Nestlé Purina PetCare

  www.nestlepurinacareers.com
  www.nestlepurinacareers.com

Nestlé Purina PetCare Reviews

Updated September 7, 2014
Updated September 7, 2014
345 Reviews
4.4
345 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Nestlé Purina PetCare President and CEO Pat McGinnis
Pat McGinnis
289 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • The work/life balance here is definitely a perk for anyone here especially with children (in 100 reviews)

  • I also enjoy that everyone can bring their pets to work at the corporate office where I work (in 33 reviews)


Cons
  • My only other 'complaint' is that work-life balance can sometimes be a struggle (in 23 reviews)

  • Some weeks require long hours with little to no compensation time being offered by management (in 9 reviews)

More Highlights

12 Employee Reviews Back to all reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    UNTRUSTWORTHY FACTORY MANAGERS

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Factory Supervisor
    Current Employee - Factory Supervisor

    I have been working at Nestlé Purina PetCare (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    Descent pay and benefits. There are opportunities at the company if you are judged to" fit in", I.e. you lie well.

    Cons

    Once management has singled you out for a constructive dismissal, your career/ life will be a living hell.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    This is advice to all. As a person who believes the factory management has attempted, and failed as of now, a constructive dismissal on me, I shall share with you my account of my career. As a worker in his 40s who earned a 4 year business degree from a state university (graduating with honors), I was told by my manager when I applied for an entry- level position , in my field of study, that I was setting myself up for failure. Huh? Really? By attempting to move to a different position? Later, when a new assistant manager came to the plant, he attempted, by all sorts of unfounded, uninvestigated accusations, to harrass me. He succeeded, but I did not quit. I eventually went to the plant HR manager to show him my evidence such as when a factory worker accused me of favoritism. The new manager listened to the workers complaints, but did not investigate them. He simply assumed them true and hounded me about it and used it as evidence that I shouldn't be gives the opportunity to make a laterial move based on such "issues". The favoritism claim consisted of my letting one worker go get damaged finished goods (give away) to take home when all lines were down. The complainer didn't ask. If she would have, she could have went as well. Nothing...right. Wrong! This was used as "evidence" by ALL management that I was a poor and unpopular supervisor. Pretty crappy in my opinion. Anyway, this is just a sample of what I've been subjected to. I'm hard headed and not a quitter so I'm not only staying and fighting (no matter how disengaged and outraged I am), but I've also taken it upon myself to educate the WORLD about constructive dismissal and other tricks management uses to weed folks out. This practice is bad for business and anyone that invests in companies because of the disengagement and hostility towards the company theses practices generate. I shall start making, or attempting to make, press conferences soon.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Nestlé Purina PetCare Response

    Sep 22, 2014Employment Branding Specialist

    We’re so sorry to hear about your negative experience, particularly with our management. Thank you for sharing; it certainly sounds like a frustrating situation for you. We have escalated your ... More

  2.  

    don't waste your time

    Former Employee - Maintenance in Fairburn, GA
    Former Employee - Maintenance in Fairburn, GA

    I worked at Nestlé Purina PetCare full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    pay rate is better than average

    Cons

    poor management has no idea how to work with employees

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    stop the drama

    Nestlé Purina PetCare Response

    Sep 22, 2014Employment Branding Specialist

    We are very disappointed to hear your experience with Nestlé Purina wasn’t positive. Your feedback is extremely important to us, and we believe that communication with management is one important ... More

  3.  

    Veterinary Division is Horrible

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Veterinary Sales Consultant in Saint Louis, MO
    Current Employee - Veterinary Sales Consultant in Saint Louis, MO

    I have been working at Nestlé Purina PetCare full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Territory Clients who actually care about nutrition.

    Cons

    Managers play favoritism, lack of support from region managers and Vice President, promote individuals whom lack the necessary training. Salary!!!!!

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Hire people whom actually know the veterinary business. Stop promoting people who do not deserve it. Nestle corporate really needs to investigate this division.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Nestlé Purina PetCare Response

    Dec 2, 2013Talent Sourcing

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts and opinions of Purina’s Veterinary Department with us. We are sorry to hear that your experience with Purina has not been up to par with our standards as an industry ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review
  5. 1 person found this helpful  

    All talk and no show

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Finance Analyst
    Current Employee - Finance Analyst

    I have been working at Nestlé Purina PetCare full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Depending on where you are work life balance
    Recession proof
    Lots of locations to move to
    Lots of training provided by HR to develop different skills

    Cons

    Work Life balance no existent depending on your manager
    Lack of training for positions its sink or swim
    Too slow to move on new ideas, being left behind
    If you're not in the "click" or related to someone you're viewed and treated as an outsider

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Take control of the company and look and listen to what customers want. There are too many inter office families via marriage, dating, or kids working for the company. Management needs to be able to drive the company not let the company drive them.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Nestlé Purina PetCare Response

    Nov 13, 2013Talent Sourcing

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts and opinions of with us. At Purina, we pride ourselves on being a leader in innovation and providing our associates with the tools to grow in their careers. We are ... More

  6.  

    Avoid at all costs.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Accounting Trainee
    Current Employee - Accounting Trainee

    I have been working at Nestlé Purina PetCare full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    NPPC is a stable company and you should have job security. Compensation (health benefits, 401k, Paid time off) aren't bad, but that doesn't compensate for cons of this position. Pursue this job is you have run out of all possible options.

    Cons

    1. The trainee position is not related to accounting. Your first 2-3 years you will learn how to input data.
    2. You will need to move to remote areas. This is sadly true of all the trainee positions. Be prepared to spend your 20s in places like Ft. Dodge, Iowa or Bloomfield, Missouri.
    3. Compensation is fairly low for a private accounting position.
    4. Retention is not that great. Numerous accounting trainees in the past few years have abruptly left which is not a good sign.
    5. Lack of diversity - this is true in the plants and St. Louis
    6. You can do so much better. If you have an accounting degree and a decent gpa (3.0+) than landing a job as an accountant isn't terribly difficult.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Advertise this job for what it actually is - inputting data.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Nestlé Purina PetCare Response

    Oct 23, 2013Talent Sourcing

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We aim to make this program a positive and productive experience for our trainees. We will inform our senior management of your concerns. Additionally ... More

  7. 1 person found this helpful  

    Age Discrimination Rampant and Obvious!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Nestlé Purina PetCare

    Pros

    seems like a great company before I talked to an employee

    Cons

    Age Discrimination--only interested in presenting youthful faces to customers

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    if you're going to discriminate based on age, don't make it so obvious. Additionally, why don't you purposefully hire a few older workers to make it seem like you're not discriminating

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Nestlé Purina PetCare Response

    May 22, 2013Talent Sourcing

    Thank you for your feedback. Our associates’ and candidates’ experiences with our Company are very important to us and we actively read all of the reviews given on Glassdoor.com. Please know that we ... More

  8.  

    Testing Services Group

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Software Tester in Saint Louis, MO
    Former Employee - Software Tester in Saint Louis, MO

    I worked at Nestlé Purina PetCare as a contractor (more than an year)

    Pros

    Great location in downtown St. Louis with view of the Arch and Busch Stadium! Awesome park adjacent to Tower building...an oasis in an urban environment!

    Cons

    Software testing as a service model not well implemented. Lack of communication/coordination between Development groups and TSG. Unqualified personnel in leadership positions. Not a professional I.T. environment...personal issues overshadow the work.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Provide the resources to improve the leadership/management skills. Don't reward unprofessional behavior in the workplace.

    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO
  9. 4 people found this helpful  

    Wasted time conforming to cultural wastes of time

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Marketing in Saint Louis, MO
    Former Employee - Marketing in Saint Louis, MO

    I worked at Nestlé Purina PetCare

    Pros

    - Location - Downtown St. Louis has much to offer for restaurants, after work events, sports
    - Beautiful, serene grounds serve as peaceful solace during breaks and arrival/departure from work
    - Training and development - Curriculum that's purposeful and knowledge-driven
    - Some of the biggest and best brands in each of the categories their products belong to
    - Work life balance is practiced without issue or complaint
    - Outside hires band together to commiserate over the politics - somewhat of a support group exists

    Cons

    - The team dynamic is very insular and cut throat on some product lines. Outsiders with diverse backgrounds or interests did not appear welcome. If you're not "one of us" then it's curtains.
    - Managers are more interested in micromanaging than actually leading teams. They'd rather do the work themselves the way THEY want it done rather than effectively coach/guide direct reports.
    - The devil is in the details. Despite hard work on a project or effort to provide a purposeful finished product, if the fonts and colors don't fit with the manager's attitude on that particular day then it's not rewarded as a job well done.
    - Lack of interest in new ideas and approaches to solving problems or presenting new ideas. Funny, but it's not clear what exactly has been done in the past because there are no knowledge management systems in place. Still, it is expected that employees offer more of the same that's always been done to get better results.
    - Performance ratings are given by the entire team, not just your manager or your manager's manager. This causes the culture of "be like us or leave" to come out in full force. Comments from coworkers that are purely subjective will make or break your future with this company. These are not based on your output or ability, but are based on whether you're chummy enough with the key influencers to be on their good side.
    - Middle school clicks weren't as bad as what exist here. The politics are so murky that this place could be part of the Mississippi Delta. This isn't the same for all teams, you just have to hope you get lucky and land someplace that embraces who you are.
    - Promotions are in waves and classes of people move up at the same time. Time frames seem slower than usual, but the responsibility piles on sans the title or increase in pay for more than a year beyond comfortable.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Drop the bad apples that have been there forever. They're the ones who have no experience outside of Purina, yet believe they are the princes and princesses of the Tower. They're the same ones that have no interest in coaching or mentoring direct reports to be better performers, and unfortunately they are also the same people who crack the whip yet do very little productivity-wise. They feel they've paid their dues in prior years on various teams they no longer work on. Drop the team performance evals for individual team members. The fate of one's career lies in winning a popularity contest, which is a crap shoot at best.

    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO
  10.  

    Avoid working there if you care about your career and sanity.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mississauga, ON (Canada)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mississauga, ON (Canada)

    I have been working at Nestlé Purina PetCare full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    Not much. The only positive I could think of about working there is if you live in the area. And that's not even a good enough reason anymore.

    Cons

    Lack of leadership is destroying the company’s brands, employee morale, and culture. There has been a recent change in leadership which has proven to be a train wreck. Too many people have recently been promoted to positions that are completely out of their leagues. These newly promoted people are too busy managing (sucking) up to mask their incompetence that they have forgotten there is business to attend to. There is a clear lack of leadership vision, myopic business vision, complacency, and none existent people management skills. Basically a recipe for disaster. All of this is a direct result of company’s famous trademark of in-house politics, nepotism, and favouritism which promotes incompetence and devaluates strong talent. A lot of good talent have either left or are seriously looking. Another important "Con" in Nestle Purina Canada is lack of career opportunities. Avoid this place if you want to grow. Join in if you want to be doing the same thing for over 5 years with no appreciation.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    First and foremost: Get over yourselves. Everybody in that building knows that you're just not that good. Our financial statements year-to-date do not lie. And this time you can't blame it on SAP!

    Second: Start paying attention to the employees who do the real work (not the behind kissers) or you will lose them as you have had many, recently.

    Thrid: Company's HR leadership needs a serious dusting. The only thing they care about is their vacation schedule. It is an absolute joke, and one that the employees stopped laughing to years ago.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Nestlé Purina PetCare Response

    Aug 21, 2014Employment Branding Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry to hear about your frustration with the company; that’s certainly not what we like to hear. Please know that we will be sharing all ... More

  11.  

    Nestlé treats older, management personnel totally different than young, management personnel.

    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Nestlé Purina PetCare full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great treatment if you are young. You will get training and opportunities. Just smile all the time and act energetic and enthusiastic. Promotions and raises will come with minimal effort and little or no achievement.

    Cons

    If you are old plan on getting passed over for training, promotions, and pay increases (check the web for discrimination cases involving Nestle). Based on my experience and observations, Nestlé likes youth and enthusiasm, and does not value experience and knowledge. The older you get it is unlikely you will get a fair performance review so they can freeze your income and give what you actually earned to one of the young and energetic "achievers".
    Nestle can spend $15 million on a new training center in coporate (when there are buildings that are not being utilized completely), build a $10 million indoor arena, give away $1 million, in one day (to strangers on the street and the charities they chose), sponser animal shows and dog parks all over the country and then tell long-term management personnel they just do not have money for pay increases.
    Nestle will use you and cast you aside when they no longer view you as a "go getter".

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Nestle, what have been the trends since starting your youth-oriented managerial program? Have you noticed a decline or improvement in accidents (including fatalities), quality (including recalls), waste, productivity, cost, turnover and employee morale. If you continue the path you are on you may wake up too late to correct your mistakes and lose you place as the largest food company in the world. Youth and enthusiasm are good when balanced with experience and knowledge. Your imbalance toward youth will have a negative impact on your once, great company. You have created an environment that is not conducive for true teamwork. You have loaded up your management positions with young, energetic people who are more focused on getting up the next rung on the ladder and less focused on performing well in the position they currently hold. Young managers know all sorts of information about the leaders in corporate but know hardly anything about the people who work for them. You have placed your company in the hands of people who spend their time looking good and sounding good, to you, but little time removing barriers for the people who do the work. This is why your labor force does not respect your young managers and has lost confidence in the Nestle, executive-management team's ability to make good business decisions.
    Nestle you have lost the trust and loyalty of your employees because you do not treat all your people with respect.

Nestlé Purina PetCare Photos

Work at Nestlé Purina PetCare? Share Your Experiences

Nestlé Purina PetCare

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.