The Home Depot

  www.homedepot.com
Work in HR? Unlock Free Profile

The Home Depot Reviews

Updated Jul 26, 2014
All Employees Current Employees Only

3.2 4,561 reviews

81% Approve of the CEO

The Home Depot Chairman and CEO Frank Blake

Frank Blake

(2,884 ratings)

62% of employees recommend this company to a friend

Review Highlights

Pros
  • They are one of few companies today that provide part time employees with benefits(in 209 reviews)

  • There were some good benefits for part-timers, such as a discount on your cell phone bill(in 190 reviews)


Cons
  • No work/life balance, so be ready to not see your love ones how you might like to(in 135 reviews)

  • Now they mostly hire only part time that offers very little in the way of benifits(in 241 reviews)

1,350 Employee Reviews Back to all reviews
Relevance Date Rating
in
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • No Opinion of CEO

     

    Exactly what I thought it would be like.

    Freight Team Operator (Current Employee)

    ProsSimple to do and easy money. It's a part-time job, don't expect too much.

    ConsYou can tire yourself out very easily. Take your time and bring water. If you can't do any heavy lifting, don't even bother applying.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend

    The Home Depot Client Partner responded to this review

    Jul 9, 2014

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are happy to hear you are having a positive experience at The Home Depot.
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • No Opinion of CEO

     

    good

    Sales Associate (Former Employee) San Jose, CA

    Prospeople are nice and helpful and it is a good atmosphere to work in for person looking to move up and build a career over time that one could advance and grow in

    Consgets really busy at times but that is a good thing to make the day go by quickly. Be nice if they had more training done from within to learn more and advance within the company

    Advice to Senior Managementmore training from within

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend

    The Home Depot Client Partner responded to this review

    Jul 3, 2014

    Thank you for your review. Retail associates are the face of The Home Depot for the thousands of customers who walk through the doors each day. As a retail associate you can expect to interact in a ... More
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • No Opinion of CEO

     

    don't get paid enough

    Garden Associate (Current Employee) Lawton, OK

    ProsI like the company benefits

    Conslack of appreciation from department heads and management.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend

    The Home Depot Client Partner responded to this review

    Jul 3, 2014

    Thank you for your feedback. At The Home Depot, we strive to provide an environment where associates feel they’re valued, treated fairly, and respected. Taking care of our people is one of our core ... More
  1. We want your feedback – Are these company reviews helpful to you?  Yes | No
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

     

    Operations manager. Work, Life, Balance was a concern.

    Operations Manager (Former Employee)

    ProsStructural Company as this was an asset for myself with a Military background. Co-workers were friendly and willing to help in all areas. Customers were knowledgeable and just wanting help in areas that they were unfamiliar with.

    ConsHours per week as a member of Salaried Management. Hours and Management were not on the same page as far as hours per Individual Manager and upper Management worked per Company SOP (Standard Operating Procedure) was concerned.

    Advice to Senior ManagementPromotions and training was a positive experience. Compensation was an issue for hours worked. Some Manager worked 40-45 hours per week, as others worked 60-70. Job required Salaried managers to work 55 hours per week as a standard.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    The Home Depot Client Partner responded to this review

    Jul 3, 2014

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are happy to hear you had a positive experience at The Home Depot.
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

     

    Fast-paced, plenty to learn from

    Corp HQ (Former Employee) Atlanta, GA

    ProsIf you like a fast-paced work environment with always new things to learn, this is the place for you. If you're looking to take a "cushy corporate job," look elsewhere. That being said, every department is different so you may find a niche area to settle down. Plenty of room for advancement if you work hard and network well.

    ConsIt's almost impossible to find work-life balance and still be successful in your career here. This company is so successful because they don't settle for paper-pushers.

    Advice to Senior ManagementGive a little more work-life balance when possible.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    The Home Depot Client Partner responded to this review

    Jul 3, 2014

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are happy to hear you had a positive experience at The Home Depot and try our best to accommodate our associates’ needs.
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

     

    Great company for part-time employment

    Special Services Associate (Current Employee) Forked River, NJ

    ProsSalary was exceptional for part-time employment. The company offered extensive training programs so employees can assist customers. The corporation has many supportive programs for all employees and benefit programs were available if needed.

    ConsFavoritism as in most jobs. The hours fluctuated week to week.

    Advice to Senior ManagementDistrict manager made little attempt to know the staff or to acknowledge their presence. If you are in the driver's seat, that does not give you the right to run over people....

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    The Home Depot Client Partner responded to this review

    Jul 3, 2014

    Thank you for sharing your review. We understand that our associates are the key to our success. We pay competitive rates and strive to create an environment where all associates feel they are ... More
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • No Opinion of CEO

     

    Employment at The Home Depot

    Sales Associate - Seasonal Lawn and Garden (Former Employee) Cedar Rapids, IA

    ProsThey have a very good core in respect and values. Working at Home Depot was exciting and rewarding. Management is awesome and understand the meaning of family first.

    ConsTime off can be difficult to plan for. Human resources schedule coordinator tries to accommodate where possible. However time off is first come first serve basis. and may need to plan 90 days ahead of time.

    Advice to Senior ManagementNo advise to give management. I believe they are doing a great job.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    The Home Depot Client Partner responded to this review

    Jul 3, 2014

    Thank you for your review. “Taking Care of Our People” is one of our core values. We try our best to accommodate our associates’ needs.
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities

     

    Very friendly, inviting environment.

    Cashier (Current Employee) Lawrence, KS

    ProsGood pay, great company values, work with grey people

    ConsIt can be hot sometimes

    The Home Depot Client Partner responded to this review

    Jul 3, 2014

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are happy to hear you are having a positive experience at The Home Depot.
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

     

    Great company in reference to career growth

    Store Manager (Former Employee) Miami, TX

    Proscarreer growth,training, over 2k stores, benefits and compensation

    Conswork life balance as a manager was very hard.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend

    The Home Depot Client Partner responded to this review

    Jul 3, 2014

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are happy to hear you had a positive experience at The Home Depot.
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities

     

    I enjoy it!

    Anonymous Employee (Current Employee)

    ProsAdvancement opportunities in the company

    ConsSome of the associates can be a bit lazy

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend

    The Home Depot Client Partner responded to this review

    Jul 3, 2014

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are happy to hear you are having a positive experience at The Home Depot.

Worked for The Home Depot? Contribute to the Community!

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.