Motley Fool

  www.fool.com
  www.fool.com

Motley Fool Reviews

Updated October 1, 2014
Updated October 1, 2014
109 Reviews
4.6
109 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Motley Fool CEO Tom Gardner
Tom Gardner
81 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • There is good work/life balance (in 7 reviews)

  • The open office work environment allows you to communicate with and learn from different aspects of the company (in 10 reviews)


Cons
  • Also, if you want a linear career path with clean and tidy lines from one role to the next, that management philosophy is not embraced here (in 6 reviews)

  • s hard to keep everyone informed about everything all the time (in 3 reviews)

More Highlights

15 Employee Reviews Back to all reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. 4 people found this helpful  

    A good place to work with a good CEO, but don't expect to be highly rewarded.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Motley Fool full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    One of the best things about the Motley Fool is that you are given a great deal of autonomy if you do your job well. Don't want to come in on Wednesdays? Whatever. So long as you continue to perform at a high level, the company does not care what you do. If you are interested, it is encouraged to go bug other departments to get a better idea of how the business as a whole works.

    Your role at the Fool will be mostly what you make of it, and there is no real reason you can't switch roles once you get in the door. This happens pretty frequently, so if you want to try out new things, there's really nothing in the way except whether you're bold enough to talk to people in other departments that you may not know very well. Be respectful of others and most will be willing to help you out. You can learn a lot this way.

    There are a lot of smart people at this company, and contrary to some recent reviews, I'd say the CEO definitely falls in that camp. Although he is eccentric, he has created a lot of value for the company during his tenure. And why wouldn't he? He is a co-founder of the company and has a vested stake in its success.

    The benefits are wonderful, and the pay is good enough to get by if you don't have an excessive lifestyle or a lot of kids. It won't make you rich unless you reach the higher levels of the company.

    Cons

    Remember how I talked about autonomy, and how no one cares what you do? That cuts both ways. If you come here expecting to be rewarded for high performance beyond the nice work-life balance, you're going to get frustrated very quickly. I know multiple people who now phone it in because they weren't recognized for putting in tremendous efforts for the company over long periods of time.

    The company likes to hold itself out as a meritocracy, and although some departments are more meritocratic than others, at the company's core it is largely a seniority based system. Many departments don't have objective ways of evaluating employees.

    There is a periodic evaluation of every employee of the company under a gimmicky review system, but even those who administer it admit that it is mostly subjective. A lot of it boils down to whether the "movers and shakers" in your department like you or not.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    The CEO has done, by pretty much any objective metric, a great job building the company. Keep on doing what you're doing, but keep an eye out for those around you who are not being entirely genuine in their relationships with you.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  2. 4 people found this helpful  

    Excellent company to work for, until it wasn't

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Writer
    Former Employee - Writer

    I worked at Motley Fool full-time

    Pros

    As a Freelance Writer, I received excellent feedback and support for my articles. Editors were always willing to help and gave great tips to make my work better.

    Cons

    Multiple editors suggested that I could become a Contract Writer. I was told many times to "keep it up" or "work with your editors" and you'll get there. However, after three years of writing for the company, and thousands of articles published, Motley Fool decided to cut off all Freelancers with no notice whatsoever.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  3. 2 people found this helpful  

    Great place to work, can be a rollercoaster

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Technology in Alexandria, VA
    Current Employee - Technology in Alexandria, VA

    I have been working at Motley Fool full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    People are smart, dedicated and friendly. There is good work/life balance. The company values are strong, and people try hard to live them.

    Cons

    The company can change directions quickly. People can be left behind when this happens. It's a good place to work but not a good place to build a career.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    Freelance Writer

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Writer
    Current Employee - Writer

    I have been working at Motley Fool as a contractor

    Pros

    Good work scheduled and wide degree of freedom.

    Cons

    The pay is only acceptable.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Work with editors to make sure that they are being reasonable.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Motley Fool Response

    Oct 24, 2014

    Thanks very much for your post. We definitely value our freelancers and want to make sure the pay is fair for you. We are committed to making sure every Fool, whether freelance, contractor or ... More

  6.  

    Great experience - definitely not a static place

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Alexandria, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Alexandria, VA

    I have been working at Motley Fool full-time

    Pros

    Management is accessible, work is interesting, Silicon valley-type benefits on the East Coast. Very nice place to work

    Cons

    While the Company tries to operates pretty transparently, and has an easily available strategic roadmap, we still seem to get easily distracted chasing things not on plan. I think the CEO loves change, sometimes to the detriment of focus.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    You've created a truly great place to work, and should be proud of that.. We could probably accomplish more with a little more focus on what we do (walk the talk).

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Motley Fool Response

    Oct 24, 2014

    We are humbled by your comment that we’ve created a truly great place to work. That is our goal, each and every day. We definitely get excited by new ideas and opportunities, and as the company ... More

  7. 1 person found this helpful  

    Great place to work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Developer in Alexandria, VA
    Current Employee - Developer in Alexandria, VA

    I have been working at Motley Fool full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    It's a great environment to solve problems. The management really cares about it's employees and the benefits show that.

    Cons

    There's a lot of dead weight. Turnover is very low because it's a great place to work. Management, seemingly, gets attached to employees that have either outlasted their value or were never valuable to begin with. This demotivates "high-performers" and makes it difficult to hire and retain quality employees.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Netflix, steal their ideas. Fire people that don't perform 20% above the mean.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Motley Fool Response

    Oct 24, 2014

    We absolutely think of ourselves as a group of dedicated people who collaborate to solve problems for our members. Thanks for recognizing us! We have reviewed our policies and spend more time than ... More

  8.  

    Love who I work with

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Assistant in Alexandria, VA
    Current Employee - Assistant in Alexandria, VA

    I have been working at Motley Fool full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    If you have an opinion, there are ample opportunities to let it be known. They have information sessions quite often that allow you to think about new or current business strategies and ways to improve our business. But most of all, they have the knack for work/family balance. "Ask, and you shall receive" is how I feel around here when it comes to what you need for your family. As long as you are doing a great job.

    Cons

    At times, they have strategies that are overblown and fail. I am sure this is for every company on the face of the planet.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep testing new and current strategies to ensure they are in line with our purpose and values.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Motley Fool Response

    Oct 24, 2014

    It’s very rewarding to read your comments about work/family balance, as well as the feeling that your opinions are welcome. We work very hard to create an atmosphere that is receptive to ideas and ... More

  9.  

    Foolishly awesome

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Intern in Alexandria, VA
    Former Employee - Intern in Alexandria, VA

    I worked at Motley Fool as an intern (less than an year)

    Pros

    great culture, amazing people, fun atmosphere

    Cons

    Pay not as competitive as other finance firms

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Continue winning culture, but focus on returns rather than just starting new products. Don't let temptation to grow revenues and products affect performance

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Motley Fool Response

    Oct 31, 2014

    Thanks for your review and advice. We are constantly looking at compensation and how to make our services as useful as possible for members. We want our members to invest better, and we are spending ... More

  10.  

    I found a family here.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Alexandria, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Alexandria, VA

    I have been working at Motley Fool full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great collegial atmosphere. Top-notch workplace from a full-life perspective. People here care about the mission, the challenge, and each other. The atmosphere is laid back, but the people always strive to improve.

    Cons

    Sometimes the office can get a little chaotic, and communication in the office could be improved. Org changes tend to happen quickly, and can sometimes be a surprise.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Motley Fool Response

    Oct 31, 2014

    Your review calls out so many great reasons why Fools enjoy their experience here. Being intrinsically motivated to grow and develop is a trait shared among so many Fools. Thanks for your comments!

  11. 1 person found this helpful  

    Employee friendly workplace

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Alexandria, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Alexandria, VA

    I have been working at Motley Fool

    Pros

    The Motley Fool cares about its employees, creates a fun and engaging workplace, invests in its employees, and attracts and encourages passionate employees.

    Cons

    Career path is not always clear

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Provide clearer career paths to Fools. Expectations are set fairly high, not always sure we can deliver.

    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

Work at Motley Fool? Share Your Experiences

Motley Fool

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.