Genesys Reviews

Updated April 15, 2015
13 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
1.0
13 Reviews
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Genesys President and CEO Paul Segre
Paul Segre
8 Ratings

13 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Helpful (6)

    1984 revisited

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Genesys full-time

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Pros

    1. Too many Russians
    2. Essential rules for working at this place -
      a. There is a hierarchy.
      b. The hierarchy has to be followed without exception.
      c. The hierarchy is made of lapdogs.
      d. The lapdog cannot bark. If he does, then the concept of organization is broken and he must be punished.
    3. If these rules are met then this is truly among the best places to work!
    4. Free coffee

    Cons

    1. Seen the movie or read 1984? No doubt the setting was in a Russia lookalike.

    2. Too many Russians

    3. Sycophancy above merit. You are successful if you are anointed as successful. You get a raise, promotion, etc, etc regardless of merit. If you are the anointed one, then everything you say is right, all your mistakes are forgiven. It's a private company after all, so the freedom to create arbitrary rules is understandable. The question is - where's the limit?

    4. Nepotism works too.

    5. Political top layer. Is this the best private equity could do? That makes me question the skills and acumen of private equity firm that bought this company and doubt their whole business case around this company.

    6. Middle management is full of failed programmers.

    7. People who are firmly established will do whatever they want but if you do the same thing it will be questioned. Trust is not part of culture.

    8. Silos. There are silos of 1-2-3 people. Only they know what they do and these silos are what the company is made of. And the silos need to be protected to maintain information advantage.

    9. "Great place to work" is nothing but a giant PR job. The company wants to go public. And they can't without manufacturing a certain reputation. Thus the constant presence of someone monitoring Glassdoor. News is what is broadcast as news, not what actually happens. FOX News understands this. Therefore the constant drumbeat of "charity work", "global company", "best place to work", etc.

    10. With the kind of talent this company has, I suspect the IPO window will close without the company getting in shape to be able to use it. There's only so much lipstick can do.

    11. Cloud is nothing but a massive Cloud job.

    Advice to Management

    No advice to management. Whatever is happening could not be happing without their consent.

    Culture is hard to change while any arbitrary things can be claimed to be the mission and values of the company through PR noise.

  2. Helpful (4)

    Worst job experience!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Genesys

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Up to date work experience, fast pace environment.

    Cons

    Vacation days are not accrued, so there is nothing to pay if you separated from the company. From the other side, it's really hard to get any vacation approved by a manager. Employees can be terminated with no notice and severance package. Training is hardly provided.

    Advice to Management

    Team spirit needs to be developed. Engineers shouldn't feel expendable. Benefits should be on market level.

    Genesys Response

    Jan 20, 2015SVP, Human Resources

    Most of our employees have very positive experiences here and we wish you could have had the same. We always do our best to treat our people with respect, regardless of the circumstances. If you ... More

  3. Helpful (6)

    Worked as a Contractor for over 2 years

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Contractor - Solutions Architect in Daly City, CA
    Former Contractor - Solutions Architect in Daly City, CA

    I worked at Genesys as a contractor (More than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    I was at Genesys as a Contractor for over 2 years. I must I personally enjoyed my time there. But what I saw and my discussions with other Engineers there (which my review is based upon) doesn't reflect an overall positive experience.

    Pros:
    Product Line: This company has a very good product line that are high in demand. As a result, the company is stable.

    Upper management: They make good decisions to keep the company and it's products competitive.

    Flexibility: Flexible hours.

    Cons

    Middle Management:
    The Middle managers here are the kind when they see someone in the hallways, they pretend not to know you or don't want to say even "hello" to you. They beckon to their employees with inverted fingers. They safeguard their own interests and take credit for what their team has done in front of senior Managers. "I did it" is the name of their game. Most of the Managers here have risen to their positions within the company without any training or previous experience and this shows in their conduct of business.

    Layoffs - Layoffs are frequent and at times done in a demeaning way to those being laid off. This is to inculcate a fear psychosis in the remaining employees.

    Career Growth - One can simply forget about career growth. True there are those who have risen within the company. But they account to less 5% of the total Genesys workforce.

    Open Time Off - The company has a OTO policy. This gives employees only the minimum time-off as required by law. If the employee is to take in addition to this, it comes at the discretion of the Manager. And most of the time a request for OTO is a "No" and the reason for that is almost always a team is striving to meet deadlines.

    Genesys Response

    Jan 20, 2015SVP, Human Resources

    We are happy to hear your own experience with us was positive, and agree that our products are excellent. While we encourage feedback, we feel it is best given first-hand. Many of your points don’t ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (6)

    If you hate to be at home, this is the job for you!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Senior Principal Consultant
    Former Employee - Senior Principal Consultant

    I worked at Genesys full-time (More than 8 years)

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    The people are absolutely amazing to work with. A perfect place to work if you have no other life to balance with. They helped me achieve the highest level of frequent flyer status available.

    Cons

    Expect up to 89% travel. I was asked to leave my family for 6 months for one of their customers.

    Advice to Management

    Having an organization work as a family should not replace a person's real family.

    Genesys Response

    Dec 22, 2014SVP, Human Resources

    When I say Genesys is like a family, I certainly don't mean it should replace a family! I'm sorry to hear you didn't have the experience most people here have, which reflects a lot of flexibility and ... More

  6. Helpful (7)

    Great product but thats the end of it

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Genesys

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great product on the on premise end. If you work under a good manager you can learn alot.

    Cons

    1. If you do not speak Russian you are doomed. Everyone just speaks in Russian and have no regard for the non-Russian speaking colleagues. For crying out loud I was at a dinner table with the CTO and he was speaking in Russian. Total disregard!
    2. Pathetic management with no vision and directions. Priorities change every week and do not get communicated to everyone.
    3. Alot of politics. With the acquisitions of so many companies in the past 18 months, the cloud business has become a true "House of Cards". No one gets along with the other teams and everyone has inflated egos.
    4. Genesys has no clue how to run a Cloud business. Genesys has never been a cloud business but still dictates all decisions around it. Also, if you are not from legacy Genesys or Russian he doesn't care however good you are.
    5. Fake reviews. From the reviews it is obvious that there is a massive HR campaign to improve their online image. HR claims they are individual opinions but do you seriously buy that. Will a HR employee actually add an honest review on Glassdoor? Will senior management really speak the truth? This was all orchestrated to attract talent into the company.
    6. Mediocre office and located in Daly City! Working in the Engineering space is DEPRESSING!!! Chairs are flimsy, cheap monitors, horrendous phones and closed work spaces. The Chantilly and Somerville offices are great but working in Daly City is depressing.
    7. Short term focus for IPO or sell out.
    8. Constant layoffs. Seriously your job is not secured here.
    9. Below market pay.

    Advice to Management

    Increase communication to employees.
    Genesys cannot run the cloud business.
    Ban speaking Russian in your hallways and meetings. Like seriously please!!!!

    Genesys Response

    Dec 20, 2014SVP, Human Resources

    Genesys is a very diverse, global company. You will hear many languages on a walk around our headquarters; Russian, French, Spanish and Portuguese to name a few. As our original founders were ... More

  7. Helpful (4)

    Save yourself the trouble, don't work with this bunch of Silicon Valley rejects.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Genesys full-time

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Free Cup-O-Noodles (if this can even be counted as a pro...)
    Free coffee.
    The women here are horrendous, therefore there is nothing to distract you from your work.

    Cons

    Constant Russian chatter. God help you if you don't speak Russian, nobody will take the time to inform you of what's going on.
    Nobody respects you if you speak English.
    Horrible pay.
    It takes forever to get any kind of promotion.
    Good luck taking time off, despite there being an open vacation policy.
    Suffers from a serious case of Not-Invented-Here syndrome.
    Your code is constantly invaded, and pillaged by half-witted numbnuts that would rather change your code to kowtow to a half-baked QE test, rather than fix the test.

    Advice to Management

    Psst... here's a tip: Speak english. You're in America. While you're at it, respect your American co-workers.

    Genesys Response

    Dec 3, 2014SVP, Human Resources

    We're not models, but I think we look alright. Anyway, respect is a two way street. Спасибо за ваше письмо!

  8. Helpful (3)

    Fake Reviews

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Management in Daly City, CA
    Current Employee - Management in Daly City, CA

    I have been working at Genesys full-time (More than 8 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Not much to say here

    Cons

    Genesys HR requested that employees post fake reviews to "pump up" the company reputation, which seems to destroy the whole purpose of Glassdoor.

    Advice to Management

    Honesty

    Genesys Response

    Nov 12, 2014SVP, Human Resources

    Genesys does not influence employee reviews. We do ask our employees to post reviews – honest, genuine evaluations of how they feel about working at Genesys. All employee reviews represent employee’s ... More

  9. Helpful (3)

    Good Product, Horrible Management

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Genesys

    Pros

    Good Product, when it works

    Cons

    Not enough R & D, growing too fast

  10. Helpful (8)

    Great product, poor management

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Accountant in Daly City, CA
    Former Employee - Accountant in Daly City, CA

    I worked at Genesys full-time (More than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    The company has s great software product

    Cons

    Life balance non existence in here.
    No vacation accrual. So pray for a good and understandable manager (unlikely).
    The worst medium level management that I've seen in any company that I've worked for. Worst of all, high level managers don't care.
    Don't expect a good flow of communication.
    Daly City (nothing in here but fog)

    Advice to Management

    Can you please stop thinking just about your bonuses and focus also on the employees?

  11. Helpful (3)

    No respect

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Engineer in San Jose, CA

    I have been working at Genesys full-time (More than 3 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Smart sales engineers that are willing to indure the stupidity of administrative staff that do not respect, appreciate or understand how an SE contributes to an enterprise software sale.

    Cons

    No respect for the above mentioned sales engineers. Here is an idea, we are going to hire SE's right off the street with no industry experience.

    Advice to Management

    Why not hire management and HR and other back office right out of college? Surely they could not do any worse.

    Genesys Response

    Jul 24, 2014SVP, Human Resources

    It sounds like you are frustrated by our Associate Sales Engineer Program, which is designed to hire and develop new talent to support and work with our senior SE’s. We GREATLY value our existing SE ... More

Work at Genesys? Share Your Experiences

Genesys

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.