Newell Rubbermaid Reviews

Updated July 26, 2015
71 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Any Status
Employment Status

Reset
2.0
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Newell Rubbermaid President and Chief Executive Officer Michael B. Polk
Michael B. Polk
27 Ratings

Pros
  • The hours are good for work / life balance (in 25 reviews)

  • Great people to work with across different departments (in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • Work life balance was best in class (in 21 reviews)

  • Not many to report other then upper management listen to employees ideas a little more (in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

71 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Order Picker

    Former Employee - Loading/Unloading in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Loading/Unloading in Atlanta, GA

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great hours, plenty of overtime

    Cons

    Poor management, wrong people in management positions

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jul 31, 2015 – Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.


  2. Helpful (4)

    Meh

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrator in Charlotte, NC
    Current Employee - Administrator in Charlotte, NC

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (More than 3 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Pros

    OK place to work at the moment, muy suckier than 3 years ago though. Restructures quarterly, employee experience is on a consistent 3 year down trend. Pretty soon they'll be hot desking and calling it "Winning Though Environmental Sharing".

    Cons

    The place is being run by communications majors on steroids. I think they;re trying quantify synergy and apply oit with a brush.

    Advice to Management

    Please stop reading the latest managerial best sellers its really getting tiresome.

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jul 22, 2015 – Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.


  3. Helpful (3)

    Current Employee

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Metals Team Leader in Winchester, VA
    Current Employee - Metals Team Leader in Winchester, VA

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    Good place to work... Most of the people are good to work with

    Cons

    Management leaves little to be desired, Some members of management target folks that show up and work hard daily yet allow others to skate by simply because others have been there for 22 plus years

    Advice to Management

    Make everyone accountable

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jul 7, 2015 – Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (4)

    It depends on which organization you support - be wary

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Senior Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - IT Senior Manager in Atlanta, GA

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (More than 3 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Atlanta office has great facilities and generally smart hard-working people. Sales, mktg, prod dev are king

    Cons

    Execs have no respect for people, crappy vacation policy, terrible performance mgmt process. Daily heroics expected, understaffed.

    Advice to Management

    Don't keep promoting people who don't treat their teams with respect or actually know how to manage a team. Your people are burned out too

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jun 23, 2015 – Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.


  6. Sales

    Former Employee - Sales Representative/Hospitality Specialist in Stone Mountain, GA
    Former Employee - Sales Representative/Hospitality Specialist in Stone Mountain, GA

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid (More than a year)

    Approves of CEO
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    Make sure to choose the right department for you

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    May 20, 2015 – Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.


  7. Helpful (7)

    Global Manager

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Global Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Global Manager in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (More than 5 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    - Good pay, but not great. - People are fantastic. - Great facilities. - Good IT - Flexibility to work remotely sometimes. - No longer top heavy. - Centralized mentality. - Open door policy. - Culturally diverse. - Employee Discounts

    Cons

    - Growth Game Plan works but the way it's being rolled out is burning out your people. - In my department since February we've had folks leaving and no replacements hired. - Was an office in Manhattan really needed when the company is in cost cutting mode? - Consultants everywhere and while some are there to truly help us, some are there because management doesn't trust its people and they act that way. - No clear career path and career discussions and few and far between. - Calibration sessions are far from fair and balanced. - Centralized mentality is there but the support to make it happen is not. Management will support those initiatives in the areas where it's noticeable, but in the smaller areas the support is non existent. - Huge turnover in HR - Putting a position out for hire takes forever. - Certain business segments still act superior to others and are given a longer leash by upper management which gets on the way of centralization once again. - Company stopped to the company wide employee engagement survey once they started seeing the results dip.

    Advice to Management

    - Company used to be top heavy and had locations everywhere to accommodate those high level people. - You started shrinking the footprint and focusing on centralization but not we're increasing the number of locations again. Do we really need offices in Chicago, Huntersville, Kalamazoo and NYC? Make Atlanta your true headquarters and close the rest and focus on improving your DCs and rewarding your people. - Have the courage to face the results of the engagement survey. - Wall St loves the company but employees who used to love it, today are stressed, work life balance is off balance and people are looking to leave. - You have to treat your people better. - And stop taking two steps forward and one step back in terms of the direction of the company. - It has been a revolving door of C level and VP level executives, think about what that does to your people.

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Apr 30, 2015 – Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and will be sure to share with our leadership teams.


  8. Helpful (1)

    Senior Trade Marketing Manager

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trade Marketing in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Trade Marketing in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (More than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    Compensation: base salary + bonus

    Cons

    lack of process, structure, long term planning, insights based decision making

    Advice to Management

    leverage insights to drive fact based selling. develop aligned incentives among functions.

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Apr 24, 2015 – Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.


  9. order picker

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Outbound Order Picker in Brimfield, OH
    Former Contractor - Outbound Order Picker in Brimfield, OH

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid as a contractor (Less than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Pros

    close to home. people are good.

    Cons

    use and abuse temp workers tell you your doing good then let you go for no reason.

    Advice to Management

    don't lie tell people when they are doing something wrong then give them a chance to fix it

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Apr 24, 2015 – Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.


  10. Helpful (1)

    Recently let go after 20+ years of service(accident free) when entire department were suspended for same violation

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Machine Operator in Cleveland, TN
    Former Employee - Machine Operator in Cleveland, TN

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid full-time

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great discounts on purchasing products from all of newell's companies

    Cons

    For years, production workers are treated as too easy replaced but haven't had a full crew in years.In the Cleveland Tn plant often it's over 95 degrees because of needing humidity in order for machines to run the cheapened products.Let's not forget the .25 lump sum raises you get every 16-18 months which keeps you at the same pay level not even covering a cost of living increase

    Advice to Management

    Take a closer look at the supervisors and upper management at the Cleveland plant and see if they're getting too much credit for production numbers and not enough blame for the safety record

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Apr 24, 2015 – Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.


  11. Helpful (5)

    This place is full of hypocrisy

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Brand Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Associate Brand Manager in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (More than 3 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Really nice co-workers Facilities- gym, cafe, overall office is open Multiple-brands

    Cons

    HR and Middle mgt give mixed information- there are rules only when it suits them Middle mgt- I feel like Upper Mgt is competent and entry-level hires are driven and ready to perform... middle mgt falls way short- especially when it comes to leadership skills and enabling those beneath you Multiple brands- every time you get a new role, you're 95% starting over... the amount of knowledge and history of our brands that we've lost in the past 3 years is actually insane. This isn't P&G, the benefits of owning multiple brands gets lost when they're isn't any synchronicity. The previous model of acquiring brands that completely owned their markets but have no commonalities is the reality we're living in now- we're killing their equity quickly.

    Advice to Management

    When the people below you look good, you look good. Insecurity breeds a bitter culture that'll spread like wildfire, take a look at our engagement scores for instance.

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Apr 8, 2015 – Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review. We will share with leadership and encourage you to continue to share your feedback, so that we can help create an I want to work here culture.



Showing 71 of 405 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.