Newell Rubbermaid

  www.newellrubbermaid.com
Work in HR? Unlock Free Profile

Newell Rubbermaid Reviews

Updated July 29, 2014
Updated July 29, 2014
289 Reviews

3.3
289 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Newell Rubbermaid President and Chief Executive Officer Michael B. Polk
Michael B. Polk
130 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Great work/life balance and perks like Employee Store & gym on site (in 18 reviews)

  • Great people to work with, good products with strong brand names (in 18 reviews)


Cons
  • The company is flexible but with fewer people doing more the work life balance has taken its toll (in 19 reviews)

  • There's a pretty decent changeover rate in upper management - some are great, some not so great (in 11 reviews)

More Highlights

96 Employee Reviews Back to all reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. 4 people found this helpful  

    Given plenty of opportunities to grow in my first 10 years but consultants are taking those opportunities now

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Senior Manager
    Former Employee - Senior Manager

    Pros

    Had 7 roles of increasing responsibility with 10 - 15 years. Lot of good people to work with in supply chain and operations. Pay was good even though they did reduce bonuses for my level by 25%.

    Cons

    Very unstable as you never know when the next change to affect you will come. Engagement is low but with constant layoffs over last few years and the company's desire to reduce bonuses and benefits to be in the 50th percentile its to be expected. Despite my years of service and leaving in good standing my exit interview was blown off. There's so much focus on driving the stock price up that folks don't have time to do the little things to make the business better. Its all about the short term.
    Not bitter at all but there are rumors of some unethical but not illegal activity going on with the execs. For the internal employees its hard to bear about as integrity is supposed to be one of our key values

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Don't forget the long term effects on the company. There are a good number of employees that have and will be around for the long haul so take care of them. Respect your supply chain and operation employees and stop relying on consultants.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jul 31, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear about your exit interview experience and will be sure to share the feedback with our HR teams for the future. We appreciate your hard work and tenure ... More

  2.  

    Great culture and work environment. On the upswing.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    The culture, work environment and flexibility are the companies greatest strengths. The company is becoming more design centric which is very encouraging for the technical disciplines.

    Cons

    The leadership feels removed and disconnected from the average worker and therefore makes decisions that are not always well thought through.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jul 31, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review! We are focused on building an "I want to work here" culture and will be sure to share your feedback to the leadership team.

  3.  

    Great employer

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - PMO
    Former Employee - PMO

    Pros

    Good mentors, lots of learning opportunities if your motivated.

    Cons

    Takes time to get the ball rolling from head office in USA

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Can always improve on providing strategic communication.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jul 28, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review. We hope that you'll keep Newell Rubbermaid in mind for future career opportunities.

  4. We want your feedback – Are these company reviews helpful to you?  Yes | No
  5.  

    About to take it to the next level....

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee  in  Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA

    Pros

    It is not possible to brag enough about Newell Rubbermaid's Global headquarters based in Atlanta, GA and the employees that define the company! The Executive Leadership has made some very tough decisions in the past that are focused on developing the company and taking our success to the next level. My first interaction with the organization came through their outstanding internal recruiting department and my experience has continued to be a challenging and rewarding one ever since.

    Cons

    The only con that comes to my mind is that compensation is not where it could be and the opportunity to develop our internal employees is not as great as other companies that I have worked for in the past.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Please continue to develop your internal employees and give opportunity to expand their/our skill sets while also gaining exposure to other functions within the organization....if someone is willing to continue to grow their career internally the opportunity should be there and supported rather than challenged.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jul 22, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review! This is helpful feedback and we'll be sure to share with our leadership teams.

  6.  

    Great place to work!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Human Resources Manager  in  Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Human Resources Manager in Atlanta, GA

    Pros

    I have worked at Newell Rubbermaid for 9 years and I can not imagine working anywhere else. Newell is the perfect place for proactive, energized people who are willing to go above and beyond to get work done If you ask anyone, they will respond that their favorite thing about Newell is the PEOPLE. There is just something special about Newell Rubbermaid employees...their passion, willingness to help or get the job done, and most importantly their desire to make a difference for their peers and for our consumers.

    The company and job experience is what you make of it at Newell. You truly get out whatever you put in...meaning this is a place where you need to approach someone if you are ready to move to the next level and are interested in pursuing training or approach someone if you want to learn about a more flexible work arrangement. When I have asked, the company and my managers have answered. This is not a company that gives you a mundane work experience so if you are looking for the everyday normal with no change and 100% consistency than this isn't the place for you. My experience has been a time of company growth and change at both the business structure level and at the leadership level. No matter what anyone says the decisions being made are the best decisions for the company's future. We are working towards becoming a best in class company in today's economy and to do that - change has to happen. Your work experience at Newell promises an innovative and creative work environment and one where your ideas can be heard. I highly recommend job prospects to look seriously at Newell as a place where they can begin and end their career.

    Cons

    If you are not interested in an environment that evolves during the execution of its Growth Game Plan strategy than this is not the place for you.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Continue to build on some of the communication best practices that are happening across the company from skip level lunches to round tables to emails and video messages...make it consistent. Employees want to hear from you. Continue to try and be transparent no matter how tough the message. If I meet a leader, I am typically impressed with the Newell qualities that I see from the humility and passion for our people and brands. Speak up, get in front of employees and travel so that others can see those same qualities.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jul 24, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review! NWL is a great place to work and we are excited about our future! Great feedback to our leaders. We'll be sure to share.

  7.  

    Good place to work!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Very lean, which is awesome for a young professional, because you get to work on a lot of cool projects that other large companies wouldn't let you touch at the entry-level. Also, great coworkers - I love the people I work with every day.

    Cons

    Because it's so lean, there is a LOT of work to do and you're expected to be scrappy.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Sometimes it seems like leaders don't trust lower level people - the decisions are top heavy and we're expected to be worker bees instead of decision makers.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jul 21, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review! It's always great to hear that employees are growing professionally as well as personally at NWL. We'll be sure to share your feedback with the engagement team.

  8. 1 person found this helpful  

    Improvement is imminent

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sourcing Manager  in  Huntersville, NC
    Current Employee - Sourcing Manager in Huntersville, NC

    Pros

    I really love the laid back culture - being able to wear jeans to work everyday, and having (manager-approved) flexible work hours/work from home from time to time allows for great work life balance. Also, it is nice working for a company that has such strong and exciting brands that you see everyday while at the office, at home, out shopping, etc.

    Cons

    Challenges with career development (no clear career pathing) and making sure that top talent is being rewarded and recognized for the work that they are putting in. Morale has been low for the past 2 years with lots of corporate restructuring, however we are now seeing the light at the end of the tunnel and things seem to be getting better.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Talk to the people with their "boots on the ground" to hear their painpoints, concerns, etc. Consider a formal work from home policy to save on office and overhead costs and keep personnel happy. Trickle bonuses down to all people who are executing - not just managers and above, but consider the "workerbees" who are getting the job done every day as well

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jun 23, 2014Campus Recruiter

    Thank you for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we'll be sure that the right teams and leadership receives it. With mid-year reviews coming up, it's a great time to discuss your ... More

  9.  

    Strong company with strong brands.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Analyst  in  Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Analyst in Atlanta, GA

    Pros

    Great brands with a strong strategic plan to grow. Worklife balance is acceptable and a lot of investment in Employee Resource Groups and innovation.

    Cons

    Health benefits are not great.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Continue the focus on employee development. And make sure to recognize and reward those who are going above and beyond.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jun 23, 2014Campus Recruiter

    Thank you for your review! We value our employees feedback and will be sure to utilize it to continuously improve our culture and work environment.

  10.  

    Opportunities for the Motivated

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee  in  Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA

    Pros

    Young talented workforce that is relatively diverse. Recognizable brands and nice/newer work environments. Office location is central (Sandy Springs), so its convenient to most northern suburbs and midtown/downtown. Good opportunities for advancement in most departments if you are willing to work for it. The company is fully committed to its Growth Game Plan. If you are on board and make your aspirations known to management, opportunities for advancement won't be hard to find. Bonus structure is very competitive from Manager level on up.

    Cons

    Development for entry level employees is hit or miss, you need to really be proactive with your management in most cases to visibility to upcoming opportunities. Also, there have been significant resource reductions in recent years, so work/life balance can be a challenging given the pressure to perform with less in many departments. Company is really starting to focus on employee engagement with new Chief HR Officer. Hopefully things continue to move in the right direction.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    More focus on cross functional projects. Management voices "One Company" strategy, but many departments still focus on self server objectives. Give high performing business functions more resources (head count) to avoid burning out performers. Create opportunities for low/mid level resources to advance.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jun 9, 2014Campus Recruiter

    Thank you for your review and dedication to the company! We are very excited for our continued growth and employee engagement is a top priority for our leadership teams. We want your feedback! Feel ... More

  11.  

    Opportunities for those with initiative

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Manager  in  Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Atlanta, GA

    Pros

    Newell Rubbermaid has some great products and finally investing in advertising to continue to build our brands. The company has a great growth plan which allows for many opportunities for people with talent, experience and initiative. We have wonderful training opportunities, great cafeteria, free sodas, gym, starbucks, marta line and company store.

    Cons

    There has been a lot of change over the recent years. The company is flexible but with fewer people doing more the work life balance has taken its toll.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    The transformation projects have allowed us to invest in the right places. We need to focus on employee engagement and work on what drives the team to continue to deliver. We are moving from good to great and driving to exceptional.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    May 27, 2014Campus Recruiter

    Thank you for your review! It is a very exciting time to be a part of our company. Employee engagement is a big initiative for our leaders and we look forward to seeing how future initiatives ... More

Worked for Newell Rubbermaid? Contribute to the Community!

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.