Echo Global Logistics Reviews

Updated August 19, 2015
34 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Any Status
  • Current Employees
Employment Status

Reset
4.0
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Echo Global Logistics CEO and Director Doug Waggoner
Doug Waggoner
25 Ratings

Pros
  • Fun work environment with good people (in 20 reviews)

  • Relaxed dress code, beer Fridays, company outings (in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • Terrible commission structure, low salary (in 13 reviews)

  • It is very helpful and very in depth which helps once you hit the floor (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

34 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. A tech shop on the rise.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Product Architect in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Software Product Architect in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Working within the technology shop at Echo has allowed me to foster a variety of positive working relationships with some of the best tech talent in the city. I have been involved with several of our development teams, all of which demonstrate some of the key attributes that enable a productive team: diversity, trust, dedication, and (most recently) urgency. Echo promotes an open-minded environment where each member of the team has their ideas or concerns taken seriously. Other Pros: - Nice work/life balance, if you can stay efficient - Collaborative atmosphere - Great health coverage - Well-equipped work stations

    Cons

    From a technology focused mind: - Further engagement from business stakeholders - The release process needs a bit of fine-tuning - Agile can be leveraged to hide an under performing team, but this is evolving in a positive direction

    Advice to Management

    - Career framework (which is being constructed) - Guide business stakeholders in realizing how to leverage software to deliver value and not just solve a minor problem that has low impact - Project Management is a necessity considering development team size and breadth of work - A more structured hiring approach

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    Aug 25, 2015 – HR Representative

    We appreciate your feedback! Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and contributing to our evolving initiatives in our Tech department.


  2. Helpful (1)

    Great 1st job

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    Pros

    make new friends, attend fun events, lean the logistics industry from the ground up.

    Cons

    cold calling all day in the beginning (terrible but worth it). Very stressful environment. Lots of turn over. But if you can cut it there is amazing money to be made.

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    Aug 25, 2015 – HR Representative

    Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. It’s true that the industry can be hectic and fast-paced, we aim to create an environment that encourages recognition and rewards hard work for ... More


  3. Client Sales Representative

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Sales Representative in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Client Sales Representative in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Echo Global Logistics full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great place to learn how to sell for a beginner, lots of tools to grow, leader in logistics market, good benefits

    Cons

    Challenging sale in competitive market, rapidly changing company so must be able to adapt, small salary at beginning

    Advice to Management

    Continue to offer more tools to help salesforce, create better way to cultivate good leads to top sales people

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    Aug 25, 2015 – HR Representative

    Thanks for the review and for your feedback!


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (1)

    Good

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounts Payable Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Accounts Payable Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Echo Global Logistics full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Echo is a great opportunity to start off in the corporate world. It is a fun atmosphere.

    Cons

    There is a lot of college graduates so it may feel like college at times.


  6. Helpful (1)

    You've need to be tough.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Carrier Sales Representative in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Carrier Sales Representative in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Echo Global Logistics full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Friends everywhere. Casual dress. Beer Friday's. Unlimited potential to earn as much money as you want. Cool company to work for with growth potential. Always learning new things about logistics.

    Cons

    This job isn't for everyone. You will love it or be miserable, there are very few people who fall in the middle. Hours are long, get used to getting there at 630 and leaving around 530. Managers in carrier sales are hit or miss. Some of them are really great and helpful and care about you and some treat you as just a number. They ease you into it by a month of training which is classroom based and then you spend a few months learning the ropes before being put on your permanent team assignment. I liked that part, my manager was funny and I felt motivated to work for under her because she seemed to actually care about me. My regional manager is alright but it's hard to be talked to everyday when you make 5 less calls then your manager wants and they just yell about it but don't give any advice on how to fix it. Favoritism with managers is an issue. If you don't drink with everyone or play softball, you can count on not getting any handouts or special privileges. The higher ups try to deny this but they seem oblivious to how they created that culture which I find weird. Internal competition can be a struggle but most people are nice if your nice to them.

    Advice to Management

    Make your managers actually manage and not just yell. Be more transparent about what's going on in the company so employees are well aware where they stand. More individual feedback would be helpful after training is over. Find a way to make it so we can keep track of who calls what carrier so we don't look disorganized when they get multiple calls each day.

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    Aug 6, 2015 – Director of Carrier Sales

    Thank you for your feedback and overall positive review. We understand that carrier sales can be a stressful job and our management team works to create a fun energetic atmosphere. Our team makes an ... More


  7. Great place to grow professionally

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Carrier Sales Representative in Scottsdale, AZ
    Current Employee - Carrier Sales Representative in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Echo Global Logistics full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Echo Global does very well with a lot of things. While workling for Echo Global you can be confident that you're getting above average compensation and outstanding benefits. The team and atmosphere are very welcoming and that is a huge selling point. You feel at home around friends when working. No matter the day.

    Cons

    A few cons for Echo would be misinformation. While nobody outright lies, I do feel like some of the expectations that seem black and white, and straight forward are in fact not and it is just a huge gray area.

    Advice to Management

    My advice to management would be to set clear and outright expectations.

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    Aug 6, 2015 – HR Representative

    Thanks so much for writing a review. I agree that clear expectations from management are essential to employee success- please don’t hesitate to provide more specific feedback to HR so we can look ... More


  8. Great Atmosphere

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Echo Global Logistics full-time

    Pros

    Brand new office is amazing. Great location in the middle of Downtown Dallas. Good energy from sales teams and management.

    Cons

    The job is not easy. It takes the right kind of salesperson to succeed. You need the drive to handle rejection and keep pushing forward.


  9. Great atmosphere. Certain people for this job

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Sales Representative in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Client Sales Representative in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Echo Global Logistics full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great management, Fun environment Great team environment and helpful team members WONDERFUL training

    Cons

    The only con for me was the job itself. Cold Calling 60-80 people a day, and dealing with all the issues that arise from the logistic industry. It personally just wasn't for me.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    Jul 16, 2015 – HR Representative

    Thanks for your review and for your contributions to our Sales team in Atlanta. It’s true, sales isn’t the career for everybody but I am glad to hear you feel supported by your manager and team ... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    Sales job where numbers matter. Long hours go fast.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Carrier Sales Representative in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Carrier Sales Representative in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Echo Global Logistics full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    You will never be bored and there is always something to do. You stay satisfied by the pace and the money, once you get established. If you have the drive you can make a ton of money. Supportive teams. Extensive training. Young environment. Softball league of +10 Echo teams over the summer with great environment to interact.

    Cons

    Long hours; 6:30am till loads get covered (5:30pm or later). Working two Saturdays a quarter. Long hours come with the business. Having a life outside of work is a struggle. High stress environment where time, money, and growth are tested daily. Competing for carriers with fellow employees.

    Advice to Management

    With a booming company that hires many people, new hires can feel instantly vulnerable and like a number. Don't do that.

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    Jun 5, 2015 – HR Representative

    Thanks for sharing your insight. Both the logistics industry and our sales positions are fast-paced by nature but we try to offer as many resources as possible to help employees reach their full ... More


  11. Client Sales Rep

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Sales Representative in Detroit, MI
    Current Employee - Client Sales Representative in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Great environment and I think that the small incentives are a good way to reward hard work. I may be a little more optimistic than others but I enjoy a majority of the work I do here at Echo, once commission gets closer it seems it may be paying off. If you can motivate yourself I believe this would be a great place for you to start.

    Cons

    Commission seems harder to get to that first told. Also cold calling isn't fun, but if you are going into a sales job chances are you are going to cold call. You just have to make the best of it and know if you work hard it will pay off. Doesn't seem like there is room to grow your career unless it is in sales.

    Advice to Management

    More consistency on following up with tasks would be appreciated.

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    Jun 3, 2015 – HR Representative

    Thanks for providing your thoughts and for contributing to our Client Sales team by living one of our core values, work hard and hustle! Keep an eye on the weekly Talent Pulse newsletter, all open ... More



Showing 34 of 223 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.