IQAir Reviews

Updated August 16, 2015
8 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Any Status
Employment Status

Reset
1.0
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Glory Dolphin Hammes
3 Ratings

8 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Helpful (5)

    Not for the highly talented

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IQAir full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    • Great health benefits • Great new building • Free lunch on Fridays • Free bagels and fruit on Mondays • 24 hour gym membership • On-site gym • Amazing, wonderful co-workers ( honestly fantastic )

    Cons

    So what makes IQAir a 1 star despite all those pros? 1. First things first. Most positive reviews are from new hires. Actually read the reviews they will all say something like "just started and have no complaints". I along with 4 other people were pressured to leave a review ONE week into being hired on. We were all hired around the same time 2. This place is a micromanagement machine. All this micromanagement unfortunately comes from the CEO. The micromanagement extends to writing and authorizing 'dishwasher policies' and other head-scratchers. She will point fingers at departments or employees one at a time. A running joke is asking who or what department is in the hot seat this week? Disagreeing with CEO during meetings usually leads to write-ups or firings for 'not being IQAir material'. 3. The turnover rater is VERY high. Out of the 60 employees during my time there only 4 were there longer than 1 year. Everyone is in fear of their job, It is a stressful environment because people are scared to take accountability for decisions because they usually lead to firings. So departments will point fingers at each other in an attempt to avoid blame. Instead of feeling like you are on a team with fellow departments you feel as though you need to cover all your tracks to assure you are safe. During my time less than 12 twelve months over 20 people were fired. Most new hires don't stay past their probationary period. 4. HR is very over-bearing. Numerous mandatory weekly meetings leave middle management few too hours to guide subordinates. Processes must all be vetted by HR and CEO. Things take twice as long as needed to complete and you often leave meetings feeling like what was decided last week has changed 180º this week. 5. The actual work you will produce is outdated, not to mention the tools used to do so. So any new technologies, software, best practices, trends and new findings are quickly pushed down because it can't be controlled. CEO is strangely scared of public opinion from social media users so there is no social media channels. Replies to comments need verification from CEO before being posted leaving customer's frustrated with how long it takes to get their needs met. 6. Arrogance of the highest level is portrayed from the very top. While IQAir's product is an amazing product that actually works.There is zero emotion in the work place, no smiling faces, the feeling in the air is cold. Family arguments from the top of the chain will leave you confused as what to do next. 7. No growth opportunities to further your career here. Its not a place I would recommend to work at unless you are looking to build our experience in your field. If you are highly skilled you will grow frustrated much quicker than others.

    Advice to Management

    Trust. Allow middle management and subordinates the freedom to explore options within their roles. It becomes a chore coming to work, don't make IQAir a place where everyone looks forward to friday lunch as the saving grace for the week. Although a family run business, don't let those family feuds put your employees in lose-lose situations.

    IQAir Response

    Aug 17, 2015 – HR Manager

    Constructive criticism is great appreciated and taken very seriously.


  2. Helpful (10)

    Horrid place to work

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in La Mirada, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in La Mirada, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IQAir full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Most employees are friendly, and hard working.

    Cons

    This is the worst experience i have ever had working...ever. I was planning my move out of there the second i got hired. Management takes pride in bringing out the worst in people. They don't care about you, they make you feel responsible for the company's mess ups/problems, they make you feel replaceable multiple times a day and everyday, backstabbing or turn your words against you, deceitful and unethical. Working for IQAir, is like living your deepest and darkest moments in your life everyday, and you never get a break....That's your life... BUT you get free food on friday. So ok it's all worth it now..

    IQAir Response

    Aug 5, 2015 – HR Manager

    Constructive criticism is greatly appreciated and taken very seriously. We wish you the best in your future career.


  3. Helpful (14)

    Interesting place

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Free air purifier, the product is great. They try to keep an upbeat culture. The office is new and very aesthetically pleasing. There are upbeat departments at IQAir, but hard to transfer to it. Good place to learn about air purification.

    Cons

    If you look at the org chart, you will see that there is about three levels maximum. What ends up happening is lateral movement versus upwards movement. Most positions are jobs and not careers. I would not recommend this place to anyone looking for a career. Employee turnover is the culture.

    Advice to Management

    I don't really have any advice that can help you.

    IQAir Response

    Jul 28, 2015 – HR Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. All your comments are very much appreciated. At this time, we do have a small team and growth is measured in terms of personal and professional development, not upward ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (21)

    Systematic problems with the company

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IQAir full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good training, free lunch on Friday, free breakfast Monday, fancy new building, work/life balance, and great people. These don't make up for the cons. The sparkle and sheen of the building quickly wear off to reveal the rotten core of the company.

    Cons

    Don't expect to be in this job for more than a year, if you can make it that long. Turnover is comically high. Only work here if you are desperate for a stop-gap job. Management is inexperienced, uninspiring, totalitarian, lacking direction and over-emotional. At this company you are not hired to think for yourself but to puppet management's bad decisions. Constantly changing priorities and no high level planning mean projects are never completed. Management also refuse to be held accountable for any bad decisions that are actually made, instead choosing to crucify the next target. Other Glassdoor reviews implying that people who have left bad reviews are unintelligent or lesser people embody precisely what is wrong with the company. There can be no opinions other than the party line, and if you disagree prepare to work in an environment where your intelligence, capability and opinions are regularly devalued and insulted. Most people start at the company thinking that all of the stories and these reviews are blown out of proportion, that they are the one that can turn things around because they've dealt with unreasonable employers or difficult clients. As an employee you will see the will and optimism sucked out of these people as they realize that it is truly a systematic problem with management that will never change. Don't take a job here.

    Advice to Management

    Open your eyes and take responsibility for your actions.

    IQAir Response

    Jul 6, 2015 – HR Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. IQAir takes all constructive criticism very seriously and to heart. if you are truly so unhappy that you tell people not to take a job somewhere that you have worked ... More


  6. Helpful (12)

    Negative atmosphere, counter productive work environment, no leadership in sales. High turnover

    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    New building with free lunches on Friday

    Cons

    Awful. Awful Sales team leadership with lack of planning and organization skills. Lots of first time employees with no credibility or awareness to work within a team. Approach to business is random and people are non professionals

    Advice to Management

    Remove management team, over deliver and under promise. Make more products! Too much damage control from lack of leadership

    IQAir Response

    Apr 9, 2014 – HR Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. IQAir believes that each customer and potential customer should have a 100% positive experience. We are constantly reviewing our processes to identify ways that we can ... More


  7. Helpful (12)

    Hostile Work Environment

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in La Mirada, CA
    Former Employee - Sales in La Mirada, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IQAir full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    If you're an underachiever this is a great place to work. Management isn't looking for someone with better ideas they really just want you to do your job like a robot. So as long as you mindlessly do exactly what you are told you can last there a long time.

    Cons

    Management known to have serious anger issues. Yelling, undermining behavior and verbal abuse are all part of the culture. In order to work here it's almost like you have to be numb to being talked down to. I haven't seen such old school management -- that must be how things were in the 60's.

    Advice to Management

    I recommend years of anger management counseling and uncover where all your anger comes from.

    IQAir Response

    Mar 26, 2014 – HR Manager

    IQAir is actively seeking consistently high performers with a positive attitude. Creativity and identification/resolution of inefficiencies is encouraged. IQAir also maintains a professional ... More


  8. Helpful (14)

    Avoid this company

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales
    Former Employee - Sales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IQAir full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    A free air purifier after you've worked there a year. Leaving at the end of the day.

    Cons

    Top management has little experience and creates a hostile work environment. Most of the employees here are miserable.

    Advice to Management

    You really need to remove the top level managment and replace them with people that actually know what they are doing. It is going to destroy your business.

    IQAir Response

    Mar 26, 2014 – HR Manager

    IQAir has a culture of high performance expectations. Management actively promotes continuing development and it is part of each employee's goals.


  9. Helpful (16)

    Incompetent Management

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Fe Springs, Los Angeles, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Fe Springs, Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at IQAir full-time

    Pros

    They pay their employees They do provide benefits after three months

    Cons

    Micro-management on every front Treating employees as children

    Advice to Management

    Paranoia and distrust destroy a work environment. The management here has some deeply insecure feelings toward employees, and the employees feel they can never win.

    IQAir Response

    Aug 15, 2014 – HR Manager

    Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry to read that you had such a negative experience. I think you would find that the environment is very different today. Employee engagement, development ... More



Showing 8 of 29 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.