MasterCard

  www.mastercard.com
  www.mastercard.com
Work in HR? Unlock Free Profile

MasterCard Reviews

Updated September 2, 2014
Updated September 2, 2014
281 Reviews
3.8
281 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
MasterCard President and CEO Ajay Banga
Ajay Banga
185 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • The company also has a great culture and most of its employees try to have a good work-life balance (in 39 reviews)

  • Good benefits, good pay, good global exposure but still very beaurocratic and "meeting heavy" (in 19 reviews)


Cons
  • Forget about work life balance that they preach on paper but do not put in practice (in 9 reviews)

  • There is a barrier with middle management - the top is visible and engaged but info stops in the middle (in 9 reviews)

More Highlights

178 Employee Reviews Back to all reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Smart, Talented Individuals - Company progressing very well

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Leader  in  O'Fallon, MO
    Current Employee - Leader in O'Fallon, MO

    I have been working at MasterCard full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent pay, benefits, vacation, 401k, holidays. If working for the right manager, life is very good. Much room for advancement, coaching and education are encouraged.

    Cons

    Some high-level management have no business "managing" people. Complaints are put back on the lower-level management, who end up stuck in the middle with no alternative but to move to another position. If you are friends with one of these high-level managers, you're in - if not, better looki for another position. On the other side of the house, there aren't many promotions in current positions (even as you grow) unless you apply to a higher level.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    HR should listen to their employees, not simply nod and say "I understand." That does not produce results. When People Effectiveness Survey results are published to management and HR 1. Commend those with high results and 2. Deal withi those who have low results. Don't ignore them.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    MasterCard Response

    Sep 8, 2014VP, Employer Brand Marketing

    Thank you for your candid remarks. We take reviews and our employee surveys seriously to garner insight for continuous improvement!

  2.  

    Great company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Account Executive  in  Del Rio, TX
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Del Rio, TX

    I have been working at MasterCard full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay is good compared to others

    Cons

    Being mean to people most of the time

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Relax

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  3.  

    Great Company- no wonder people dont ever leave!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Business Leader
    Current Employee - Business Leader

    I have been working at MasterCard full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing collaboration with top minds in payments industry. Sense of innovation is prevelant in the Mastercard of today, staying ahead of the curve, hiring experts in emerging payments areas, digital payments, alternative currencies etc. Lots of great product innovation happening in digital space, that i was not aware of until I started. Havent met a nasty person yet. Everyone is very team focused, havent yet encountered the heavy internal politics that is so common in big corporations. Very impressed with the talent and not just the fact that there are lots of great, highly skilled minds here but that they totally are not afraid to admit when they dont know something and they graciously accept new info from a new person without feeling threatened. Shocking.

    Cons

    There is a slight lacking in direction for new people, ie a sense of 'just jump in wherever you can' which makes you feel sort of under utilized until you get deep into multipl;e projects which just takes a while to happen, but I also appreciate that there isnt a big pressure cooker to have your hands into everything right out of the gate like you get in some smaller co's and start ups. You just kind of gravitate to where your skills are and no one breathes down your neck.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Possibly for the first couple of months it would be helpful to have specific to-do's/fillers assigned while you ramp up in your new role, like give an internal presentation on your areas of expertise from the outside world etc.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    MasterCard Response

    Aug 21, 2014VP, Employer Brand Marketing

    We appreciate your comprehensive and candid review - thanks!

  4. We want your feedback – Are these company reviews helpful to you?  Yes | No
  5.  

    Great company to work for

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Business Leader
    Current Employee - Senior Business Leader

    I have been working at MasterCard full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Compensation very competitive, solid management team, loads of career opportunity, company truly cares about its employees

    Cons

    A great deal of lateral opportunity, but can be challenging to find upward opportunity especially at senior management level, at times management is not as transparent as they should be

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Become slightly less risk averse, beat Visa to the punch, continue to focus on emerging payment opportunities

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    MasterCard Response

    Aug 18, 2014VP, Employer Brand Marketing

    Thanks for your thoughts - an open, transparent culture is a winning one!

  6.  

    wonderful experience

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at MasterCard full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    So far my thoughts about Mastercard are very positive. The people and the environment is very friendly. The employees really are commited to the organiztion and management sees it. I can say that I am proud to be a part of this company and look forward to seeing the future here. I would for sure tell friends and family that this is a great place to work.

    Cons

    there are no cons that I have seen

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    MasterCard Response

    Aug 19, 2014VP, Employer Brand Marketing

    So glad that your early experience is so positive! Thanks for sharing....

  7.  

    Evolving into a technology company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Business Leader  in  San Carlos, CA
    Current Employee - Business Leader in San Carlos, CA

    I have been working at MasterCard full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Senior leadership has a great vision for the future of the company and employees have bought in. Strong growth and profitability has allowed for acquisitions to keep pace with the change and innovation. Great benefits, profit sharing and health plan. Great internal communications and resources available to team members. A company with a social conscience.

    Cons

    One challenge is the highly regulated industry environment which inhibits rapid development and change. Can be bureaucratic and sluggish to move.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Communicate clear ownership and install processes to accelerate implementation of new strategic initiatives.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    MasterCard Response

    Aug 18, 2014VP, Employer Brand Marketing

    Your sentiment regarding being socially conscious is what brings great pride; as we say Doing Well by Doing Good! thanks for your review

  8.  

    Admirable Culture

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Consultant  in  Saint Louis, MO
    Current Employee - Consultant in Saint Louis, MO

    I have been working at MasterCard full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The companies culture is extremely impressive. I have worked as a contractor for a little over a year and recently became an employee and couldnt be happier. I worked for another company based in St. Louis for 5 years and they are night/day with MasterCard. There is lots of employee appreciation and a also a committement to employee growth.

    Cons

    Any time you are working in IT there will be lots of challenges with the work which can be stressful at times. The only thing is it is very hard to come into this company as an employee without knowing someone first.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    MasterCard Response

    Aug 6, 2014VP, Employer Brand Marketing

    Culture is a key driver when people consider working for any Brand - thanks for your thoughts!

  9.  

    Great place to work - glad I made the leap!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Leader  in  Purchase, NY
    Current Employee - Leader in Purchase, NY

    I have been working at MasterCard full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    In addition to their solid place in the market, growing revenues and encouraging future, MasterCard treats their employees well, communicates effectively and provides empowerment to employees at all levels.

    Cons

    Like any large organization, politics can trump basic common sense with decision making. Also, titles for positions are ambiguous which causes some confusion.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    While a matrix organization is a great collaborative tool, too many dotted lines or an unclear organizational structure leaves challenges.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    MasterCard Response

    Aug 6, 2014VP, Employer Brand Marketing

    We value your response - thanks so much !

  10.  

    Outstanding culture that drives maximizing employee capabilities

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at MasterCard full-time

    Pros

    Supportive and progressive culture that drives employees to maximize their capabilities and contributions. Less of the political culture found in other organizations which lends itself better to success. There is a reason it is viewed as one of the best places to work.

    Cons

    There is a pace that can be heightened as far as delivery of solutions, but a solution is provided. Can increase the cross communication between business and an ease of corporate navigation can be improved.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    MasterCard Response

    Jul 24, 2014VP, Employer Brand Marketing

    Thanks so much for your review - investing in our employees is a critical focus area...

  11.  

    Uncomfortable and hostile at the lower to middle management level.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at MasterCard full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hiring new and younger employees while maintaining existing generations which provides a broad spectrum of existing experience and new ideas. Benefits are still reasonable and there is a matching 401k which starts vesting in the first year. Senior management is absolutely moving in the right direction.

    Cons

    Old school hostility still exists in pockets. Attempts are being made to clean up unacceptable behavior but it's like moving a battleship.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Train your management team and have HR proactively involved. When your overall management score is ranked below a 6 on a scale of 1 - 10 specific intervention would be useful.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

Worked for MasterCard? Contribute to the Community!

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.