SirsiDynix

www.sirsidynix.com

SirsiDynix Reviews

Updated January 21, 2015
Updated January 21, 2015
70 Reviews
4.2
70 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
SirsiDynix CEO Bill Davison
Bill Davison
54 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • They do a great job of creating a challenging work environment that is still fun and enjoyable (in 9 reviews)

  • Average work/life balance - at best (in 5 reviews)


Cons
  • Also, as others have mentioned, you and your spouse must both participate in a wellness program in order for the company to match HSA contributions (in 3 reviews)

  • I have been tempted to leave for more money but the amount of money really couldn't compensate for all the extras that you get (in 2 reviews)

More Highlights

64 Employee Reviews Back to all reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. 1 person found this helpful  

    Overall a great company to work for.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Associate Software Engineer in Lehi, UT
    Current Employee - Associate Software Engineer in Lehi, UT

    I have been working at SirsiDynix full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    The people here are really great. The management cares about you and wants you to succeed.

    Cons

    The hiring policy appears to be to only hire people with little to no previous experience. This has some advantages, but the engineering department suffers a little bit from not having more experienced people.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    The next time we hire a lot of new engineers I think it would be very advantageous to bolster up the current teams until the new people have been trained and then split them into the smaller teams.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    SirsiDynix Response

    Oct 7, 2014Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. I am happy to hear that your experience has been positive overall.

    We do fill a majority of roles across the organization at an entry-level, or
    ... More

  2.  

    Terrible Development Department!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Carlsbad, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Carlsbad, CA

    I have been working at SirsiDynix (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    I think SirsiDynix has made EOS International a better place to work. I like Yimees, company fun days, and the ice bucket challenge. These things boost moral and made me feel like more of a team member. I like SirsiDynix's new hires. I have met the CEO of the company. He is the nicest man!

    Cons

    Unfortunately the cons over shadow the pros. Development has been impossible to work with. They try to segregate themselves from all other departments and sometimes are straight up just rude. I believe everyone in the company is part of a team, not just my department. But it has been a very negative and uncomfortable atmosphere. Helping each other is out of the realm of possibility.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    I think development can rethink what it means to be a team. It is all about the people at work. They make the company. I have heard name calling and experienced the blame game. The scrum masters can be better trained. The position requires people skills so next time hire some people that actually have these skills. I will encourage coworkers to post reviews and update mine if things improve in the future. Thanks for reading my review!

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    SirsiDynix Response

    Oct 7, 2014Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. As a company, it is absolutely necessary for all of us to work together and be one team, even though some of us are in different offices on opposite ... More

  3.  

    A dinosaur

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Lehi, UT
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Lehi, UT

    I have been working at SirsiDynix full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    The people in the Utah facility are extremely pleasant and friendly. The office building is nice. The amenities for employees while at work are above average.

    Cons

    Horrible benefits. Low salary. Lied about compensation coming in. The products are poorly designed and implemented. Ownership is private equity so their just trying to make the company's bottom line look good for investors.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    I don't know if there's anything that management can do. The equity firm that owns this company holds the purse strings and determines the company's future. Not a great situation for an employee to walk into.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    SirsiDynix Response

    Oct 24, 2014Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for your review. Your compensation comment caught my attention immediately, as it is the goal of my team to never set unrealistic expectations during the recruitment process. Please contact ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 1 person found this helpful  

    Very accommodating to my needs as I do what I can to be a hard worker for the company.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Associate Support Analyst in Lehi, UT
    Current Employee - Associate Support Analyst in Lehi, UT

    I have been working at SirsiDynix full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    This company gives you the opportunity to be trained and coached on skills that you might not have acquired in your career. The atmosphere here is not stressful, but we all work together to be successful.

    Cons

    Making an industry change cost me as far as pay is concerned. I will be able to learn what I can and then increase the dynamics that will be competitive for my future career.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Improving training opportunities.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    SirsiDynix Response

    Oct 7, 2014Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. If ever you are seeking more opportunities for training and career development, please don't hesitate to contact any member of the HR and Recruiting ... More

  6. 1 person found this helpful  

    Surround yourself with some of the smartest people on the planet...

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lehi, UT
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lehi, UT

    I have been working at SirsiDynix full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    All of the people I interact with want to innovate and continue to grow in their profession. Management provides significant opportunities for you to grow your skill set by giving you opportunities that will push you. SirsiDynix provides an environment that supports the growth and improvement of their people.

    Cons

    If you like to just show up to work and collect a paycheck, I would move on and apply somewhere else. If you take professional development seriously and see yourself in roles with continued increases in responsibility over the years, then SirsiDynix is the place for you.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Bill Davison and his team do an exceptional job at making employees feel valued. Members of the executive management team, including David King, Sheridan Richey, Scott Wheelhouse, Berit Nelson, and Eric Keith, are all approachable and listen to suggestions for improvement.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    SirsiDynix Response

    Oct 7, 2014Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for taking time to write this review!

  7. 1 person found this helpful  

    Everyone should work somewhere as awesome as SirsiDynix!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at SirsiDynix (more than a year)

    Pros

    It is easy to come to work because of the wonderful people on my team.

    Many opportunities for growth.

    Admirable leadership and great atmosphere.

    Cons

    I wish there wasn't so much training, but I understand the importance.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep giving your employees feedback on their performance.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    SirsiDynix Response

    Oct 7, 2014Recruiting Manager

    Thanks for the feedback. We are glad you are having a great experience with us!

  8. 1 person found this helpful  

    Good Company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Inside Sales
    Current Employee - Inside Sales

    I have been working at SirsiDynix full-time

    Pros

    Company atmosphere, people, awesome customers, internal promotions

    Cons

    Development is slow. As soon as the new products are out, it will be better. Some of the owner decisions/policies are rather odd and difficult for our type of company. I hear it was worse in the past, but seems to have gotten better.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    The comp plan for sales is pretty confusing and often invites unhealthy competition, rather than constructive competition, between inside and outside sales reps.

    Approves of CEO

    SirsiDynix Response

    Oct 24, 2014Recruiting Manager

    Great comments. It is my hope that you are encouraged at the investment in our development teams since posting your review. With the significant expansion in R&D, we are seeing products that were ... More

  9.  

    Great Company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Engineer in Lehi, UT
    Current Employee - Engineer in Lehi, UT

    I have been working at SirsiDynix full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    The people and work environment. Challenging work and great relationships with colleagues make this company great. SiriDynix has a great team.

    Cons

    Health insurance is slightly high.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep making your employees happy

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    SirsiDynix Response

    Oct 24, 2014Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this review!

  10. 2 people found this helpful  

    Fun Ride

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Field Sales Consultant in Lehi, UT
    Current Employee - Senior Field Sales Consultant in Lehi, UT

    I have been working at SirsiDynix full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great people with a solid product vision. Bright outlook for new employees. Excellent upper management.

    Cons

    Too many bridges have been burned by mostly former executives. The company needs a solid finished product delivered soon to hush the naysayers. The competition is unfairly staffed with former employees.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep the product vision going to reach the completion of the product. Get the software out to the market, so you won't have to worry about the competitors. Don't step over the rusty coins to pick up the shiny new penny.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  11. 2 people found this helpful  

    Best decision I ever made

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at SirsiDynix full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    Great people to work with from the executives down through the rank and file. Everyone is committed to the common goal of providing the best library user experience and this focus shows.

    Cons

    Development is in the process of creating a next generation Integrated Library System. This process takes time but it will greatly benefit our users and the company in the long run.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    You are doing a great job. Keep your focus on the library user and we will continue to see great success.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

Work at SirsiDynix? Share Your Experiences

SirsiDynix

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.