Mattress Firm Reviews

Updated March 23, 2015
74 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
2.0
74 Reviews
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Mattress Firm CEO Steve Stagner
Steve Stagner
300 Ratings

74 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. 1 person found this helpful

    Wish there xould have been more.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Area Manager
    Former Employee - Area Manager

    I worked at Mattress Firm full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    There are opporunties to make good money. Most of the people i worked with were hehelpful and motivating.

    Cons

    I was constantly moved from store to store as a manager. Once i got a store performing better they moved me to a stpre that was struggling. Also, I origianlly advanced very quickly. All the way to an area manager position. And for a while it seems things were going well there. Then suddenly it died. It seemed that for some reason, upper management gave up on me. I was doing everything they asked, and was even told i was passed over for a promotion because i didn't have any training with a computer system that you don't have access to at my level or lower. I couldnt get the experience until i was promoted, but couldnt get promoted until i had the experience.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    For 4 years mattress firm was going to be my career. I didn't consider other opportunities even when they were offered outside of the company. Then mattress firm gave up on me. Don't abuse or take advantage of people with a positive outlook, and who give you there all. Eventually, like me, they will find someone who is willing to give them a better opportunity, thanks to the skills and training you gave them, but you never utilized.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Mattress Firm Response

    Mar 30, 2015Vice President Talent Management

    Thanks for taking time to leave a review and thanks for your 5+ years of service to MFRM. It's obviously disheartening to hear your experience didn't end up how you anticipated it. If you want to ... More

  2. Mattress Firm Corporate is the best. Being a Mattress Firm salesman is the worst.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Houston, TX

    I worked at Mattress Firm

    Pros

    Descent money, Good insurance and other benefits. You can initially move up fast in the company with good sales performance.

    Cons

    Work-life balance is atrocious. I once requested off for a family court date and was not granted the time off. I requested the time off over 2 months in advance. I was then told it was my responsibility to get my shift covered even though I was told 2 months prior that "family comes first at Mattress Firm." Also, my wife has forbidden me from ever working there again. They are also notorious for taking away days off for absurd training. They amp you up and tell you you're going to learn something new, but it's always the same exact meeting. There's no need for these corporate guys with their guaranteed 2 days (an actual weekend too) off a week to be forcing an employee to give up one of their days off in order to tell me the same thing they've been telling me since my initial training.
    If you're married and have kids be prepared to never see them again around the Holidays. Mattress Firm also forces mandatory 6 day work weeks and extended hours for the following holidays: All Of Them. Once your store starts doing well they will skyrocket your sales goals then all-of-a-sudden your not making any more bonus money and your told your performance is weak, in relation to your store's goals. If this is such an amazing place to work then why are you always short staffed and unable to keep employees around longer?

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Stop making your employees give up their days off and free time for asinine meetings and Holidays. Every year you would tell us that Columbus Day, Veteran's Day, President's Day, etc.. would be very busy weeks for us. Thus the mandatory 6 day work week with extended hours on top of that. Every single year it would end up being kind of sort of busier than normal. Not enough to make it financially worth missing all of your family time that week. No consistency in policy enforcement. Do not have your VP of Sales send out a video saying "Get ready to

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Mattress Firm Response

    Mar 30, 2015Vice President Talent Management

    It's disheartening to read about your experience and your obvious frustration with your experience. If you want to discuss any of this further, please reach out to me at 713.651.2029.

  3. 2 people found this helpful

    If the company cared more it would be great.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Mattress Firm Store Manager in Cincinnati, OH
    Current Employee - Mattress Firm Store Manager in Cincinnati, OH

    I have been working at Mattress Firm full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    You are not micro managed and are allowed to bring your personal spin on sales.

    Cons

    The hours are unforgiving, the health insurance is expensive on both ends and HR is like an urban legend.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    HR should be accessible. It's been over 2 months since I contacted them by phone and email and still havem't gotten a reply. (I feel a lawsuit coming on)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Mattress Firm Response

    Mar 30, 2015Vice President Talent Management

    Thank you for your review and I'm sorry you have been having trouble getting in touch with HR. Please give me a call at 713.651.2029 and I will get you connected.

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 1 person found this helpful

    This company has over expanded and is now competing with itself.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Jacksonville, FL
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Jacksonville, FL

    I have been working at Mattress Firm full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Everybody needs a bed. But their isn't much competition since they've bought out most major bedding retailers. The benefits are great and they are a pro-active give back to the community company.

    Cons

    Goals are hard to reach. Turnover is too frequent and the average workday is 10.5 hours with little time for family or social life.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Many people in upper management started at store level and have forgotten that it is the people in sales at store level that keep the company afloat.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Mattress Firm Response

    Mar 30, 2015Vice President Talent Management

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review!

  6. Great for a beginner college grad.

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Mattress Firm

    Pros

    Culture, growth, leadership roles, friendship, helpful

    Cons

    Horrible hours, work to life sucks, pay, time off policies, benefits.

  7. 1 person found this helpful

    Rampant Incompetence

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Milwaukee, WI
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Milwaukee, WI

    I worked at Mattress Firm full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    There is a great deal of training when you start, probably is their strongest trait. There is a great deal of down time.
    Benefits are good. For the most part you are left to do your job without someone watching over your shoulder.

    Cons

    The computer/POS system is a complete mess, bugged to the point of being borderline unusable. Often sales cannot be made, shipped, or invoiced due to problems. Their IT department is ridiculously small for the size of the company and its very common to be put on hold for hours to resolve a single issue.

    Depending on who you have as immediate management the job can be excellent. However, if you get someone who is a recent promotion then there can be a lot of problems. Schedules being released late and incorrect. There were days when there was no one scheduled to work at a store and it would just remain closed. Also if there is any kind of problem it can be very difficult to get a hold of someone to rectify a situation. Often the only way is letting off an email and playing the waiting game.

    Compensation is good but stagnant. You pretty well have to make it into upper management to get any real raise. Bonuses can be large but are dependent upon how many expensive beds you can sell. There are sales quotas that must be met to retain your job.

    You can be put into any number of stores, some of which can be rather far away and make for rather long drives. Coupled with long days leaves very little personal time. Also some stores see much more traffic and thus sales than others. There can be stretches of up to a whole week without seeing a single customer. Management places the blame of few customers upon you. They insist that you should in your free time visit other local businesses and attempt to market to them. If the store you are placed is particularly slow you may find it difficult to make bonus or meet the quota to retain your position.

    All these contribute to a very high turnover rate. They are constantly hiring and training new staff. Which may be why their training is what they are best at.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Constant growth and expansion is not a long term plan for a corporation. It will inevitably lead to a plateau and investors abandoning the company. Focus more on improving your existing structure before adding anything else to it. The tallest house of cards is still just a house of cards.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Mattress Firm Response

    Feb 5, 2015Vice President Talent Management

    While it's disheartening that you did not have a good experience with MFRM, I appreciate you taking time to leave a review. If you want to discuss anything further, please feel free to reach out to ... More

  8. 1 person found this helpful

    Be ready to work 56 hours a week with no OT or extra incentives.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Raleigh, NC
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Raleigh, NC

    I have been working at Mattress Firm

    Pros

    There is a clear path for promotions and career advancement. The hierarchy of positions in sales is really clear and you can become a district manager by putting in a lot of time and not having to get an extra degree. The benefit of working on commission are of course that you have an ALMOST unlimited earning potential. You change stores quite frequently and have the chance of working in different locations and different demographics which makes it a very fair place to work. You aren't forced to work at a small store too long and everybody, in theory, gets an opportunity to work at the larger stores.
    Overall MF does a great job of hiring a very diverse workforce which makes for a colorful work environment. I think this really adds to profitability because multiple people working in a store can appeal to different kinds of people.
    The training is very extensive but would have preferred to learn more about the actual products than just the buying process; at the end of the day, how can you sell something you know nothing about?

    Cons

    Obviously the hours. I used to wait tables and so I'm used to working long hours and weekends but you do not have any weekends off at all and if you request off, you kind of miss the best days to earn money. Working 56 hours a week with no overtime, we only make about $10 with just our draw. Of course you can make more if you sell a lot but at the end of the day, you cannot control how much traffic your store sees.
    As store managers we have an opportunity to earn a bonus but only if our store hits budget. The stores budgets are ridiculously high sometimes and I don't think the market share is split efficiently, and you really have no say or opinion.
    There is a lot of responsibilities we have for only making $10 an hour. We have to do everything from merchandising to store up keep (changing 40 light bulbs, fixing broken fixtures), local marketing, Saturday meetings, extra training, and there seems like there is no added benefit for this extra work.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Mattress Firm has some great values and great guarantees that help make us a leader in bedding but some of those great benefits need to trickle down to the people who support MF on a day to day basis, THE SALES TEAM. If you valued us more, then our productivity would increase, the turnover rate would decrease, and profitability would skyrocket. For all that we are responsible for, a "base" salary, or our draw really is not enough. $28,275 is barely enough to live off of and I feel like we have to scrap and work endlessly to get that. I honestly would not mind the hassle, and the cons, like no OT, having to work holiday's w/o holiday pay, weekly shopping the competition, local marketing, and all the extra stuff that is demanded from sales persons if we were getting a minimum of about 40k. It is a LIVABLE salary and it will make your employees feel like they are worth something, like it is a PRIVELGE to be a MF-er.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Mattress Firm Response

    Feb 2, 2015Vice President Talent Management

    Thank you very much for taking time to leave a review. While I'm glad to hear you enjoy the training and the growth opportunity, it's obviously disheartening to hear you have frustrations in other ... More

  9. 6 people found this helpful

    Mattress Firm

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Hampton, VA
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Hampton, VA

    I have been working at Mattress Firm

    Pros

    OK base pay of 2,400 a month.
    Lots of good people working for the company

    Cons

    Very long hours with not much to do
    20% make a lot while the rest suffer
    Constant Micro Management
    Company will lie to consistently
    Favoritism of the highest order
    You must be a ra ra go company guy to get anywhere

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Make the store budgets fair so that not just a few stores make money
    Provide incentives to managers of slower stores
    Stop with the pointless 2 hour early morning meetings while still having to work 12 hours at your store that day
    Simplify the hourly wage. No one knows how hourly plus overtime look A and overtime look B and commissions work
    Actually have oversight of DMs and actually talk with your people. I've worked for this company over a year and may have seen my Regional Manager once at a meeting for 2 minutes.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Mattress Firm Response

    Feb 2, 2015Vice President Talent Management

    I'm sorry to hear you aren't having such a good experience with the company. I appreciate your feedback and invite you to call me directly if you'd like to talk about any of these things further ... More

  10. Candy coated job.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Store Manager
    Current Employee - Store Manager

    I have been working at Mattress Firm full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    A lot of down time, friendly staff and leadership team, great and fun environment to work in.

    Cons

    Unfair pay / commission structure especially considering the hours we are forced to work. (10 hour days, 10-8pm.) During major holidays they make us work 6 day work weeks and extend our hours instead of shortening them so we can actually spend time with family.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Given the profit the company makes you should really pay the employees more and shorten the store hours so we can actually see our family once in a while and have quality time.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Mattress Firm Response

    Feb 2, 2015Vice President Talent Management

    Thanks for taking time to leave a review. If you want to discuss anything further, please feel free to call me at 713.651.2029

  11. 3 people found this helpful

    Good Job for a Short Time. You will have NO life.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Mattress Firm Store Manager in Tampa, FL
    Former Employee - Mattress Firm Store Manager in Tampa, FL

    I worked at Mattress Firm full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    When I first started this job I needed it and loved it. I was excited to travel for training. People working here were legitimately happy and making money.

    This is an easy stable job to keep cause they need people sitting in their stores for sure.

    Cons

    I felt the sky was the limit with this company, and in a way it was cause back then there was a lot more opportunity. After a year working with this company I began to see the writing on the wall. The next year when they bought Mattress Giant there were opportunities galore and they went... nowhere.

    What used to be a company with long hours but good/great pay and great morale has turned into a company with even longer hours with few getting paid decent and zero interest in morale. Like clockwork this all happened after the company went public.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    I know it's impossible at this point but you should try to find ways to give store managers more money and you would miraculously find morale climbing and disgruntlement at Saturday meetings declining. It really is that simple. Nobody wants to do everything possible to get $50k for you out of a nothing store, not get compensated for it, and then told to stay late on valentines day. The Value Center revamp was the last straw for myself.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Mattress Firm Response

    Jan 12, 2015Vice President Talent Management

    First off, thanks for your 3 years service to Mattress Firm. I also appreciate you taking time to leave a review and am sorry to hear you left the company with a negative impression. If you ever want ... More

Work at Mattress Firm? Share Your Experiences

Mattress Firm

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.