Sleep Number by Select Comfort Reviews

Updated July 12, 2015
52 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Any Status
Employment Status

Reset
3.0
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Sleep Number by Select Comfort President & CEO Shelly Ibach
Shelly Ibach
23 Ratings

Pros
  • Great product with great concept and innovative product (in 20 reviews)

  • My roommate calls Sleep Number the "apple" of the bed industry (in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • Highly political among upper management (in 16 reviews)

  • Horrible upper management starting with District Managers (in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

52 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Helpful (6)

    Sales Professional

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sleep Professional in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Employee - Sleep Professional in Los Angeles, CA

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort

    Neutral Outlook
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    Good pay when economy is strong compared to other Retail jobs. You could possibly move up to Store Manager, if you blow away your personal goals, get along with your boss, and show leadership skills.

    Cons

    Paid time off (PTO) is vacation that you should be able to enjoy with Family/Friends and Sleep Number says they want you to enjoy this time. However, you are still responsible for 100 percent of your goal when gone and risk being terminated by missing goal when taking PTO.

    Advice to Management

    Don't write-up sales people when they take a week or more off for PTO and still hit like 80 percent of their goal. The company doesn't need to adjust goals, but please take PTO into consideration before warning us about job loss. Another idea let us accumulate more than 120 hours PTO or pay out PTO end of year, if 100 percent of goal is all that matters for job retention.

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Jul 24, 2015 – Human Capital Operations Specialist

    Thank you for posting your feedback and for your ideas on additional ways for us to work with PTO hours. Your feedback is being shared and we thank you for taking the time to share!


  2. Helpful (5)

    Ok at first

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    The Benefits package was good.

    Cons

    They say it isn't capped commissions, but once you hit a certain income level they manipulate sales goals to keep you at a certain level. If you make too much they will move you on out, it is very counter productive to your success. But if you are ok making 50 to 60k and never any more this is ok.

    Advice to Management

    Sales people are your bread and butter. without them you would not be where you are. Your middle management treats the sales force poorly and lack of training does not help. You should only promote your sales managers from the sales team, the managers that you have are unskilled in sales processes.

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Jul 2, 2015 – Human Capital Operations Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. At Sleep Number we are a pay for performance culture and have a strategic and complex approach to how goals are set for our stores. These goals ... More


  3. Helpful (5)

    Current sales expert

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Expert in San Antonio, TX
    Current Employee - Sales Expert in San Antonio, TX

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (More than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    I think the beds are the best. Some are over priced, but once you find the perfect bed for the right person. It is great. I love the people I help. You can make great money, 48 to 53,000 a year. Plus win contest, unless you got written up for small offenses.

    Cons

    Many to list, The 20 minute up rotation is a joke. It seems when the maner of her friend is in the 20 minute up, they feel the need to go to the bathroom, back room, thier cell phone and give up thier up to me 10 second before a customer comes in with a return, we get a delivery, there is a complaint. And surprising they come right back as I am using my up to help these situations. And now they get to assume the next customer. Being written up or corrected for showing up early, staying late without getting the manager approval. When it is busy and the other employees are overwhelmed. Selling a bed to a customer, they come back in before bed is delivered and buying sheets pillows, protectors or other accessories and the manger puts it in their name. Even thou the customer has your card with exacting what they are buying is written on it. And you get pulled to the back for questioning what she did.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of current up rotation. And have employees not in the up rotation take, customer returns, complaint,

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Jun 12, 2015 – Human Capital Operations Specialist

    Thank you so much for your post. Your concerns on the ups rotation and detailed concerns on what are happening in your location will be shared and looked into further.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Rewarding work

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Rewarding work and emotionally satisfying.

    Cons

    Political environment and need to play along.

    Advice to Management

    Grow internal talent than getting from outside


  6. Helpful (1)

    Sales Associate

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Augusta, GA
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Augusta, GA

    I worked at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    SBN training process Selling techniques Small showrooms Small working groups The ability to continue to build rapport with SN customers The overall Sleep Number mission

    Cons

    Poor superior (district manager) and store level leadership, whom showed very little support to advancing career growth opportunities within company Sleep Number is a great company, if it had not of been for the very poor leadership I would still be there passionately selling by numbers. I enjoyed my time there and will carry the experience and selling skills I gained with me in my new career.

    Advice to Management

    If a DM takes over a store, the DM should model the similar managerial character as that of the previous DM


  7. Helpful (1)

    Sleep Associate

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great place to work and great co workers

    Cons

    High goals some months that are not realistic

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Apr 24, 2015 – Human Capital Operations Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback, we always enjoy hearing how much people enjoy working for Sleep Number and with their teams! We also appreciate your feedback on the monthly ... More


  8. Helpful (3)

    Sleep expert

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Sleep Number by Select Comfort

    Pros

    Great Products! Learned so much about the study of sleep. Enjoyed changing lives and building relationships with my fellow workers and customers.

    Cons

    Management often sets unattainable goals and it is very stressful. We can only do our best, that's all anyone should expect! Noone else in retail is setting goals 20 - 40% over LY, especially without the marketing to support it!

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Jan 23, 2015 – Human Capital Operations Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! We are pleased to hear about how much you enjoyed Sleep Number products as well as the knowledge you gained about the importance of sleep. We will share your concerns ... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    It is a great entry level opportunity!

    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Case Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Current Employee - Case Manager in Minneapolis, MN

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    It is decent pay for entry level, and it's a good place to "get your feet wet" get some experience.

    Cons

    Working in customer service can become like a labryinth! You think you are getting somewhere with promotions to different teams, but in the end you end up "stuck" in customer service. Few make it out of customer service and into different departments.

    Advice to Management

    It would be nice to get a bonus at Christmas time. It is something to do community events for others, and we have employee's that need help just as much.

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Jan 9, 2015 – Human Capital Operations Specialist

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding the growth and development of our Customer Service Professionals as well as additional opportunities to support our employees. I ... More


  10. Helpful (6)

    Sales professional

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sale Professional in Portland, OR
    Former Employee - Sale Professional in Portland, OR

    I worked at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (More than 3 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Great place to work if you like long slow hours .. Slow at times. Not a very hard physical job

    Cons

    Management and upper management CEO. They like to keep you confused on all the sales . They usually have 3 different sales going on at the same time. Causing sales professional to lose their commission

    Advice to Management

    Train store managers how to truly lead , not lead by insulting employees while on the sales floor in front of customers

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Dec 19, 2014 – Human Capital Operations Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review! I am passing your comments about the commission/sales and management concerns to the appropriate teams at the home office. Should you wish to ... More


  11. Helpful (5)

    commissions are VERY inconsistent

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Professional
    Current Employee - Sales Professional

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (More than 3 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Easy to sell product, easy to do demos. Former costumers will stop in and tell potential customers how great the product is. The flexible schedule is super nice.

    Cons

    After making quite a few monthly goals in a row the company decided that the goal should be double what my store sold last year. My district manager is useless. His idea of being a leader is having us email other stores in our district what we sell as we sell it all day and replies ba boom, pow or some other batman action word. Or if it's a slow day he'll try to make us feel guilty for the lack of sales and will literally try to put us on a guilt trip. Or worse yet he'll quote some motivational book he read.

    Advice to Management

    If your going to extend the store hours you have to advertise that your doing that. No one ever comes to the store at 10 pm because they know the mall closes at 9. Also someone needs to get the multi store leaders more involved instead of just saying "boom" and "pow" every time someone sells something. Go back to the realistic goals of the last few months. This double last years sales is insane and disheartening. At least explain your logic instead of making bind demands.

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Nov 21, 2014 – Human Capital

    Thank you for providing some actionable feedback. I am interested in talking to you to understand some additional details. Please contact careers@selectcomfort.com. Thank you!



Showing 52 of 235 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.