Delivery Agent

  www.deliveryagent.com
Work in HR? Unlock Free Profile

Delivery Agent Reviews

Updated Jun 6, 2014
All Employees Current Employees Only

2.8 54 reviews

62% Approve of the CEO

(no image)

Mike Fitzsimmons

(26 ratings)

44% of employees recommend this company to a friend

Review Highlights

Pros
  • They have an unlimited vacation policy and treat employees as adults(in 5 reviews)

  • Hard working employees that aren't afraid to roll up their sleeves and get things done, even its not in their job description(in 5 reviews)


Cons
  • Long hours are necessary, and partners/clients can be very demanding(in 5 reviews)

  • The management has no idea what they are doing(in 3 reviews)

19 Employee Reviews Back to all reviews
Relevance Date Rating
in
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Disapproves of CEO

    5 people found this helpful  

    Learn, Listen and Reform!

    Anonymous Employee (Former Employee)

    ProsSome really amazing and talented folks on the ground floor and in middle management who are actively working to make the most of their situations. Some in the mid-management areas of the company really do care about the well being of their employees and their career paths. I give a lot of credit to the workers here and some of those in mid-management. They are the backbone of Delivery Agent!

    The health benefits are actually very decent (and in this day and age that's definitely a plus!) and the downtown SF location is great.

    ConsIt's really a cop-out to simply say the company is still a "start up" after 10+ years as the reason why processes and organizational structures aren't fully up and running smoothly, or operating consistently. With the right leadership team in place, that leads by example, and is held accountable for their performance (which they are not), this would simply not be a problem. Case in point:

    The current president of DA himself lied to the entire company during an all hands meeting when he was asked point blank via an anonymous question whether we were going to have mass layoffs in January 2013 He told us we were told we would not and the pink slips got handed out two weeks later. As stated by others on this site, he likes to threaten and intimidate; part of the so-called "culture" at DA that is alive and well. Threatening behavior, intimidation and underhanded tactics are not only freely used by upper management, they are actually encouraged widely practiced by the executive team.

    After the restructure the CEO was absolutely outraged about the bad reviews on this site and ordered some employees and HR to post positive reviews, even if they were contrived. Is this happening now? If history is any indication, you bet.

    The reviews on this site seem to be very polarized in terms of being downright negative or over the top positive with not much that would fall into the middle of the road category. This is not a good sign when a company's reviews come from either two extremes. But it’s an accurate glimpse of the cultural gulf that exists within the company.

    Advice to Senior ManagementFor the Board: Learn from previous errors in business practices. Think about the multiple rounds of investor funding the company has received that have been wasted. Why wasn't DA a public company 4 years ago (during which time we went through 4 CFO's and 2 COO's, 3 HR Managers and turnover through the roof)? If the leadership's vision or actions aren't helping the company or the staff, make them accountable and clean out the upper part of the house which is more than overdue.

    For Management: Invest in all your employees and establish a codified internal career path program including job sharing between departments as part of that. Promote from within and don't play favorites. You'll be surprised how many people have potential talents that can be tapped as resources in multiple areas of the company if they are properly cross trained. Give your people enough resources, tools and guidance they'll need to succeed and don't set them up to fail.

    For HR: Treat those who come to you with their criticisms, concerns or issues as you would like to be treated. Be fair, respectful, receptive and neutral with all personnel issues. Try not to assume every employee with some tough criticism is automatically a bad cultural match for the company or just not a good fit for their role. It's actually to your benefit to be a real advocate for the employees and not just a mouthpiece for the powers that be .

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend – I'm not optimistic about the outlook for this company

    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Disapproves of CEO

    6 people found this helpful  

    Run for the hills

    Anonymous Employee (Current Employee)

    ProsNice people who try real hard. It's impossible to gain any ground. Upper management can't get it together. Have focused on better hires but good people won't stay if they have to deal with upper management.

    ConsUpper management is horrible. Mike, can you focus? Squirrel.. You are dragging the culture down. Oh wait, have you read the reviews on here? You never had a good culture.

    Advice to Senior ManagementGet people in with focus. HR has worked to better the culture but it won't last if upper management doesn't get on board.

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend – I'm not optimistic about the outlook for this company

    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Disapproves of CEO

    4 people found this helpful  

    Sometimes the Truth Hurts.

    Anonymous Employee (Former Employee)

    ProsThere are some truly talented people (outside of senior management) working for this company among the rank and file that were a pleasure to work with.

    ConsThe company has never been profitable and this is because there has never been a change in leadership at the very top. The turnover rate has always been a virtual revolving door. Even at the height of the recession in 2009 - 2010, people will choosing to leave on a regular basis because of the bad morale. The compensation is well below the average given the work entailed.

    Unlimited vacation as a benefit sounds great, but at the end of the day you're only allowed as much time off as your manager permits (which can be potentially trivial or involve a lot of favoritism depending on who you report to) and if you're laid off, terminated or choose to quit, you won't get cashed out for any paid time off that would be otherwise accrued.

    On the January 2013 reorganization - this was honestly less of a reorganization and much more about office politics at its absolute worst. The lack of integrity, responsibility, accountability as well as some extremely unprofessional behavior by those in senior leadership positions was beyond appalling. If the reorganization was really about a need to save the company from financial ruin, and promote real success moving forward, this question needs to be asked:

    Why were the CEO, the COO/President and other privileged individuals given a pass for their mismanagement of the company by the Board while many of the workers who were doing their level best with marching orders in hand given layoff notices?

    Advice to Senior ManagementAdvice is meant for those who will listen. The management at DA has demonstrated time and again they are both unwilling and unable to do so on a sincere level.

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend – I'm not optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Delivery Agent VP, HR responded to this review

    Dec 26, 2013

    I am sorry your experience with DA was negative. The restructuring was very difficult and we realize this took a toll on our culture. We have many venues for communication. Our turnover is tracked ... More
  1. We want your feedback – Are these company reviews helpful to you?  Yes | No
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Disapproves of CEO

    6 people found this helpful  

    Not a good place to work, proceed with extreme caution...

    Employee (Former Employee) San Francisco, CA

    ProsSome super nice people, hours were reasonable, decent food and drink, happy hours were definitely a good time.

    ConsThere was really nothing good about working for da. They hired me along with 30+ other people at the end of 2012 only to turn around and lay us off. They brought in a guy from amazon who seemed to be much more interested in exercising his authority than building a company. The CFO left a couple of months after the layoff. Several people went to box and other companies. Da is a weird place. Just not a solid company. Not many positions in the company that are shielded from the drama. Not saying don't take a job there, just saying that if you read these reviews, don't be surprised at their accuracy.

    Advice to Senior ManagementReally think about the culture and what you want to build.

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend – I'm not optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Delivery Agent VP, HR responded to this review

    Dec 17, 2013

    Thank you for your feedback, both pros and cons. We are sorry to hear that your experience was less than ideal. Earlier this year we did have a restructuring, which is never easy on employees or ... More
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Disapproves of CEO

    8 people found this helpful  

    By far the worst company I have ever worked for.

    Business Manager (Current Employee) San Francisco, CA

    ProsCool products, big clients, free food.

    ConsClueless execs, horrific financial position (sinking ship at series E!!!), no work-life balance, out of control clients. I cannot believe they are still in business.

    Advice to Senior ManagementConvince your moronic investors to fire the CEO and hire an actual leader. Then move on.

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend – I'm not optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Delivery Agent VP, HR responded to this review

    Dec 22, 2013

    We are sorry your experience hasn't been generally positive. We have so many venues for input (both anonymous and in person) for employees to provide constructive input.
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities

    7 people found this helpful  

    God-Awful Place Lead by God-Awful People

    Anonymous Employee (Current Employee)

    ProsNone. I guess the work / life balance isn't bad, but that's because everybody is so miserable they all leave at the earliest they can each day.

    ConsEverything - morale is low, all good people are trying to leave. I am completely lost here and everybody is out for themselves. The only people who stand to gain from this place are the few at the top. I need to get out.

    Advice to Senior ManagementWhat happened to this place to make it this bad? Try to care for people, take an interest in their well-being and career paths, try to be human. Even just a little.

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend – I'm not optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Delivery Agent VP, HR responded to this review

    Nov 18, 2013

    We are sorry for your experience at Delivery Agent. We have recently completed an employee engagement survey and admit there is a wide mix of employees outside of management who absolutely love ... More
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Disapproves of CEO

    6 people found this helpful  

    Each month is worst than the last

    Business Manager (Current Employee) San Francisco, CA

    ProsEntertainment clients are the big news you recognize. You get 30% of products for your favorite shows.

    ConsThe team is far too lean to begin with and the strongest talent is running for the door. In just the last few months the best guy in Business Management, the Best Merchant and even the CFO have left. (The CFO leaving was a good thing though). There's definitely a feeling the game is over. People are checked out. No passion. No excitement. The CEO is rarely around the office anymore. The President is unqualified for the role and feels threatening people is the strongest form of motivation. He's a case study in how not to manage. The clients are so unhappy as well which they admit is due to the President's changes. It's just too painful.

    Advice to Senior ManagementPerhaps it's time to split out the business? Focus a smaller team on iTV and dissolve the eCom business? But please please give us decent severance.

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend – I'm not optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Delivery Agent VP, HR responded to this review

    Dec 17, 2013

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your experience is less than ideal. Please come chat with HR or anyone on the leadership team as we'd appreciate getting details. We have ... More

    5 people found this helpful  

    Zero Morale, Clueless Management, No-Win Situation

    Anonymous Employee (Current Employee)

    ProsAccess to top tier of Entertainment companies, including almost all leading TV studios and key major Sports brands. And since there is no staff left, you'll get to do everything and learn along the way, often when something is due. And you'll likely get yelled at for it, too.

    ConsWhere to begin? Totally a cover-your-ass environment & not a "we're a team attitude" anywhere in sight. Layed off 1/2 the company in February and those who are left are struggling. Management demands more results with less people. Expect long hours and weekend hours as the norm.

    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Disapproves of CEO

    3 people found this helpful  

    Management lacks direction & doesn't understand ecommerce retail.

    Merchandise Manager (Former Employee) San Francisco, CA

    ProsBasically good coworkers with poor direction.

    ConsAt the mercy of clients that are driven to grow their brand not drive retail sales.

    Advice to Senior ManagementNot sure this business model can work!

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend – I'm not optimistic about the outlook for this company

    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Disapproves of CEO

    3 people found this helpful  

    Buyers remorse

    Anonymous Employee (Current Employee)

    ProsSome fun people, cool industry, downtown location is convenient to some cool things in San Francisco. If you like sports, people like to chat about the latest which is fun. Samplye sales save you some money to gift friends.

    ConsHave been here for less than a year but wish I'd taken the other offer. Company practices pennywise dollar foolish management spending. Decision making is in a vacuum. No one understands constant shift in strategy. President is probably a good merchant but not a good fit for this role. No energy in the office. No deep support for the power of marketing.

    Advice to Senior ManagementShake it up! Time to try something new. Can't hurt at this point. Let's have some fun.

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend – I'm not optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Delivery Agent VP, HR responded to this review

    Dec 17, 2013

    Thank you for the positive feedback as well as the constructive criticism. We are in the process of building a more robust Marketing team and have a new CFO in place. We have monthly company-wide ... More

Worked for Delivery Agent? Contribute to the Community!

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.