Silverado Reviews

Updated October 8, 2014
Updated October 8, 2014
60 Reviews
3.5
60 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Silverado President, Chairman & CEO Loren B. Shook
Loren B. Shook
38 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • you get the opportunity to make a difference every time you go to work (in 6 reviews)

  • The atmosphere with the kids and pets is incredible (in 3 reviews)


Cons
  • The only word that perfectly describes the Home Office atmosphere is (in 3 reviews)

  • Upper management with no knowledge of marketing becomes involved in the sale process (in 3 reviews)

More Highlights

20 Employee Reviews Back to all reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Feel valued and that I'm making a difference

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Silverado full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    My team is amazing and the support we have for one another, encouraged by Silverado's culture, is truly something I've never experienced before. Being a support system and resource for partners in the field helps to impact more lives and further Silverado's drive to change the way the world views individuals with memory loss. There are career opportunities and support from leadership to grow and reach further advancement. The work environment at the Home Office is wonderful, with a game room and walks for needed breaks, plus pets and children welcome at any time truly livens up the place.

    Cons

    Some of the systems and procedures are outdated and confusing, specifically around finance, but I'm hopeful as the company continues to grow, these will evolve too. The cost of benefits are also quite high, and while there are some incentives that help to offset that, lower cost plans would be appreciated.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  2.  

    An enjoyment to work with seniors and people who have a heart for them.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Accounting Assistant in Azusa, CA
    Former Employee - Accounting Assistant in Azusa, CA

    I worked at Silverado full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    I enjoyed being able to work with people who have a heart for seniors. It was also enjoyable to work and also have the time to interact with the seniors as well. I also love the fact that their motto is LOVE > FEAR.

    Cons

    One of the challenges is there wasn't much room to grow where you wanted to go. There are a few opportunities to grow but overall not much.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    A better opportunity for Caregivers/CNA/LVNs to actually get their breaks.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  3.  

    I feel like I make a difference

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Silverado

    Pros

    The people are great! Everyone is friendly and supportive and I really feel like I'm making a difference. Leadership encourages personal growth and well-being. Love how Home Office associates are encouraged to visit communities and other locations.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Be open to new ideas

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review
  5.  

    Most rewarding and fulfeeling job

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Silverado full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Company of Integrity
    Really imbrace LOVE > fear:
    Silverado aligns with my core values are
    Allows you to be who you are
    Company that listens
    Believe in growing you in your carrer

    LOVE: Allows you to love all you incounters: Able to have true conversations
    INNOVATION: Listens to ideas to Make Silverado the best of the best: Truly World Class!
    FAMILY: Very important to have family involved and support family, from our resident's family to all associate family
    ENGAGEMENT: Allow you to engage with our residents to give them a more quality of life and associate are engaged with what they do & how they do it. True sense of pride and ownership.

    Get/Give: Silverado wants you to get more than you have to give.

    Truly allows you to make a difference

    Cons

    Not a thing! Keep it up!

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    I have a sense of pride working for a company who believe in what we do and believe in me.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  6.  

    Best job I have ever had

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Silverado full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    The home office, the residents, and the engagement. The communities are beautiful and the residents lives are changed. Lots of growth opportunities and support.

    Cons

    Getting too close to the residents and patients and seeing their disease progress. Compensation is more than fair given all of the food and engagement but this could always be an area of improvement.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Silverado Response

    Sep 8, 2014Sr. Director of Employee Relations and Recruiting

    I am so glad to hear that this is the best job you have ever had! Thank you for your 5+ years of service to those we serve.

    If there are any specific areas of improvement you would like to
    ... More

  7.  

    Love my job and the company - glad to be doing something good in the world!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA

    I have been working at Silverado full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    The biggest perk of this job is helping families and this is by far the best job I have ever had. I look forward to going to work everyday and I appreciate the very high standards that are expected of every associate. The culture is amazing and I see it being practiced all the way to the top. Hard workers are rewarded and if you want to grow in your career, there are programs and support available. I feel that I am valued as a part of the team and I can always talk to my manager if I have issues. It is a friendly and loving environment.

    Cons

    Some of the operations and systems could be improved or updated, but I think that will happen over time and as the company grows. The benefits are a bit pricey.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    401K could be improved and vacation time could be increased or maybe have a couple more national holidays added to time off. Make decisions sooner about associates that are poor performers. Sometimes these people are kept in their job for a long time which puts more work on others and causes frustration and resentment.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Silverado Response

    Sep 8, 2014Sr. Director of Employee Relations and Recruiting

    Thank you for your service to our residents, client, patients and their families. I believe we all come to Silverado for more than just a job. We come here for the opportunity help families in need ... More

  8.  

    Home Away From Home

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Alhambra, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Alhambra, CA

    I have been working at Silverado full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    Family Oriented, Great Benefits! Room for Personal Growth, You go home feeling good, knowing you've made a difference in the lives of others. You definately get more than what you give working at Silverado.

    Cons

    No Challenges. Every day is a blessing.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Yearly Town Hall Meetings are a great way to stay connected Sr. Executives.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Silverado Response

    Sep 8, 2014Sr. Director of Employee Relations and Recruiting

    It is so great to hear that you are getting so much out of being a Silverado associate. There are very few companies out there that take the time to allow associates to connect to the executive team ... More

  9. 2 people found this helpful  

    Great place to work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Silverado full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Silverado is a company that really gives as much to their associates as they do to our clients/residents/patients. I have had the opportunity to impact their lives and the lives of their families. I have had so many opportunities to grow, both personally and professionally.

    I enjoy every member of the team. They are always available to talk to and help me out.

    Cons

    None that I can think of at this time.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Silverado Response

    Sep 8, 2014Sr. Director of Employee Relations and Recruiting

    Thank you for leaving your review. When we look back at our leaders, 75% of the leadership team at Silverado have been promoted from within. We have found that supporting our associates to become ... More

  10.  

    I love knowing that we are improving the quality of life of our residents every day.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA

    I have been working at Silverado full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Everyone is passionate about what they're doing no matter what role they're in, as it results in the quality of care for our residents. The culture is very unique and special. It is a supportive, and team and family oriented workplace. We have an open door policy, and we have kids and pets in our workplace. I love the fact that after I started working here, I was able to refer Silverado's At Home services to my grandfather who is now under their care part time. It makes me happy to know that I was in the right place at the right time to help him find the care that he needs.

    Cons

    I would like to see us get paid if we get called for jury duty.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Silverado Response

    Aug 19, 2014Sr. Director of Employee Relations and Recruiting

    No matter what your role at Silverado, at the end of the day we are all supporting the love and care we provide to our residents, clients and patients. Hearing a child laugh and having a pet approach ... More

  11.  

    Siverado

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Laborer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Former Employee - Laborer in Salt Lake City, UT

    I worked at Silverado full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Great working envoronment
    Honest as an employer and company

    Cons

    Small company and no benifits

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Silverado Response

    Aug 5, 2014Sr. Director of Employee Relations and Recruiting

    We are so happy that you believe Silverado is a great place to work. We would love to learn more about additional benefits we could explore offering to our associates. Today, we offer a wide ... More

Work at Silverado? Share Your Experiences

Silverado

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.