MoneyGram International Reviews

Updated July 15, 2015
98 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Any Status
  • Current Employees
Employment Status

Reset
3.0
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
MoneyGram International Chairman & CEO Pamela H. Patsley
Pamela H. Patsley
57 Ratings

Pros
  • There is definitely a good work-life balance in the company due to the fact that people are not engaged so most of the employees are working 9 to 17 (in 6 reviews)

  • Most of my co-workers were great team players and really good people (in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • poor organization structure, lack of communication, salaries are very low, space is cramped up, benefits and add ons are poor (in 5 reviews)

  • Lack of consistent message from upper management (in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

98 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Great Place to Work!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX

    I have been working at MoneyGram International full-time (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    With just 2700 employees, this is not a huge company but it does have a massively global footprint. If you're a go-getter who thrives in a non-structured environment and can figure things out for yourself, this is a GREAT place to work. For those who need strict processes and structure, this may not be the place for you. I absolutely love it because I feel I can be part of the creation of structure and processes. It is definitely a start-up type company, but has been around a long time. They are looking for people to help them innovate. There are many great leaders who are here to help effect change and progress which makes it an exciting place to be.

    Cons

    The company is in an aggressive change mode which can be challenging at times. We are moving very fast and it can be hard to keep.

    Advice to Management

    Communication has improved - keep that up! We have great senior leaders across the globe who are striving to make the company the best it can be.

    MoneyGram International Response

    Jul 2, 2015 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    We're so happy to hear and couldn't agree more! When you join MoneyGram, you join a truly global network of financial experts and we're glad to have you as part of the team.


  2. Great Place to work

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Minneapolis, MN
    Current Employee - Analyst in Minneapolis, MN

    I have been working at MoneyGram International

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Lots of great people and willing to learn and share with each other.

    Cons

    It feels like a start up and you have to find answers yourself.


  3. Helpful (2)

    Not too big, not too small: just right

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN

    I have been working at MoneyGram International (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Medium-sized company not bogged down with excessive process/bureaucracy. Every employee has the opportunity to make a positive impact if they chose to take the initiative. Great place for people who like to build new things. Competitive compensation. Global company with opportunities to work with people all over the world.

    Cons

    As a medium-sized company, there are not always resources to provide the same level of employee support/training as larger companies. People who are not self motivated and driven to excel may not do well.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the investments in training and development. Support initiatives to help the entire organization understand customer experience.

    MoneyGram International Response

    Jul 2, 2015 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Your feedback is much appreciated. We pride ourselves on offering a competitive benefits package to our employees. Thank you for acknowledging the things we do well.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (2)

    Great Place to Work

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN

    I have been working at MoneyGram International full-time (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    I have only been working at MoneyGram International for 9 months, but it has been a very positive experience to date. There are smart, energetic and enthusiastic folks working all over the world. If you want to work in a global organization, MoneyGram is the place to be and the Information Technology organization is a great place to experience the full global spectrum.

    Cons

    MoneyGram is interesting because in some areas, it is an older company, and yet in other areas of the company, it acts and feels much more like a start-up or younger company. While not necessarily a con, it does create some interesting challenges and opportunities.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to empower your employees to do the right things, at the right times, for the right reasons.

    MoneyGram International Response

    Jul 2, 2015 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for the positive feedback. When you choose MoneyGram, you choose to work with a global family of financial experts and we're happy you're on our team!


  6. Helpful (1)

    Business struggles during potential acquisition

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal Counsel in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Legal Counsel in Dallas, TX

    I have been working at MoneyGram International full-time (More than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Exciting projects always. Prospects of being acquired by large competitor has brought tons of additional work to clean up files, claims, lawsuits,... everything,

    Cons

    Business very competitive with cheaper online services and WalMart brand services.

    Advice to Management

    Cut back the fat, close the acquisition asap so there is less market competition or antitrust claims (minimize competitive markets); connect better with customers, more aggressive campaign worldwide.

    MoneyGram International Response

    Jul 2, 2015 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    We're sorry to hear about this. We appreciate your honest feedback and look to our employees to help us create a better employee experience.


  7. Helpful (8)

    CEO and CFO must be fired!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Brooklyn Center, MN
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Brooklyn Center, MN

    I have been working at MoneyGram International (More than 8 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    CEO had turned the place into a milk cow for personal benefit.

    Cons

    They use extreme tactics to get rid of all major US based employees with tenor so that they can collect benefits themselves.

    Advice to Management

    Be open and truthfull and isnt it enough that you have done. Leave and let this company live again!


  8. Helpful (1)

    Lots of talented people

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at MoneyGram International full-time

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    I have been working at MoneyGram for around 2 years, and have to say that there are a lot of smart, friendly and dedicated people working there. It's fun working at a company this size - it gives me the opportunity to be an expert/point of contact in one subject, while also doing a variety of things day to day. In a previous role I worked for a much larger company, where I was responsible for doing a lot of the same thing 80% of the time, and felt far removed from org leaders or people of any real influence.

    Cons

    They have recently gone through a reorganization, which means there is some "storming and norming", but I really enjoy the new people they brought in. I'm ok with change - it keeps things fresh!

    Advice to Management

    Continue to hire more good people!

    MoneyGram International Response

    Jul 2, 2015 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    We're glad to hear about your positive experience with your coworkers. We try to hire top notch talent, and it's nice to hear when we get it right!


  9. Helpful (1)

    Good experience

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Frisco, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Frisco, TX

    I have been working at MoneyGram International full-time

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great opportunity for self-starter. Those who are able to navigate through ambiguous situations and possess a drive to seek answers and solutions will be successful at MoneyGram. Industry regulations are constantly changing and it is a great place for those who want to improve processes and make a difference. The company is seeking to improve their benefits in order to attract talent. I feel that MoneyGram does encourage work-life balance. The environment is friendly and makes you want to come to work.

    Cons

    The company is adjusting to a lot of changes due to relocation strategy and regulatory requirements. Benefits are currently not up to par with larger firms, but they are improving.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work in hiring people who are the right fit. MoneyGram promotes a positive work environment driven by qualified, pro-active, creative, diverse, and compassionate individuals.

    MoneyGram International Response

    Jul 2, 2015 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for your review. At MoneyGram, our people are our most valuable assets. We're proud of our multi-cultural work environment where all backgrounds are welcome and appreciated!


  10. Helpful (1)

    Fraud Prevention Representative

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN

    I have been working at MoneyGram International full-time (More than 3 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    Coworkers are among the best

    Cons

    Job is moving to Poland

    MoneyGram International Response

    Jul 2, 2015 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for sharing your honest feedback. At MoneyGram, we view ourselves as a truly global company and try to give our customers a better experience by providing customer service around the world ... More


  11. Helpful (4)

    Lack of Career Advancement

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, MO
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, MO

    I have been working at MoneyGram International full-time (More than 8 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule, Life and work balance. Multicultural enviroment

    Cons

    Lack of career development. The majority of management positions are held by men. Bureaucratic company.

    Advice to Management

    Better implementation of strategies. Great ideas for mentoring and career development but they are not implemented well across the company specially outside the HQ (Dallas). Need more mentors and not managers across the organization.

    MoneyGram International Response

    Jul 2, 2015 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your honesty in the concerns you raise. We are also open to hear what you view as pros to working at MoneyGram. We are striving to create new solutions for ... More



Showing 98 of 163 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.