Echo Global Logistics

www.echo.com

Echo Global Logistics Reviews

Updated March 3, 2015
Updated March 3, 2015
105 Reviews
3.5
105 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Echo Global Logistics CEO and Director Doug Waggoner
Doug Waggoner
105 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Echo Dallas has a great work environment for someone who wants to work hard and play hard (in 20 reviews)

  • kickball team on thursdays, softball team on tuesdays, beer fridays and happy hours regularly (in 17 reviews)


Cons
  • Sweeping changes in benefits and commission structure were made without warning (in 13 reviews)

  • I wasn't 100% prepared when I hit the floor after training (in 4 reviews)

More Highlights

105 Employee Reviews Back to all Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Featured Review

    2 people found this helpful  

    Great Environment! Really Enjoy Coming In To Work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Echo Global Logistics full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    The company culture here is one of a kind. I can truely say that I enjoy coming to work every day. The open desk atmosphere makes it easy to get to know your neighbors. My team is always collaborating together and boucning ideas off of eachother, which I love.

    Echo is always coming up with new ways to improve and you can really see the excitement throughout the departments.

    Cons

    Making the dials can get tough at times but my supervisor is always available for support and assistance. It is very clear that hard work pays off and you do see results. Plus, who doesn't love extra money on those paychecks!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    Jan 13, 2015Talent Sourcing Specialist

    Thank you very much for your great review of Echo. We're really glad that you are enjoying your time here and find the work to be challenging and rewarding.

  2.  

    Overall - good

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Client Sales Executive in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Client Sales Executive in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Echo Global Logistics

    Pros

    Good people, fun atmosphere, nice amenities

    Cons

    Lots of pressure, too many analytics on they out on you for the small things / day to day and not overall

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    What brought me there was because they said they didn't micro-manage but its becoming more and more that way. Look at overall performance.

  3. 1 person found this helpful  

    Frazzled, mixed up and hectic.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Account Executive
    Current Employee - Account Executive

    I have been working at Echo Global Logistics full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    Free beer on every Friday.

    Cons

    Transportation software is extremely difficult to navigate. Overly complex. Large bureacracy with minimal direction.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Be careful with Beer Friday. Liability is an issue.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    Feb 16, 2015Talent Sourcing Specialist

    Thanks for writing a review! Sorry to hear you find our technology difficult to navigate, the Learning & Development team would be happy to provide extra training if need be. They can be reached at ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    A fun place to work with good people

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Echo Global Logistics full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    The culture and the people. Many days, it doesn't feel like going to work because the people here become more than coworkers, they become friends.

    The company and employees care about your success and want you to do well. The space isn't stuffy, due to not having any cubicles and managers nearby for assistance. This all in itself is a big plus for me!

    Cons

    Salaries could be higher, but with hardwork and time, the rewards payoff.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Continue at being a coach and fostering success in each employee.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    Feb 16, 2015Talent Sourcing Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are fortunate to have such great employees who help us improve daily. One of the big initiatives for 2015 is to promote more open communication ... More

  6.  

    Lots of promise that never materialized.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Santa Cruz, CA
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Santa Cruz, CA

    I have been working at Echo Global Logistics full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Freight is always moving so there is always opportunity to grow.

    Cons

    Too much competition in this industry.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Better pay structure would be a strong motivator.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
  7.  

    Echo is a results driven company. You can make money if you work hard and get lucky

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Sales in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Echo Global Logistics full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    -Hard work can pay off
    -Easy to transfer positions

    Cons

    -Often micromanaged
    -High stress customer relationship management

  8.  

    Hard Work Pays Off!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Client Sales Representative
    Current Employee - Client Sales Representative

    I have been working at Echo Global Logistics full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    Echo offers a truly great service and is very competitive in the industry. That being said, the more calls that you make in a day leads to closing more business which ultimately leads to more money - typical of any sales role, but Echo's service is competitive and continually sought after.

    Cons

    Getting used to the amount of calls that are required in order to succeed here. Gotta get your foot in the door and cold calling is the way to do it. Once you get used to it, it becomes second nature and you see the monetary benefits!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    Jan 13, 2015Talent Sourcing Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for living our core values. It is clear you are self-motivated (“Bring Your Own…”) and give your best effort at work (“Work Hard and Hustle”).

  9.  

    The Dallas Branch is a family, and while Echo is a large corporation, this branch makes you feel right at home.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Client Sales Representative in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Client Sales Representative in Dallas, TX

    I have been working at Echo Global Logistics

    Pros

    Management truly cares about the success of their personnel in this branch. Even if you are struggling, if you seek help, you will find someone (whether it be a peer or a supervisor/manager) that is willing to help. If you put in the work, you WILL be rewarded. The Dallas branch exemplifies the "work hard play hard" mentality very well.

    Cons

    You have to adopt, "the squeaky wheel gets the grease" mentality when trying to get answers from corporate in Chicago. The job is truly a grind when starting out, and can be fairly stressful.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Consistent feedback provided to sales reps. There are campaigns for monthly reviews, call reviews, pipeline reviews, but they are not consistent. If the feedback operates like clock-work, then your sales reps will grow.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    Dec 15, 2014Talent Sourcing Specialist

    Thanks for writing a review! It is great to hear you feel supported by management and your teammates. Clear and consistent feedback is crucial for personal and professional growth in the workplace ... More

  10.  

    Echo Global Logistics- Dallas office

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX

    I have been working at Echo Global Logistics full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    Echo truly values their employees and does everything they can to make sure they have a good experience here. Frequent free meals from supervisors for doing what they ask of you, beer on Fridays, and a lot of team work that is actually helpful. The branch manager is seriously the nicest, most loving person I have yet to work for. I have stayed at this job pretty much for him and all he does for us. The office is extremely laid back, which is really awesome.

    Cons

    The job itself is really frustrating. It takes a lot of hard work and dedication to hit commission. Echo sets you up for success though, they give you everything you might need (and more) to do well. The job is rewarding at times when you hit goals. Training is long and boring at times. Calling people all day can get frustrating too.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    I love the management

    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    Dec 15, 2014Talent Sourcing Specialist

    Thanks for your review! It is great to hear you enjoy the work environment and management. We admit the logistics industry can be crazy at times-please let HR or your Supervisor know if there is ... More

  11. 1 person found this helpful  

    Good job

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Client Sales Representative in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Client Sales Representative in Dallas, TX

    I have been working at Echo Global Logistics full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    Fun and friendly environment. Everyone is really supportive of each other. It looks like there are good opportunities for growth and development. It's a young crowd and a good place to start a sales career.

    Cons

    It can be very frustrating. I wasn't 100% prepared when I hit the floor after training. There are still a few things I struggle with.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    Dec 15, 2014Talent Sourcing Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are glad you are getting the support you need! Please feel free to reach out to your Supervisor or the Learning and Development team for ... More

Echo Global Logistics Photos

Work at Echo Global Logistics? Share Your Experiences

Echo Global Logistics

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.