Supermedia Reviews

Updated June 29, 2015
74 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Any Status
Employment Status

Reset
3.0
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Supermedia CEO Peter J. McDonald
Peter J. McDonald
28 Ratings

Pros
  • Benefits are good, although they used to be better (in 42 reviews)

  • Great working conditions, tops in pay and benefits (in 16 reviews)

Cons
  • You sell Yellow Pages Advertising (in 41 reviews)

  • The disconnect between upper management and employees kept widening to the point where the bottom line overtook the value of individual employees (in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

74 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. OK

    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Supermedia

    Pros

    Good Training, flexible schedule, paid expenses

    Cons

    Poor management, bad leads, layoffs

    Supermedia Response

    Jul 6, 2015Employee

    Hi - Thank you for your feedback. -Ed


  2. Change is Good

    Former Employee - Sales in DFW, TX
    Former Employee - Sales in DFW, TX

    I worked at Supermedia full-time (More than 10 years)

    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Under long overdue and hopefully capable new management. The firm has jettisoned unnecessary and overpaid personnel, which should allow improved cash flows and a renewed focus on client-centered activity.

    Cons

    Centralized sales offices have been paired down to a few telephone call centers located, in many cases, far away from the SMBs the company intends to serve. Most local sales offices have been closed with sales reps working from home. Ongoing coaching and training will be minimal, moving forward.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to streamline the operation, focus on the client and their measurable results, and look for opportunities to exploit the growth the growth of mobile technologies.

    Supermedia Response

    Mar 13, 2015Employee

    Hi- We greatly appreciate your 10+ years of service and for taking the time to provide your feedback. -Ed


  3. Offshoring, Bankruptcy, down-sizing, limits employee potential

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Internet Operations in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Former Employee - Internet Operations in Saint Petersburg, FL

    I worked at Supermedia full-time (More than 8 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Teammates were good to work with

    Cons

    Career growth/advancement opportunities were few and far between

    Supermedia Response

    Mar 6, 2015Dex Media Corporate

    Hi- Thank you greatly for your 8 + years of service and for taking the time to post your review. -Ed


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. I've been with the company almost 14 years the first 8 years were wonderful we worked hard but were paid well .

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Consultant in Baltimore, MD
    Current Employee - Marketing Consultant in Baltimore, MD

    I have been working at Supermedia full-time (More than 10 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    If you are a hunter and are good at finding new business this is a great place to work.

    Cons

    working from home now not going to an office is very different lonely and very hard

    Advice to Management

    too late to go back to print now

    Supermedia Response

    Mar 2, 2015Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi- We can't thank you enough for your 10 + years of dedicated service. Keep up the great work and we look forward to a brighter future together. -Ed


  6. Rollercoaster Ride- if you dare !!!!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Supermedia full-time (More than 5 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    I love the people that I work with here and my clinets.

    Cons

    Products (internt) don't work. Have to do mor customer service for my clients than selling.

    Advice to Management

    We need inovative, creative Managers that know how to sell !!!!! Not here because of who they know and there time with the Company.

    Supermedia Response

    Feb 13, 2015Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi- We're continuously working to improve our products on a daily basis as we feel this is the only way to successfully offer our clients the best services for their business. Thank you for your ... More


  7. Helpful (1)

    Constant Change

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Sales in Los Alamitos, CA
    Former Employee - Marketing Sales in Los Alamitos, CA

    I worked at Supermedia

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    You get to learn a lot there. Lots of good people have worked there over the years.

    Cons

    Priorities change there multiple times a year. Too bureaucratic for a company looking to transform. Highly Inefficient.

    Advice to Management

    Get one plan and stick to it before you change to another.

    Supermedia Response

    Jan 13, 2015Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi- Change and evolution of a company can be difficult for all involved. We greatly appreciate your service and for taking the time to post your feedback. -Ed


  8. A leaning experience

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Supermedia full-time (More than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Pay is decent, hours, union representation

    Cons

    Lack of support, unrealistic sales quota, pressure from management

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    Supermedia Response

    Dec 16, 2014Reputation Management Coordinator

    H- We thank you greatly for the service that you provided to the company and for taking the time to post your review. -Ed


  9. Manager

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Supermedia full-time (More than 10 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Very close to home and very good hours.

    Cons

    New Management did not know the business

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees

    Supermedia Response

    Nov 14, 2014Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi- Thank you for your providing 10 + years of dedicated service to the company! Our management team works diligently to excel at their leadership duties and to make sure that our employees have what ... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    Good company to work for

    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Supermedia

    Pros

    Great management to work with

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Advice to Management

    None

    Supermedia Response

    Nov 5, 2014Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi- Thank you so much for your tenure with the company, and for taking the time to post your feedback. It's greatly appreciate! -Ed


  11. Helpful (1)

    Lacked focus on customer service.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Supermedia full-time (More than 5 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    insurance benefits, flexibility with hours

    Cons

    Lacked leadership and core values

    Advice to Management

    Be honest

    Supermedia Response

    Aug 6, 2014Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi, thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your past employment experience with us. We greatly appreciate the feedback that you've offered. -Ed



Showing 74 of 332 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.