Newell Rubbermaid

www.newellrubbermaid.com

Newell Rubbermaid Reviews

Updated February 18, 2015
Updated February 18, 2015
58 Reviews
2.0
58 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Newell Rubbermaid President and Chief Executive Officer Michael B. Polk
Michael B. Polk
58 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Company believes in work-life balance and the people there are great to work with (in 25 reviews)

  • Great people to work with, good products with strong brand names (in 21 reviews)


Cons
  • The company is flexible but with fewer people doing more the work life balance has taken its toll (in 21 reviews)

  • There's a pretty decent changeover rate in upper management - some are great, some not so great (in 11 reviews)

More Highlights

58 Employee Reviews Back to all Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Big Brands, Good People, Poor Managers

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid

    Pros

    Salary, Benefits and great employees/colleagues

    Cons

    Sales team is a complete "boys" club who spend more time worried about the type of car they drive and free trips rather than the tasks at hand or mentoring. Poor example of how to get ahead. As long as you are aligned with them and do their work, they will throw you a bone. Many unethical practices are swept under the rug (especially on the RCP side). These folks are the same people who manipulate in order to make themselves look good, leaving those who work night and day on projects in the dark or at their mercy for success. Too much backstabbing.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Don't let bad managers and VP's succeed! You are surrounded by many talented and ethical employees, pull back the curtain and watch carefully! They care and they are dedicated! Otherwise, you will always be counterproductive!

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Feb 19, 2015Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review. We encourage you to reach out to your Human Resources Business Partner to share and discuss challenging situations and/or frustrations.

  2.  

    Hard to Swallow

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Senior Manager
    Former Employee - Senior Manager

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    The bonus structure was amazing
    Appreciates diverse cultures and backgrounds.

    Cons

    The benefit plan was not competitive with other large corporations, neither was the leave of absence provisions.
    Very efficiency driven, if this is not something that you are ok with, you will not like it.
    Under previous management, the corporate office was filled with people under 40 mostly post-college females. Not much advancement if you came into the organization and were an over 40 male.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    There was definitely an us vs. them mentality when it came to salaried and hourly workers. the benefits and leave provisions were less than desirable.

    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Feb 3, 2015Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.

  3. 8 people found this helpful  

    Good brands, bad senior leadership

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great brands get you through poor leadership decisions. Good people - although the good ones are leaving at an alarming rate...

    Cons

    Leadership only knows Retail and ignores all other channels. Reduction in workforce results in an overworked sales team that spends their time defending market share rather than pursuing.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Stop wasting money on Bain. Focus on keeping good employees before they leave. Stop hiring from Unilever. Development needs a complete overhaul.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jan 6, 2015Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review. We will share your feedback with our leadership team and welcome ideas for process improvement. Feel free to send additional feedback to employee.engagement@newellco.com.

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 3 people found this helpful  

    Extraordinarily fortunate company blessed with top power brands and top notch employees.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    Consistently delivers the best brands. Regular employees are dedicated, good people with strong work ethics and a good work/life balance.

    Cons

    Upper management lives in a vacuum, surrounded by an ivory tower, complete with soundproof ear muffs over their ears.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Quit wasting money with Bain Consulting.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Dec 15, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review. We welcome your feedback and encourage you to share more specifics and/or recommendations with our leaders. Feel free to email the engagement team at ... More

  6. 1 person found this helpful  

    Stop Hiring Temps and create full time positions!!!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Huntersville, NC
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Huntersville, NC

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid full-time

    Pros

    -Not a lot to say here...

    Cons

    -Newell is constantly hiring temps and then letting them go. It really is pointless when they can just create a full time position for these people instead. It makes really makes me question what the hell HR is thinking at this place. NO stability here at all, and constant turnover which is unhealthy...

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Try retaining people, there is a high turnover for a reason...compensation is way below par.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Nov 17, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review. We wish you the best of luck and hope you'll consider Newell Rubbermaid for future career opportunities.

  7. 3 people found this helpful  

    This company is not like it used to be.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Huntersville, NC
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Huntersville, NC

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Large company and a lot of opportunities but you have to know the right people to get promoted!

    Cons

    Before our current CEO things were great! We worked hard and played hard! Now we just work hard and no work life balance.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Take management courses because the one I have had for the past few years is horrible. It's clear the next move was manager and they pushed this person along up the ranks.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Nov 17, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review. I encourage you to reach out to your Human Resources Business Partner. They can provide more insight into the Internal Candidate Experience and help provide advice on how ... More

  8. 8 people found this helpful  

    Management was Clueless

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Associate Brand Manager in Oak Brook, IL
    Current Employee - Associate Brand Manager in Oak Brook, IL

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Summer Friday's, work life balance, autonomy running your business, great place to start to learn brand management without an MBA

    Cons

    Lack of rotations on teams, very little promotions, low salary compared to other companies, constant reorg, no real understanding of what it takes to be competitive within the categories the brands are playing in

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Talk to your lower level employees more to get a better understanding of the employee engagement, VPs are typically clueless.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Nov 17, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review! We always welcome employee feedback and ideas on ways to improve process, culture, etc. I encourage you to reach out to your Human Resources Business Partner to provide ... More

  9. 3 people found this helpful  

    Good goes bad

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sourcing Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Sourcing Manager in Atlanta, GA

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good working environment; Perks, onsite cafe and gym; flexible hours, friendly coworkers.

    Cons

    Too much changes in the last couple of years and still changing, benefits/pays are good for senior leaders but not so good in general. Relationship is way better than performance.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Take care of your good employees.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Oct 1, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review! We wish you the best of luck and hope you'll keep us in mind for future career opportunities.

  10. 3 people found this helpful  

    Great products, great people, volatile environment.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid full-time

    Pros

    Relatively flat organizations within the Newell Rubbermaid family of products resulting in easy access to executives. The company's Growth Game Plan is billed as a long-term plan for sustained growth and investment in the company's vast array of brands. Managers and above are granted a lot of autonomy and are expected to know their business and defend their business decisions.

    Cons

    Employee engagement is at an all time low. NR is an organization in perpetual transition - a serial restructurer. The execution of the Growth Game Plan has resulted in a continuing series of company layoffs, sometimes referred to as "renewals" The constant threat of executives deciding to layoff associates has led to a steady flow of associates deciding to leave on their own (self-renewal). There is rarely a going away party for departing associates anymore because there are just too many people leaving.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Expend more resources supporting & developing employees' abilities to run the businesses and consistently reward their loyalty. When all the people that do all the work are gone; there will be no more work that gets done.

    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jul 28, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review. We are focusing on building an "I want to work here" culture and our leadership team is listening to the voice of our employees. We wish you the best of luck and hope ... More

  11. 5 people found this helpful  

    Constantly "managing up" takes one's eye off doing meaningful work and making continuous improvements.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    OK salary, product range to be proud of. Some company store benefits.

    Cons

    Leadership with blinders on. Delivery of shareholder value is (of course) important, but so is employee well being. It's a disruptive and fragmented environment where much time is spent convincing leaders that you're doing good work ONLY so that THEY can convince THIER leaders of the same thing. Not an environment conducive to a results oriented mindset. Unless you don't mind working towards meaningless results.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Remember that people matter. Listen to what they have to say. Be willing to expose your flaws to them and occasionally admit that you need to build trust in order to lead effectively.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jul 22, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and will share with our leadership teams. Best of luck with your future endeavors!

Work at Newell Rubbermaid? Share Your Experiences

Newell Rubbermaid

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.