team couldn't work at a real company as they have zero leadership skills.


  9. Helpful (3)

    The bubble has burst

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redgranite, WI
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redgranite, WI

    I worked at Combined Insurance full-time (More than 8 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    There is none unless you want stress at work and at home. If you want to be a crook then this is for you as I can name many people that have been reported for doing things that they should have been dismissed for but they are kept on because they are getting sales.

    Cons

    This company was kicked out of the UK and Ireland and find millions of dollars by those countries. They are currently under investigation in Australia for the same working practices in the UK and Ireland. Those are the same working practices used in the US.

    Look at the figures Combined uses on their literature over the years to try to entice customers.

                            Dec 2009 Aug 2010 Feb2011 May 2012 Dec 2012 Mar 2013 May 2014
    Claims Paid $245 Mil $241 Mil $460 Mil $525 Mil $525 Mil $460 Mil $550 Mil
    Global Policies 7.9 Mil 6.5 Mil 6.2Mil 4.4Mil 4.4 Mil 3.9Mil 3.4 Mil **
    Life ins in force $9 Bil $7.6 Bil $7.2 Bil $5.7 Bil $6.6 Bil $5.7 Bil $6.4 Bil **

    These figures are from their leave behind brochures in my procession. Notice the May 2014 figures - They are now listed on the brochure as being figures in the US only.

    Advice to Management

    You lie and cheat just to get figures and protect each other. You twist what people say to you and fire people for speaking out. Being a w2 employee does not mean anything if you get fired or leave as you don't get unemployment on commissions.


  10. Helpful (4)

    Worst company in America

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Agent in Saint Louis, MO
    Former Employee - Insurance Agent in Saint Louis, MO

    I worked at Combined Insurance

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    none seriously there is not a single thing

    Cons

    1. They do not pay claims. 2. They keep sending different agents out to the same customers every week an they customers hate you for coming. 3. Lowest commission levels in the country. 10% if you sell something to a current customer. Really 10%. 4. Customer service is a joke if someone calls them you are put on hold for 20 to 30 minutes, that really makes customers happy. 5. The managers are the most unethical people ever: A. When you go with them an sell something together it is supposed to go to the agent because the manager gets a salary plus an override on the sale but no they keep the sale for themselves. B. They text and call you starting before 6am an keep it up until after 10pm micro managing you wanting to know what you sold an if you have no sales they say keep going until you get one. C. Agents have been told to go out on Saturday and Sunday to get sales. Was even asked why we didn't work New Year's Day. The manager said people are going to be home get out there an knock on at 30 doors. 6. Ask them explain why they only have 1 or 2 agents with more than a year of service with them. They try to run off an agent around the 6th to 9th month. So they don't have to pay you the balance of your commissions. 7. The love meetings, every morning and they don't care if you have to drive up to 2 hours to get to the 1 hour try to pump you up meeting then drive back 2 hours to where you work. Plus you do not get paid for these attending these manitory meetings.
    If they call you, run as fast and as far from this company

    Advice to Management

    Follow your own company motto - Do the right thing because it is the right thing to do, instead of screwing your agents and stop the lies. Remember they have a nice cushy job an get paid very well on all those policies you sold after your gone so they could care less about you.


  11. Helpful (3)

    i used to work at combined ins I was the serioius buiness

    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Combined Insurance

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Pros

    Zero, None, Zip ,Zilch.... ok i wasted enough time

    Cons

    i worked there back in the day and did as good as one can do............. as a company what a joke claims never paid... i met a guy who cut off 4 toes w a lawnmower... took off his socks off and showed me... guess how much combined paid 90 bucks.... if theres a way to weasal out of it they wouldnt pay.... or make the customer fill out paperwork over and over saying they never gort it, If the company spent as much time and resources in the product as they do the training the companty would be doing well. w clement stone is rolling over in his grave right now!!!!

    Advice to Management

    Find a job w a different company...



Showing 65 of 240 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.