MINDBODY

www.mindbodyonline.com

MINDBODY Reviews

Updated February 19, 2015
Updated February 19, 2015
132 Reviews
4.4
132 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
MINDBODY Co-Founder & CEO Rick Stollmeyer
Rick Stollmeyer
132 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Work life balance is outstanding as were the benefits (in 14 reviews)

  • Great Product, Customers are usually people who love health and wellness which is great (in 10 reviews)


Cons
  • San Luis Obispo is located four hours from both Los Angeles and San Francisco, so that can be an adjustment (in 7 reviews)

  • With any young and growing company there are growing pains (in 11 reviews)

More Highlights

132 Employee Reviews Back to all Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Great place to work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Luis Obispo, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Luis Obispo, CA

    I have been working at MINDBODY

    Pros

    MINDBODY is a great place to work. It is awesome to work every day with clients to help them realize their dreams. MINDBODY's core values are not lip service. They are truly followed by everyone. Leadership genuinely cares about the employees. Beautiful location in San Luis Obispo, CA. Great benefits.

    Cons

    The usual pains associated with a fast growing company. Efforts in place to develop better systems to make sure everyone is in the know.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    MINDBODY Response

    Feb 20, 2015Recruiting Coordinator

    Thank you for this review! Your cons are right on and thanks for the constructive feedback. There are many initiatives going on right now to directly address what is needed when a company such as ... More

  2.  

    Facilities. We are the backbone of the company. We make sure things are running smoothly.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Facilities in San Luis Obispo, CA
    Current Employee - Facilities in San Luis Obispo, CA

    I have been working at MINDBODY

    Pros

    Great coworkers, a chance to build skills, opportunity to advance.

    Cons

    None yet. The only thing I can think of is starting at minimum wage.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Possible start at a higher wage as it is a tough job involving physical labor.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    MINDBODY Response

    Feb 11, 2015Recruiting Coordinator

    Facilities! We appreciate all your hard work! You guys keep things in line and this building stocked! Huge thank you for what you do and hope all of you keep growing with this company.

  3.  

    I love it! Friendly people, great atmosphere, good pay

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at MINDBODY

    Pros

    Good benefits
    Opportunities to move up

    Cons

    Competitive, but nothing to crazy
    A little out of the way (wish was more central to San Luis)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    MINDBODY Response

    Feb 11, 2015Recruiting Coordinator

    Thanks for the review! I have to say I'm not sure what you mean by more central to San Luis, maybe you mean downtown? We are a whole 2.5 miles from there :)

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 1 person found this helpful  

    Awesome company that actually stays true to its culture and core values

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Product Development
    Current Employee - Product Development

    I have been working at MINDBODY full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    i've been with the company now for just about 5 years, now work in Product Development, and it's been really awesome to watch the company grow. i've watched the company hire so many new people and teams double and triple in size, yet the company has been able to maintain its culture. It's awesome to see the CEO around the office and he not only knows many of the employees by name, but is friendly and approachable every time you see him. The company truly cares about its employees and treats us very well. The benefits are amazing and many, if not most decisions are run by employees before being made. Each department has their own nuances, but Prod Dev is truly an awesome place to come to work every day.

    Cons

    As we grow there are definitely more procedures and policies being put in place that feel a bit bureaucratic. Also many large decisions are made without a whole lot of planning or forethought, or research, so often times employees complain about MINDBODY always shooting from the hip.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Really try to communicate the 'whys' behind large or quick decisions made- and be sure it trickles down to each and every employee.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    MINDBODY Response

    Feb 11, 2015Recruiting Coordinator

    This is great feedback for us, and we can tell you've put some genuine thought into what could make this a better place. We love that you shared this on Glassdoor with us. Some policies and ... More

  6.  

    Great job for young person in transition

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Implementation Coach in San Luis Obispo, CA
    Current Employee - Implementation Coach in San Luis Obispo, CA

    I have been working at MINDBODY

    Pros

    Flexible. Healthy environment. Mindbody bucks to use at local businesses that use mindbody, so I can have gym membership nearly for free! Met a lot of great people and good resume builder.

    Cons

    The pay is not nearly as high as competing tech companies.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Pay increases please!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    MINDBODY Response

    Feb 11, 2015Recruiting Coordinator

    We definitely hear you! Thank you for this review. Our starting wages are competitive with companies in our area and on top of that, you get your gym membership for free! Not to mention great ... More

  7.  

    Great Working Environment

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Business Development Specialist in San Luis Obispo, CA
    Current Employee - Business Development Specialist in San Luis Obispo, CA

    I have been working at MINDBODY full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    Great people and managers. The benefits are top notch and lots of paid time off

    Cons

    Some Departments are harder to grow in

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Continually help refine skills and encourage growth

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    MINDBODY Response

    Feb 20, 2015Recruiting Coordinator

    Thank you for your review! You're right that department sizes vary. There might not be as many immediate opportunities in Business Development than there are in Sales or Product Development at the ... More

  8. 1 person found this helpful  

    The values of this company are unparallelled in Corporate America; revolving around total wellness for all.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Technical Support in San Luis Obispo, CA
    Current Employee - Technical Support in San Luis Obispo, CA

    I have been working at MINDBODY full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    Atmosphere, hands down. I've never worked in a place that is so continually positive, encouraging, and motivating. My coworkers, and superiors all seem to have the same goal in mind, and we are all working together to achieve it.

    Cons

    The incentive program is very deceiving. When I started, I was led to believe that my performance would be rewarded, and that there will always be room for growth. While I'm sure that is still true in theory, the reality is much different. Since I've started, I've earned multiple certifications, been part of numerous task forces to analyze our product and its impact on the market, and joined a pipeline. The pipeline program alone has me doing several of the tasks of a supervisor including mentoring new hires, and handling escalated clients. I've accomplished so much in my first year here, and my reward has totaled just over 40 cents.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Cut costs somewhere else. I know for a fact that pay increases at one point were substantial. Now, I almost feel insulted. When a superior tells me that an increase is based on performance, then gives me an outstanding review, then tells me I'm not even earning a half dollar more than when I started, I am offended. I understand not encouraging employees to excel with money, but I also have a family that depends on me. An amazing culture can only go so far, before I start looking at other jobs in the industry that pay a substantial amount more, in order to provide for my family

    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    MINDBODY Response

    Feb 16, 2015Vice President, Customer Service

    Thank you so much for your feedback. We appreciate the honesty and the opportunity to respond to concerns and provide recommendations to improve your outlook.

    MINDBODY has grown substantially
    ... More

  9. 1 person found this helpful  

    Core Values embody the environment

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Software Sales Specialist in San Luis Obispo, CA
    Current Employee - Software Sales Specialist in San Luis Obispo, CA

    I have been working at MINDBODY full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    The best reason to work here is the environment you feel when you come in every morning. Everyone is friendly and wants to help you succeed. If you have questions, you can find someone who knows the answers very easily. I also love the core values or the company and how the everyone including the CEO embodies them and wants the best for their clients.

    Cons

    It's hard to say anything bad about this company, but if I had to choose something, I would say the quick turnover, at least in my department. They expect a lot out of you, but it's completely manageable. If you stay on top of your tasks, you can do well at this company.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    More training on certain aspects of the software is the only thing I can think of.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    MINDBODY Response

    Jan 12, 2015Recruiting Coordinator

    Thanks for your review! The good news is that training in Sales is going through an overhaul so you can expect to see some great things from our Learning and Development team! Keep up the great work ... More

  10.  

    I <3 MINDBODY

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Luis Obispo, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Luis Obispo, CA

    I have been working at MINDBODY full-time

    Pros

    Awesome coworkers, great PTO and benefits plan, competitive salary, regular parties, wellness practitioners on site, and a solid company culture based around a set of core values. Opportunities are abundant with a 'promote from within' culture. The CEO, Rick, is down to earth and approachable. The office design is modern and comfortable (if a little noisy). Overall, MINDBODY is a wonderful place to work.

    Cons

    As we've grown larger, company policies have been tightening taking some of the magic away.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    MINDBODY Response

    Jan 12, 2015Recruiting Coordinator

    Great review. There's a common thread in the comments about keeping the culture alive as we grow and that advice is spot on. In the near future I don't see all the perks dissapearing: the company ... More

  11.  

    As Advertised!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Implementation Coach in Southampton, NY
    Current Employee - Implementation Coach in Southampton, NY

    I have been working at MINDBODY full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    Awesome work culture, supportive and positive co-workers, benefits and wellness perks! MB is headed in the right direction with work culture and work/life balance. Yoga balls, beer and laughter here.

    Cons

    Would love to stay around with Mindbody as an employee longer, however most room for growth is located in San Luis Obispo. The starting pay is good for entry level openings, but with the cost of living where offices are located could be even better, these may be factors in high turnover/loss of talent seen.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    As the company grows continue to seek promoting/hiring great leaders, not managers. Hire for potential and not always experience. :)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

Work at MINDBODY? Share Your Experiences

MINDBODY

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.