Paycom

  www.paycom.com
  www.paycom.com

Paycom Reviews

Updated October 22, 2014
Updated October 22, 2014
145 Reviews
4.4
145 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Paycom President Chad Richison
Chad Richison
126 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • If you put in the hard work they will definitely reward you back (in 13 reviews)

  • Compensation is good and there is always room for growth in your career (in 5 reviews)


Cons
  • Work life balance at the beginning is definitely difficult (in 7 reviews)

  • I guess if you don't like hard work it could be considered a con (in 10 reviews)

More Highlights

110 Employee Reviews Back to all reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. 1 person found this helpful  

    Best job in 20 years!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oklahoma City, OK
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oklahoma City, OK

    I have been working at Paycom full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    In my two decade career, I have been with Paycom for only a little more than a year but I can honestly say that among my many jobs, it's the most secure, the most rewarding and the most fun. Corporations are not always a good fit for my creative personality, but this has proven to be the exception.

    In previous jobs, one of the worst things was dealing with toxic co-workers. Here they are not tolerated -- if they are hired at all they aren't kept around. In other words a friendly atmosphere of mutual respect is something I can look forward to each and every day. The diversity of workers is surprising for such a red state but something to be proud of 100%. While I came in with enough experience to bypass the entry-level positions, opportunities for advancement still exist for me and that's rare for so few OKC corporations.

    Training is thorough, ongoing, and covers more topics beyond just stuff we need to know for our jobs. Work-life balance definitely exists and is encouraged. The perks are terrific from $1 health insurance to $4 catered lunches daily.

    Cons

    The only real disappointment I had upon joining Paycom is the same more than a year later --- vacation time. There is not enough of it that first year compared to other companies, and if you like to take your vacation days in large chunks the accrual system can work against you depending upon when you start in the year. That changes upon your 1year anniversary, but the accrual system is still there.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    The vacation time issue should be addressed. At a company meeting about a year ago one of the VP's said it was being looked at...but no announcement has been made since.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  2. 1 person found this helpful  

    Growing Company Offering Excellent Career Growth

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales and Marketing in Oklahoma City, OK
    Current Employee - Sales and Marketing in Oklahoma City, OK

    I have been working at Paycom full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Paycom is fast-paced, fun and vibrant. I'm challenged every day to be the best I can be. I manage a large group of employees and am thrilled to have the opportunity to help them grow in their career and to watch them build their skill sets by providing them with more and more opportunities every day. That comes with being part of a rapidly growing company!

    Cons

    Paycom is not able to offer much flexibility, like working from home, or working flexible hours. This is unfortunate, however it is understandable. Many of our employees deal with very confidential information, so to insure the safety of the data, it never leaves Paycom.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Rapid growth can sometimes breed confusion and chaos. Paycom needs to stay committed to open communication, regular "all employee" meetings and leadership development.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  3. 1 person found this helpful  

    Paycom is a great place to grow

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Paycom Team Leader in Oklahoma City, OK
    Current Employee - Paycom Team Leader in Oklahoma City, OK

    I have been working at Paycom full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    The challenges I face everyday help me grow personally and professionally. I started at the bottom and I'm determined to make it to the top, and to get there Paycom gives me clear steps. I've never worked for a company that cares so much about your growth. It's not for the weak though, the hard work you put in is directly related to the rewards you get. Paycom knows how to balance hard work and play, the culture is incomparable.

    Cons

    Any customer service job is a difficult industry to be in and dealing with paychecks takes it to another level. If you can learn to let things roll off your back then you can succeed.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Paycom Response

    Oct 22, 2014Representative

    Thank you for telling others about your experience at Paycom. We value your hard work and dedication to the organization!

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review
  5. 1 person found this helpful  

    Collaborative Team

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oklahoma City, OK
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oklahoma City, OK

    I have been working at Paycom full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    Paycom is a busy, fast paced environment. There is no shortage of work and the team I work with are there to help with anything I need. I have worked for a couple large companies such as Paycom and they have all had their challenges but here I have found that everyone is willing to support each other. If you need help all you have to do is ask. $1 insurance, $4 lunches, free gym are some nice perks too.

    Cons

    IT has this place locked down. I understand the rational behind it, it just makes getting some things done a little harder. Other than that it's a great place to work.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Paycom Response

    Oct 16, 2014Representative

    Thank you for your review! We handle sensitive information which, as you noted, is why our IT security is very thorough. We appreciate your review and hope you have continued success at Paycom.

  6. 3 people found this helpful  

    Poor leadership and write their own company reviews

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales Representative
    Current Employee - Sales Representative

    I have been working at Paycom full-time

    Pros

    The pay and benefits are great. If you have the perfect storm, you will be well compensated in commission.

    Cons

    The company has no listed values or moral conduct. They promote based on achievement which is great, until you get the job and realize that your achievement is based on your territory. They do not review the territories and just assign them, therefore you can get into a tricky situation if you get a rough territory and a manager who is unwilling to listen to your concerns. They have no way of standardizing metrics, so you will be selling a territory of 5 zip codes against someone who has a whole state and you will be held to the same standards. They are very old school in their management tactics and use verbal threats and write ups as motivation.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Invest in your leadership. Do a Six Sigma training so that leaders understand realistic metrics and set good expectations. Set a moral code for your company.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Paycom Response

    Oct 10, 2014Representative

    Thank you for pointing out the positives in the pay and benefits. We are sorry to hear you feel the way you do, but we want you and others to know that we do review territories. We divide ... More

  7. 1 person found this helpful  

    Great Company to Work For!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Executive Sales Representative in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Employee - Executive Sales Representative in Los Angeles, CA

    I have been working at Paycom full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Competitive, positive work environment, great team spirit! Paycom is overall a great company to work for! If you have the drive and desire there are people willing to help you succeed. The opportunities at Paycom are endless! The company culture is second-to-none and all the sales reps feel like one big family, we are always encouraging one another along the way.

    Cons

    The first year is the hardest only because there is so much to learn; however, the training is excellent and after you build that solid foundation, you feel completely prepared for anything.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  8. 1 person found this helpful  

    Phenomenal company with excellent opportunity

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative

    I have been working at Paycom full-time

    Pros

    At Paycom, there are incredible opportunities for advancement. My manager is deeply invested in my success and I have gained more experience here than any other job before. I honestly believe that Paycom is one of the best companies to work for.

    Cons

    The only thing I can think of, is that it is a lot of work, but I love what I do so it is worth it.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  9. 1 person found this helpful  

    Awesome company to work for!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Saint Louis, MO
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Saint Louis, MO

    I have been working at Paycom full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Initially everything I learned about Paycom sounded too good to be true, and now I look at my life and everything is too good and too true! The culture is incredible, and it is the best feeling to work for a company with such incredible people. I can say it is the most difficult and most rewarding thing I have ever experienced. I love the challenge of every day. Success is in reach if you are intelligent, hard working, and positive!

    Cons

    I would say if you are not able to mentally manage your attitude and you are not mentally strong, you will fail!

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep it up!!!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Paycom Response

    Sep 24, 2014Representative

    Thank you for telling others about your experience at Paycom. Your positive attitude will continue to propel your career. You keep it up as well!

  10. 5 people found this helpful  

    Personal and Professional Growth with Paycom

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Los Angeles, CA

    I have been working at Paycom full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    I started at Paycom straight out of college over 4 years ago. At the time, I wanted to be in sales so that I could make great money. At the time, I had offers from the usual big name suspects for entry level sales positions, but I chose to work at Paycom because I wanted to be in a company that was in hyper growth mode and who promoted from within. My ultimate goal was to lead others. Honestly at the time, I don't think that I realized exactly what I was getting and that I had made the best decision of my life.

    As a new sales rep at Paycom, it is definitely the hardest work you will have done up to that point in your life. We are very straight forward with candidates and new hires about the day to day of your job, which is also a big part of why we have every candidate participate in a phone canvassing session prior to receiving a job offer. In your first year, you are learning all about the industry, our product, sales, etc so it does take hard work and determination. The great thing is that we offer an amazing support system and training program to help you along the way. Once we decide to hire someone, we've decided to give 110% of ourselves to helping them succeed.

    Every new rep goes through a 4 week in depth training program which consists of product and sales training. In addition to this, each office manager conducts trainings specific to that rep or their team and what they need help on weekly.

    While this is outside B2B sales, most managers communicate with their reps daily and many times more than once throughout the day. We work to assist the reps in their sales and strategy on the accounts they are working. If you are looking for a hands off management style or company, Paycom is not the right place for you.

    With your manager and team, there will be much discussion surrounding quota, goals--- numbers wise, professional goals (like moving into management) and personal goals. We work with our team to help them develop all around as a person and not just a number that they're bringing in.

    Now, being a sales manager at Paycom, I can say without a doubt that the people who succeed at Paycom are driven, goal oriented, hard working individuals. I am amazing everyday by the achievements that I see happening all around me and I can honestly say that I am grateful everyday to be a part of such an amazing team of sales professionals all across the country. Some of my best friends that I will have for life, I have met at Paycom.

    If you're looking for a long term sales career with a growing company, come to Paycom, it will be the best decision of your life!

    Cons

    I don't personally have any cons. Every day you will face challenges and the way you handle them will determine your own level of success. Every tool and support person is at your finger tips, if you're willing to do the work, you will be a very happy and wealthy person at a very young age.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep on doing what you're doing!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  11. 2 people found this helpful  

    This place is a growth factory. I've gotten more experience here than anywhere else.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Manager in Oklahoma City, OK
    Current Employee - Manager in Oklahoma City, OK

    I have been working at Paycom full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Growth and experience. I've been able to own more and bigger successes here than any other place I've ever worked. Investing in a good idea by an employee is something every company wants to believe they do. But here I actually feel empowered to do it.
    It's fun to work here. My team is stellar and our leaders support us.
    And knowing you can get a good lunch (Greek is my favorite day) for $4 without leaving the building is a great perk.

    Cons

    If anything, it's the minimalist time off policy.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    To paraphrase Moses: Let my people go (on vacation).

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

Work at Paycom? Share Your Experiences

Paycom

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.