LesConcierges
1.6 of 5 50 reviews
www.lesconcierges.com San Francisco, CA 150 to 499 Employees

LesConcierges Reviews

Updated Jul 2, 2014
All Employees Current Employees Only

1.6 50 reviews

                             

0% Approve of the CEO

(no image)

Matt Clemenson & James Eyton

(1 ratings)

17% of employees recommend this company to a friend
25 Employee Reviews Back to all reviews
Relevance Date Rating
in
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • Approves of CEO

    1 person found this helpful  

    Great opportunities! Making the wrongs right!

    Program Manager (Current Employee)
    San Francisco, CA

    ProsGreat location. Awesome vision for now and the future. Great and fun changes happening for the concierges. Easy to stand out and get promoted. Owner has a real open door policy and is very personable.

    ConsLack of I.T. specialists, but it's being worked on.

    Advice to Senior ManagementKeep it up! Thanks for taking on the challenges head on.

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Add Employer Response Flag Review
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • Disapproves of CEO

    2 people found this helpful  

    Why doesn't anyone listen to the little guy?

    Anonymous Employee (Current Employee)

    ProsNice pay, benefits, 401K, friendly staff

    ConsTerrible management, no communication, upper management lies to clients, knee-jerk reactions, too many chiefs and not enough Indians

    Advice to Senior ManagementFire every manager and start fresh. Listen to the concierge who are actually taking the calls and understand what the clients really want.

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend – I'm not optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Add Employer Response Flag Review
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • No Opinion of CEO

     

    VUQ Manager

    VUQ Manager (Current Employee)
    San Francisco, CA

    ProsThe office location is nothing short of a dream. If you are looking to work somewhere in downtown San Francisco that isn't overly busy then this is the place for you. Office culture means a lot to this company even if it isn't something pushed by the employees. Everyone get's along very well which leads to work going by fast instead of being boring and daunting. There is consistent work, very little down time which in my opinion is a great thing.

    ConsNo clear path to move on to the next level. This would be okay if the position was full time, but as a 40 hour temp to hire with no benefits you never knew what was going to happen next. Only negative thing to say really.

    Advice to Senior ManagementMae a clearer path for people coming in to become full time employees of the company. Management in the San Francisco office and offices across the country are stellar.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    LesConcierges Head of Employee Engagement responded to this review Apr 28, 2014 EditDelete
    Thank you for taking the time to review LesConcierges and mentioning the positive aspects of our culture and our desire to build and invest in that culture. As you stated, most employees have a ... More
  • We want your feedback – Are these company reviews helpful to you?  Yes | No
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • Disapproves of CEO

    5 people found this helpful  

    The Butler

    Anonymous Employee (Current Employee)

    ProsClean office, Some managers on the Lower level are really good people and have great ideas. Centrally located and easy to get to in the city.

    ConsUpper managed has no idea what they are doing . So many things creatively that the company could to do but again upper management are stooges. Very restrictive in a bad way.

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    LesConcierges Head of Employee Engagement responded to this review Apr 28, 2014 EditDelete
    Thank you for taking the time to review LesConcierges. As you have rated us with one star it is apparent that your current experience at LC is not as good as it should be, by far. However there are ... More
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • Approves of CEO

    1 person found this helpful  

    friendly supportive environment, professional colleagues, nice building

    Corporate Concierge (Current Employee)
    San Francisco, CA

    Prosemployee enrichment and professional opportunities

    Consno input in scheduling or which department of company I would be best suited for, salary offer quite low

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Add Employer Response Flag Review
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • Approves of CEO

    3 people found this helpful  

    Hard work pays off!

    Anonymous Employee (Current Employee)
    San Francisco, CA

    ProsThe location and office environment is very modern and it is rare to feel obligated to work overtime. Overtime opportunities are usually available however, and it is nice to be able to have the opportunity to increase your paycheck if you are willing to work for it. You can come in to work, do your job, and leave it at work. Compensation is in line with other jobs in the hospitality industry and the bonus structure is great if you work hard enough to get the full pay out. Manager's are direct in what they expect of you in terms of performance level and provide helpful insight of how to deal with difficult customers. The HR department is wonderful and supportive, if you ask for support that is.

    ConsThere could be more resources and educational trainings and more career guidance if you are hoping to move up in the company. Yes, the company is growing so there is a lot of opportunity, but the company has expanded very fast and there isn't too much of a focus on developing employees.

    Advice to Senior ManagementReach out and engage more with the concierge and collaborate. Great things can come from working together.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    LesConcierges Head of Employee Engagement responded to this review Sep 9, 2013 EditDelete
    Thank you for taking the time to review LesConcierges. We appreciate you highlighting the positive aspects of working at LC, specifically the financial opportunities that are available to employees ... More
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • Approves of CEO

    4 people found this helpful  

    Great company for the right person

    Anonymous Employee (Current Employee)

    ProsWhen I started here the negativity that spread through the office almost got to me. As I took a step back I saw how supportive my team was and that LC was actually a great place to work. Though all of the negativity was coming from a valid place all of it is easily fixed. Throughout my career I’ve found that every company has issues. At a certain point if you keep leaving when problems arise you’ll be leaving companies quite frequently and it will be difficult to find a job. The best thing for LesConcierges is to hire people that would like to commit through the growing pains and work to make the environment better.

    I do want to say that the other reviews on here are valid and the employees complaining have a right to do so. If they are working in a department that is becoming toxic they need to bring that up with HR. If someone is not being allowed to take vacation they deserve to take or if someone’s workload is becoming unmanageable this needs to be brought to their manager’s attention and/or HR’s attention. We should communicate what needs to be fixed but then also look at how we can work together to help improve the situation.

    However I see both sides. The Managers work constantly and are overwhelmed.
    Yes, they make more money and yes, there’s a disconnect between the two sides but it’s very few companies I’ve ever worked for that didn’t have that disconnect. It’s not as if the executives purposefully segregate themselves. They are trying to get work done in the deadlines that were given to them. Everyone works incredibly hard at LC.

    PROS
    At LC we have committees to improve employee satisfaction and TONS of surveys that try and gauge what people want. I came from companies that weren't concerned if an employee was happy so the efforts by the committees and all the surveys is a fantastic thing for me as an employee to be a part of.

    What you get by working here is a hand in doing things that you wouldn’t normally get to do at huge companies. If you feel you need to, you're allowed to voice your ideas and contribute to projects that lead to some great experiences. Lastly the promotions here happen so much faster than other companies. There are huge corporations that don’t promote people until they have been with a company for years. I would definitely recommend this company to people who thrive on an environment that moves very fast and has many projects happening at the same time. It’s hard at times but I love the people I work with and I enjoy it here.

    ConsThe reality is the more the company grows the less they are going to be able to make everyone happy.
    PTO could be increased. Concierge being able to easily use that PTO should be improved.
    Flexibility in scheduling...we need to create the ability for Concierge to get Sat & Sun off every so often.

    Advice to Senior ManagementOverall my feeling is first we need some management training, which I know is in the works. We don't have bad managers. On the contrary we have some great people here. We just have managers with so much work that they don't get to manage properly. That will take a little training on things like creating clear goals, seeing your employee's performance as a reflection on you (to a point), properly relating to your employee, giving more positive feedback instead of only giving negative feedback, giving negative feedback constructively and of course management needs to be given the time in their schedule to do this. We need to instill the idea that every employee is valuable. In the end everyone at LC needs to remove the negativity and work from a positive place.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    LesConcierges Head of Employee Engagement responded to this review Sep 9, 2013 EditDelete
    Thank you for taking the time to review LesConcierges. You have obviously put a lot of thought into your review and it is much appreciated. We want to provide a workplace that is positive and ... More
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • Approves of CEO

    3 people found this helpful  

    LesConcierges has huge potential

    Anonymous Employee (Current Employee)

    ProsPros:

    Ability To Grow – with the company growing as it has there is a lot of opportunity for those that want to take it to grow with the company. There is so much work to be done – the potential is phenomenal. The leaders have done an amazing job of getting the company to this place.

    Culture – the company culture is still intact even with the growth. It is a fun and fast paced environment with very amazing and unique employees that make this company’s culture what it is. Everyone supports each other, and while doing hard work, still really like to enjoy what they are doing.

    Loyalty – the management of the company is very loyal to their employees who have in turn given their blood, sweat and tears to get the company to where it is.

    Concierges – the front line of the company is the concierges and they are amazing at what they do. They embody the company’s culture and help clients to make their lives better. The company would not be what it is today without them.

    Clients – the ability for the company to customize to meet clients’ needs is a differentiator for the company. They take the clients goals/wants/needs and make them real.

    ConsCons:

    Upper Management – the company is very heavy on the upper management with a lot of VP titles thrown around. Senior team should look at those that are actually doing the work that don’t necessarily have VP titles; they are the backbone of keeping things going.

    Infrastructure – with the growth the company is struggling to put the support in place that is needed to take the company to the next level.

    Values - we should be living our values every day not just when it is convenient, that comes from the top down.

    Advice to Senior ManagementGet in touch with your employees, manage by walking around, invest in the people that are doing the work, prepare for the future of the company as I can see the potential!

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    LesConcierges Head of Employee Engagement responded to this review Sep 9, 2013 EditDelete
    Thank you for taking the time to review LesConcierges. Your review accurately captures this moment in the history of LC — both pros and cons. While we are fortunate to experience growth we are also ... More
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • Disapproves of CEO

    6 people found this helpful  

    I should have stayed in school - my parents warned me about jobs like this.

    Corporate Concierge (Current Employee)
    San Francisco, CA

    ProsPay seemed ok (see below) and the location is neat. If you can afford it, there are lots of great restaurants nearby and a lot of bars ... which you will need to drown your sorrows. If you are in the upper ranks you will get to party a lot and not really do much (STAY IN SCHOOL, KIDS!!)

    ConsPay was good, so I thought, but then I started doing the job - awful. Management is often abusive, several employees come to work high and some of the mangers stagger in hungover with some regularity. The "SmartAgent" application is terrible, the helpdesk tries to deal with it best they can but they are just as helpless in fixing the problems as we are. The IT manager is quite showy and loves to throw out fluff but doesn't really seem to know what is going on and relies on surveys which are manipulated to show how things are getting better. Bottom line, the application is horrible to use and no ammount of free backrubs is going to fix it. The company always feels like they are on the verge of collapse - the senior management lives in an ivory tower and seem to have no value for anyone not wearing a 1000$ suit. My coworkers toil like slaves in the bowels of a ship just waiting for the oppoorunity to jump escape.

    I should have stayed in school - then I wouldn't have to work in this terrible place.

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend – I'm not optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    LesConcierges Head of Employee Engagement responded to this review Aug 21, 2013 EditDelete
    Thank you for taking the time to review LesConcierges. As a current employee we urge you to speak with HR if you feel that inappropriate or unprofessional behavior has occurred. We do not condone ... More
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • No Opinion of CEO

    6 people found this helpful  

    Toxic environment with a capital T.

    Anonymous Employee (Current Employee)
    San Francisco, CA

    ProsIt's a job. It's close to Union Square. Office has windows.

    ConsCronyism, favoritism, elitism, unprofessional, the list is almost endless. Middle managers who act like a clique out of Mean Girls (the Plastics?). You are not worthy of their time. Middle managers who regularly speak down to or chastise their employees in public. No one there seems to know the meaning of the word professionalism. You will only be promoted if you're in with the "plastics." Doesn't matter if you get high at work, show up mildly drunk or worse, if you're in with the four or five "managers" you'll get promoted even if there isn't a position open or existing.

    No raises, absolutely no communication from anyone to anyone, huge divide between what they think concierges do and what the concierges actually do, no standard policies, no support for the working staff. And a very unethical environment.

    Concierge work in teams for certain companies but told that they cannot work on different accounts because of contractual obligations. However this is contradicted when the concierge are asked to work on different accounts, then asked to hide all evidence when the account managers of each account do their rounds of the office.

    The M.O. of the company seems to be turn and burn rather than retain the good, hard working, intelligent workers who will question your policies occasionally and have opinions to better their working environment. The company seems to prefer yes men and women. And god forbid you have an opinion about something. You'll be ostracized so quickly by these "managers' that you won't know what hit you.

    Oh and the concierge cannot print anything out. Any time any document needs to be printed, only a "manager" can print it out. That's if you can find one.

    Advice to Senior ManagementGet rid of your entire middle and upper management team and start fresh with a new attitude and drive. Then hire leaders and motivators rather than promote favorites to "management" who are dragging the company and employee morale down. Management will not see it but these people are sucking the company dry with their elitism, unethical, and vindictive behavior. And for heavens sake, let them print.

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend – I'm not optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    LesConcierges Head of Employee Engagement responded to this review Aug 21, 2013 EditDelete
    Thank you for taking the time to review LesConcierges. It is clear that you are frustrated with your work environment. We have had several changes to management and implemented new policies and ... More
RSS Feed Embed

Worked for LesConcierges? Contribute to the Community!

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.

Glassdoor is your free inside look at LesConcierges reviews and ratings — including employee satisfaction and approval rating for LesConcierges CEO Matt Clemenson & James Eyton. All 25 reviews posted anonymously by LesConcierges employees.