Mattress Firm

  www.mattressfirm.com
  www.mattressfirm.com

Mattress Firm Reviews

Updated October 13, 2014
Updated October 13, 2014
350 Reviews
3.6
350 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Mattress Firm CEO Steve Stagner
Steve Stagner
248 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Stable employement, opportunity to make good money (in 14 reviews)

  • Great training program that will definitely take you out of your comfort zone (in 24 reviews)


Cons
  • Long hours which does not provide a good work-life balance for a mother like me (in 52 reviews)

  • Work/Life Balance is a challenge with long hours; average shift is 10-11 hours (in 77 reviews)

More Highlights

94 Employee Reviews Back to all reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    ASM

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Mattress Firm full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    Great work environment and support from upper management!

    Cons

    Long hours...don't have much time outside of work 5 days out of the week

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  2. 1 person found this helpful  

    Awesome Company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Manager On Duty in Denver, CO
    Current Employee - Manager On Duty in Denver, CO

    I have been working at Mattress Firm full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    After a few bad experiences on the Denver market I applied at Mattress Firm, to be frank I was skeptical but since a friend was working there I gave it a shot.
    Long story short this company BLEW ME AWAY, the management team is great, with a few exceptions EVERYBODY has great energy, since is a company who is growing really fast the opportunities are endless. Money is great, benefits are acceptable, I brought a friend to join the company and he is as happy as me too. totally recommend it.

    Cons

    Cant find many cons because since is a company who is still adjusting from franchised to corporate things are changing fast and that some times bring some problems but they quickly fix them.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep the hard work and the great job you all are doing

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  3.  

    Great Company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Area Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
    Current Employee - Area Manager in Salt Lake City, UT

    I have been working at Mattress Firm full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Upward Mobility. Professional Compensation. Positive/Professional Work Environment.

    Cons

    Work/Life Balance. Long retail hours including weekends and holidays.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review
  5.  

    I worked at Mattress Firm

    Pros

    It seems like a company where if you work hard and are ambitious you can get what you want out of it. Everything seems pretty honest and up front and they train you well. Excited to learn more about it.

    Cons

    I've heard about a formula applied to vacation hours that may cause you to lose money, in a way. Hopefully it's more fair once I get into it.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep up the good work

  6. 3 people found this helpful  

    Very great company to work for.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Manager On Duty in Wichita, KS
    Current Employee - Manager On Duty in Wichita, KS

    I have been working at Mattress Firm full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    They have an outstanding training program, resources, and individual specialists to give you the ammo and knowledge needed to be very successful.

    Cons

    The hours can be long and tedious, but definitely manageable. I am single parent and I am able to balance work and home life very well despite of.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Our operating system can use some work on.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Mattress Firm Response

    Sep 22, 2014Vice President Talent Management

    Hello to you in Wichita!
    So glad to hear you've enjoyed the training program and other resources provided. Thanks so much for the review-- we appreciate it!

  7.  

    Store Manager

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Mattress Firm full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Absolutely loved my time at Mattress firm! such a team environment and management is always there to help and support your growth and development !

    Cons

    Long hours and mostly work holidays.

    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    Mattress Firm Response

    Sep 22, 2014Vice President Talent Management

    Thanks so much for your review and 3+ years of experience with MFRM!

  8.  

    AAAAAA MAZING

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Central, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Central, IL

    I have been working at Mattress Firm full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Mattress Firm has a Great Work Environment
    Tons Of Fun
    This is a company where Incredible Income / Promotion Opportunities exist for everyone, at any level, and every position

    Cons

    Mattress Firm has Typical Retail Hours from 10a - 8p that can be long sometimes, especially on the Weekends But everything about the schedule is known upfront so we know what we are getting in to. Well worth it for the income potential available

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep up the Great Work!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Mattress Firm Response

    Sep 22, 2014Vice President Talent Management

    I think you are AAAAA Mazing for leaving a review! Thank so much for your review and appreciate your hard work in Central Illinois!

  9. 1 person found this helpful  

    A great place to work and grow

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Charleston, SC
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Charleston, SC

    I have been working at Mattress Firm full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    The training the company provides is amazing. The environment is so positive and encouraging. The pay is great and the opportunity for advancement is wonderful. It's the most fun I've ever had at work.

    Cons

    The hours can be long and working every weekend is somewhat annoying.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    I'm very satisfied with my immediate supervisors and currently wouldn't ask them to change anything.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Mattress Firm Response

    Sep 22, 2014Vice President Talent Management

    Thanks for the review! Glad to hear this is the most fun you've had at work and are enjoying the advancement and pay opportunity. Keep rocking in Charleston!

  10.  

    Great work environment

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Jacksonville, FL
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Jacksonville, FL

    I have been working at Mattress Firm full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    -The people in the company are what make it a great place to work
    -It's financially rewarding
    -You control your own success
    -requested time off is pretty much always approved by management

    Cons

    -working all major Holidays (but flip side is that is how we get bigger pay checks)

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Continue to never be satisfied

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Mattress Firm Response

    Sep 22, 2014Vice President Talent Management

    Hello to Jacksonville! Thanks so much for taking time to leave a review-- and glad to hear you find it financially rewarding and a great place to work!

  11. 4 people found this helpful  

    Outstanding company with an AMAZING culture!!!!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - District Sales Manager in Leesburg, FL
    Current Employee - District Sales Manager in Leesburg, FL

    I have been working at Mattress Firm full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Growth opportunities as they promote heavily within. Training is amazing and continuous which is a great investment in the sales associates.

    Cons

    It's retail with retail hours, which can be a challenge for some people. It's also sales and therefore performance driven as well.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Mattress Firm Response

    Aug 19, 2014Vice President Talent Management

    Hello to you in Florida! Thanks for the review.

Work at Mattress Firm? Share Your Experiences

Mattress Firm

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.