RealPage Reviews

Updated June 30, 2015
197 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Any Status
  • Current Employees
Employment Status

Reset
3.0
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
RealPage CEO Stephen T. Winn
Stephen T. Winn
126 Ratings

Pros
  • Decent work/life balance but it all depends on your manager and group (in 9 reviews)

  • Cool Office location, great people to be around (in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • Since they send the jobs to India anyway, they will be able to claim that their have an excellent work life balance (in 10 reviews)

  • Upper management does not readily share information (in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

197 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (11)

    Things are turning up at RealPage

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Carrollton, TX
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Carrollton, TX

    I have been working at RealPage

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    New leaders are having impact and attracting more non industry talent. Quality of products is on the rise. Glad to see the 4th quarter results beat street expectations. Appears that sales is reporting strong growth which means the company will need to hire more people to implement backlog of orders.

    Cons

    It's a real job, which demands constant focus. Small acquisitions can be a distraction, so focus on things that really move the revenue and market.

    Advice to Management

    If and when (hopefully next year) we move out of the overgrown Carrollton location, it will be time to build out a new location that makes a cultural statement. There is reason that RP is #1 in its space, its the people. Building a new location is a chance to make a statement about the company, what types of employees we should hire and place to celebrate. Our current location is ok, but there is no question the employees would appreciate input on the next location. You have a chance to get this really right. More communication, more excitement, and more collaboration in this process.

    RealPage Response

    May 14, 2015

    Your points are very valid. The good news is we beat the financial guidance in Q1, so we are stringing some solid results together, quarter over quarter. We have added several new leaders this year ... More


  2. Helpful (2)

    Overall pretty good

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Carrollton, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Carrollton, TX

    I have been working at RealPage full-time (More than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    * Great team and upper management in my division.
    * Good compensation.
    * No micro-managing.
    * Moving to new campus next year! Finally under the same roof as the rest of the company.
    * Career advancement opportunities.

    Cons

    * Lack of communication from upper management. Employees want to be more involved in giving feedback and suggestions on changes made that effect them. It almost seems like a shroud of secrecy around upper management.
    * High Deductible only option for health insurance. I decided to go with it for the first time this year. Big mistake and now the other plan is no longer an option. We have used our HSA savings as soon as it is available each payday and have had a lot of out of pocket expenses that otherwise would have been covered by a co-pay. I would rather pay a higher rate and have lower out of pocket expense for medical needs.
    * Working from home is highly discouraged.
    * Sometimes workload gets overwhelming and the employee and clients suffer for it.
    * Rarely see upper management (VP and up) engage with their subordinates. It would be nice for them to get out and talk to the employees occasionally.
    * It is very obvious that Sr. Management works excessively long hours. It makes you almost not want to get promoted because there is no way they have time for life outside of Realpage.

    Advice to Management

    While it looks like I had more Cons than Pros, overall I do feel lucky to work for Realpage. Overall it is a great company. I have yet to work for an employer that doesn't have room for improvement.

    Keep employees informed.
    Spend more money on team building activities AWAY from office.
    Consider offering multiple options for insurance, even if it is more expensive. Everyone has different circumstances and we need options.
    On the new office, please, please, please do not go away from individual work stations where we can have our own desk, since we spend so much time there. Having open areas is fine to change things up a bit, but I need my space and some division from distractions. Being on the phone constantly throughout the day, I would not be able to concentrate with no barrier between me and the rest of the team.

    RealPage Response

    Jun 29, 2015

    Thank you for your post. I have some good news for you. On communications and feedback, I trust you saw the recent video from our CEO Steve Winn talking about operational growth, business results and ... More


  3. Market Development

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at RealPage full-time

    Pros

    Best in Class products; product training.

    Cons

    You have to own your own experiences...not a con, but good advice for anyone looking at this company


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (2)

    Feels like home

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Carrollton, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Carrollton, TX

    I have been working at RealPage full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Coming from a bank to RealPage was a breath of fresh air! I feel like part of a group, a team, a family! I have not been closer to the people I work with before. It is truly wonderful!

    Cons

    As every big company there is lack of communication. Employees don't necessary know what is happening at the high level and we are often blindsided by changes.

    Advice to Management

    We need more transparency. We need to be involved with the decisions made or at least be aware of what is going on. On another hand - I love the new building.

    RealPage Response

    Jun 18, 2015

    Thank you for your post and I am glad you like the new building and the people you work with. I appreciate your advice which is spot on and I encourage you to watch for three upcoming communication ... More


  6. Helpful (1)

    Upward!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Carrollton, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Carrollton, TX

    I have been working at RealPage full-time (More than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Very intelligent workforce. Growing company - the largest SaaS in the largest vertical industry. Great advancement opportunities for those that work hard and drive business ROI.

    Now investing in a world-class working environment for our corporate HQ relocation in 2016!

    Cons

    Have outgrown current space. Work process improvement opportunities exist.

    RealPage Response

    Jun 19, 2015

    Thank you for your post. Work, structure, process is our #1 opportunity as highlighted in the recent engagement survey, "Take this Job and Love it". Here is the good news, we received a tremendous ... More


  7. Helpful (5)

    Commissions are a headache!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Carrollton, TX
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Carrollton, TX

    I have been working at RealPage full-time (More than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Talented people, superior products, good organizational culture

    Cons

    Lack of internal communication. Processes make about as much sense as a dog chasing its own tail. BIG hassle getting paid commissions. No transparency into how commissions are calculated and then good luck on actually receiving it on-time. That's if you ever get paid it at all.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your talent! Take care of your people!


  8. Helpful (5)

    Just a place to work until something better comes along

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Representative in Carrollton, TX
    Current Employee - Account Representative in Carrollton, TX

    I have been working at RealPage

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Realpage is a great steppingstone into SaaS sales however that being said, if you're not experienced in sales, don't count on much training here. They have a Boot Camp for new hires but it really does nothing to sharpen one's selling skills. I have received 2 promotions in 3 years so there is room to move up. Salaries are inline with the industry. Company does award stock once you're an AR3 or higher. Industry leader for their vertical they serve. If one is not the best fit in a certain department, the company does try and find a place elsewhere in the company. Company is flexible with working remote.

    Cons

    Commissions. There are many manual processes in the calculating of commissions which often leads to errors. It is not uncommon to wait months to be paid, if you're paid at all. Part of it is the nature of the bundled solutions we sell as well as our clients portfolios, however, many times deals just fall through the cracks. Errors can also involve on deals being mis-classified. To make matters worse, the visibility into reconciling commissions is very murky and complicated.

    To add to commissions, historically only 10% of the sales team hits quota annually. Only about 40-50% finish 80% to quota. Quotas are not determined by opportunity, rather pay grade. An AR5 could have same accounts as an AR3 but with a 900k higher quota. Here's the problem, 60% of your variable income from your OTE is earned once you hit 80% and your quota.

    Communication is non-existent both internally and more importantly to our clients. Our clients pay a premium vs our competitors and while the products may be superior, our service sucks.

    It's a wait and see over the next 6 months whether or not I stay. New leadership has swept in fast and furious and is alienating both the sales team and our clients. He knows nothing about our industry, clients and the way that we have trained our clients to continue to buy more products over the years. I have never seen a more disengaged sales floor.

    RealPage Response

    Jun 29, 2015

    Thank you for your post. A couple of thoughts and there are some things in the works that I want to share and hopefully we can agree on. 1) Sales folks are rightfully so coin operated. I get that and ... More


  9. Helpful (2)

    fast tracked company with options

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Carrollton, TX
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Carrollton, TX

    I have been working at RealPage full-time (More than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    RealPage offers career paths for a variety of backgrounds and different levels of experience. I have been fortunate enough to wear many hats within the company and work on challenging projects over the years. High performers are fast-tracked because of growth. The people, combined with the entrepreneurial synergy throughout make this a great place to grow your career.

    Cons

    Parking can be quite challenging and office space is becoming scarce

    Advice to Management

    Increasing internal communication and company wide engagement activities locally would be nice

    RealPage Response

    Jun 5, 2015

    Thank you for your post. I agree with you that top performers can/are being fast tracked due to so many growth opportunities. How exciting to find your potential quickly. As you know we have outgrown ... More


  10. Helpful (4)

    Great Starter Career

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Sales in Dallas, TX

    I have been working at RealPage full-time (More than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Great way to gain experience in the SaaS/Real Estate/Tech industries as a stepping stone. Lots of opporunity to grow and transition to different roles or departments. Outstanding people to work with and phenomenal niche industry.

    Cons

    Territories are feast or famine. Quotas and compensation plans inflated. Big learning curve. Limited support resources. Must promote yourself within or you will go unrecognized.

    Advice to Management

    Recognize talent and better place reps in a more suitbale territory/position based on their goals and personality. Invest more in tenured reps and provide better long-term incentives. Get to know your people.

    RealPage Response

    Jun 18, 2015

    Thank you for your post and I am glad that you like the people you work with. I printed your post and shared it with the sales leadership team. I can tell you that on Tuesday of this week, the HR ... More


  11. Helpful (1)

    Good Fun Place to work

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at RealPage

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Good benefits including tuition and fitness reimbursement. Very fun relaxed environment.

    Cons

    possibly will move headquarters soon,

    RealPage Response

    Jun 5, 2015

    By now you have heard the news, we are moving to the Richardson Telecom corridor. Its a great opportunity to shape how we work, who is connected to who, onsite cafeteria, more covered parking, etc ... More



Showing 197 of 301 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.