Emeritus Senior Living

  www.brookdale.com
  www.brookdale.com

Emeritus Senior Living Reviews

Updated November 20, 2014
Updated November 20, 2014
275 Reviews
2.7
275 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
T. Andrew Smith
12 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • enjoy the teams i work with and the ability to support others in making a positive work environment (in 8 reviews)

  • My team has been so supportive and I feel that I have the autonomy to make creative decisions that positively affect our employees and residents (in 4 reviews)


Cons
  • Upper management within the facility and Corporate does not follow their own policies and ethics (in 9 reviews)

  • No Christmas bonus to line staff (e (in 7 reviews)

More Highlights

37 Employee Reviews Back to all reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. 1 person found this helpful  

    I am the Resident Care Director at Emeritus at Forrest Park Hattiesburg, MS

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - RCD in Hattiesburg, MS
    Current Employee - RCD in Hattiesburg, MS

    I have been working at Emeritus Senior Living full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Awesome job. Awesome place to work! Look forward to going everyday!

    Cons

    Nothing worth mentioning! Overall great place to work!

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep up the good work,

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Emeritus Senior Living Response

    Jun 3, 2014Recruiting Project Specialist

    Wonderful to hear you're enjoying your job as RCD! Thank you for the review.

  2. 2 people found this helpful  

    Good place to work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Resident Assistant in Vestal, NY
    Current Employee - Resident Assistant in Vestal, NY

    I have been working at Emeritus Senior Living full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Co-workers are awesome and it is very rewarding working with Seniors

    Cons

    It is mentally and physically demanding work. This is a job for a workaholic and not for someone who is looking to slack.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Look carefully at staffing to make sure we have enough pepole to care for the seniors.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Emeritus Senior Living Response

    Oct 10, 2013Recruiting Project Specialist

    Thank you sharing your review and working so hard to better the lives of your residents.

  3. 2 people found this helpful  

    Great place to work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Certified Dietary Supervisor in Northridge, CA
    Current Employee - Certified Dietary Supervisor in Northridge, CA

    I have been working at Emeritus Senior Living full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    Friendly, supportive and helpful co-workers. Pleasant environment. Competitive salary and benefits. Room for growth. ED is supportive, accommodating and allows for creative input.

    Cons

    Skilled nursing department is unorganized and needs improvement. It would be nice to have more vacation. One week after the first year is not enough.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Emeritus Senior Living Response

    Jun 3, 2014Recruiting Project Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback and review. We're glad to know you're enjoying your job overall but if you have any other comments, questions, or concerns, please don't hesitate to reach out to Ethics ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 1 person found this helpful  

    Best Job I've Ever Had

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Emeritus Senior Living full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    This is my first position at an Assisted Living company and I never want to leave! I have met some of the most positive, intelligent people and I finally feel like I am a part of something bigger. Employees work here because they have a passion for seniors and caring for others - this is so refreshing compared to other industries that I have worked for. My team has been so supportive and I feel that I have the autonomy to make creative decisions that positively affect our employees and residents.

    Cons

    Emeritus is such a large company and I have heard that other employees have not had the same experience that I have had, so I just wish that my positive experience could be everyone's experience regardless of position or location. Consistency in company culture is hard to regulate, but starts with passionate and supportive leadership, which I know we have at the higher level...it just needs to be consistent at the community level.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Continue to invest in employees.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Emeritus Senior Living Response

    Oct 10, 2013Recruiting Project Specialist

    Thank you for your strong passion to help seniors and care for others. You are certainly in the right industry.

  6. 1 person found this helpful  

    I loved working for this company, very caring and sensitive to the needs of Seniors!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Concierge in Denver, CO
    Former Employee - Concierge in Denver, CO

    I worked at Emeritus Senior Living full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    I learned a great deal about the industry.

    Cons

    As with most companies geared towards care for the elderly , the pay is not that great.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    I think the management structure is great and there is always oportunities to grow in this company.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Emeritus Senior Living Response

    Oct 10, 2013Recruiting Project Specialist

    We’re so happy to hear you enjoyed working for our company as a Concierge. Thank you for your review.

  7. 1 person found this helpful  

    Emeritus is a great company to work for.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Executive Director in Charlotte, NC
    Current Employee - Executive Director in Charlotte, NC

    I have been working at Emeritus Senior Living full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Company focuses on quality education for their staff and makes decisions based on what is best for their residents. They allow and encourage us to reach out to seniors in our community to make sure they are safe through our "safely somewhere" program. Our "shade brigade" program provides us the opportunity to send staff out into our community to assist seniors who may be at risk for dehydration by taking them a cooler packed full of ice cold waters and other items to assist with hydration during the hot summer months. The company is always thinking of ways and equipping us with the items needed to take care of seniors not only in our company but in our local community.

    Cons

    It is always difficult to loose a resident that you have grown attached to.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Continue to require staff to live by the Emeritus Family Values, it makes a huge difference in resident and staff satisfaction.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Emeritus Senior Living Response

    Jun 3, 2014Recruiting Project Specialist

    Thank you for your dedication to your residents, community, and staff!

  8. 1 person found this helpful  

    Family Values

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales Specialist in Painted Post, NY
    Current Employee - Sales Specialist in Painted Post, NY

    I have been working at Emeritus Senior Living full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    Emeritus supports the growth of their employees and wants to make a difference every day in the lives of the seniors entrusted th their care. They allow you to grow and learn.

    Cons

    It's always hard working in an industry where, unfortunately, the ones you care for and love pass away.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Continue to move forward and grow. Keep doing right by the residents, their families, and the employees.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Emeritus Senior Living Response

    Jun 3, 2014Recruiting Project Specialist

    Thank you for your review!

  9. 1 person found this helpful  

    Best company I've ever worked for.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Training & Development in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Training & Development in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at Emeritus Senior Living full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    I've worked for Emeritus for 7+ years and have worked my way up from an ED position at a community to a national role with the home office. It is by far the best company culture I've ever had the honor of working in and the company truly is a "family". I've never had to question the focus and direction of our leadership - the message has consistently been "Do the right thing for our residents and employees. Every day." The company is progressive and is committed to smart growth that will enable wonderful development opportunities for the employees while providing the type of care that I would want for my own mother.

    Cons

    I really don't have any cons. One of the other great things that Emeritus has started over the past year is an Individual Development Planning process which opens the conversation with our supervisor to plan our own career growth. If there is a con, I guess it would be that I wish this process had been around 7 years ago.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Never lose your ability to be real people who truly listen and are interested in your employees. I'm so proud to work for a Senior Leadership team that exhibits such egoless clarity.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  10. 1 person found this helpful  

    Who could ask for anything more?! Really?!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Emeritus Senior Living full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    - Career Growth
    - Innovative Resources to drive personal and professional success
    - Amazing culture - When we say Our Family is Committed to Yours...WE MEAN IT
    - Great team, I truly find value in our collaborative work environment

    Cons

    That more people haven't join such an amazing, supportive and resident focused organization.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Continue to stay the course from our focus on resident and family needs to employee development...Emeritus Leaders...you are doing a mighty fine job! This is all inclusive...not just Executive level, but our Directors at the communities. The dedication and integrity witnessed every day, truly makes me proud to be an Emeritan.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  11.  

    Truly committed to both residents and employees

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at Emeritus Senior Living full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    A truly dedicated and caring group of people; everyone is committed to making a positive difference in the lives of seniors and in the lives of employees. The demands of personal lives are accommodated with ease -- everyone is encouraged to take care of what needs taking care of. People interested in moving up in the organizaiton are encouraged and mentored to reach their goals. Best employment experience of my life!

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

Emeritus Senior Living Photos

Beautiful Assisted Living Facilities
A Beautiful Family Reunion for One of the Residents
Alzheimer's Walk

+ Add Photo

Work at Emeritus Senior Living? Share Your Experiences

Emeritus Senior Living

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.