Paycom

  www.paycom.com
  www.paycom.com

Paycom Reviews

Updated December 10, 2014
Updated December 10, 2014
163 Reviews
4.3
163 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Paycom President Chad Richison
Chad Richison
142 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • If you put in the hard work they will definitely reward you back (in 13 reviews)

  • That comes with being part of a rapidly growing company (in 9 reviews)


Cons
  • Work/life balance is poor, as my life began to revolve around the job (in 9 reviews)

  • I guess if you don't like hard work it could be considered a con (in 12 reviews)

More Highlights

123 Employee Reviews Back to all reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. 5 people found this helpful  

    More work than employees can handle and stay sane.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oklahoma City, OK
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oklahoma City, OK

    I have been working at Paycom full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, Corporate perks like cheap lunches, and a Gym that employees can use.

    Cons

    The company went public this year and stopped hiring even though business was coming in at a growing rate. This has made work life at Paycom very concerning. Turnover of great employees has resulted from this.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    You need to hire at a lot faster rate than you currently are. There are workers doing the amount of work that 3 people should be doing.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Paycom Response

    Nov 3, 2014Representative

    Thank you for your post and letting us know about your concern. As one of the fastest-growing companies in the country, we continually work to add talented employees to our staff. In fact, we are ... More

  2. 3 people found this helpful  

    Collaborative Team

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oklahoma City, OK
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oklahoma City, OK

    I have been working at Paycom full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    Paycom is a busy, fast paced environment. There is no shortage of work and the team I work with are there to help with anything I need. I have worked for a couple large companies such as Paycom and they have all had their challenges but here I have found that everyone is willing to support each other. If you need help all you have to do is ask. $1 insurance, $4 lunches, free gym are some nice perks too.

    Cons

    IT has this place locked down. I understand the rational behind it, it just makes getting some things done a little harder. Other than that it's a great place to work.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Paycom Response

    Oct 16, 2014Representative

    Thank you for your review! We handle sensitive information which, as you noted, is why our IT security is very thorough. We appreciate your review and hope you have continued success at Paycom.

  3. 2 people found this helpful  

    Great Company to Work For!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Executive Sales Representative in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Employee - Executive Sales Representative in Los Angeles, CA

    I have been working at Paycom full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Competitive, positive work environment, great team spirit! Paycom is overall a great company to work for! If you have the drive and desire there are people willing to help you succeed. The opportunities at Paycom are endless! The company culture is second-to-none and all the sales reps feel like one big family, we are always encouraging one another along the way.

    Cons

    The first year is the hardest only because there is so much to learn; however, the training is excellent and after you build that solid foundation, you feel completely prepared for anything.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 2 people found this helpful  

    Phenomenal company with excellent opportunity

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative

    I have been working at Paycom full-time

    Pros

    At Paycom, there are incredible opportunities for advancement. My manager is deeply invested in my success and I have gained more experience here than any other job before. I honestly believe that Paycom is one of the best companies to work for.

    Cons

    The only thing I can think of, is that it is a lot of work, but I love what I do so it is worth it.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  6. 2 people found this helpful  

    Awesome company to work for!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Saint Louis, MO
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Saint Louis, MO

    I have been working at Paycom full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Initially everything I learned about Paycom sounded too good to be true, and now I look at my life and everything is too good and too true! The culture is incredible, and it is the best feeling to work for a company with such incredible people. I can say it is the most difficult and most rewarding thing I have ever experienced. I love the challenge of every day. Success is in reach if you are intelligent, hard working, and positive!

    Cons

    I would say if you are not able to mentally manage your attitude and you are not mentally strong, you will fail!

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep it up!!!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Paycom Response

    Sep 24, 2014Representative

    Thank you for telling others about your experience at Paycom. Your positive attitude will continue to propel your career. You keep it up as well!

  7. 8 people found this helpful  

    Personal and Professional Growth with Paycom

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Los Angeles, CA

    I have been working at Paycom full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    I started at Paycom straight out of college over 4 years ago. At the time, I wanted to be in sales so that I could make great money. At the time, I had offers from the usual big name suspects for entry level sales positions, but I chose to work at Paycom because I wanted to be in a company that was in hyper growth mode and who promoted from within. My ultimate goal was to lead others. Honestly at the time, I don't think that I realized exactly what I was getting and that I had made the best decision of my life.

    As a new sales rep at Paycom, it is definitely the hardest work you will have done up to that point in your life. We are very straight forward with candidates and new hires about the day to day of your job, which is also a big part of why we have every candidate participate in a phone canvassing session prior to receiving a job offer. In your first year, you are learning all about the industry, our product, sales, etc so it does take hard work and determination. The great thing is that we offer an amazing support system and training program to help you along the way. Once we decide to hire someone, we've decided to give 110% of ourselves to helping them succeed.

    Every new rep goes through a 4 week in depth training program which consists of product and sales training. In addition to this, each office manager conducts trainings specific to that rep or their team and what they need help on weekly.

    While this is outside B2B sales, most managers communicate with their reps daily and many times more than once throughout the day. We work to assist the reps in their sales and strategy on the accounts they are working. If you are looking for a hands off management style or company, Paycom is not the right place for you.

    With your manager and team, there will be much discussion surrounding quota, goals--- numbers wise, professional goals (like moving into management) and personal goals. We work with our team to help them develop all around as a person and not just a number that they're bringing in.

    Now, being a sales manager at Paycom, I can say without a doubt that the people who succeed at Paycom are driven, goal oriented, hard working individuals. I am amazing everyday by the achievements that I see happening all around me and I can honestly say that I am grateful everyday to be a part of such an amazing team of sales professionals all across the country. Some of my best friends that I will have for life, I have met at Paycom.

    If you're looking for a long term sales career with a growing company, come to Paycom, it will be the best decision of your life!

    Cons

    I don't personally have any cons. Every day you will face challenges and the way you handle them will determine your own level of success. Every tool and support person is at your finger tips, if you're willing to do the work, you will be a very happy and wealthy person at a very young age.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep on doing what you're doing!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  8. 9 people found this helpful  

    Nothing But Lies! No Diversity, All Good Reviews On Glassdoor Are Fake:

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Oklahoma City, OK
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Oklahoma City, OK

    I have been working at Paycom full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Benefits Are Ok But Thats It

    Cons

    Warning!!!!!!!!!! Anytime You See This Many Good Reviews They Are All Fake Even The Best Companies In The World To Work For Dont Have This Many Reviews That Are Good. The Reviews Are Fabricated By Paycom. Just Last Year Alone Our Reviews Were Very Bad But Paycom Had A Solution To This By Developing Good Reviews Themselves. They Also Have No Diversity And They Dont Want It Either, Racist, Pay Should Be Better For This Industry. We Were Ask To Post Good Reviews Online And We Would Get Bonuses. Keep In Mind I Wasnt Willing To Do It Because It Would Be Nothing But Lies And Im Sure Someone Will Add More Lies After This Review But Its Sad How Things Are Ran Within This Company. They Dont Want To Hire Anyone Of Color Its Terrible For The Company they prefer people that look like me and them WHITE, they dont believe that anyone that is a person of color would be able to be trusted by business owners and sell payroll and they believe that people of color cant sell at all and it makes the company look bad this is how the entire company is if you dont believe me look at LinkedIn and call corporate and ask how many minorities( African-American, Hispanic, Asian, etc) do they have on staff. Anyone That Has More Then 2 Jobs On There Resume Is A Job Hopper, Prefers College Graduates So They Can Do Whatever They Tell Them, Management Is Terrible one you are hired And Most Dont Know What They Are Doing Especially There Recruiters What A Joke they also have a certain type that they like to hire again look at LinkedIn they eventually will have a class action lawsuit with all of there dated practices, This Is The Worst Place I Have Ever Worked. They Actually Want People To Believe That This Is One Of The Best Places To Work In America When All Of This On Glassdoor Is Fabricated By The Owners, Management, And Hr. This Company Lives In The Ice Ages And They Will Do Anything To Make Potential Employees Believe That They Are A Good Company To Work For. There's Better Companies In America That Appreciate Diversity, Pay Well, And Have Great Management, And Excellent Benefits. Paycom Is Nothing What People Are Saying In These Fake Reviews My Advice Run And Dont Even Waste Your Time With Paycom Unless You Want To Be A Part Of The Revolving Door They Are Always Hiring They Cant Keep Sales Reps And If They Hire You And You Are A Person Of Color If You Cough Wrong You Will Be Fired It Goes On Throughout The Company.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Terrible. Get All New Management in every department!

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Paycom Response

    Nov 17, 2014Representative

    We understand that not all posts are positive. In fact, we embrace all feedback, both good and bad. However, this post violates many of the Glassdoor Review Standards as it’s unbalanced, full of ... More

  9. 7 people found this helpful  

    Poor leadership and write their own company reviews

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales Representative
    Current Employee - Sales Representative

    I have been working at Paycom full-time

    Pros

    The pay and benefits are great. If you have the perfect storm, you will be well compensated in commission.

    Cons

    The company has no listed values or moral conduct. They promote based on achievement which is great, until you get the job and realize that your achievement is based on your territory. They do not review the territories and just assign them, therefore you can get into a tricky situation if you get a rough territory and a manager who is unwilling to listen to your concerns. They have no way of standardizing metrics, so you will be selling a territory of 5 zip codes against someone who has a whole state and you will be held to the same standards. They are very old school in their management tactics and use verbal threats and write ups as motivation.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Invest in your leadership. Do a Six Sigma training so that leaders understand realistic metrics and set good expectations. Set a moral code for your company.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Paycom Response

    Oct 10, 2014Representative

    Thank you for pointing out the positives in the pay and benefits. We are sorry to hear you feel the way you do, but we want you and others to know that we do review territories. We divide ... More

  10. 15 people found this helpful  

    Amazing opportunity to make an abundance of money and change your life trajectory

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Executive Sales Representative
    Current Employee - Executive Sales Representative

    I have been working at Paycom full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    They take training very seriously and equip their reps with great tools to sell.

    Cons

    There are not alot of cons. It really is what you make it. If you don't do well that is completely on you.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Put more cash into R&D

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  11. 5 people found this helpful  

    Endless Opportunities

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales Representative
    Current Employee - Sales Representative

    I have been working at Paycom full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Paycom has the most opportunity for growth around and I have thrived since joining the team. Starting out as a rep you make more than others in the industry, which is a huge plus. Then you have the opportunity to become manager after just a few years. Depending on your work-ethic and ability to consistently deliver results the sky is the limit.

    Unlike other companies, as a sales rep at Paycom you get to add unique business value and this is something I take great pride in. After the sale I am able to help ensure the prospects I signed on are up and operating smoothly. I was the one that earned their trust and they deserve my undivided care and attention.

    The marketing department is always there to support us and the setup teams at corporate are amazingly skillful. Oh and did I mention the compensation is out of this world.

    Cons

    I would like to be more connected with what is going on with the specialists at corporate and the culture they have built. But the culture in my office is amazing. A lot is expected of Paycom's sales reps and a lot is given in return.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep giving us the opportunity to grow professionally and personally.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

Work at Paycom? Share Your Experiences

Paycom

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.