Newell Rubbermaid Reviews

Updated March 24, 2015
32 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
1.0
32 Reviews
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Newell Rubbermaid President and Chief Executive Officer Michael B. Polk
Michael B. Polk
153 Ratings

32 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. 1 person found this helpful

    Interesting Job Location Posts

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Industrial Designer in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Industrial Designer in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid

    Pros

    Starbucks in the corporate office.

    Cons

    Interesting how Newell moved all their designers to Kalamazoo Michigan, yet continues to still post design job openings in cities that don't have design anymore, like Chicago and Atlanta.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Mar 25, 2015Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.

  2. 2 people found this helpful

    Morale is low and CDLT does not seem to care- cannot continue to treat employees like this.Employees are leaving weekly

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid

    Pros

    the brands, people and Collaboration labs

    Cons

    CDLT, morale, no support from management, creating culture of pointing fingers and playing the blame game b/c everyone is too nervous they will be fired

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Take more notice of your employees and acknowledge the hard work and long hours everyone puts in. Company morale is at all time low and upper management doesn't seem to care which furthers the morale issue. The engagement survey continues to release very poor results but again the CDLT has the right words but the actions are never there. Everyone is expected to work harder and longer with less resources and little support. They are creating an environment where employees argue with one another, point fingers, and most people are unhappy and/or trying to leave. It could be such a great company with awesome brands but until they start paying more attention to the employees the morale issue will not go away. The atmosphere is very tense and they use the word "team" often but the actions are not there. Management needs to understand they cannot continue to win without the hard work of the employees. Mike Polk has brought over many leaders from Kraft and Unilever and overall their leadership styles are more about threatening and bullying than leading.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Mar 25, 2015Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review. We will share with our leadership team and encourage you to reach out to your Human Resources Business Partner to discuss further.

  3. 7 people found this helpful

    the newell rubbermaid experience

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid

    Pros

    there are none for this company

    Cons

    extreme heat lots of drama and little pay

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Aug 26, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    I'm sorry to hear that you are not having a positive experience at Newell Rubbermaid. Our team would like to learn more and help in anyway we can. I encourage you to reach out directly to your ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 3 people found this helpful

    Looks Good From Outside- But Watch Your Back

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Finance and Accounting in Saint Louis, MO
    Former Employee - Finance and Accounting in Saint Louis, MO

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    Offices in my location were semi-clean for a factor production facility

    Cons

    Very manipulative and contrived work environment and fake people in Admin/Finance/Reporting who stab each other in the back every chance they get. After 3 weeks there I asked my manager what the pay was for my position after my 90 day period was up (so I could begin planning on a move to that area). She got so irrate about it she went to HR. I got pulled into HR the next day and was told "its none of your business what the actual payrate for the position is unless and well after 90 days we decided to actually hire you on. Until then, don't worry about it."

    This 90 day period was in the Accounting department with no benefits and making 10.00 an hour.

    That was what Rubbermaid was good at doing, hiring temps for 90 day periods and burning through them because they were too cheap, pathetic and stupid to do anything else.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Stop being fake, manipulative and deceitful with employees, seniors, managers and yourselves. Your not better than everyone else and everyone has known this for a long time.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jul 28, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry to hear about your experience. I'll be sure to share this feedback with our engagement team.

  6. 4 people found this helpful

    Went from good to bad.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Once in a while, employees will receive free products. Some team building and social opportunities. Decent pay. Casual dress to work.

    Cons

    This company is more concerned with politics and favoritism than they are in establishing and maintaining good consumer relationships. They rarely reward people for their efforts, and when rewards are doled out, it's usually a popularity contest. Many times a mutual admiration society. Work-life balance is not good. The departments are crawling with manipulative people who will sell you down the river. They are constantly throwing away talent under the auspices of "not a culture fit"and could care less about employee development. Often, the better employees find themselves buried under work, while the more political workers have less to do and are more appreciated. Many people are there for a paycheck and nothing more. HR is often not helpful and does not seem to take concerns very seriously.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Get over yourselves. Many of you aren't qualified to lead people. Work in places where you can be top contributors, instead of mishandling people and talent. Many of you do not care about solid leadership, and rarely is it "lead by example."

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jul 22, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    We are constantly striving to make NWL a great place to work and appreciate your feedback. Best of luck with your future endeavors!

  7. 5 people found this helpful

    Engineering Manager

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Engineering Manager in Oakbrook Terrace, IL
    Former Employee - Engineering Manager in Oakbrook Terrace, IL

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Iconic brands. I got to work with some fabulous people, most of which were laid off.

    Cons

    No stability, short sights plans except to make each quarter for the street and pay huge bonuses to leadership. I worked here 7 years and saw 5 ground up reorganizations. Staff turns were likely in excess of 50% per annum. People with more than 19 years tenure were routinely laid off. Nothing you could do made you safe from the perpetual re-org axe. I wasted my time and talents here.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    What you do for the company is not worth the bonus you pay yourselves. The short term thinking will eventually leave you with nothing.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jul 22, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We wish you the best of luck with your future endeavors!

  8. 6 people found this helpful

    Depressing

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    The money is decent
    Well known company
    Great cafeteria, gym and employee store

    Cons

    Self-esteem constantly assaulted
    Demotions to save costs
    Morale in finance was at its worst
    Work life balance is terrible
    Except to work mandatory weekends and health care coverage was lousy
    Employees treated poorly and management is insensitive
    Never had an opportunity to take vacation
    I hated the job, it was a terrible company to work for. hated it

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Treat employees well

    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    May 23, 2014Campus Recruiter

    Thank you for your opinion. We always appreciate feedback from former employees and hope to utilize it to make NWL an even better place to work. Best of luck with your future endeavors.

  9. Disappointed. Company has lost a lot of good and loyal employees over the past couple of years.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Large company with strong brands

    Cons

    Terrible employee culture! The leadership has changed and is only focused on driving stock prices up! Give employees a chance to learn and accept a change before making more changes as you loose the support and benefits for change. Unless you have a manager that believes in career development, no chance of getting promoted unless your manager is a "favorite" from leadership.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Start promoting employees that work hard and earn it rather then promoting on favoritism. Stop being part of the problem and be part of the solution!

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
  10. 2 people found this helpful

    “Exciting company for a design career” = Total lie

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Senior Designer in Huntersville, NC
    Former Employee - Senior Designer in Huntersville, NC

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    You will a lot of good people who become good friends.

    Cons

    Any positive reviews on the Design Center move to Kalamzoo Michigan, are absolutely written by executives who have the luxury of keeping their jobs with out actually having to move to Kalamazoo. The rest of the designers in the company were forced with moving to Kalamazoo, with no guarantee on what their positions would be or even their future in the company would be. Designers had to agree to a two year stint, with no guarantee that Newell wouldn't restructure again and you'd be out of a job, stuck in a place you didn't want to be in the first place, with getting back to an area you wanted to be on your own dime.

     Current designers were required to interview for "promotion" jobs, if they were lucky to find the job posting online. Most job openings were already slatted to friends of the new higher ups.

    This is not the place for Designers, trust me. This review has nothing to do with being bitter, just frustrated to see the lies coming from Newell about this move, trying to make designers who left, look bad for not drinking the kool-aid. Look at how many job positing's have gone up on Core77, or Indeed for designers in the past several months. If this these reviews were from a few bitter designers, they wouldn't have needed to pretty much rehire the entire design group, both Graphics and Industrial.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  11. Company which has lost its way.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid full-time

    Pros

    Salary was good so long as you didn't mention the elephant in the room.

    Cons

    Equipment and tooling left to rot under leaking roof, Production efficiency on key product line is less than 50% but celebrated ny management when reported at 65%.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Be honest with yourself about the state of operations and stop glassing over things with slick media releases.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

Work at Newell Rubbermaid? Share Your Experiences

Newell Rubbermaid

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.