Exelon

  www.exeloncorp.com
Work in HR? Unlock Free Profile

Exelon Reviews

Updated Jul 12, 2014
All Employees Current Employees Only

3.6 103 reviews

95% Approve of the CEO

(no image)

Christopher M. Crane

(20 ratings)

77% of employees recommend this company to a friend

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Excellent pay and benefits, 401k, constant training(in 4 reviews)

  • Great people, challenging work, and great environment(in 6 reviews)


Cons
  • Work-Life balance needs to be strived for to obtain(in 16 reviews)

  • No work-life balance, Self-absorbed management(in 4 reviews)

25 Employee Reviews Back to all reviews
Relevance Date Rating
in
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

     

    Great Company; Opportunities Abound

    Anonymous Employee (Current Employee)

    ProsI have held several positions within the company and over the course of my careeer each one has provided challenging opportunities, lessons to learn from, and rewards. The people are great.

    ConsWork-Life balance is an option, but taking a day off within the work week and then having to work some hours on the weekend to make up does not meet the intent. It is a fine balance. At times, it feels you are working 24/7.

    Advice to Senior ManagementReview the vacation policy related to the number of vacation days that can be rolled over and/or seriously consider providing an option that will compensate for the unused vacation days that currently cannot be rolled over.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend

    Exelon Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs responded to this review

    Jul 15, 2014

    Thank you very much for posting your thoughts! We appreciate you taking the time to make this review. If you are willing to provide additional details, please feel free to email ... More
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

     

    You will never be bored working for Exelon!

    Exelon Utilities (Current Employee) Chicago, IL

    ProsThere are numerous challenges to tackle - and the only limit is your imagination! Senior management encourages engagement, new ideas, and genuinely trying to make things better for our employees and customers. The value for safety is paramount - and this is stressed all the time. If you want to make a difference and make things better - you will have a good experience at Exelon - you will never be bored! Our industry is in the midst of a lot of change - so we need to keep fresh thinking and new ideas - and need people to keep an eye to the future. Doing work in different parts of the business is encouraged - so you can move around and find numerous development opportunities.

    ConsBecause we are such a big company - it is hard for all parts of the business to know what each other is doing - we tend to work in silos too often.

    A part of the job is being part of a 24-7-365 company that provides a vital service - so it also means that you will be working at times that you may not want to (holidays, etc.).

    We also need to do a better job of onboarding new employees to set them up for maximum success.

    Advice to Senior ManagementAlways stay engaged with your people - set them up for success - and learn their major barriers to success so you can remove obstacles.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Exelon Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs responded to this review

    Jul 14, 2014

    Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review! We appreciate your feedback and value your opinion. If you are willing, please email CorporateTalentAquisition@exeloncorp.com with any ... More
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

     

    Exelon is a great comapny that invests in its employees.

    Senior Generation Liaison (Current Employee) Baltimore, MD

    ProsExelon offers its employees many growth opportunities. The company has a great development program. When I first accepted a management position they sent me to a 1 month development program to develop my leadership skills. I have worked in many areas of the industry including instrument and controls, operations, mechanical maintenance, and generation dispatch. The company has always been supportive of all of my goals. When I expressed that I wanted to work in our commodities trading business unit I was allowed to shadow trade floor operations. Exelon also supported my goal by funding a significant portion of my MBA. I currently work to coordinate our physical position to support the traders in all of our regions.

    Exelon capitalizes on diversity. I am a perfect example. I have worked in several types of plants in many different roles. Exelon uses my diverse background to help our commodities organization to work more coherently with our generation fleet.

    Exelon works to support the communities we serve. The company is actively engaged in volunteer programs. I have personally had the opportunity to work with students at technical colleges and environmental groups though my affiliation with Exelon.

    Exelon is well balanced. We have a good mix of regulated utilities, retail power and merchant generation. This mix provides endless opportunities for employees that are willing to try new things. The company is aggressively looking to expand which brings more opportunities.

    Exelon has a great benefits package. We have a pension, 401K, employee stock purchase program, wellness programs, many types of clubs and social groups, great health benefits, and great vacation policies.

    I love working here. I have actively recruited personal friends to work for the company.

    ConsOne of the Cons at Exelon is that I work a lot. If you are looking to work a forty hour week this may not be the place for you. That being said, Exelon and my immediate supervisor have been very supportive of working remotely or at satellite location to improve my work life balance.

    Another potential Con is that the company is very widespread. Sometimes to achieve your goals you may be required to relocate.

    Advice to Senior ManagementOne piece of advice that I would offer senior leadership is to continue to work to ensure that employees understand all of the opportunities that are available to them. I have encountered coworkers that do not know how to use their Individual Development Plan to maximize their potential.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Exelon Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs responded to this review

    Jul 14, 2014

    Thank you so much for posting this review!! Your input is greatly valued. Thank you again, we appreciate your feedback!
  1. We want your feedback – Are these company reviews helpful to you?  Yes | No
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Career Opportunities
    • No Opinion of CEO

     

    Outstanding Legal Department

    Anonymous Employee (Current Employee) Chicago, IL

    ProsAll members of the department are treated with respect, whether they are employees or contractors and are included in all company events.

    ConsIf I were forced to find something negative about my experience working there, it would be hard for me to do.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend

    Exelon Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs responded to this review

    Jul 14, 2014

    Thank you so much for your kind words! We appreciate you taking the time to post this review and value our employees feedback. Thanks again!
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

    1 person found this helpful  

    Great Opportunities for someone looking for a place to succeed

    Systems Engineer (Current Employee) Braceville, IL

    Pros1) I really enjoy the challenges that are presented. I have been able to move around in my department and to different departments to get a better feel for the organization.
    2) Special projects outside of your day-to-day experience. If you hate doing the same thing over and over, that won't happen working at this company. I receive great opportunities for new experiences whenever possible. This has lead to great networking oppotunities in the industry and in the fleet.
    3) The benefits are much better working here. The pay is on the order of 85th percentile for recent graduates. Vacation is also very good, we get holidays plus two to four weeks standard (depending on your entry level) and rolling over unused days is also possible.
    4) This company invests in you. There is always additional training offered to specialize in your job or for more general requirements such as root cause training. You can pick which training courses you want to take to be more efficient at your job along with standard courses for you and your collegues.
    5) The single best thing about working for this company is that they address feedback. This industry feeds on critical feedback and makes it a cornerstone for improvement.

    Cons1) Work-Life balance needs to be strived for to obtain. I wouldn't expect that a 40 hour week would ever be considered normal, unless you are in the union. More often than not, expect 50 hour weeks.
    2) This is a very fast-paced environment, so things happen rapidly.
    3) Depending on your job, it will be expected that if there are issues on off-hours including holidays and weekends that you are there to support if required.

    Advice to Senior ManagementContinue the focus on the basics. I am very pleased with upper management.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Exelon Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs responded to this review

    Jul 2, 2014

    Thank you so much for posting such a detailed review! We greatly appreciate and value the opinions of our employees. Thanks again!
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

     

    Great organization to work for

    Senior Engineer (Current Employee) West Des Moines, IA

    ProsTransparency of the leadership team, great package(pay, perk and previelege), The managers are considerate to employees vaccation days. It's a great place to work with alot of diversity in culture and thoughts. The company has good training programmes and they let you participate in Industry conferences and seminars. There is a lot of learning opportunities for everybody here.

    ConsExelon is a large organization and sometimes finding the subject matter expert may become a challenge.

    Advice to Senior ManagementYou'll put a great team together.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Exelon Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs responded to this review

    Jul 14, 2014

    Thank you for taking the time to post this review! We value and appreciate the opinions of all of our employees. Thanks again!
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • No Opinion of CEO

     

    Valued and Supported at BGE

    Supervisor (Current Employee) Baltimore, MD

    ProsThe company has made significant investments in my development through tuition reimburement and leadership training. I've been promoted two times during my 6 year tenure at the company and I feel there are many more opportunities ahead of me to learn more about the business and advance. The work is demanding yet rewarding. Hard work pays off as the company believes in promoting within. Many folks make BGE their career and stay for the long term. There are three people in my work group that have over 30 years of service.

    ConsThe company's change management is lacking. We've experienced a lot of change in the last few years with more expected in the future. Good change management is critical to help employees through uncertainty more effectively.
    The company has a focus on developing and promoting engineers. As a non-engineer, I feel at a disadvantage at times and that I need to do more to prove myself.

    Advice to Senior ManagementMy advice to management is to be more visible and look for more opportunities to enagage employees - walk around the floors where your section/division works, go on field visits more often and show a genuine interest in the day-to-day work employees do.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend

    Exelon Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs responded to this review

    Jul 3, 2014

    Thank you very much for posting this review! We value all the information employees provide us. If interested, please email CorporateTalentAcquisition@exeloncorp.com to provide additional ... More
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

     

    Network, work hard, and be accountable. This will lead you to success

    Intern, Human Resources (Current Employee) Chicago, IL

    Pros1) High performing individuals and culture
    2) High Standards
    3) Strong company culture in fostering growth (especially if you ask for more work)
    4) Traveling is a possibility for those who are interested in it
    5) VP's and Directors are very busy, but have an open door policy to listen, make recommendations, and explore options in advancing with one's career
    6) Great growth is taking place in this organization right now
    7) Great culture in establishing a sense of empowerment
    8) The soft skills in this organization are strong
    9) Co-workers are greatly experienced at what they do and are the best at what they do

    Cons1) No overtime pay for interns
    2) No pay over holiday's for interns
    3) Not too many career options for those fresh out of college (takes time for the stars to align)

    Advice to Senior ManagementBecause Exelon has a high performing culture, please reconsidering overtime especially for interns. Other than that, personal growth and promotion opportunities are great within this company - especially if you work for it.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Exelon Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs responded to this review

    Jul 1, 2014

    Thank you very much for your review! We greatly appreciate you taking the time to post and share your thoughts. Exelon values the opinions of our employees - we really appreciate your feedback ... More
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

     

    Love my job

    IT Senior Analyst (Current Employee)

    ProsI find my job challenging and constantly changing. That is something that keeps me motivated. There is always something new to learn and some new system to work with. The people here are very nice. The compensation and benefits are great. Good performance is always well rewarded. Always having opportunities to go to training or back to school and learn some more.

    ConsThe business is impacted by something we have no control over (weather).

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Exelon Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs responded to this review

    Jul 3, 2014

    Thank you so much for posting your thoughts! We greatly appreciate our employees and their opinions. Thank you again for your feedback!
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

     

    Seasoned IT professional

    Senior IT Analyst (Current Employee) Chicago, IL

    ProsExciting, changing environment with tons of opportunities. Leadership is very open to new innovative ideas. Ability to see so many aspects of the company if your interested.

    ConsIf you prefer stability and knowing what you will be doing day to day then this is not the place for you! Things are changing constantly and move very fast. There is no time to focus on just one initiaitve, the environment is much more dynamic than that.

    Advice to Senior ManagementContinue to put leaders in place that are willing to move the needle. It is so refreshing to see all the leaders wanting to make big changes for the company and continue to keep us a leader in our industry.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Exelon Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs responded to this review

    Jun 23, 2014

    Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comment! We highly value the opinions of our employees and we appreciate your input. Thanks again!

Worked for Exelon? Contribute to the Community!

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.