Market Leader

  www.marketleader.com
  www.marketleader.com

Market Leader Reviews

Updated August 20, 2014
Updated August 20, 2014
53 Reviews
3.2
53 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Market Leader President Ian Morris
Ian Morris
38 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Great people, great energy and amazing products to help real estate agents (in 4 reviews)

  • Great benefits and generous time off (in 5 reviews)


Cons
  • Cold Calling real estate agents (in 4 reviews)

  • High turnover - if you don't love cold calling (and you're calling real estate agents, people who receive cold calls all day long) you won't make it (in 4 reviews)

More Highlights

36 Employee Reviews Back to all reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Sales

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Bellevue, WA
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Bellevue, WA

    I have been working at Market Leader full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    Very chill environment, great employees and pretty good pay for a sales job. lots of cash bonus's and great company events.

    Cons

    a lot of cold calling and not enough marketing, company is growing but still uses a lot of old systems to do things that make is very time consuming

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Balance work-life and must have lot of energy

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
  2.  

    You get what you put into it...

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Market Leader full-time

    Pros

    The new, combined (w/ Trulia) management team is very strong and analytics driven. Know your KPIs and drive hard toward them and you'll do great.

    Cons

    No real cons although you need to go in with eyes wide open. No matter what attempts are made to boost morale (beer, free food, etc.) or make the org "friendly," the organization is a machine. You need to hit your numbers and/or dates consistently... period.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  3. 1 person found this helpful  

    Fun, fast-paced environment - awesome product!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bellevue, WA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bellevue, WA

    I have been working at Market Leader full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    The product is amazing and really helps real estate agents succeed. Well-defined sales process, plentiful leads, coworkers that really care. Hands-on management style. Growing like crazy - opportunities for advancement and career growth. Many long-term employees (8+ years). New office in Bellevue is beautiful, spacious & close to transit. Company paid insurance, time off, ORCA card, passport card.

    Cons

    Not too many cons except that inside sales is challenging and quotas are monthly. Must enjoy cold calling.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Market Leader Response

    Jun 2, 2014Sr. Manager, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you so much for your feedback. As an experienced sales professional, your experience and advice to new hires is the most accurate testimonial. Please let us know how we can continue to improve ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 7 people found this helpful  

    Racist, sexist, old boys club

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Account Executive in Bellevue, WA
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Account Executive in Bellevue, WA

    I have been working at Market Leader full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Lots of fairly good sales training. Great benefits.

    Cons

    Expected to work for free and perform additional training activities off the clock. 99% white male sales force. Extremely dysfunctional management style. Dishonest sales techniques encouraged and supported.
    The product itself is sub-par, over-priced and quite non-competitive. Unprofessional sales force.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Be aware of your vulnerability for a class action lawsuit based on race and sex discrimination as well as sexual harassment by management.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
  6. 1 person found this helpful  

    Great employees that are fun to work with!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bellevue, WA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bellevue, WA

    I have been working at Market Leader full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    The people are very energetic and fun. The culture is relaxed yet everyone works very hard. The office is great as well. It's nice to see a company that invests in the employees. I have seen many people be promoted from within here, and I've only worked here for four months.

    Cons

    There aren't many cons here. One could be working with a company that sells products in the real estate industry because the industry can go up and down. The company has put many things in place though to ensure that market dips won't affect employees.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Market Leader Response

    May 23, 2014Sr. Manager, Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate your feedback. Please let us know how we can continue improving.

  7. 2 people found this helpful  

    AMAZING COMPANY!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Bellevue, WA
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Bellevue, WA

    I have been working at Market Leader full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    The values here are REAL - not merely a list on a wall. An exceptionally team-focused environment. Everyone has a voice. The interview process and onboarding was the best I've ever experienced. This company understands how critical branding is, and I would have been a Market Leader fan for life based purely on my interview/recruiting experience, whether or not I was selected for the role. Exceptional benefits - truly a Cadillac plan, unheard of in today's marketplace.

    Cons

    Parking is tight, but the company has arranged a solid alternative parking lot, plus Orca cards for employees. And the Bellevue Transit Center is very close.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Market Leader Response

    May 7, 2014Sr. Manager, Talent Acquisition

    Welcome aboard! We're thrilled to have you on the team.

  8. 3 people found this helpful  

    Awesome

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Market Leader

    Pros

    Its Good product and awesome employees!

    Cons

    The only thing I would like to see is a slight change in the compensation plan

    Market Leader Response

    May 7, 2014Sr. Manager, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you so much for your feedback. Please get with me or anyone on the HR team to discuss your recommendations for your compensation plan. We'd love to hear your thoughts.

  9. 2 people found this helpful  

    Good mid-level sales opportunity

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Account Executive
    Current Employee - Account Executive

    I have been working at Market Leader full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    Rapid growth, opportunity to succeed, friendly people, fun atmosphere
    great benefits

    Cons

    telephone sales are challenging, ramp period is difficult

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Focus strategies while in growth mode

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Market Leader Response

    May 7, 2014Sr. Manager, Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for letting us know your concerns. Please let me or anyone on the HR team know what we can do to help new sales folks feel more successful during the learning process. We'd love to hear your ... More

  10. 7 people found this helpful  

    Seriously outdated product, bad management

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Developer in Bellevue, WA
    Current Employee - Developer in Bellevue, WA

    I have been working at Market Leader full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    Salary is good for developers, work load is reasonable, office space is brand new, free soda for employees.

    Cons

    Product is very outdated and ridiculously complicated, but no one seems to care about fixing it. The other employees in my group (engineering) seem like they're all satisfied with doing the bare minimum to get by and receive a paycheck. No one seems motivated to improve themselves or the product they're working on. Each time I've made suggestions of how things could be improved, the response is "We know we need to do that, but we just don't have time" or "Yeah, good luck with that".

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Take some freaking pride in your product and fix this junk. Don't you realize that your target audience (real estate agents) is a bunch of frantically busy people who A) don't have hardly any free time and B) are not tech-savvy. This product should make their lives easier, not introduce a huge set of systems and options that they have no idea how to use. This product is in serious need of a complete overhaul to simplify a product that has become a frankenstein of power-user features and make it something that the average real estate agent can pick up and begin using without any special training.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Market Leader Response

    May 7, 2014Sr. Manager, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. Please get with me at your earliest opportunity. I welcome your thoughts on how to remedy what you've outlined. Christy

  11. 2 people found this helpful  

    Great product

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Account Executive (Inside Sales) in Bellevue, WA
    Current Employee - Account Executive (Inside Sales) in Bellevue, WA

    I have been working at Market Leader full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Nice people, free drinks, fun committee

    Cons

    Not enough opportunity for sales people

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Market Leader Response

    May 7, 2014Sr. Manager, Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate your time in reviewing our company. Please get with me or anyone in HR or the sales leadership with your recommendations for growth opportunities. We'd love to hear from you.

Work at Market Leader? Share Your Experiences

Market Leader

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.