Sleep Number by Select Comfort Reviews

Updated July 21, 2015
29 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Any Status
  • Current Employees
Employment Status

Reset
4.0
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Sleep Number by Select Comfort President & CEO Shelly Ibach
Shelly Ibach
16 Ratings

Pros
  • Great product with great concept and innovative product (in 20 reviews)

  • My roommate calls Sleep Number the "apple" of the bed industry (in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • Highly political among upper management (in 16 reviews)

  • Horrible upper management starting with District Managers (in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

29 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Great Company, Great Pay!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Dallas, TX

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Innovative products, great customer base and ability to make great money, too.

    Cons

    It's retail, so weekends and holidays are the norm.

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Jul 24, 2015 – Human Capital Operations Specialist

    Thank you for posting your feedback! We are so happy to hear that you are enjoying the benefits of being an important part of our Sleep Number team!


  2. It is very rewarding to be able to improve people's lives by improving their quality of sleep.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sleep Expert in Birmingham, AL
    Current Employee - Sleep Expert in Birmingham, AL

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Sleep Number has a great product, good pay, and a very innovative company.

    Cons

    Poor leadership from many of the store and district managers.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the employees!

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Jul 2, 2015 – Human Capital Operations Specialist

    We appreciate you sharing your feedback on both the pros of working for Sleep Number as well as your concerns with leadership. If you would like to discuss these concerns further please feel free to ... More


  3. Great Place to be!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Great Company, great work environment, awesome products!

    Cons

    Store manager pay could be better. Constant increasing sales goals are not always realistic.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your Managers a little better and be careful to structure reasonable sales goals each month.

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Jun 19, 2015 – Human Capital Operations Specialist

    Thank you so much for taking the time to post your feedback! We are happy to hear that you are pleased with your position, work environment and the products that we offer! We also appreciate you ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (3)

    Great company to work for. If you have any experience in sales, it's a cakewalk.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Professional in Kansas City, MO
    Current Employee - Sales Professional in Kansas City, MO

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Great monetary compensation for the amount of actual work involved, and full benefits after six months. There also exists good potential for advancement. Plain and simple: this is as good as it gets in retail sales.

    Cons

    The company has an unnatural obsession with its own corny corporate jargon. Often times more emphasis is placed on adherence to loosely defined positive verbiage than actual sales. This is especially true of the district management.

    Advice to Management

    Micromanagement, and the aforementioned emphasis on corporate jargon are often times counter productive when it comes to motivating teams. As a direct result, in every store I've worked I've heard strong cynicism towards upper management.

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Apr 17, 2015 – Human Capital Operations Specialist

    We are so pleased to hear that you are enjoying your experience with Sleep Number and appreciate the work that you do daily for our customers! Thank you for sharing your concerns as well; these will ... More


  6. Wonderful Product, Wonderful People, Wonderful Company to be a part of!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager
    Current Employee - Store Manager

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (More than 5 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    The people--Customers and co-workers. This company is large, but feels like a small community. This company is full of talented wonderful people all the way from sales professionals to Shelly Ibach. The products is amazing and I love hearing how better sleep can affect one's life in such a positive way! Sleep Number is continually making positive changes to improve the customer experience and I feel that feedback is often well received.

    Cons

    Hours are sometimes long as a manager. Three person stores can be difficult to operate and work in.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work! I am so proud to work for this company. Continue to reward and value those who put the work in.

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Feb 26, 2015 – Human Capital Operations Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback! We are thrilled to hear that you are enjoying the corporate culture and innovation that we all share as Sleep Number brand ambassadors ... More


  7. Great place to work

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Indianapolis, IN
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Indianapolis, IN

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    The compensation is very good! Management is supportive and the training is very thorough. It is a rewarding job where you can build a relationship with the clients.

    Cons

    May be hard to find work-life balance because of the night and weekend hours that you work, which is typical for a retail position. They will work with you as much as possible though.

    Advice to Management

    Check on employees on a regular basis to make sure they are getting the upport and opportunities for advancement that they desire!

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Jan 9, 2015 – Human Capital Operations Specialist

    We are so glad to hear that you are finding your position within Sleep Number to be rewarding and we truly do appreciate the relationships that you are building with our customers. Thank you for the ... More


  8. work in progress

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Professional
    Current Employee - Sales Professional

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    As a sales professional I feel very comfortable recommending the high quality products in a low pressure sales environment. The products literally sell themselves.

    Cons

    Very flat management hierarchy, if you are reporting to a superior that you are not compatible with, your kind of stuck.

    Advice to Management

    Exchange policy for bedding doesn't match the most progressive retailer. Customer service isn't keeping up with sales growth


  9. Freedom to help the customer

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Plymouth, MN
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Plymouth, MN

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Management gives you the power to do what's best for the customer

    Cons

    Lack of communication between Home Delivery and customer service

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of Xogistics


  10. I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Excellent culture for employees who enjoy being challenged and rewarded, this company helps change lives!!! Company recognizes sales success with a living wage, and outstanding new products which keep it interesting.

    Cons

    Retail and extended holiday hours are a drag. Is it useful to open at 7 or 8 on Labor Day and stay until 10 at night? So much for the holiday.

    Advice to Management

    Keep innovating, it is working!! Let go of the over-paid pompous jerks who contribute very little.


  11. Sleep Number is constantly evolving

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Expert in Bonita Springs, FL
    Current Employee - Sales Expert in Bonita Springs, FL

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (More than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Pay structure allows for the ability to make a good amount of money. The company recognizes success with their "President's Circle" each year and sends them on an all expense paid vacation!

    Cons

    The manager I had was less than professional and I have met others that were the same. They raise your goals over 30% when you hit them which makes it much harder to hit your commission tiers.

    Advice to Management

    Spend more time with your managers developing the culture that Sleep Number is all about.

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Oct 14, 2014 – Human Capital

    Thank you for providing your feedback and advice. I will pass it on!



Showing 29 of 234 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.