Sleep Number by Select Comfort

www.sleepnumber.com
Employer Engaged

Sleep Number by Select Comfort Reviews

Updated February 25, 2015
Updated February 25, 2015
111 Reviews
3.5
111 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Sleep Number by Select Comfort President & CEO Shelly Ibach
Shelly Ibach
111 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Great product with great concept and innovative product (in 20 reviews)

  • My roommate calls Sleep Number the "apple" of the bed industry (in 15 reviews)


Cons
  • Horrible upper management starting with District Managers (in 16 reviews)

  • Most District Managers are out of touch and can destroy you and your store if they want (in 16 reviews)

More Highlights

111 Employee Reviews Back to all Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Incredible opportunity from sales professional on up!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Store Manager
    Current Employee - Store Manager

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    As a store manager I've been able to recruit and train a highly motivated, well compensated team. They all have nice new cars, great homes and lives. I support my family, am active in my church and children's schools. How many retail managers can actually say the have a quality life away from the store? I can!

    Cons

    Vital to be good at managing money. Income is great, but not the same each month. Highs and Lows, some controlled with how much you put into it, some, like all retail, not in your control.

    It only works if you work it...
    If you don't believe in following a corporate plan, policies and procedures, don't bother. :)

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep up the amazing leaps in technology and customer service.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Feb 26, 2015Human Capital Operations Specialist

    Thank you so much for sharing your positive feedback! We are so happy to hear that you and your team are enjoying the benefits of being Sleep Number brand ambassadors! We thank you for all of your ... More

  2.  

    Wonderful Product, Wonderful People, Wonderful Company to be a part of!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Store Manager
    Current Employee - Store Manager

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    The people--Customers and co-workers. This company is large, but feels like a small community. This company is full of talented wonderful people all the way from sales professionals to Shelly Ibach. The products is amazing and I love hearing how better sleep can affect one's life in such a positive way! Sleep Number is continually making positive changes to improve the customer experience and I feel that feedback is often well received.

    Cons

    Hours are sometimes long as a manager. Three person stores can be difficult to operate and work in.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep up the good work! I am so proud to work for this company. Continue to reward and value those who put the work in.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Feb 26, 2015Human Capital Operations Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback! We are thrilled to hear that you are enjoying the corporate culture and innovation that we all share as Sleep Number brand ambassadors ... More

  3.  

    Innovative, forward thinking company - top performers all around!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Store Manager
    Current Employee - Store Manager

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort

    Pros

    High expectations with high rewards - if you are someone with solid interpersonal skills that truly loves our products then the sky is the limit career wise! This is not a SALES career, this is a career where you can change people's lives by solving their sleep problems (bed, bedding, pillows, etc). This is a very personal, highly rewarding career.

    Cons

    Retail hours - but that is not something that was a surprise. Everyone is told about the various hours needed before coming on board.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    I would enjoy more store to store or region to region communication. Sometimes you get lost in your own four walls and it's always welcome to hear what others are doing that could be used in my own store.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Feb 13, 2015Human Capital Operations Specialist

    We truly appreciate all that you do to create the ultimate experience for our customers! We appreciate your feedback as well on the communication piece between stores and regions and will share this ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    Great place to work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort (less than a year)

    Pros

    Great company with outstanding character and staff. Home delivery is a work in progress and everyone works very hard at improving what needs to be improved. Management genially cares about employees and staff. Focuses on developing underperforming employees whenever possible. Everyone gets a chance to succeed assuming they are not committing a crime with their actions

    Cons

    A few long term employees that do not like accountability. These are people who claim to misuse company property "accidentally". Takes time to change and it can be frustrating during the process but current HD management is weeding out bad apples one at a time

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep up the hard work. Continue to focus on developing delivery teams

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Jan 23, 2015Human Capital Operations Specialist

    Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review! Growth and development are extremely important to us and we are grateful that you appreciate our efforts. Thank you for being a Sleep ... More

  6.  

    Had to stand outside to pull customers in

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort

    Pros

    Was able to talk to a lot of people

    Cons

    Forced to keep sales at a high level

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Don't make employees stand outside to bring people in.

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Feb 6, 2015Human Capital Operations Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback! We are happy to hear that you are enjoying the ability to discuss with many individuals the power of sleep and the benefits of our product. We ... More

  7. 3 people found this helpful  

    Company has too much control over how much you earn.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Hartford, CT
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Hartford, CT

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great product. The mattresses truly last a very long time. You are allowed one weekend off per month.

    Cons

    Customer service, cery poor. District Managers have too much control over your success, they don't care about the customers or those who work below them. They only care about thier paycheck.. HR is there to protect upper management and the company. If you have a problem or an issue with your manager, they willtry to convince you that you are mistaken. You are told they will look into the matter but they don't do anything to help or protect you. There is verbal and physical abuse going on that is ignored by HR. As a store manager you must leave your store to cold call on physicians, recruit for the company even if you don't need another associate in your store and you are pressured to attend or create as many events as possible, this will create awareness so the company can save money on advertisement. You gain leads but then your conversion goes low ( low conversion is held against you). DM's distribute their work on store managers so store managers have more responsibility than they should. The WORST health benefits in the world. No paid holidays. 3 days, Christmas, Thanksgiving and Easter are the holidays that the store closes but you have to take them as one of your days off for that week so it's not like having a 4 day work week when major holidays come around.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Hire quality people. Don't just throw someone into a position without being qualified. Care about the little people, they are the root of your success. You are a National Company with recruiting departments and advertising, utilize them. Let the Store Managers and Sales Professionals do the job they were hired to do. Make sure the District Managers do thier jobs and not passing thier responsibilities on everyone else. Set realistic goals and make sure the District manager do the same. Inspect the District Managers more to keep them from purposely making it hard for those they don't like. Improve your health benefits and stop making employees re-enroll every year.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Jan 16, 2015Human Capital Operations Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review! I am passing your comments about customer service, your district manager, and HR concerns to the appropriate teams at the home office.

  8.  

    Great place to work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Indianapolis, IN
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Indianapolis, IN

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    The compensation is very good! Management is supportive and the training is very thorough. It is a rewarding job where you can build a relationship with the clients.

    Cons

    May be hard to find work-life balance because of the night and weekend hours that you work, which is typical for a retail position. They will work with you as much as possible though.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Check on employees on a regular basis to make sure they are getting the upport and opportunities for advancement that they desire!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Jan 9, 2015Human Capital Operations Specialist

    We are so glad to hear that you are finding your position within Sleep Number to be rewarding and we truly do appreciate the relationships that you are building with our customers. Thank you for the ... More

  9.  

    It is a great entry level opportunity!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Case Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Current Employee - Case Manager in Minneapolis, MN

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort

    Pros

    It is decent pay for entry level, and it's a good place to "get your feet wet" get some experience.

    Cons

    Working in customer service can become like a labryinth! You think you are getting somewhere with promotions to different teams, but in the end you end up "stuck" in customer service. Few make it out of customer service and into different departments.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    It would be nice to get a bonus at Christmas time. It is something to do community events for others, and we have employee's that need help just as much.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Jan 9, 2015Human Capital Operations Specialist

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding the growth and development of our Customer Service Professionals as well as additional opportunities to support our employees. I ... More

  10.  

    Simply Wonderful!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Current Employee - Manager in Minneapolis, MN

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great culture.
    Great work life balance for retail.
    Top notch Senior Leadership!!!

    Cons

    None that I can think of! Great long term vision and direction.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep doing what you are doing!

    Approves of CEO

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Nov 21, 2014Human Capital

    Thank you for sharing your positive feedback!

  11. 1 person found this helpful  

    Worst company to work for, they do not care about their employees.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Plymouth, MN
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Plymouth, MN

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    It is in a good location (corporate office).

    Cons

    Management is horrible. The company policies are disgusting, it is like being in Kindergarten again. My teen age daughter gets treated with more respect at her job that I do. Expected to do "catch up work" during your breaks and lunch, or you get talked to. No communication between management and employees, management is NEVER around to help out with questions/issues/problems. You get paid very little for what is expected of you.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Communicate with your employees. Be around to help.

    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Dec 12, 2014Human Capital

    Thank you for your feedback. Your review has been shared with the appropriate parties within the organization.

Sleep Number by Select Comfort Photos

Work at Sleep Number by Select Comfort? Share Your Experiences

Sleep Number by Select Comfort

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.