MINDBODY

www.mindbodyonline.com

MINDBODY Reviews

Updated January 22, 2015
Updated January 22, 2015
147 Reviews
4.3
147 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
MINDBODY Co-Founder & CEO Rick Stollmeyer
Rick Stollmeyer
122 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Work life balance is outstanding as were the benefits (in 14 reviews)

  • Great Product, Customers are usually people who love health and wellness which is great (in 10 reviews)


Cons
  • San Luis Obispo is located four hours from both Los Angeles and San Francisco, so that can be an adjustment (in 7 reviews)

  • With any young and growing company there are growing pains (in 11 reviews)

More Highlights

125 Employee Reviews Back to all reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    As Advertised!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Implementation Coach in Southampton, NY
    Current Employee - Implementation Coach in Southampton, NY

    I have been working at MINDBODY full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    Awesome work culture, supportive and positive co-workers, benefits and wellness perks! MB is headed in the right direction with work culture and work/life balance. Yoga balls, beer and laughter here.

    Cons

    Would love to stay around with Mindbody as an employee longer, however most room for growth is located in San Luis Obispo. The starting pay is good for entry level openings, but with the cost of living where offices are located could be even better, these may be factors in high turnover/loss of talent seen.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    As the company grows continue to seek promoting/hiring great leaders, not managers. Hire for potential and not always experience. :)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  2. 1 person found this helpful  

    Core Values embody the environment

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Software Sales Specialist in San Luis Obispo, CA
    Current Employee - Software Sales Specialist in San Luis Obispo, CA

    I have been working at MINDBODY full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    The best reason to work here is the environment you feel when you come in every morning. Everyone is friendly and wants to help you succeed. If you have questions, you can find someone who knows the answers very easily. I also love the core values or the company and how the everyone including the CEO embodies them and wants the best for their clients.

    Cons

    It's hard to say anything bad about this company, but if I had to choose something, I would say the quick turnover, at least in my department. They expect a lot out of you, but it's completely manageable. If you stay on top of your tasks, you can do well at this company.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    More training on certain aspects of the software is the only thing I can think of.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    MINDBODY Response

    Jan 12, 2015Recruiting Coordinator

    Thanks for your review! The good news is that training in Sales is going through an overhaul so you can expect to see some great things from our Learning and Development team! Keep up the great work ... More

  3.  

    I <3 MINDBODY

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Luis Obispo, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Luis Obispo, CA

    I have been working at MINDBODY full-time

    Pros

    Awesome coworkers, great PTO and benefits plan, competitive salary, regular parties, wellness practitioners on site, and a solid company culture based around a set of core values. Opportunities are abundant with a 'promote from within' culture. The CEO, Rick, is down to earth and approachable. The office design is modern and comfortable (if a little noisy). Overall, MINDBODY is a wonderful place to work.

    Cons

    As we've grown larger, company policies have been tightening taking some of the magic away.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    MINDBODY Response

    Jan 12, 2015Recruiting Coordinator

    Great review. There's a common thread in the comments about keeping the culture alive as we grow and that advice is spot on. In the near future I don't see all the perks dissapearing: the company ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    Sales Associate

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in San Luis Obispo, CA
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in San Luis Obispo, CA

    I have been working at MINDBODY part-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    Great company atmosphere, energy, and CEO. Office culture is lively and the people are extremely fun!

    Cons

    The pay isn't that great, but company benefits compensate

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    MINDBODY Response

    Jan 12, 2015Recruiting Coordinator

    Thank you for your review! Glad to know you are enjoying our great benefits package and all the perks. We want to keep you as happy and healthy as possible!

  6.  

    Love it

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at MINDBODY full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Caring employees and management team

    Cons

    Salaries can be a little more competitive

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep doing what you are doing. Improve upon communication across the board with all departments. I know Senior Directors are busy, but love hearing from you and reinforce what our supervisors are saying.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    MINDBODY Response

    Jan 12, 2015Recruiting Coordinator

    Excellent review, and I love your advice to management. It's important and uplifting to hear from our top leaders on how our vision is coming to life at MINDBODY. If you plan to stay and enjoy the ... More

  7. 1 person found this helpful  

    Great place

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Luis Obispo, CA
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Luis Obispo, CA

    I have been working at MINDBODY full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Extremely positive coworkers, low-stress environment, flexible hours, lots of laughs. I plan to stay for a long time.

    Cons

    Dealing with external dependencies (aka working in inter-department situations) can be a huge drag.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Were burned by our processes and slowly emerging bureaucracy as we cross 1,000 employees. But, I've dealt with much worse!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    MINDBODY Response

    Jan 12, 2015Recruiting Coordinator

    Thank you for this review! I think your review touches on some other comments made recently about the importance of keeping our culture as we grow in size. It's especially important to note that ... More

  8. 2 people found this helpful  

    YES it's real...

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Product and Team Trainer in San Luis Obispo, CA
    Current Employee - Product and Team Trainer in San Luis Obispo, CA

    I have been working at MINDBODY full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    I waited 6 months before reporting on the TRUE MINDBODY experience. I remember reading these reviews as a prospective employee and thinking it must be too good to be true.

    I am proud to report the following:
    - I really have a competent boss! He is awesome and knows the Learning and Development Industry and really is hustling to make our team awesome. We are implementing so many awesome programs and MINDBODY is demonstrating how much it values the development of team members.
    - The Core Values that MINDBODY talks so much about are REAL. There are daily examples that remind me that we truly value what we say we do - Purpose Driven, Humble and Helpful, Caring and Happy, Continuously Evolving, Committed to Wellness, Environmentally Conscious, and Leaders who are Competent, Compassionate, Catalysts, with Character. ALL of this would stand up if on trial - every choice goes back to these core principles.
    - I just participated in our workplace wellness challenge - MINDBODY provided me with access to the best health and wellness professionals in my area and paid for me to have unlimited support for three months. This program allowed me to lose 44lbs and create a brand new healthy lifestyle - furthering the mission of improving health and wellness around the world.
    - Our leadership rocks - Our leader of IT/SEC is the epitome of security (career marine who means business). Our leaders of Customer Service and of Sales both started on the front lines of those departments and are in touch with the pulse of the team. They sit among their people and are the most approachable visionaries I have ever met.
    - Our Software and products are mind blowing. Really something to be proud of and want to talk about with everyone I meet.
    - Parties are amazing. Bands, Beers, Friends...we just celebrated being rated one of the Top 10 Tech Companies to work for in 2015.
    - San Luis Obispo is amazing.

    Cons

    Hard to complain about compensation when I look at the amazing benefits packages - we receive a monthly allowance for our wellness, we pay next to nothing for awesome medical and dental coverage - I even have pet insurance! As someone who worked previously in healthcare and insurance - our benefits carry our compensation a long way.

    I took a significant pay cut to come to MINDBODY, no doubt about it. However, I believe in what we are doing and I trust compensation will be adjusted as we grow! There are also lots of paths to promotions for those showing commitment.

    I have no regrets. Although I am in a less-desired financial place, I am in harmony with my role and the opportunities ahead.

    Also, I am happy to be part of the Learning and Development team - and am looking forward to supporting a lot of the new managers and supervisors at MINDBODY. From other reviews, I see that training had been a major concern for people in the past and I am glad to be part of that active solution. We are creating useful development opportunities that will help our people maximize their skills.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Thank you for working so hard to maintain our awesome environment. This has been a fun ride thus far!

    Keep supporting the L&D team, so we can further support the great MINDBODYians.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    MINDBODY Response

    Dec 30, 2014Recruiting Coordinator

    Woo hoo! So glad you are here with us! Thank you so much for your honest and detailed review, it means so much to this company. Pay will increase as you stick with learning, developing, and growing ... More

  9.  

    Bar none the best place to thrive!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Tech Support in San Luis Obispo, CA
    Current Employee - Tech Support in San Luis Obispo, CA

    I have been working at MINDBODY

    Pros

    I say thrive instead of work because the work here is to thrive. MINDBODY gives you the tools and let's you run with it. You can move as slow or as fast, as far or not at all as you want to. The more you do the more there is and everybody is a winner.

    Cons

    You have to take breaks, which really isn't MINDBODY's fault it's the law. I really can't think of anything else that's not a pro.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep on doing what your doing.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    MINDBODY Response

    Dec 16, 2014Vice President, Customer Service

    I laughed aloud at this one a little bit. What a compliment to learn that the con is you need to take breaks. I assume that you're really enjoying your day if taking a break is a con. Thank you for ... More

  10.  

    Amazing people, atmosphere, and community.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Marketing in San Luis Obispo, CA
    Current Employee - Marketing in San Luis Obispo, CA

    I have been working at MINDBODY full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Massages, food, wellness benefits (they pay my gym membership at $65/mo). Great bosses and coworker. Literally everyone is nice.

    Cons

    Not many. Free food would be nice

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    I really love working here. Some advice would be maybe share what you talk about in department head meetings more.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    MINDBODY Response

    Jan 12, 2015Recruiting Coordinator

    I love the free food comment! While we don't give full meals away our offices are stocked with organic fruit all days of the week ( we've got organic apples, bananas, and tangerines in the break ... More

  11.  

    A company that listens to it's employees

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Product Development in San Luis Obispo, CA
    Current Employee - Product Development in San Luis Obispo, CA

    I have been working at MINDBODY full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    More than any place I have ever worked the upper management here listens to it's employees. They are genuinely concerned about the health and well being of their employees.

    Cons

    The compensation is less than the average for the tech industry, but everyone is happy regardless, which I think says a lot.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep the culture alive!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

Work at MINDBODY? Share Your Experiences

MINDBODY

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.