Nutrisystem

www.nutrisystem.com

Nutrisystem Reviews

Updated January 8, 2015
Updated January 8, 2015
61 Reviews
2.7
61 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Dawn M. Zier
25 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Worked as a Contractor in their Business Dept not the Call Center (in 5 reviews)

  • Good Pay, Good Co- Workers, Good PTO, Good Benefits (in 4 reviews)


Cons
  • Lack of respect for call center employees (in 6 reviews)

  • The company has been re-structured 2-3 times in the last 2 years and not even upper management was safe (in 6 reviews)

More Highlights

21 Employee Reviews Back to all reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Terribly frustrating and stressful!!!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Weight Loss Counselor in Fort Washington, PA
    Former Employee - Weight Loss Counselor in Fort Washington, PA

    I worked at Nutrisystem part-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    The company has an excellent product and great people work there. My co-workers were awesome!

    Cons

    Management tends to utilize a negative strategy to deal with employees. For example, there is an attendance policy that does not allow employees to utilize sick days when they are sick. In fact there are no sick days. Many employees are forced to either use their PTO "Paid Time Off" or to come to work sick. Management makes no exceptions in these cases and employees are often penalized for calling out of work. The ability to advance within the company is minimal. Only certain hand-picked people are allowed to be promoted, while others who have been at the company for years, and are extremely qualified are not being promoted.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Management needs to understand that when you are good to your people they will be good to you. Try a more positive approach to dealing with employees. Give them a more positive and fair work environment and a more flexible time-off policy, which will help them to have a more enjoyable experience at your company.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Nutrisystem Response

    Jan 12, 2015Senior Recruiter

    We are appreciative of your feedback and suggestions. Our Paid Time Off policy is created to cover both Vacation & Sick days. We review our policies on a regular basis to make sure they are ... More

  2.  

    Horrible

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Call Center in Fort Washington, PA
    Former Employee - Call Center in Fort Washington, PA

    I worked at Nutrisystem full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    Meet some nice people. There are a small handful of caring individuals working there who have high integrity. Some of the supervisors honestly care about their people.

    Cons

    Subpar training, blatant gossiping, disrespectful supervisors, High turnover, call center employes make up stories to sell the product to people who cannot afford it. Jealously rules the place as far as sales go, others in stiff competition to sell prepackaged non-food, laden with chemicals. It was like being in hell. A high compensation rate cannot make up for the stressful, spy like environment.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Training should be more hands on with computers that actually work. Spend more time training the supervisors about respect, common courtesy and basic manners. Most of the call center employees are there because they cannot find jobs elsewhere, some have degrees and are high functioning and put up with being treated poorly.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  3.  

    Total Disrespect for Employees' Intelligence

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Weight Loss Counselor in Fort Washington, PA
    Former Employee - Weight Loss Counselor in Fort Washington, PA

    I worked at Nutrisystem full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    the work environment is clean, there are several social occasions throughout the year such as employee appreciation BBQ and Holiday party.

    Cons

    nepotism:

    people are groomed by management for promotions. when positions in management open up, they already know who they're going to hire even though they encourage any employee to apply. there was once a position for team lead open and they held interviews. They offered the position to the person they had been grooming but that person did want the shift that was offered and declined the position. Instead of hiring another qualified applicant, management decided to not fill the position at all and instead break up the responsibilities of the position and give them to the people who had applied without giving them a raise or promotion.

    increased responsibility:

    During my time with the company, the weight loss counselors responsibilities increased to cover several responsibilities of all the other departments.

    Counselors are expected to handle overflow from sales, retention, customer service, and Nutrition and Dietary. There is no department that handles overflow from counseling. I suppose management might say that is because weight loss counselor is a position that requires a degree while most other departments do not. However, a rep in sales or retention that is good at their job can easily earn more money than the degree carrying counselors and customer service reps only starts $1 less an hour than counselors.

    reduced benefits/compensations:

    Since starting with the company I have seen a reduction in benefits and compensation. The have removed the on site gym to save money on insurance and they have reduced the commission earned by counselors.

    While continuing counselors (a position that is supposed to be about personal service) to sell more and more, commissions have been reduced. For each program sale, a counselor used to get $10 and for ala carte orders, 3% (both numbers considerably less than what a sale rep would earn for similar sales) . Not long after starting there, they changed it to 3% across the board which means a counselor could only make $6-$9 per program sale (depending on the program) as opposed to $10. and more recently, commission has been reduced to 2% across the board.

    Also, on several occasions, we would all receive emails that said we were to cover retention and try to prevent people from canceling their program. A retention rep would make commission on saving customers but a counselor does not.

    All in all, the company definitely feels like it is trying to act like a bigger company than it actually is.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Treat your employees better. Initial benefits seems appealing but stop tripping them away.Hire more employees, fill that half empty call center to relive pressure on employees.

    Add another call center for the west coast instead of one call center on the east coast for the whole country which leads to long hours for employees without any lulls in phone activity. If the company wants to continue to perform well across the entire country than it needs to expand physically.

    If you want employees to sell more, offer more commission not less.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Nutrisystem Response

    Jan 7, 2015HR Director

    Thank you for your note. I am sorry that your experience with us was not more positive. Your experience does not reflect the majority of our staff in our Contact Center. We recently ended our ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    Great Pay, Poor management

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Call Center Representative in Fort Washington, PA
    Former Employee - Call Center Representative in Fort Washington, PA

    I worked at Nutrisystem full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    great pay, pto, free coffee, meeting other call center reps.

    Cons

    events for sickness,and lateness
    aux times
    team leaders and supervisors never help
    high turn over

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    train team leads and supervisors
    stand up for reps when the client is wrong
    tell supervisors and leads to stop passing the buck take calls instead of sending to voicemails makes clients more irrate
    actually understand your employees we are people with families too

    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Nutrisystem Response

    Jan 7, 2015HR Director

    Thanks for your note. Nutrisystem’s Contact Center employees are provided ample support once they complete their training. These include not only our supervisory team, but also lead staff and call ... More

  6.  

    Interesting

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Retention Representative
    Former Employee - Retention Representative

    I worked at Nutrisystem (less than a year)

    Pros

    Notice the positive reviews are from higher ups or white collar temps. The bad reviews seem to get buried by good ones. The cut our yearly promised commission

    Cons

    The toxic and culturally biased environment

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Stop inflating stats and online reviews.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
  7.  

    Disgraceful

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Fort Washington, PA
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Fort Washington, PA

    I worked at Nutrisystem full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    They have beautiful office space.

    Cons

    This company is disgraceful. They treat their employers like dirt, then have massive layoffs, but continue to allow the CEO who mishandled funds to stay.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Nutrisystem Response

    Aug 14, 2014HR Director

    Thank you for your feedback. As an organization, we are highly focused on employee engagement and continuously monitor the quality of our employee experience. In our most recent employee survey ... More

  8.  

    Discriminatory Human Resources.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Retention Representative in Fort Washington, PA
    Former Employee - Retention Representative in Fort Washington, PA

    I worked at Nutrisystem full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    The pay was exceptional compared to similar jobs with the same title.
    Most of the customers were friendly.
    Great benefits.

    Cons

    The hours are not flexible no matter the circumstances.
    I was let go because I was out with a disability and they refused to accommodate me. They fired me instead. Which is illegal.
    Their upper management is disconnected from the actual employees. There is no communication.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Don't fire someone with a disability and act like you did nothing wrong. You ruin people's lives and don't care. Everything is about the final dollar. Stop treating the employees like slaves.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Nutrisystem Response

    Aug 13, 2014HR Director

    Nutrisystem selects, places, trains, transfers and promotes the best-qualified individuals based upon relevant factors such as education, work quality, attitude and experience so as to provide equal ... More

  9. 1 person found this helpful  

    Former sales

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Fort Washington, PA
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Fort Washington, PA

    I worked at Nutrisystem full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Very easy position to learn and be good at right away.

    Cons

    No career path, supervisors make less than top salespeople. And salespeople don't make a lot anymore. Have to work weekends and holidays. Too much work for too little money. Product is outdated. Money was ok when I started, but steadily went down each year. Have to work 6-7 days a week during diet season to make enough for the yr. introduced software designed to turn off your phone if you didn't get enough sales each hr. Became obvious that the company doesn't want salespeople at all and just wants customers to order online, which is understandable from a management/profitability standpoint, but miserable if you are a salesperson. People are fired for anything and everything. Bogus calls/hang ups are counted against your numbers and can result in your phone being turned off.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Get rid of salespeople entirely, it is obvious that they are not wanted. Find new sales channels.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  10.  

    Sinking ship!!!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Nutrisystem full-time

    Pros

    The money can be ok if you work hard.

    Cons

    Everything else! Are you ignorant and uneducated? Then this is the place for you! Otherwise, run for the hills!
    Training--what training? You are given one week of basic sales training and then thrown to the sharks. You get a sales manual that you have to teach yourself and that does not even cover the job properly.
    Supervisors and management? Really? So you ask your supervisor for help, and they tell you to find it in the book--ugh, its not there thats why Im asking? Every supervisor is miserable--they dont even look you in the face when you ask a question. In fact, you are told by employees not to speak to managers bc they will be of no help to you. Wow, imagine Nutrisystem clients knowing that the person they are speaking to is not trained properly nor do supervisors care or want to help. I have had many clients complain about the people they had spoken to on the phone before me and that it was near impossible to get a supervisor on the phone to help. This is a place that puts their clients first? No way. There is no way to instant chat with anyone when you have a question, so you have to put the client on hold, get off the phone, run around the football field call center looking for help---and most times, no one is even there to help you!!! So, you have to wait and wait....and then you dont even get the help you need bc the supervisor just does not know. Lazy is an understatement.
    I emailed my supervisor many times with questions, never to hear back ever. I asked how to do something twice--was told, next time it happens, come get me and ill help--guess what? next time you werent there again!
    Supervisors and management set you up for failure. They could care less, unless it directly affects their job. Thats why the company is constantly bringing in large groups of people, and firing, laying off months later--they weed out the staff constantly. Its a revolving door and this is joked about by the people that are left.
    If Nutrisystem wants to be a company that will be around in the next few years, then they have to fire all managers and supervisors stat. Clean house. Just because someone has been there since 2000, this does not make them a good manager. Good managers have educations and are motivating and uplifting to employees! They are not holding to guidelines and codes of conduct that worked last in 2005. Get with the times! Stop being a prison and start caring about your employees.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Clean house! There is a new CEO--now get new management. You are slowly sinking---its evident in the corporate environment and the fact that 1/3 of the call center is even used. There are more empty seats than filled seats.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Nutrisystem Response

    May 16, 2014HR Director

    Nutrisystem’s Contact Center sales employees are supported through a rigorous three week training program led by a dedicated trainer to onboard them to our Contact Center and organization. They are ... More

  11. 1 person found this helpful  

    Everything is based on politics and who you know

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Nutrisystem

    Pros

    depending on department, could be a great group of people

    Cons

    It's not about your skills or experience, it's about who you know and politics.

    Doesn't Recommend

Work at Nutrisystem? Share Your Experiences

Nutrisystem

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.