Newell Rubbermaid Reviews

Updated June 18, 2015
44 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Any Status
Employment Status

Reset
5.0
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Newell Rubbermaid President and Chief Executive Officer Michael B. Polk
Michael B. Polk
26 Ratings

Pros
  • The hours are good for work / life balance (in 25 reviews)

  • Great people to work with across different departments (in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • Work life balance was best in class (in 21 reviews)

  • Not many to report other then upper management listen to employees ideas a little more (in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

44 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Helpful (2)

    Sr. Sales Rep

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid full-time

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Great communication with management. Great people to work with and can develop lasting friendships with colleagues.

    Cons

    Going through a lot of changes within the organization. C-Suite leadership is not consistent with their message and only care about the current stock price. Bonus structure is always changing. (not to the benefit of the sales force)
    Company culture is non-existent.

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jun 23, 2015Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.


  2. R&D Intern

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid as an intern

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Great company benefits (discounts on most - if not all - Newell Rubbermaid products). High spirited atmosphere (there was a World Cup viewing party). Good cafeteria (healthy options available). Wonderful coworkers.

    Cons

    Its located in Sandy Springs. Meaning if you want to live in Atlanta, you have a bad commute. From downtown, it takes over an hour by car or MARTA.

    Advice to Management

    Longer internships; possibly 6 months. And 1 day of vacation earned for every month that an intern has worked there. Also, start training interns the very first week.

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    May 4, 2015Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your internship experience with us and hope you'll consider us for full-time opportunities.


  3. Excellent company to work for.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources
    Former Employee - Human Resources

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (More than 10 years)

    Recommends
    Recommends

    Pros

    Endless career development opportunities. Great training and mentoring.

    Cons

    Organization changes were frequent during my time with the company however, that goes with the territory in a turbulent economy in my view.

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Mar 4, 2015Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review! We wish you the best of luck and hope you'll keep Newell Rubbermaid in mind for future career opportunities.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Double

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (More than 8 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Newell is positioned to grow globally

    Cons

    Our growth is surpassing capacity

    Advice to Management

    Continue the game plan

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Feb 17, 2015Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.


  6. Writing segment in Downers Grove, IL. Good place to work.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance Support in Downers Grove, IL
    Former Employee - Finance Support in Downers Grove, IL

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Company has direction and a plan. Operates with a nice margin and management knows what they are doing. Good work life balance. Gereat working staff.

    Cons

    Limited opportunities for employee growth and advancement due to smaller size of division at this location.

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jan 9, 2015Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review!


  7. Helpful (2)

    Great Company

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Business Analyst
    Current Contractor - Business Analyst

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid as a contractor (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Management really gets involved with their team. You're also able to work in a team setting or independently with ease. No micromanaging.

    Cons

    Wish I could get hired in sooner

    Advice to Management

    None

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Dec 18, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review. Be sure to reach out to the Talent Acquisition team and let them know of your interest. As new positions become available they can keep you in mind.


  8. Helpful (1)

    A good company starts with great people, and Newell Rubbermaid has them.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Development in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Product Development in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    The range of product provides unique challenges and opportunities to grow your skill set. The people that make up the heart of the company are awesome! The middle management, which is often the bane of a company, is top notch (unbelievable right? but it's true). The pay is good and the facilities are nice.

    Cons

    Because it operated like a holding company in the past, logistics of working with your team can be challenging. While the company has provided significant resources for e-collaboration, sometimes a good face-to-face is necessary. Luckily, if the business case is there, travel is most often approved. These are growing pains as the company transitions to a more holistic, matricized approach to product development.

    Advice to Management

    The intellectual property process could use some tweaking. Some form of financial incentive for IP generation could spark innovation.

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Dec 15, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review!


  9. Helpful (1)

    Human resources Assistant

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Professionnal ethics, beautiful values, amazing people, good ambiance, real feeling of belonging to the company, multicultural environnement. Wishing to build together and in team building.

    Cons

    Newell is a company with several Business Unit which are fondamentally relevant and so supplementary.

    Advice to Management

    Good management, gratefully and proposing some trainings, learning and development and always in order to enhance skills.

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Nov 17, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review! We think it's a pretty great place to work too. We wish you the best of luck and hope you'll keep us in mind for future career opportunities.


  10. I love working there. Trying to get hired on full-time

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid

    Pros

    Great environment, supervisors listen to their employees on ideas to help with efficiency. They care about the employees, even the temps. Always evolving to higher productivity. The team leaders are great cheerleaders when someone is having a bad day.

    Cons

    Getting hired through the company takes way too long and I think in turn it makes turn over increase.

    Advice to Management

    The advice I have is to maybe hire on some temps a little bit more because there are quite a few that love it there. I love my job and its because of you guys at our maryville tn sharpie plant. Thank you!

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Nov 17, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoy working at Newell and encourage you to work with your Human Resources Business Partner on next steps in the process.


  11. Great People, Great Intern Projects/Development

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - R&D Intern in Huntersville, NC
    Former Intern - R&D Intern in Huntersville, NC

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid as an intern (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    The people are very friendly. I was surprised at how friendly, as I was coming from some other hardcore engineering companies.

    Work every intern did was meaningful. Some actually had an impact on the company and product development moving forward. Some interns weren't as successful with theirs, but they made some cool projects nonetheless.

    Freedom of creativity in your designs; no micromanagement. Could always ask for help, but they really let you do you, which is really great.

    Work-life balance was encouraged, especially with "summer hours" (you could leave early on Friday if you worked a bit extra each day of the week).

    Lots of fun, planned activities for interns (baseball game, white water rafting, bowling, etc...)

    Pair you with a mentor so you can get acclimated with a friendly employee that isn't your boss.

    Free coffee (Starbucks), free soda, free popcorn. Often times free lunch if there was leftovers after a meeting/you were in a meeting at lunchtime.

    Great intern class (very social, met a lot of great people).

    Cons

    Had my own project/budget/timeline, so I didn't get to see much of what daily work was like for engineers there.

    No overtime pay for interns. (I worked quite a bit of overtime, because I was driven to complete my project, and complete it well, within my 3 months. It is definitely NOT required, and, most importantly, NOT encouraged.)

    Because work life balance (as in, leaving exactly at 5pm) is so common, I think some projects took a little longer than they needed to.

    Housing stipend was a bit low for such short-term, furnished leases.

    Advice to Management

    Keep recruiting interns/employees from outside of the area. This forces them to hang out together/become friends!

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Nov 17, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review. We are very proud of our interns and am glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us! We hope you'll consider us for full-time opportunities next year.



Showing 44 of 391 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.