Sleep Number by Select Comfort Reviews

Updated March 20, 2015
31 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
5.0
31 Reviews
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Sleep Number by Select Comfort President & CEO Shelly Ibach
Shelly Ibach
94 Ratings

31 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Sales

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Professional in Temecula, CA
    Former Employee - Sales Professional in Temecula, CA

    I worked at Sleep Number by Select Comfort

    Pros

    Excellent place to work. They care about their people and management is there to help you succeed. Excellent benefits, 401K match and results driven.

    Cons

    When its slow you need to keep yourself occupied.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    None. Never had a bad manager. Still hold many of them in close regard.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Mar 27, 2015Human Capital Operations Specialist

    Thank you so much for posting your review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with Sleep Number!

  2. Absolutely fantastic! Dedicated company.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sleep Associate in Redondo Beach, CA
    Former Employee - Sleep Associate in Redondo Beach, CA

    I worked at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    Good benefits, very detailed training, great staff across every store in Southern California area. They hire serious sales driven people. You MUST be driven by commission sales. I was one of the youngest employees for quite a few cities around my store at 25 yrs. old at the time. They hire very experienced employees. Low hourly but it is definitely made up if you are a good sales person. The company cares about you and want you to succeed. Great structure.

    Cons

    Due to commission based sales, some days you will stay longer to provide service to the customer and close the deal. Meetings are once a month and you have drive to another store (unless you're lucky and its yours) you do get paid mileage but then you work the remaining entire 8 hour shift for that day. You must be able to go from 0-60 at a moments notice. One minute its dead for hours the next you have 5 people in the store.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    My Manager was fantastic! Wonderful fair guy and all the managers are well informed and can delegate accordingly. He has since been promoted. Room for growth exists!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Mar 13, 2015Human Capital Operations Specialist

    Thank you so much for posting your feedback! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our culture and values. We truly appreciate our hard working sales force and all that you do for our customers!

  3. Incredible opportunity from sales professional on up!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Store Manager
    Current Employee - Store Manager

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    As a store manager I've been able to recruit and train a highly motivated, well compensated team. They all have nice new cars, great homes and lives. I support my family, am active in my church and children's schools. How many retail managers can actually say the have a quality life away from the store? I can!

    Cons

    Vital to be good at managing money. Income is great, but not the same each month. Highs and Lows, some controlled with how much you put into it, some, like all retail, not in your control.

    It only works if you work it...
    If you don't believe in following a corporate plan, policies and procedures, don't bother. :)

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep up the amazing leaps in technology and customer service.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Feb 26, 2015Human Capital Operations Specialist

    Thank you so much for sharing your positive feedback! We are so happy to hear that you and your team are enjoying the benefits of being Sleep Number brand ambassadors! We thank you for all of your ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Innovative, forward thinking company - top performers all around!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Store Manager
    Current Employee - Store Manager

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort

    Pros

    High expectations with high rewards - if you are someone with solid interpersonal skills that truly loves our products then the sky is the limit career wise! This is not a SALES career, this is a career where you can change people's lives by solving their sleep problems (bed, bedding, pillows, etc). This is a very personal, highly rewarding career.

    Cons

    Retail hours - but that is not something that was a surprise. Everyone is told about the various hours needed before coming on board.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    I would enjoy more store to store or region to region communication. Sometimes you get lost in your own four walls and it's always welcome to hear what others are doing that could be used in my own store.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Feb 13, 2015Human Capital Operations Specialist

    We truly appreciate all that you do to create the ultimate experience for our customers! We appreciate your feedback as well on the communication piece between stores and regions and will share this ... More

  6. This Company improves lives!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    Good Company with a drive to make things better and to always be striving to offer people a way to improve their quality of life through better sleep. The passion and cohesiveness of this company to work together to achieve sales and operational goals is fantastic. The culture of this company is unique and store, district, and region, are very competitive. It is a great place to work, especially when you are a true believer in all the product offered.

    Cons

    Sometimes there are long hours due to big holiday sales but it is well worth it in the end. No complaints about compensation. There is always a contest offered of an incentive to help motivate you to drive sales. Internal promotions are based on performance and your ability to work well with all team members.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    There has been a tremendous amount of success along the way. I think it is smart to invest more time into actually identifying what is driving business and why. There is a great deal of opportunity to find and internally promote the best candidates instead of the most popular. I encourage the management team to always invest the time to discover or learn the right answers. Stay on the path to go from Good to Great!

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Feb 6, 2015Human Capital Operations Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your feedback! We are pleased to hear that you truly enjoyed your time with Sleep Number and felt the drive that we have to improve lives!

  7. Great place to work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort (less than a year)

    Pros

    Great company with outstanding character and staff. Home delivery is a work in progress and everyone works very hard at improving what needs to be improved. Management genially cares about employees and staff. Focuses on developing underperforming employees whenever possible. Everyone gets a chance to succeed assuming they are not committing a crime with their actions

    Cons

    A few long term employees that do not like accountability. These are people who claim to misuse company property "accidentally". Takes time to change and it can be frustrating during the process but current HD management is weeding out bad apples one at a time

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep up the hard work. Continue to focus on developing delivery teams

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Jan 23, 2015Human Capital Operations Specialist

    Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review! Growth and development are extremely important to us and we are grateful that you appreciate our efforts. Thank you for being a Sleep ... More

  8. Simply Wonderful!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Current Employee - Manager in Minneapolis, MN

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great culture.
    Great work life balance for retail.
    Top notch Senior Leadership!!!

    Cons

    None that I can think of! Great long term vision and direction.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep doing what you are doing!

    Approves of CEO

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Nov 21, 2014Human Capital

    Thank you for sharing your positive feedback!

  9. Great products, sales process!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Professional in Valencia, CA
    Former Employee - Sales Professional in Valencia, CA

    I worked at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    Selling of a product line and accessories that is extremely easy to believe in is a big +! Performance based compensation w/ a base salary allows for growth and stability. Key performers recognized publicly makes for a positive workplace environment. Sales staff is encouraged to try out the products at home and become owner's.

    -

    Cons

    Individual goals and numbers not based on LY performance and appear to be completely arbitrary. Promotions from within are not always based on achievements numbers-wise at the store level.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Invest in more training of the store/district management to recognize the strengths/abilities/weaknesses of the retail staff and store leadership.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  10. Not bad

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales Representative
    Current Employee - Sales Representative

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort part-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    Decent, but not a lot of movement

    Cons

    lots of pressure, management rides hard.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  11. It has been amazing

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Store Manager in North Auburn, CA
    Current Employee - Store Manager in North Auburn, CA

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    I love improving peoples lives through individualizing Sleep Solutions!

    Cons

    Working every single holiday, even the little ones like Columbus day are all required, always no matter what

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

Sleep Number by Select Comfort Photos

Work at Sleep Number by Select Comfort? Share Your Experiences

Sleep Number by Select Comfort

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.