Supermedia Reviews

Updated July 19, 2015
95 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Any Status
Employment Status

Reset
2.0
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Supermedia CEO Peter J. McDonald
Peter J. McDonald
38 Ratings

Pros
  • Benefits are good, although they used to be better (in 42 reviews)

  • Great working conditions, tops in pay and benefits (in 16 reviews)

Cons
  • You sell Yellow Pages Advertising (in 41 reviews)

  • The disconnect between upper management and employees kept widening to the point where the bottom line overtook the value of individual employees (in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

95 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Original Company Verizon Informational Services was great before Merging

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graphics Manager
    Former Employee - Graphics Manager

    I worked at Supermedia full-time (More than 8 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Pros

    Great pay, supportive management, creative freedom, helping a company grow was very rewarding.

    Cons

    after merger little to no support for the support staff. All about sales and getting contracts signed, didn't really care if the programs worked for their advertisers. After the merger even in Sales they set us up to compete against our co-workers, with no training and no support. Ugly environment

    Advice to Management

    too late, now merged with Dex Media

    Supermedia Response

    Jul 24, 2015 – Employee

    Hi - Thank you for your 8+ years of devoted service. -Ed


  2. Contractor

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Supermedia

    Pros

    Employees are friendly to new comers

    Cons

    Very very chaotic political environment

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees

    Supermedia Response

    Jun 18, 2015 – Employee

    Hi - Thank you for your time provided to the company and for voicing your feedback. -Ed


  3. Sales

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Supermedia

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Good money if you can sell

    Cons

    Bad management, bad product

    Supermedia Response

    Jun 8, 2015 – Employee

    Hi - Thank you for providing your feedback. -Ed


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Media Consultant

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Media Consultant in Irving, TX
    Former Employee - Media Consultant in Irving, TX

    I worked at Supermedia full-time (More than 3 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Good benefits with good opportunity to grow if you played their game. I liked working with customers in presenting solutions that helped their business grow.

    Cons

    The company didn't care about it customers or employees. Upper Management only cared if you sold print products to companies that weren't savvy enough to demand more internet products. Upper Management also created a hostile environment forcing meetings after 5 and on Saturday mornings if you didn't sell the right products.

    Advice to Management

    You have a better chance of success if you focus your efforts on providing better customer service treat your employees with sincere respect.

    Supermedia Response

    Jun 2, 2015 – Employee

    Thank you for your service and feedback. -Ed


  6. Good time management space

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Santa Barbara, CA
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Santa Barbara, CA

    I worked at Supermedia

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Pros

    Good time management space. Good benefits

    Cons

    No real leadership and direction is all over the place

    Supermedia Response

    Mar 13, 2015 – Employee

    Hi- Thank you very much for your time and service provided to Dex Media and for taking the time to post your review. -Ed


  7. Junk Products, Great Pay

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Media Consultant
    Former Employee - Media Consultant

    I worked at Supermedia

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Solid Paycheck Friendly Co-Workers Didn't have to sit in an office all day

    Cons

    Lots of travel Rip off their customers Products don't work Management is clueless

    Advice to Management

    Take the time to understand the world today and stop living in 1989.


  8. Multi year top 5% ......use to be a good company to work for

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Premise Media Consultant in Chantilly, VA
    Current Employee - Premise Media Consultant in Chantilly, VA

    I have been working at Supermedia

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    If you have experience, not hard to be a top producer.

    Cons

    Not interested in building relationships with business owners. Force accounts to certain "key" reps. Constant turnover. Mgmt has hard time motivating sales reps and resorts to threats and intimidation to force sales activity.

    Advice to Management

    Get out while you can.

    Supermedia Response

    Feb 18, 2015 – Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi- We hate to hear about the dissatisfaction you've outlined. We certainly want our employees to have faith in the company and products that we offer. If you'd like to discuss some of your concerns ... More


  9. sales

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Supermedia full-time (More than 8 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    great salary and benefits for employees. really nice people to work with and had some opportunity for growth. Experienced staff at most levels.

    Cons

    poor leadership with very little insight, management was out of touch with the reality of the work place, a lot of focus on avoiding layoffs with little thought towards listening to the employees.

    Advice to Management

    deal with the reality of the marketplace.

    Supermedia Response

    Feb 18, 2015 – Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi- We can't thank you enough for your 8 + years of service and for taking the time to provide your feedback.


  10. Account manager

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Supermedia

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Pros

    Not a lot with this company

    Cons

    No one had a good direction for the company

    Advice to Management

    Have more management from the auto industry

    Supermedia Response

    Feb 18, 2015 – Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi- Thank you greatly for your time and service to the company and we appreciate you providing your feedback. -Ed


  11. Helpful (1)

    Sales

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Supermedia

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Pros are the benefits started from day one. And had unlimited tuition reimbursement

    Cons

    company set unrealistic goals that were unattainable and no one was able to meet them turnover was very high

    Supermedia Response

    Sep 5, 2014 – Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi- Thank you greatly for posting your pros and cons regarding current employment. Be assured that your feedback will not go unheard as we encourage employees to voice their work experiences and ... More



Showing 95 of 334 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.