Newell Rubbermaid Reviews

Updated June 27, 2015
43 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Any Status
Employment Status

Reset
1.0
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Newell Rubbermaid President and Chief Executive Officer Michael B. Polk
Michael B. Polk
25 Ratings

Pros
  • The hours are good for work / life balance (in 25 reviews)

  • Great people to work with across different departments (in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • Work life balance was best in class (in 21 reviews)

  • Not many to report other then upper management listen to employees ideas a little more (in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

43 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Helpful (2)

    Don't .

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid

    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    What everyone says is true - the people you work with every day are great, but that alone is not enough to keep you excited, engaged and wanting to show up to work every day.

    The Atlanta campus is beautiful. The building has great amenities, but those are slowly starting to disappear. The daycare, which was once subsidized by the company will no longer be subsidized and there is always a litany of rumors about which benefit is going to go away next.

    Cons

    Employees who lived through the multiple Project Renewals were proud to be a part of the Newell family, but as Polk's new leadership team was introduced, things began to change.

    First, they aren't leaders. They are dictators (with the CFO being an exception). The way they "lead" does not foster collaboration, build trust, or inspire people to do their best work. There is an insane amount of inequality among the functions. Some functions are holding champagne breakfasts while others claim that there is no budget for big initiatives much less a team breakfast. Other leaders tout that there are career opportunities "thanks to all of the people who are quitting." Really?! It's pathetic.

    People initiatives are a huge joke, thanks to the CHRO. She has done more harm to Polk's brand than anything else. No one, especially in HR, trusts her or feels as if the people are important to the organization. The fact that the CEO continues to turn a blind-eye to the havoc that she is creating is disappointing. So many things have been promised to the organization in vain - from a new recognition program and global guidelines on flexible work environments to more meaningful learning and development opportunities - it's all a joke. But there's always an excuse and it's always someone else's fault. The CHRO can't seem to see her own role in the destruction of morale, the breakdown of trust and the increased numbers of disengaged employees.

    Executives continue to delude themselves with the story of why people are leaving:
    "People don't like change."
    "People aren't bought into the agenda we are driving."

    Wake up. Employees don't sign up for a company like Newell if they can't handle change. Employees don't want to work at a place like Newell if they can't handle deadlines, making tough decisions or driving for great results. People are leaving Newell because they aren't trusted to make decisions. People are leaving Newell because they want to be treated like adults and like intelligent, creative and productive members of a team. People are leaving Newell because there is no sense of team, unless you count how people bond through their shared bad experiences or through being treated like abused children from the highest levels of management. People are tired of the lies, the smoke and mirrors, the beat downs and most of all for no longer having the ability to speak up or contribute in a meaningful way. People are leaving across all levels of the organization, and those who are staying do so for a variety of reasons, but many are hoping to just ride it out by keeping their heads low.

    Advice to Management

    Be honest. Treat people with respect and like they have a brain.

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jun 30, 2015Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.


  2. Helpful (10)

    Brand Marketing Is A Mess x2

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brand Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Brand Manager in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (More than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Very well known brands that have great business growth opportunities.

    Cons

    Executive leadership (primarily the CMO) is completely out of touch with the businesses. The process dictates that CMO must see all consumer facing material, for all brands, for all customers, no matter how big or small the investment. You can imagine how frurstrating it is to accomplish things in a timely manner (you don't). There is also zero collaboration between functional leadership and effective cross-functional team leadership is pretty much nonexistent. There is extreme misalignment for objectives across sales, trade, and brand marketing --which is creating a stalemate on almost every project and drives an incredible amount of employee turnover. The high turnover rate exacerbates the leadership, process, and structural issues and results in long hours, low fulfillment, and little actual productivity. Data manipulation runs rampant globally and budgeting & invoicing policies are legally questionable when compared to SOX requirements.

    Advice to Management

    I have zero faith in current leadership at the Executive or VP level to address any real issues within the organization. The CMO is over his head and should be outed immediately.

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jun 17, 2015Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review. We have shared your feedback with our leadership team.


  3. Helpful (5)

    Absolute worst company that I've ever worked for

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    It's a steady job and many of my coworkers are nice people

    Cons

    The culture is terrible. There is no trust of employees to make decision. Hierarchy is law at Newell.
    Absolutely no work life balance. The new 'flexible hours' thing is a scam. You can't really have flexible hours
    The location is horrible.
    The criteria for me to be promoted is outside of what I'm allowed to do within my role

    Advice to Management

    There's really no point in giving advice. In a few years, the C suite will have taken their money and left, not caring that they played a major role in making countless people miserable at work

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jun 16, 2015Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Ok

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in East Longmeadow, MA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in East Longmeadow, MA

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid

    Pros

    Well worth it great place

    Cons

    Never heard from again sucks

    Advice to Management

    Went to interviews and did background check and drug test failed the drug test due to a faulty hair follicle test and I suggested to take another at my expense and just never heard back ever agin

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jun 5, 2015Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review. This feedback has been shared with our team and I encourage you to follow up directly with the recruiter for additional details.


  6. Helpful (12)

    Brand Marketing Is A Mess

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director Brand Marketing in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Director Brand Marketing in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (More than 3 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Some great brands and lots of potential to grow the business.

    Cons

    Out of touch CMO who is inflexible and does not take the time or have the interest in really learning the business and is generally out of his depth. No credibility in the results reported on how well advertising and brand growth is truly doing - data manipulation is rampant. No collaboration encouraged from marketing leadership to effectively work with other functions in the company. Far too much cronyism with former Unilever employees which is killing the fabric of the brand marketing function.

    Advice to Management

    Newell's Board of Directors appear to only be looking at quarterly results and are sleepwalking through all of the growing issues in Brand Marketing. I have no faith the CEO has the courage or conviction to face these and other issues on the brand marketing side and effectively deal with them.

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    May 20, 2015Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review. We will be sure to share with our leadership team.


  7. Helpful (6)

    Stay away

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Winchester, VA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Winchester, VA

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    After working here, you will enjoy working anywhere else!

    Cons

    Do not get carried away by the brand names, this is a poor place to work. You are made to work during weekends and evenings, pay is less as compared to competition, diversity is a joke. HR and management do not care about employees. The culture in the company especially in the division at Winchester is to hire and fire. Training and growth opportunities are limited. Overall, stay away

    Advice to Management

    Along with bonuses, for once, focus on employees

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    May 20, 2015Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. Our employees are very important to us and we are sorry to hear that you had a negative experience. We will be sure to share this with our leadership team.


  8. Helpful (3)

    Ever Changing with Very Poor Leadership!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Global Sourcing Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Senior Global Sourcing Manager in Atlanta, GA

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (More than 8 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Good brands, hard working people

    Cons

    - Very poor leadership
    - Poor culture
    - Political with who you know vs. what you know
    - No career development, simply reactive to issues, not strategic and no growth planning
    - This is a holding company not New product / innovation company.

    Advice to Management

    Sell company to a bigger CPG group like P&G, Stanley etc...The board look short term (3yrs) vs. long term

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Apr 16, 2015Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.


  9. Helpful (1)

    Sr. Product Engineer

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Product Engineer in Downers Grove, IL
    Former Employee - Senior Product Engineer in Downers Grove, IL

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (Less than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    None that I can think of.

    Cons

    Revolving door. Company fires you for lame reasons just to get new talent in and do the same thing. No job security at all.

    Advice to Management

    More training on how to treat employees.

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Apr 16, 2015Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.


  10. Helpful (9)

    Horrible leadership - corrupt and unhealthy work environment

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Huntersville, NC
    Former Employee - Manager in Huntersville, NC

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Decent salary and many brand to relate with

    Cons

    - lack of leadership
    - zero employee engagement culture
    - no consideration for any employees
    - never would recommend anyone to work here

    Advice to Management

    Shop playing the game and step down, how dare you give yourself a millions of dollar salary when you don't even lead!!! Hope analysts at Wall Street read this and know that all that CEO show and number at all a lie. Show some honesty! I guess thats not a word in you vocabulary....

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Apr 8, 2015Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.


  11. Helpful (3)

    Interesting Job Location Posts

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Industrial Designer in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Industrial Designer in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Starbucks in the corporate office.

    Cons

    Interesting how Newell moved all their designers to Kalamazoo Michigan, yet continues to still post design job openings in cities that don't have design anymore, like Chicago and Atlanta.

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Mar 25, 2015Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.



Showing 43 of 393 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.