First Data

www.firstdata.com
Employer Engaged

First Data Reviews

Updated February 24, 2015
Updated February 24, 2015
54 Reviews
5.0
54 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Frank Bisignano
54 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Great co-workers depending on your team and relatively good work/life balance (in 25 reviews)

  • Work from Home, Build Great Business Relationships by Representing worldwide Best in Class Products (in 23 reviews)


Cons
  • High expectations and time commitements - Can impact work life balance negatively (in 14 reviews)

  • 401k match was eliminated, Health care benefits are expensive with a high deductible (in 26 reviews)

More Highlights

54 Employee Reviews Back to all Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Featured Review

    2 people found this helpful  

    Exciting times!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at First Data full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    Lots of cool new products and feeling like we're on the forefront of technology. New leadership has turned this ship around and we are headed in an awesome direction - possibly to IPO in the next year or two. Lots of hard work required but the payoff will be huge, and ALL employees are equity owners, so we will all reap the reward!

    Cons

    We've had to give up a few things along the way but I am confident we will see the payoff!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    First Data Response

    Feb 18, 2015Community Manager

    Thanks for sharing your feedback.

  2. 2 people found this helpful  

    Always something new to learn

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Manager
    Current Employee - Manager

    I have been working at First Data

    Pros

    Love working for a company that values their employees - advance from within. Treated with dignity and respect

    Cons

    As with any large company things change based on the ener changing economey - health benefits decline as every other company.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Continue respecting employees - allowing for internal growth

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    First Data Response

    Feb 25, 2015Community Manager

    Thanks for your review. We agree that everyone deserves to be treated with dignity and respect.

  3. 1 person found this helpful  

    Proud to be an Owner-Associate

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Director of Product Management in Omaha, NE
    Current Employee - Director of Product Management in Omaha, NE

    I have been working at First Data full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    First Data provides a wealth of opportunities to expand and grow within the organization. As an Owner-Associate I am empowered to make decisions and influence how our solutions are brought to market through the understanding of our client's genuine concern.

    Cons

    First Data has a complex environment due to numerous acquisitions. We have however done a much better job with our newer acquisitions such as Clover, Perka and GYFT.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Continue to look at the talent within the organization for key leadership roles.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    First Data Response

    Feb 26, 2015Community Manager

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We're glad to head that you feel proud and empowered. We're happy to have you on the team.

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 1 person found this helpful  

    Exciting times - Career year (2015) - Fast Paced and ever evolving Industry

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President in New York, NY

    I have been working at First Data full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    If you want to be part of the world's largest start up with the most talented and hard working team, First Data is your destination firm. We have the legacy of a firm that has been around for over 43+ years in the global market place, that has recently re-invented itself into an innovative company that helps our customer grow their business by providing Financial Technology and Business solutions.. lots of cool and new things to work on every where you turn

    Cons

    Commerce and payments is a very fast paced industry and First Data happens to be in the middle of such a dynamic space - so if you are not up for hard work combined with fast pace and lots of changes that provides significant job satisfaction and financial upside - then this might not be the place for you .. although you might want to rethink that..

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    This is a marathon and we are doing good time - keep up the pace - it will be a record finish..

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    First Data Response

    Feb 23, 2015Community Manager

    Thank you for your comments.

  6. 2 people found this helpful  

    A chance to build something!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President in New York, NY

    I have been working at First Data full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    Going through exciting change; best company in industry; we all own a piece of the company.

    Cons

    Undergoing a transformation so you should want to be a part of change.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    More interaction with front line employees

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    First Data Response

    Feb 17, 2015Community Manager

    Thanks for your review and suggestion.

  7. 1 person found this helpful  

    A great company to work for. No politics, very focused, lots of energy

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President GM in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President GM in Houston, TX

    I have been working at First Data

    Pros

    At the crossroad of payment and technology world, very fast paced, enormous opportunities across the board

    Cons

    Speed of change sometime too fast for existing environment.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep it up. This should be where people won't to come to work.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    First Data Response

    Feb 17, 2015Community Manager

    Thanks for your review. We're not sure we're interpreting your advice to management correctly. Did you mean "This should be where people *want* to come to work"? You may not be able to reply here ... More

  8. 1 person found this helpful  

    Momentum is growing

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at First Data full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Financial progress, leadership delivering on the promise, massive accumulation of talent, clients want to hear what we are doing

    Cons

    Expectations are high and you need to be prepared to work hard

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Don't slow down, and make sure our promise of meritocracy is always delivered

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    First Data Response

    Feb 17, 2015Community Manager

    Thanks for sharing your review.

  9. 1 person found this helpful  

    The ' New' First Data

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Vice President in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Vice President in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at First Data full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    The Senior Leadership Team at First Data is 2nd to none. The sky is the limit given the breadth of experience and knowledge across this team. Books will be written about the transformation of the New First Data.

    Cons

    The cultural transformation over the past 18 months has been difficult for some of our owner associates, however the benefits are now evident (historic 4thQtr earnings) and the 24k+ owner associates are aligned for continued success and growth.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Full steam ahead...

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    First Data Response

    Feb 17, 2015Community Manager

    We're glad to see such optimism from a longstanding employee. Thanks for your comments.

  10. 1 person found this helpful  

    Proud to be part of First Data

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Vice President, IT in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Vice President, IT in New York, NY

    I have been working at First Data full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    Leadership truly leads by example through commitment and dedication to a shared mission. The environment allows owner associates to flourish in every way.

    Cons

    Training and tests could be reduced in frequency. At the same time, proud that ethics and compliance are so important to our company.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    First Data Response

    Feb 17, 2015Community Manager

    Thanks for sharing your comments. Ethics and compliance are very important to First Data.

  11.  

    Rapid Paced and Fast Growing

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Director in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Director in New York, NY

    I have been working at First Data full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    First Data is in the midst of a turn-around never seen before. The new management is inspiring, hard working and dedicated to helping making sure employees succeed in-turn, making sure the company succeeds. Smart and innovative people fill the room and you will be able to learn from those around you. High stakes high reward

    Cons

    New employees should be given more than 2 weeks off, its not competitive, but given the transformation I am sure that HR is evaluating all policies.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    First Data Response

    Feb 17, 2015Community Manager

    Thanks for your comments. We'll make sure the feedback gets back to HR, and you're also welcome to email employeecomms@firstdata.com if you'd like to make specific suggestions.

First Data Photos

Work at First Data? Share Your Experiences

First Data

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.