Newell Rubbermaid Reviews

Updated March 23, 2015
34 reviews filtered by
  • Atlanta, GA
  • Any Job Title
4.0
34 Reviews
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Newell Rubbermaid President and Chief Executive Officer Michael B. Polk
Michael B. Polk
153 Ratings

34 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. BA in SAP Pricing

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Pricing Analyst in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Pricing Analyst in Atlanta, GA

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid (more than a year)

    Pros

    Ease of working with stake holder

    Cons

    Contract was short and the project ended

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    None

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Mar 25, 2015Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review. We hope you'll keep us in mind for future career opportunities.

  2. Associate Manager, PR & Consumer Engagement

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time

    Pros

    There is mutual trust and respect between employees and management

    Cons

    There are a number of mandatory, cumbersome processes that limit the company's ability to be nimble

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jan 6, 2015Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.

  3. 3 people found this helpful

    Great place to work!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Human Resources Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Human Resources Manager in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    I have worked at Newell Rubbermaid for 9 years and I can not imagine working anywhere else. Newell is the perfect place for proactive, energized people who are willing to go above and beyond to get work done If you ask anyone, they will respond that their favorite thing about Newell is the PEOPLE. There is just something special about Newell Rubbermaid employees...their passion, willingness to help or get the job done, and most importantly their desire to make a difference for their peers and for our consumers.

    The company and job experience is what you make of it at Newell. You truly get out whatever you put in...meaning this is a place where you need to approach someone if you are ready to move to the next level and are interested in pursuing training or approach someone if you want to learn about a more flexible work arrangement. When I have asked, the company and my managers have answered. This is not a company that gives you a mundane work experience so if you are looking for the everyday normal with no change and 100% consistency than this isn't the place for you. My experience has been a time of company growth and change at both the business structure level and at the leadership level. No matter what anyone says the decisions being made are the best decisions for the company's future. We are working towards becoming a best in class company in today's economy and to do that - change has to happen. Your work experience at Newell promises an innovative and creative work environment and one where your ideas can be heard. I highly recommend job prospects to look seriously at Newell as a place where they can begin and end their career.

    Cons

    If you are not interested in an environment that evolves during the execution of its Growth Game Plan strategy than this is not the place for you.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Continue to build on some of the communication best practices that are happening across the company from skip level lunches to round tables to emails and video messages...make it consistent. Employees want to hear from you. Continue to try and be transparent no matter how tough the message. If I meet a leader, I am typically impressed with the Newell qualities that I see from the humility and passion for our people and brands. Speak up, get in front of employees and travel so that others can see those same qualities.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jul 24, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review! NWL is a great place to work and we are excited about our future! Great feedback to our leaders. We'll be sure to share.

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 1 person found this helpful

    About to take it to the next level....

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time

    Pros

    It is not possible to brag enough about Newell Rubbermaid's Global headquarters based in Atlanta, GA and the employees that define the company! The Executive Leadership has made some very tough decisions in the past that are focused on developing the company and taking our success to the next level. My first interaction with the organization came through their outstanding internal recruiting department and my experience has continued to be a challenging and rewarding one ever since.

    Cons

    The only con that comes to my mind is that compensation is not where it could be and the opportunity to develop our internal employees is not as great as other companies that I have worked for in the past.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Please continue to develop your internal employees and give opportunity to expand their/our skill sets while also gaining exposure to other functions within the organization....if someone is willing to continue to grow their career internally the opportunity should be there and supported rather than challenged.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jul 22, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review! This is helpful feedback and we'll be sure to share with our leadership teams.

  6. Strong company with strong brands.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Analyst in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Analyst in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great brands with a strong strategic plan to grow. Worklife balance is acceptable and a lot of investment in Employee Resource Groups and innovation.

    Cons

    Health benefits are not great.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Continue the focus on employee development. And make sure to recognize and reward those who are going above and beyond.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jun 23, 2014Campus Recruiter

    Thank you for your review! We value our employees feedback and will be sure to utilize it to continuously improve our culture and work environment.

  7. Opportunities for the Motivated

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Young talented workforce that is relatively diverse. Recognizable brands and nice/newer work environments. Office location is central (Sandy Springs), so its convenient to most northern suburbs and midtown/downtown. Good opportunities for advancement in most departments if you are willing to work for it. The company is fully committed to its Growth Game Plan. If you are on board and make your aspirations known to management, opportunities for advancement won't be hard to find. Bonus structure is very competitive from Manager level on up.

    Cons

    Development for entry level employees is hit or miss, you need to really be proactive with your management in most cases to visibility to upcoming opportunities. Also, there have been significant resource reductions in recent years, so work/life balance can be a challenging given the pressure to perform with less in many departments. Company is really starting to focus on employee engagement with new Chief HR Officer. Hopefully things continue to move in the right direction.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    More focus on cross functional projects. Management voices "One Company" strategy, but many departments still focus on self server objectives. Give high performing business functions more resources (head count) to avoid burning out performers. Create opportunities for low/mid level resources to advance.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jun 9, 2014Campus Recruiter

    Thank you for your review and dedication to the company! We are very excited for our continued growth and employee engagement is a top priority for our leadership teams. We want your feedback! Feel ... More

  8. Opportunities for those with initiative

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    Newell Rubbermaid has some great products and finally investing in advertising to continue to build our brands. The company has a great growth plan which allows for many opportunities for people with talent, experience and initiative. We have wonderful training opportunities, great cafeteria, free sodas, gym, starbucks, marta line and company store.

    Cons

    There has been a lot of change over the recent years. The company is flexible but with fewer people doing more the work life balance has taken its toll.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    The transformation projects have allowed us to invest in the right places. We need to focus on employee engagement and work on what drives the team to continue to deliver. We are moving from good to great and driving to exceptional.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    May 27, 2014Campus Recruiter

    Thank you for your review! It is a very exciting time to be a part of our company. Employee engagement is a big initiative for our leaders and we look forward to seeing how future initiatives ... More

  9. 1 person found this helpful

    The people really make a difference!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Newell Rubbermaid is a great place to work. Everyone is hard-working, friendly and really care about each other. The facilities and amenities are top notch! It would take alot for me to leave the company.

    Cons

    Like many companies, we have been going through restructuring for the past couple of years which can get exhausting. We are moving in the right strategic direction, but need to focus on our people again.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Be transparent and understand our business before making "strategic decisions". It comes across as unorganized.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  10. Great opportunities for career growth and personal development.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Atlanta, GA

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Facilities are top notch (I love the fitness center, cafe, and on-site Starbucks.) AMAZING daycare opportunity in Atlanta location. Career growth opportunities are plentiful. Really incredible coworkers - Newell was truly a place I enjoyed coming to work at each day.

    Cons

    Benefits aren't terrific, but salary is typically strong. There's a pretty decent changeover rate in upper management - some are great, some not so great. Very little opportunity for telecommuting, which is a disappointment.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  11. Nice place to work for if you want to be working on the latest and greatest technology.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - IT Administrative in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - IT Administrative in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    Work on the latest and greatest technology.

    Cons

    Work/Life balance not so great.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    N.A

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

Work at Newell Rubbermaid? Share Your Experiences

Newell Rubbermaid

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.