Newell Rubbermaid Reviews

Updated March 26, 2015
98 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
3.0
98 Reviews
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Newell Rubbermaid President and Chief Executive Officer Michael B. Polk
Michael B. Polk
153 Ratings

98 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Considerable opportunity

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great brands, lots of opportunity for growth and new experiences
    Greater emphasis on consumer insights and innovation
    Emphasis on growing and retaining talent

    Cons

    Organizational changes
    New/Growth opportunities limited to select offices
    Over-lap in departmental responsibilities can cause apathy
    Corporate centralization can make it challenging to know who is responsible.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
  2. Started Well

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Customer Service in High Point, NC
    Current Employee - Customer Service in High Point, NC

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid

    Pros

    Good overall work environment. Free stuff!

    Cons

    Attendance Policies and bad weather policies.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    When confirmed emergencies arise have flexibility beyond general policies.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Mar 4, 2015Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review! We will definitely share your feedback with your local HR team.

  3. Solid profits but a lot of internal bureaucracy and politics

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Company is quite diversified so profits are generally stable; flexible schedule and good pay

    Cons

    Little communication between segments; company has a hard time committing to new projects

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Feb 19, 2015Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Exasperating

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Shelbyville, TN
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Shelbyville, TN

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    The benefits and pay are good for the area. I work with hard working group of people who Wil help when help is needed.

    Cons

    Upper management does nothing to raise moral, it is seriously seriously low. The working in the environment summertime is just miserable I don't know if I can take another summer there.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Get to know your people and who they are and what they can do and what they know. A wise man once told me sometimes you have to pull your people along instead of push them. And ask your long time employees what they think and seriously take into consideration what they say and do not tweak their ideas and make them your own.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Feb 17, 2015Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.

  6. Newell Rubbermaid

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oak Brook, IL
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oak Brook, IL

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid

    Pros

    Dynamic and had a lot of good people. Interesting product lines.

    Cons

    Numerous changes in leadership direction even when things were going well.
    Large company politics where advancement may or may not be based on qualifications and track record.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep a good eye on talent and experience and create an environment where the right people can foster innovation and development.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Feb 17, 2015Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.

  7. Very good company to work for

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid

    Pros

    Everyone gets along at rubbrrmaid

    Cons

    Doesn't need a union only protects non workers

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Dec 15, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.

  8. It was a great place to work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great products and new product development team

    Cons

    No focus on some categories

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Nov 18, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review!

  9. 1 person found this helpful

    Good company but lots of change. No more hiring local. All new jobs added in NC, ATL or NYC

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid as an intern (more than a year)

    Pros

    Good work-life balance. Millions invested into facility by parent company Newell Rubbermaid. Friendly co-workers.

    Cons

    Only available jobs within LENOX are now in NYC, ATL or Huntersville, NC. No internship program after 2014. Difficult to get into company without knowing someone.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Nov 17, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review! In 2015, we are expecting more than 75 interns across North America as well as a variety of full-time positions within a variety of functions. We encourage you to check out ... More

  10. Great stepping stone

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - ReField Sales Representative in Virginia Beach, VA
    Former Employee - ReField Sales Representative in Virginia Beach, VA

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    Being a field rep can be a bit of a struggle since you are constantly working alone but, my manager was very involved and called me once a week to catch up, offer guidance and let me know how I was doing. About once every other month another rep would come and work with me for almost a week, which was always fun! They also had an annual sales meeting in Vegas when I worked there!

    Cons

    There were a lot of other reps who were very fake and tried to suck up to managers. I made sure to be professional .and watch what I said so none of the two-faced employees would talk behind my back.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Get a better understanding of your employees and find out which ones are actually working really hard and making a difference verse the ones who are just sitting at home and pretending to work!

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Oct 1, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We wish you the best of luck and hope you'll consider us for future career opportunities.

  11. Supply Chain Management Development Program

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid full-time

    Pros

    The rotational program is awesome. You get 4 different positions in 2 different locations. Company believes in work-life balance and the people there are great to work with.

    Cons

    It was challenging working here through the restructuring period. Many people were shuffling within the company, and to areas outside the company.

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Oct 1, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review! We are very proud of the Supply Chain Management Development Program and are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience.We wish you all the best and hope you'll keep us ... More

Work at Newell Rubbermaid? Share Your Experiences

Newell Rubbermaid

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.