Delivery Agent Reviews

Updated September 27, 2014
Updated September 27, 2014
58 Reviews
2.8
58 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Mike Fitzsimmons
28 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Good work/life balance, there are few times I work late or weekends, but they are rare (in 4 reviews)

  • They have an unlimited vacation policy and treat employees as adults (in 5 reviews)


Cons
  • Long hours are necessary, and partners/clients can be very demanding (in 5 reviews)

  • The Management has no idea what they are doing-- poor leadership (in 3 reviews)

More Highlights

14 Employee Reviews Back to all reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Not bad at all but could be a much better place

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Delivery Agent full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    (Everything below pertains strictly to the e-commerce side of the business in San Francisco)
    - Great work-life balance
    - No pressure in the office
    - Co-workers are a fun group of people, no jerks
    - Small company, so you get to collaborate with almost all teams and get a better understanding for the business

    Cons

    - Nobody is held accountable for their actions or the lack thereof
    - Some of the old-timers in management are slowly running the business to the ground
    - For a tech company it is extremely non-technical
    - Mediocre results are considered satisfactory

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    You really, really, really need to invest in experienced talent and technology. Stop playing politics and favoritism and start holding people accountable. Invest in the technology side of the business and work on retaining and expanding the talent pool. Trust and invest in your employees and they will pay you back. Be more transparent when communicating victories and provide employees with more reasons to be proud of their work place.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  2. 2 people found this helpful  

    Ok place to work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Delivery Agent full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good compensation, great benefits, great work/life balance

    Cons

    Its a bit too laid back for some peoples taste.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Great work/life balance, no joke!

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  3. 2 people found this helpful  

    Interesting work, cool people and good work/life balance

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Delivery Agent full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    Unlimited vacation policy
    Management/HR is really putting in effort to changing the environment and making it a fun place to work
    Since the company is small, work is highly visible and you are able to see the effects of your hard work
    Cool products

    Cons

    The team is understaffed so there is more than enough work to go around but we all take on what we can
    There should probably be more company events since different teams do not really get a chance to interact that often with other teams
    There's not really any company culture as everybody does their own thing
    The pace is very laid back so work gets done slower than usual
    Also since the company has been around for a while, a lot of people are very comfortable doing things the same, but we need to change to improve
    The office space is running out of room for new hires, hopefully we can move into a bigger space soon

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    There needs to be a greater sense of urgency within the company if we want to expand and attract high caliber new hires
    More company events to encourage interdepartment relationships
    Keep effecting change to be a better company

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Delivery Agent Response

    Mar 18, 2014VP, HR

    Thank you for the feedback! We're hosting weekly episodes of Sons of Anarchy and soon Game of Thrones for all employees and contractors in our San Francisco office... complete with food and ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 1 person found this helpful  

    Overall, a good company to work for

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Denver, CO
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Denver, CO

    I have been working at Delivery Agent full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    The technology is cutting edge and really fun to work with. My boss makes me feel appreciated when I put in the extra hours. Good work/life balance, there are few times I work late or weekends, but they are rare.

    Unlimited vacation and awesome benefits.

    Cons

    It's a very isolated environment and hard to get to know anybody. I still have no idea what most people do, even people in my department. If they're not in my department, I wouldn't know them from the janitor, honestly.

    Some people are extremely disrespectful and there doesn't seem to be any attitude to stop it.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Some community building would be awesome.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Delivery Agent Response

    Mar 18, 2014VP, HR

    Thank you for the candid input. I am terribly sorry to hear that some people are extremely disrespectful in our Denver office. We will address.

  6. 1 person found this helpful  

    Fast and fun environment.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at Delivery Agent full-time

    Pros

    This company is small enough to provide ample opportunity to be exposed to multiple areas of the business without being siloed. There is a great group of people working at DA.

    Cons

    Possibly some growing pains as we get bigger but really is a pro vs a con.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    More company held team building events

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Delivery Agent Response

    Mar 18, 2014VP, HR

    Thank you!! It's wonderful to read this feedback. Glad you're enjoying your experience with DA.

  7. 1 person found this helpful  

    Delivery Agent- working for a progressive, tech-savy, fun company!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Delivery Agent full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    Progressive thinking, tech savy, employee focused and rewarding based on merit.

    Cons

    Satellite offices appear to be somewhat isolated at times with certain aspects of the business.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Delivery Agent Response

    Mar 18, 2014VP, HR

    Thank you for your feedback. Sounds like we need to do more to integrate our satellite offices.

  8. 1 person found this helpful  

    Fast moving, always changing, creative thinking company with lots of opportunity for growth

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Delivery Agent full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    There are always new shows starting and old shows trending upwards. Innovative creative thinking keeps the job interesting and fun. Lots of opportunity to add learning from previous employers. Small teams are nimble and able to react quickly.

    Cons

    A smaller company always has more work than people to do it. The upside to this is you can use this to learn new skills processes and procedures. You can also contribute more than is typical in a larger company.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Delivery Agent Response

    Dec 30, 2013VP, HR

    We definitely find that employees who enjoy a smaller work environment fit well at DA since there is so much to do and employees have the opportunity to wear many hats. Thank you for the reviews!

  9. 1 person found this helpful  

    My experience at Delivery Agent has been positive.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Delivery Agent full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    The chance to change the future of how consumers use their remote controls is staggeringly cool. And our advertising and commerce products really work for our customers, which is also pretty great.

    I also appreciate the lengths the leadership team goes to keep employees in the loop. Frequent all hands meetings (with a chance to ask anonymous questions -- the other day someone asked for the Denver office to start stocking Pop Tarts, a request which was was rebuffed with warmth and humor, though more serious questions are answered in great detail.)

    These people are honorable -- my experience has been that management does what it says it's going to do. There are some really brilliant minds here, and I know they're always on the lookout for more.

    I was asked to post a review, though not told what to say -- with the hope, I suspect, that current employees would be more satisfied than those who for whatever reason, have left the company. As in all things, everyone's experience is different -- my time here at DA has been largely positive.

    Cons

    As a relatively new company in a relatively new field, it often does feel like everything is a priority... and of course, that means that projects don't get the focus they deserve, and that it's hard to articulate what we do to outsiders and customers... or sometimes to employees in different departments or offices. But that's impossible to avoid when there's so much ground that needs to be covered in the entertainment commerce and advanced tv/digital advertising space.

    I think most of the real drawbacks involved in working here are infrastructure related -- a relatively small, lean team means employees are going to work very hard, and will need to figure out better ways to do things. And it helps to be an optimist. If you are easily discouraged, or if you need very defined and unchanging goals, DA may not be your best choice.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Add weight (budget and staff) to our marketing team, please, supporting all divisions -- we need to tell our story more strongly.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Delivery Agent Response

    Dec 30, 2013VP, HR

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts in detail. We appreciate the candidness of your pros and cons. This is very helpful in order to give prospective candidates better insight into ... More

  10. 1 person found this helpful  

    Company has found its rhythm, resilient team has business on right track

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Delivery Agent full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    ---DA continues to attract strong talent at all levels within the org
    ---TComm platform continues to lead innovation
    ---2013 was the most successful year in company history
    ---individuals can make an impact in all areas of the business

    Cons

    ---DA asks a lot of its employees, not everyone is built for it
    ---The office is running out of space

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Continue to add talent and resources where needed to sustain growth and improved performance. The annual bonus plan should be attainable and reward fairly when goals are met.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Delivery Agent Response

    Dec 23, 2013VP, HR

    Thank you for the constructive input, both pros and cons!

  11. 1 person found this helpful  

    Professional opportunity, Shape an industry, and Work with good smart people

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Delivery Agent full-time

    Pros

    Drive and contribute to the future of commerce. Real opportunity for professional growth and development (you can drive your own destiny and not feel caught in a lane). Exposure to a multitude of clients in the ever-coveted entertainment industry. Work with smart people internally who want to produce and shape their respective business / departments. Company is finally hitting their stride on leadership after some previous shifts and is gaining stability in processes and operations. With that stability, there is still a driving spirit of entrepreneurship and creativity which helps balance the company out and stays consistent with the company’s origins. CEO is an entrepreneur through and through whose vision and efforts have placed the company in the position of opportunity it sits today. Without him, we simply wouldn't be where we are

    Cons

    Being in the service industry and working / partnering with demanding clients in the entertainment space produces its own challenges. Our stores are open 24/7/365 days a year which naturally throws out the 9-5 type of job (hours are not always consistent but not sure of many jobs out there when you aren't always "on"). A number of employees who used to be with the company drove the spirit of the company into the ground for a long time (imagine these are the folks who have a bitter reflection and reviews on the company). A bit of a clean-house has helped breathe new energy and momentum into the company.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep message, actions and decisions consistent on core business, stay close and seek out employee feedback / thoughts, ignore unnecessary and unproductive negativity.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

Work at Delivery Agent? Share Your Experiences

Delivery Agent

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.