Terex

  www.terex.com
  www.terex.com

Terex Reviews

Updated October 13, 2014
Updated October 13, 2014
133 Reviews
3.7
133 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Terex Chairman and CEO Ron DeFeo
Ron DeFeo
87 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Terex is a reasonable employer that understands a work/life balance (in 9 reviews)

  • Lots of opportunity to make your mark and be involved (in 6 reviews)


Cons
  • If you come from a different kind of industry you may not be familiar with the ups and downs of heavy construction equipment (in 3 reviews)

  • Company has not done a good job transitioning from a holding company to an operating company (in 4 reviews)

More Highlights

23 Employee Reviews Back to all reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Many opportunities for growth and development, but bureaucracy and poor support will hold you back.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Manufacturing Engineer I in Redmond, WA
    Current Employee - Manufacturing Engineer I in Redmond, WA

    I have been working at Terex full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Most co-workers are hard working and ready to help you solve issues. Great opportunity to gain experience in lean manufacturing. Benefits are very good, including 401k, stock options, profit sharing, two week personal time, and Passport discount card. The quality of training can vary greatly depending on what department you go into.

    Cons

    Management is knowledgeable, but disconnected from work force and unresponsive. Support structure is poor and bureaucracy can be a great hinderance. There is a revolving door of managers, so you will constantly be dealing with a new boss with different standards.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Someone needs to stick around long enough to understand their work force.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Terex Response

    Oct 16, 2014Admin

    Thank you for sharing your comments on the Terex Glassdoor page. We are glad to hear that you are pleased with the Terex benefits plan. Regarding our managers, we have recently rolled out a new ... More

  2.  

    Career Growth is Bleak to Non-existent

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Terex full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Until a year ago Is was thrilled about working at Terex. I put in 50 hours a week and was happy to do it. Senior leadership is good in setting the direction for the business.

    Cons

    Direct Management threatens, blames you for things he did, never praises, takes personal credit for work you did. Treats team members in the region where management is much better than other region team members. Business support structures below Senior Management are never recognized unless they are in manufacturing. Morale is at an all time low.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Train new management to act in Terex way, and act as they would have liked to be managed.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Terex Response

    Sep 12, 2014Admin

    On behalf of Terex, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We know that our team members are our most valuable assets; without them Terex would not be successful ... More

  3. 1 person found this helpful  

    Employee powered company with no support for managers

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Terex

    Pros

    Great pay - could just show up and do average and be extraordinary

    Cons

    If you did too much you were frowned on

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    By giving so much power to your workforce when they aren't even unionized you actually make it harder for your management team to do their positions

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review
  5. 3 people found this helpful  

    Equipment Mfg company focused on Financial games rather that making equipment.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Terex full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Management team is open to new ideas that will contribute to bottom line. CEO likes to promote segment autonomy.

    Cons

    Always looking for a magic solution rather than investing the time to commit to a business strategy and philosophy that goes beyond deeper that "profits now!"

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Look at the methodology employed by your AWP business segment. The pay-off comes from the method and AWP has been applying it for a long time to get where they are and are fully committed.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
  6. 2 people found this helpful  

    Aging workforce full of mindless followers of 'the Terex Way' lacking in vision and drive to take it to the next level.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Westport, CT
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Westport, CT

    I have been working at Terex full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Convenient, and secure work location with covered parking. In general, the people are nice and the benefits are very good.

    Cons

    Compensation lags the market. The values defined in the Terex Way are followed almost religiously, in cult-like fashion, to the detriment of innovative thought. Not a technology company, Leadership has anointed a leader from finance who served under the new CFO as the new IT leader and CIO - the company is already well behind the times technologically and appointing someone lacking the insights needed to lead the company in this area is not going to advance the organization. Company filled with old, white men - there's limited diversity and women primarily work in an administrative capacity or within HR and the vast majority of employees are over 40. Company has not done a good job transitioning from a holding company to an operating company. Have not been very successful in integrating acquisitions to create a unified company with a shared vision.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Get your house in order, decide where the company is going; let technology play a more vital role by bringing the company into the 21st century; diversify your workforce, find ways to attract and retain a younger, more vital workforce with fresh ideas. Try to be more than a finance/capital company. AND - Succession Planning, Succession Planning, Succession Planning!

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Terex Response

    Jul 24, 2014Admin

    On behalf of Terex, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Your opinion of Terex is important to us and we will share your comments with our Westport leadership team ... More

  7. 4 people found this helpful  

    Snowball headed for hell

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales in Grand Rapids, MN
    Current Employee - Sales in Grand Rapids, MN

    I have been working at Terex full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    Co-workers, some of the best Ive ever worked with
    Track machines we build are best in the industry and employees are proud of the product they build.
    Never boring.....things always seem to change every two years!

    Cons

    Big disconnect between management and workers.
    Alot of individuals talents not being utilized
    Company doesnt realize what potential this product could bring them.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Spec sheets dont sell machines, dealers with employees that know how to operate the product and relate to the end user do. You should have never got rid of the dealers that knew how to sell and service our products. Quit raising the prices, we are getting ate alive by our competition. Should maybe sell the buisness to a company that will take it and run with it.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Terex Response

    Jul 23, 2014Admin

    My name is Natasha Valani and I work in the Human Resources department at Terex Corporation. On behalf of Terex, I would like to apologize for your negative experience at our Grand Rapids facility ... More

  8. 3 people found this helpful  

    Be careful what you wish for

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Terex full-time

    Pros

    Fair pay and mostly nice/intelligent people

    Cons

    Small company with big company problems. Growth through acquisitions has led to the use of far to many software platforms. Incompetent middle management and no sign of improvement in my department. Very much a live to work environment in accounting/tax, you don't get the same flexibility as others and most people seem OK with that. Lack of preparation for the on-boarding process, didn't really have work for the first few weeks. Corporate in general really struggles to keep quality people globally.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Some of the people in middle management positions clearly lack the leadership skills to manage others. Senior management should do a better job of compensating for this if they insist on employing such people.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  9. 1 person found this helpful  

    Ambitious, but rubbish.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redmond, WA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redmond, WA

    I have been working at Terex full-time

    Pros

    The business team provide a great number of training programs to use and implement into day-to-day processes. These training programs result in a vast knowledge of lean culture and theory which is highly sought after by other employers.

    Cons

    As an engineer is little incentive to work harder and improve yourself other than self drive. Terex attempts to standardize everything, including engineering roles and salaries. This results in a group of people with varying educational backgrounds, various career goals, and various work loads all getting compensated the exact same amount which in turn leads to an extremely high turnover rate for the more ambitious and demanding positions.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Pay people what they are worth.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Terex Response

    Jul 24, 2014Admin

    On behalf of Terex, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Your opinion of Terex is important to us and we will share your comments with our Redmond leadership team ... More

  10. 1 person found this helpful  

    A dead end job

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Administration in Redmond, WA
    Former Employee - Administration in Redmond, WA

    I worked at Terex as a contractor (more than an year)

    Pros

    Nice co-workers, decent pay.

    Cons

    It is evident that management is under a great deal of stress. They cascade their unrealistic expectations to their subordinates. Old school management style.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Learn from progressive E-Commerce companies

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  11. 2 people found this helpful  

    Design Engineer

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Design Engineer in Grand Rapids, MN
    Current Employee - Design Engineer in Grand Rapids, MN

    I have been working at Terex full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    Good benefits, work/life balance, compensation is relative to the area.

    Cons

    Five different managers in the last five years. Disconnect between upper management and local operation. Desire to change things last moment before production starts.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    1. Realize who your people are and what exactly they build. We have a niche market, why try to build something that everyone else builds for more money.
    2. Let the factory sell directly to the dealers. Eliminate the factory sells to construction division who sells to dealer model. Are you really keeping costs down by doing this?
    3. Let us be innovative again. We were when you bought us out. Now its just a lets try to build what everyone else builds. There is no added value there.
    4. Don't change things at the last minute just because it looks better on paper. Put someone in the seat and let them drive it. Our machines can do what others can't. Word of mouth sells more machines than does rental houses.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

Work at Terex? Share Your Experiences

Terex

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.