Paycom Reviews

Updated March 27, 2015
132 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Current Employees
4.4
132 Reviews
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Paycom President Chad Richison
Chad Richison
157 Ratings

132 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. 1 person found this helpful

    Don't get tricked!!! Run away!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Paycom (less than a year)

    Pros

    Cheap benefits and easy hook ups with coworkers during "training meetings".

    Cons

    Pretty much everything else.

    -little room for advancement outside of sales.
    -most of management is clueless.
    -horrible work life balance and high stress due to fear of being let go.
    -customers are mislead and treated poorly.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    I can't wait to put in my two week notice at the end of this month and am so happy that I'm able to find another job. This was one of the worst experiences of my life. I was lied to during the entire interview process and asked explicit questions. I should have listened to the negative reviews on here. Also, Paycom adds most of the positive reviews themselves in order to recurit fresh college grads who either don't know better or can't do better.

    Good Luck Paycom and I feel for everyone stuck at that place.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Paycom Response

    Mar 27, 2015Representative

    We are continuously working to enhance processes and procedures, and part of that includes initiatives to implement career development paths across all departments, not just in sales. We are ... More

  2. 4 people found this helpful

    Might as well call this place PayCon.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Outside B2B Software Sales in Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Outside B2B Software Sales in Washington, DC

    I have been working at Paycom full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    Employees steal sales from one another.

    Cons

    You're promised high pay, but you don't get it.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    You need new staff.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Paycom Response

    Jan 14, 2015Representative

    We are sorry to hear you’re less than pleased. Our sales organization has protected territories and we are concerned to hear of your experience. In order to ensure this doesn’t happen, we encourage ... More

  3. 14 people found this helpful

    Nothing But Lies! No Diversity, All Good Reviews On Glassdoor Are Fake:

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Oklahoma City, OK
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Oklahoma City, OK

    I have been working at Paycom full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Benefits Are Ok But Thats It

    Cons

    Warning!!!!!!!!!! Anytime You See This Many Good Reviews They Are All Fake Even The Best Companies In The World To Work For Dont Have This Many Reviews That Are Good. The Reviews Are Fabricated By Paycom. Just Last Year Alone Our Reviews Were Very Bad But Paycom Had A Solution To This By Developing Good Reviews Themselves. They Also Have No Diversity And They Dont Want It Either, Racist, Pay Should Be Better For This Industry. We Were Ask To Post Good Reviews Online And We Would Get Bonuses. Keep In Mind I Wasnt Willing To Do It Because It Would Be Nothing But Lies And Im Sure Someone Will Add More Lies After This Review But Its Sad How Things Are Ran Within This Company. They Dont Want To Hire Anyone Of Color Its Terrible For The Company they prefer people that look like me and them WHITE, they dont believe that anyone that is a person of color would be able to be trusted by business owners and sell payroll and they believe that people of color cant sell at all and it makes the company look bad this is how the entire company is if you dont believe me look at LinkedIn and call corporate and ask how many minorities( African-American, Hispanic, Asian, etc) do they have on staff. Anyone That Has More Then 2 Jobs On There Resume Is A Job Hopper, Prefers College Graduates So They Can Do Whatever They Tell Them, Management Is Terrible one you are hired And Most Dont Know What They Are Doing Especially There Recruiters What A Joke they also have a certain type that they like to hire again look at LinkedIn they eventually will have a class action lawsuit with all of there dated practices, This Is The Worst Place I Have Ever Worked. They Actually Want People To Believe That This Is One Of The Best Places To Work In America When All Of This On Glassdoor Is Fabricated By The Owners, Management, And Hr. This Company Lives In The Ice Ages And They Will Do Anything To Make Potential Employees Believe That They Are A Good Company To Work For. There's Better Companies In America That Appreciate Diversity, Pay Well, And Have Great Management, And Excellent Benefits. Paycom Is Nothing What People Are Saying In These Fake Reviews My Advice Run And Dont Even Waste Your Time With Paycom Unless You Want To Be A Part Of The Revolving Door They Are Always Hiring They Cant Keep Sales Reps And If They Hire You And You Are A Person Of Color If You Cough Wrong You Will Be Fired It Goes On Throughout The Company.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Terrible. Get All New Management in every department!

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Paycom Response

    Nov 17, 2014Representative

    We understand that not all posts are positive. In fact, we embrace all feedback, both good and bad. However, this post violates many of the Glassdoor Review Standards as it’s unbalanced, full of ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 12 people found this helpful

    Read review: The Full True Story

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales Representative
    Current Employee - Sales Representative

    I have been working at Paycom full-time

    Pros

    Some of the people I have met are amazing people that will find success no matter where they are or what they do.

    Cons

    The review titled "The Full True Story" really hits it on the nose for the most part.
    Work/life balance: There is no work life balance at Paycom. After 6 months you will accumulate about 1.5 days of vacation time so for the first year don't plan on doing anything with your family or friends.
    Micromanagement: You will work in an environment of micromanagement. So if you like to be micromanaged all day every day then this is perfect for you. You will be working from 7am till 6pm every day. You will be at the office on Mondays, Tuesdays, and Fridays at 7am sharp and don't be late even though you won't really start making phone calls till 8:30am. That hour and a half is used for "pumping up" by playing silly games such as taboo, pictionary, or catch phrase. And if you try to use those early morning hours to do work and not participate in the games - you will not be allowed. On every Friday there is a conference call at 4pm that lasts about an hour or hour and a half so that everyone can read off their sales for the week to the whole country and that you must be present for and you must take from the office. It seems to me that it would be a better use of time and money to be working in the field that last hour of work on Fridays because I can easily read an excel spreadsheet myself without having someone else read it off to me. On Good Friday before Easter the call lasted until 6:30pm. Again no work/life balance.
    Training: They say the training is considered a mini MBA but I would say it is standard in sales and nothing crazy. I have been a part of much more intense training programs that lasted 16 weeks (versus Paycom 5 weeks of training including corporate) and where you would spend time with successful tenured reps in order to learn best practices. At Paycom I rode with a rep only 5 times and who had under a year of experience and no executive status. My manager was never involved in any of the training. After training I tried to get my manager to ride with me sometimes but was told that unless I had an appointment with an executive or it was a second call then they would not be helping me or riding with me. This is not the kind of feedback you want to hear fresh out of training and early on in your career at Paycom. You will not be trained on how to transition an account to the Paycom payroll - you will just learn as you go and hope for the best with your first payroll sale. So expect your first payroll transition to have many bumps and issues and expect to now dedicate most of your time to transitioning the payroll instead of looking for new business and selling.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Dedicate more to field training to new sales reps by partnering them with tenured successful reps. Stop wasting precious work hours with silly games in the morning and hour long conference calls every week that are redundant and do not provide any added benefit. It would be much more effective to send out via email every week the sales across the country to everyone and once a month host a conference call to highlight the biggest sales and why they were successful. This way Friday afternoons could be utilized making sales calls, having appointments, finding "rainbows" or doing extra training. Currently no one pays attention during the Friday conference call until their region is up and they have to speak. Otherwise the call is on mute and everyone is playing with their cell phones or doing other things.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Paycom Response

    Jul 17, 2014Representative

    We value your feedback and are sorry to hear your viewpoints of our sales culture. We pride ourselves on the high-character individuals that make up our organization and know that a career with ... More

  6. 8 people found this helpful

    No Work/Life Balance

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in DFW, TX
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in DFW, TX

    I have been working at Paycom full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    Great opportunity for amazing compensation

    Cons

    Very political, poor management (condescending), they play favorites like nobody's business, poor company/sales ethics, no work/life balance, inadequate training on set-up processes for clients, job isn't just sales - includes ALL prospecting, selling and setting up new clients

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Management needs to work on motivating their employees through other ways than scare tactics and making them feel as if they are less of a person if they mess up a call, or lose a sale. Invest in helping the sales reps - give sales the time to sell and give them the tools/help to prospect other than completely on their own (buy leads lists that aren't 10 years old, hire a small team to help prospect across the company).

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Paycom Response

    Mar 13, 2014Representative

    Sorry to hear you’re experiencing difficulties in your current role. We do expect a lot from our sales reps including prospecting and setting up new clients, which is a competitive advantage and why ... More

  7. 3 people found this helpful

    Paycom has great potential with little substance to back it up.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Paycom

    Pros

    Inexpensive health insurance
    The people
    Training (initial)

    Cons

    Generally speaking, Paycom does not hire software professionals, and, in some cases professionals at all. I come with numerous years of experience and I know a great product when I see it. Our software is beautiful and on the rise. However, Paycom has done a terrible job at tackling the growth effectively. Specialist are over worked and stretched too thin, the training specialists should really be called the "set up and leave specialists" , the sales team is idolized as Gods, and the client relations department is the red headed step child that gets to deal with an angry client\ incompetent or undertrained team members, for years.
    As a client rep, you are not paid on retention. Your salary is a laughable tiered structure starting at 45k ( average in software is 85k) Then, you will work until 11 at night at least 3 nights a week, solving issues for your clients, and answering numerous emails to help keep your team a float. We get told that we are "the angels" of Paycom, saving and maintaining multi millions of business, yet you are paid like an entry level cold caller.
     As a newer department, growing pains happen. This isn't growing pains, this is an issue with structural integrity.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    In short, software is difficult, not every one gets it. Please stop hiring pretty faces with little to no REAL experience. As product grows and continues to develop, compensate your employees accordingly. Offer a legitimate structure for growth and stop making excuses. Your employees need to see an action plan for change. I hear the rumbling from colleagues and I am not even close to being the most upset/dissatisfied.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Paycom Response

    Mar 24, 2015Representative

    Technology and our people are cornerstones of our organization. We take great pride in the high-quality individuals we hire and that is reflective in the growth of our company. In addition to the ... More

  8. 12 people found this helpful

    Sales Representative

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales Representative
    Current Employee - Sales Representative

    I have been working at Paycom full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    Pay. This really is the only thing the position has going for it. And that's if you can learn the business, have success in selling, and have a lot of luck. If you really give it your best shot, you will probably make a decent amount of money.

    Cons

    This is a strong word of advice/caution for people with families. The work/life balance is horrible. In my interviews, I was told the job is 7:30 to 5:00 in most offices with a one hour lunch break. You must not expect this to be true. I would say the company is border line deceitful about how much it will truly require of you to maintain your work load in this position. There is truly no possible way for you to keep up with everything in this position with normal work hours but they certainly don't tell you that in your interviews. Also, you are made to feel terrible and like a constant failure until you put in more hours. It is extremely wrong and unhealthy to do this to people. I left a good job because I was recruited for this position. In theory, this job really did seem like a fantastic choice. Now this job feels like my nightmare because it has taken away so much time from my spouse and children. It was strongly suggested to me by upper management to rearrange my personal time with my spouse and kids just so that I could work more. This job is terrible for families especially if you value your family over money. The only thing upper management seems to value is money. People in my position at my particular office are not looked at as valued human beings but rather work horses for more money. It's a sick environment in that aspect. I cannot speak for other offices or management as a whole since this my personal experience within my office. If you are a young single person, this job would be great. You will still have no life, but at least you won't be forced to cut down your own spouse and children for the "good of the company."

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    You should be up front with people that are interviewing for the sales rep positions about what will be required of them. You hurting young families by making this seem like a relatively "normal" 8 to 5 job with a lunch. Hard work is fine. But not at the loss of sleep, time to eat, and time to spend with family. Your managers you are hiring need some sort of accountability for what they are saying to their employees or how they are actually managing their people. In my case, there is no management...just filling us with fear that we will all lose our jobs if we don't "figure it out." Your managers should never be able to get away with telling people to spend less time with their children so they can work more. There should absolutely be correction for that, and there should be a safe place employees can go to report things like this about their management without fear of losing their jobs. I would think that if you give more kindness, more time off, and not just use fear tactics on people, that your company would thrive even more. People would be happier, actually enjoy their job, and be more loyal and hardworking for a company that treats them with respect. I want to love this job. In theory I could love this job. But I was strongly asked to spend less time with my family to work more. How am I supposed to just deal with that. I'm already working from about 6:00am to 5:30pm and then work more in the evening and working some on weekends.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Paycom Response

    Feb 23, 2015Representative

    Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We understand and appreciate the need for work/life balance and just like any career; the balance is more easily attained with experience. We pride ... More

  9. 11 people found this helpful

    Poor leadership and write their own company reviews

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales Representative
    Current Employee - Sales Representative

    I have been working at Paycom full-time

    Pros

    The pay and benefits are great. If you have the perfect storm, you will be well compensated in commission.

    Cons

    The company has no listed values or moral conduct. They promote based on achievement which is great, until you get the job and realize that your achievement is based on your territory. They do not review the territories and just assign them, therefore you can get into a tricky situation if you get a rough territory and a manager who is unwilling to listen to your concerns. They have no way of standardizing metrics, so you will be selling a territory of 5 zip codes against someone who has a whole state and you will be held to the same standards. They are very old school in their management tactics and use verbal threats and write ups as motivation.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Invest in your leadership. Do a Six Sigma training so that leaders understand realistic metrics and set good expectations. Set a moral code for your company.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Paycom Response

    Oct 10, 2014Representative

    Thank you for pointing out the positives in the pay and benefits. We are sorry to hear you feel the way you do, but we want you and others to know that we do review territories. We divide ... More

  10. 8 people found this helpful

    Good and bad all rolled up into one tortilla

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Paycom full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Catered lunches= $4.
    Constant Paycom cheer leading & freebies (ie: shirts, pens, etc).
    On-site gym
    Medical care= $1 (not including vision & dental).
    Company wide participation events (ie: contests, trivia, fundraising).
    Employee recognition.
    Parties.
    Company is growing and there is good job security.
    Benefits are decent & there is a 401k plan with match.
    For many departments, generally consistent hours.

    Cons

    Lots of office politics.
    Cliques are not discouraged.
    The quality of your experience working for Paycom will depend on your department/team
    In my own team, employees with bad work ethics have been rewarded, good behaviors are overlooked.
    On the same note, rewards are often left to chance instead of merit.
    Don't expect to get most holidays off-- do expect to come in during inclement weather... or else.
    Not a lot of vacation or sick time.
    Internal growth is minimal outside of your own department, Paycom has few internal positions posted, most are for external applicants only .
    Lower level management has "training" on leadership by people inexperienced in leadership. Managers/leads don't understand what it means to be a leader as opposed to a "boss."
    The company calls itself a training company, but when 20 somethings are training on topics they have no experience with... lessons can't be taken seriously.
    Lacks diverse work force. Lots of fresh out of college, women, in their early 20s. This can make for a very "high school" atmosphere.
    No part-time positions.
    The interview process .... is just terrible on every level from tests to the interviewers being prepared.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Be consistent within the company on expectations. Don't let some departments have rampant poor work ethics while others have high standards. Set company standards for what is expected and enforce them... for example, some departments have very high punctuality standards, others allow tardiness to run rampant.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Paycom Response

    Dec 10, 2013Representative

    We are committed to continuously evaluating our policies and procedures within our organization and embrace the opinions of each of our employees. As such, we survey our workforce each year and found ... More

  11. 2 people found this helpful

    Not bad for 21 year olds

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oklahoma City, OK
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oklahoma City, OK

    I have been working at Paycom

    Pros

    Nice office, people are mostly friendly. The benefit package for single people without children is very nice.

    Cons

    The pay is minimal for college graduates. One can make more money at any retail store without a degree.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Spend less money on snacks, and more money on employees.

    No opinion of CEO

Work at Paycom? Share Your Experiences

Paycom

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.