Mattress Firm

  www.mattressfirm.com
  www.mattressfirm.com

Mattress Firm Reviews

Updated October 26, 2014
Updated October 26, 2014
377 Reviews
3.6
377 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Mattress Firm CEO Steve Stagner
Steve Stagner
266 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • You can make good money if you are good at your job and in a good store (in 17 reviews)

  • Mattress Firm has a great training process that really makes you a Sleep Expert (in 24 reviews)


Cons
  • It can be difficult to find a work-life balance during the busy summer seasons (in 53 reviews)

  • Work/Life Balance is a challenge with long hours; average shift is 10-11 hours (in 80 reviews)

More Highlights

64 Employee Reviews Back to all reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. 7 people found this helpful  

    Mattress Firm Cult

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX

    I have been working at Mattress Firm full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    If you are good at selling beds you can make decent money. If you like not being able to take a lunch break and being stuck in a store for 10 plus hours this is a great company to work for.

    Cons

    The mattress industry is cutthroat and Mattress Firm is no different. The upper management is poor in leadership. They need to incorporate this article by Anne Fisher, contributor to CNNMoney "To keep employees loyal, try asking what they want” in their DMIT program. Asking this simple question might help your retention which is very high. But that would require Mattress Firm to actually be concerned with the employees. You hear a lot of upper management refer to this company as having a "family culture". Do not get sucked into that lie, unless you are in the inner circle via friend, family member, dating upper management or spouse.

    Mattress Firm is a public company so you can research how many executives are married or related.

    Corporate employees and the field are completely divided. Employees that work at corporate look down on the sales staff.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Stop having the recruiting department and area managers write positive reviews to give Mattress Firm a higher approval rating than it actually has.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Mattress Firm Response

    Dec 3, 2014Vice President Talent Management

    I appreciate your review and your feedback. You are seemingly very frustrated with the company. I'd be happy to visit with you confidentially at 713.651.2029. As far as the reviews go, all reviews ... More

  2. 3 people found this helpful  

    A company that doesn't care about individuals

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Mattress Firm full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    The overall hours worked are not taxing. It is an easy type of work.

    Cons

    Very difficult to get a pay raise if you are in a smaller market area. The company doesn't care much about the smaller markets and its people. The corporate to local communication is terrible. I have been with them going on two years and now have my fourth regional boss. I only met one of them. Each new one changes reports and makes up new ones so they can look good and move on.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Grow up!

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Mattress Firm Response

    Dec 3, 2014Vice President Talent Management

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review with your concerns. I will make sure to pass the feedback along.

  3. 6 people found this helpful  

    This sales job leaves a lot to be desired

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - MOD
    Current Employee - MOD

    I have been working at Mattress Firm full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    1. You have a job. 2. If you enjoy selling mattresses, its fun helping people. 3. Training is decent. 4. You will make friends.

    Cons

    The long hours are brutal. Many days during the month are 13 hour work days. It can be very lonely in the store with few or no customers several days of the week. In my case, pay is ridiculously low for the hours worked. Depending on customer traffic, one location can be vastly different than another, and so will your paycheck....company employees earnings are made up of the "haves" and "have nots". Turnover is extraordinary. No life balance. The company is your life, and that's what they want.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Be careful of over promising and under delivering earnings to potential employees. Don't be deceptive when trying to "sell" us to come work for you. Be honest about the working hour commitment you require.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Mattress Firm Response

    Oct 21, 2014Vice President Talent Management

    We appreciate your review and, of course are disappointed you are not having a good experience. We certainly appreciate the feedback and do our best to be straightforward in discussing our hours ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 4 people found this helpful  

    Long hours, not worth the pay

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Mattress Firm full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    It is a simple job with a lot of downtime. A lot of the people are very fun and nice. With a good district manager, upward mobility might be easier.

    Cons

    There are very long hours that extend during the holidays to sometimes 40 hour weekends (Fri-Sun) and depending on the traffic in your district can mean no extra money for that time. A lot of the hours you work alone, which in my opinion is not great for morale. No weekends off.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Consider a more flexible scheduling policy and adjust commission structure based on the traffic in the district.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Mattress Firm Response

    Oct 21, 2014Vice President Talent Management

    We appreciate your feedback. We're working on solutions for more flexible scheduling. Thanks again and hope all is well in your world!

  6. 6 people found this helpful  

    You'll be fine if you like Kool-Aid

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Knoxville, TN
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Knoxville, TN

    I have been working at Mattress Firm full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Decent pay for the amount of work you do, great for self-motivators, most peers are interested in helping you if they can, good beginners sales training

    Cons

    Nepotism, Long hours, no work-life balance, boring for long stretches of time, associates get very little feedback from management, team work not taken into account, management only cares about numbers

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Actually care about your employees, instead of just pretending to do so

    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    Mattress Firm Response

    Oct 21, 2014Vice President Talent Management

    Thank you for your feedback-- sorry it seems the cons outweigh the pros here for you. Please reach out to me if you have any additional feedback- 713.651.2029

  7.  

    My overall experience was great and I made a lot of money but long hours and mandatory holidays got old

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - AREA SALES MANAGER in Dallas, TX
    Former Employee - AREA SALES MANAGER in Dallas, TX

    I worked at Mattress Firm full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great leadership in most markets and regions and districts. A great place to make money if your are a good sales person.

    Cons

    They only promote within the cliques that lie within the clouded culture that they profess to live by. When you make too much money they find a way to get rid of you.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Regional managers are ducks and a waist of a company title time and money. Please get help.

    Approves of CEO

    Mattress Firm Response

    Oct 21, 2014Vice President Talent Management

    Thanks for taking time to leave a review.

  8.  

    OK

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Mattress Firm Manager
    Current Employee - Mattress Firm Manager

    I have been working at Mattress Firm full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Extremely easy job. Laid back atmosphere, and does have room for growth within company.

    Cons

    No work/life balance. Cannot have weekends off and work over 50+ hours a week for 10 dollars a hour.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Give promotions and increase salaries/commissions. Truly value employees and make work/life balance important and a focus.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Mattress Firm Response

    Oct 21, 2014Vice President Talent Management

    Thank you for taking time to leave a review. We certainly encourage you to take time off, which can include an occasional weekend. If you are under the impression that is not the case, please reach ... More

  9. 2 people found this helpful  

    No work life balance at all! Managers ask us to NOT give sale price to people all the time.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Mattress Firm full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Plenty of time to your self. Other employees are generally pretty close because we are all in the same rough situation.

    Cons

    At least two days week you are alone and no break time no lunch, just ten plus hours of you trying to meet budgets that they just throw darts at to get. Sometimes way too high and sometimes far too low. Seems like very poor upper management not knowing how to trend a budget.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Go to salary pay scale, loose the commission, lower prices by 20% and truly be the low price leader. Give all employs a rotating schedule that gets everyone a weekend a month and maybe one addition Sunday. Use trends to set budgets so that it is fair to all stores and all employees and it makes sense!

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  10. 1 person found this helpful  

    One word, "Meh."

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Mattress Firm full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    If you enjoy working retail hours and do not care where you move or how much you drive, the opportunity exists to make a decent living.
    The benefits, insurance, 401k, is actually above average for similar jobs.

    Cons

    Corporate office not in touch with the field enough. Policies and enforcement is too regionalized. As in most cases one's ability to grow is based on their attitude and willingness to learn, so, there is potential here as long as you have acceptable managers.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Less nepotism would be excellent.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Mattress Firm Response

    Sep 22, 2014Vice President Talent Management

    I appreciate you taking time to leave a review. Glad you found the benefits a plus. Sorry to hear you don't feel the corporate office is in touch with the field-- I certainly appreciate that feedback ... More

  11. 10 people found this helpful  

    Great if you like others thinking for you!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Store Manager
    Current Employee - Store Manager

    I have been working at Mattress Firm full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    The only good things that I can say about this company is that some of the people I work with, my peers, have become some really great friends. Secondly, some months you can really make a decent amount of money.

    Cons

    It's all lies! I was lied to from day one. My offer letter said, salary PLUS commissions. It is truly commission minus "salary". This draw system was an ingenious ploy by the wizards that work in the payroll department, or accounting. They have found every way possible NOT to pay us what we're worth. You sit in a store 10+ hours a day with no real lunch break (CAN'T BE LEGAL), hoping for someone to come in because the advertising is so basic. No one cares about Replace Every 8...they want to know how they can save money! Upper management clearly made their way to the top by being "Yes" people and do not know how to run a business. There is no quality of life. Mattress Firm becomes your life, and it's not a very good one if you have family that you care about. You work all day during holidays that typically are spent spending time with your family. The titles of Assistant, Store, and Area managers are just that, titles. They give you no autonomy, you can't make any decisions on how to run your store and what works. These people making the decisions seem to live life in theory. No one comes to survey the stores to see what will fit and what won't, to check demographics, etc. All decisions are made in some office so disconnected from reality. I could go on and on but what would be the point?

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Read the cons and try to fix it. You all don't seem to care about employee retention and keeping the people that are in the stores slaving for you, happy. Quit promoting people based off sales because that does not mean they know how to run a company/business. You give your employees surveys on Work/Life Balance but didn't do anything to rectify the problem. Split shifts would be nice, you know, where your people are only working 8 hours a day!! This company is not heading in a positive direction...

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Mattress Firm Response

    Aug 19, 2014Vice President Talent Management

    It's disappointing to hear you haven't had a good experience at Mattress Firm. Our intention is most definitely not to lie to you or not to pay you "what you are worth". We take claims like this very ... More

Work at Mattress Firm? Share Your Experiences

Mattress Firm

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.