Silverado Reviews

Updated August 28, 2014
Updated August 28, 2014
55 Reviews
3.3
55 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Silverado President, Chairman & CEO Loren B. Shook
Loren B. Shook
34 Ratings

8 Employee Reviews Back to all reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. 1 person found this helpful  

    Used to be a better company to work for prior to all it's growth.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee  in  Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX

    I have been working at Silverado part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The residents, the families and most floor staff.

    Cons

    Expect you to work long hours and not great with compensation with time off if you work over your 43.86 hours a week that is expected of leadership. They used to really be a company with high morals, that lived by its standards and Love over fear, but that is no longer the case. It all comes from fear and if you do contact HR thru the 800 number and tell them your name or even if you do not they record your voice and report it to your supervisor and then they find some reason to get back at you. It is so sad because there are so many associates that really care for the residents and families but corporate only cares about making money and the census and not the residents or families or its associates. As much as it says it does, and that you can talk freely at town hall or to leadership, you can not with out retaliation. It is best to just do your job, love the residents and family and keep your thoughts and opinions to yourself, because if you voice any concerns you are on their black list and will not last long.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Walk the walk and do not always just trust your leadership team members word for it, but interview the whole team when a situation arises. Follow your company values and live the LOVE>fear motto, because when you come down for announced visits all it is prior to the visit is fear fear fear for days. make pop in visits and at off times and weekends and talk to floor staff and families. Then also talk to leadership one to one and not just floor staff during town halls. Surprise visits would really open your eyes to what your communities really feel like. Your panned HR responses to this is funny we will see if you really take any of my suggestions.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Silverado Response

    Sep 8, 2014Sr. Director of Employee Relations and Recruiting

    We absolutely agree that the best part of working at Silverado is helping those we serve, their families and our associates. I would like to address a few of the comments that you made in your post ... More

  2. 1 person found this helpful  

    Enough is enough!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Hard Worker
    Current Employee - Hard Worker

    I have been working at Silverado full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The residents will come into your hearts and make themselves at home! :) The pay is OK, not great but OK. I love the people I work with!

    Cons

    The pressure from the home office is overwhelming! NOTHING is EVER good enough, they are ALWAYS pushing you for more more more!! When they can barely take care of who is there already! The staffing ratios are not kept up and when you are working with people who have extreme behaviors that is DANGEROUS! Work-life balance is a joke...when you work for Silverado that becomes your life...say goodbye to your family and friends for they will rarely get to see you!

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    The pressure is too much! BACK OFF!!! If the place is growing and we are meeting the goals say GOOD JOB to the WHOLE team NOT just the sales people because it is a GROUP EFFORT! Things also need to get more consistent from one community to the next...especially when it comes to associates and how many we should all get! Plan for more and give permission to hire ahead of the census!
    STOP BUILDING MORE AND TAKE CARE OF WHAT YOU ALREADY HAVE! HELP MORE THAN JUST THE COMMUNITIES IN CALIFORNIA!!!!!

    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Silverado Response

    Aug 19, 2014Sr. Director of Employee Relations and Recruiting

    We really would love the opportunity to speak to you in person about your concerns. As a current associate, we want to hear from you.

    We are a very forward-thinking, cutting edge organization
    ... More

  3. 1 person found this helpful  

    LVN ( Charge Nurse )

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - LVN Charge Nurse  in  San Juan Capistrano, CA
    Former Employee - LVN Charge Nurse in San Juan Capistrano, CA

    I worked at Silverado full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I really enjoyed the residents and co-workers. The motto of the company is great. I wish that they cared about the employees as well.

    Cons

    Management does not support the employees. They will fire you rather than work to solve problems. I have seen great nurses and caregivers fired. They tossed them out like disposable gloves.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Encourage and invest in your employees, without them business suffers, your residents suffer and that is a shame.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Silverado Response

    Aug 19, 2014Sr. Director of Employee Relations and Recruiting

    Thank you very much for sharing your feedback. At Silverado, we really try and focus on support and education for our associates – beyond the requirements of continuing education for your licensure ... More

  4. We want your feedback – Are these company reviews helpful to you?  Yes | No
  5. 4 people found this helpful  

    In theory, great "standards and philosophies" in practice- not so much.

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Silverado full-time

    Pros

    You can bring your kids and pets to work. The residents are amazing and a privilege care for.

    Cons

    The standards that the company were founded upon are now mere suggestions. When Loren Shook rolls in to town, everyone goes in motion- not out of love, but out of fear. The company has become census driven, person centered care is a thing of the past. Benefits are outrageously expensive, there is no transparency or safety for associates to voice their concerns. HR is a joke. Company spends more time flying people all over the place than providing meaningful opportunities for associates or residents. The company appears to have changed focus since the REIT became involved.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Go back to your roots and reasons for doing what you set out to do and stay there. Your residents and associates deserve this. Treat your associates as if they are important to your operation. Obliterate the culture of fear that has been created surrounding "home office." Hold people accountable to the standards you created.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Silverado Response

    Jun 11, 2014Sr. Director of Employee Relations and Recruiting

    We are always looking for feedback from our current associates. We encourage our associates to provide their ideas and suggestion through our annual associate satisfaction survey, town hall meetings ... More

  6. 3 people found this helpful  

    Love>fear???

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Silverado full-time

    Pros

    The people that work with the patients are amazing. They are the reason Silverado has been so successful.

    Cons

    Upper management gets you to "drink the koolaid" and as long as you don't ruffle any feathers you will be fine. But as soon as they don't "LOVE" you anymore you will be gone.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    look beyond what you might think is Love...others have great things to add too.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  7. 4 people found this helpful  

    Love is not greater than fear

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Silverado full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They take really great care of their residents.

    Cons

    The irony is their slogan...this company is FEAR driven and will let go of their talent in a snap. Just ask the Silverado Survivor Club.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Live by your motto

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Silverado Response

    Jan 15, 2014Human Resources

    First and foremost, we want to thank you for your service. Please know that your dedication to Silverado truly is the foundation for our ability to provide high quality care to our residents ... More

  8. 2 people found this helpful  

    more work for less people

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Silverado

    Pros

    Families and residents are wonderful. Some of your coworkers are great

    Cons

    Management doesn't have realistic views of the job they expect to be completed. They bring in more residents but fail to hire more caregivers. Caregivers treated like they are expendable. Family members of residents fight for caregivers but are ignored if they don't threaten to move out. Expect nurses to work overtime of the clock. Hard worker beware only people who brown nose get real raises the rest get pocket change. New hires make more than caregivers hired 10 years prior. raises are usually between 10-50 cents...you will never get 50 cents though. Liked CEO until recently seems even he is going against his own mission statement.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    LOVE before fear. nobody should be treated like caregivers get treated at this place. They are the backbone on which this company survives. A few communities need new administration, get on that all the good caregivers and nurses who haven't left are looking for new jobs.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Silverado Response

    Jan 15, 2014Human Resources

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts and for the time you dedicated to our residents, patients and clients at Silverado.

    Silverado takes pride in the fact that we compensate our associate higher
    ... More

  9. 5 people found this helpful  

    Good Communities and Bad Corporate Management

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee  in  Irvine, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA

    I worked at Silverado full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Silverado communities are very good for residents.
    Great place to work until 2011 when company sold...finest people anywhere. Rightfully won awards.
    Company's philosophy is Love is Greater than Fear

    Cons

    With one or two exceptions, all the great people are gone from the corporate office.
    The executives are having a very serious problem finding and keeping anyone in leadership positions because some new managers are very controlling and old managers are afraid.
    Sadly, "Love is Greater than Fear" is now bogus.
    HR is unsympathetic - even to the point of betrayal - to good, long-term, trusting employees.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Admit you recently made some big mistakes, get rid of the bad guys and get your company back on track to the big success it was before you sold it.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

Worked for Silverado? Contribute to the Community!

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.